AKPK, debt issue, anyone got a question to ask them?

SUSfuzzy
post Sep 18 2010, 05:09 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Narutoboyz2 @ Sep 17 2010, 07:58 PM)
Dear all, I'm back I went to AKPK to listen to their briefing and was being told to get the latest statement from my 3 outstanding banks...gosh...the owing amount is huge it is double of what I have use for my credit card.

But then I got questions, I was in 1 of the bank and the officer advise me to look into getting personal loan, and apparenty Bank Rakyat offer such loan. Will it better to get the personal loan and settle off the payment or still go through AKPK?

Confuse again....
Go to AKPK, getting a personal loan to settle another loan is like digging one hole to fill another. And as you mentioned, the 'advice' comes from a bank officer who more or less just wants more business.

AKPK would be able to offer you another point of view before you decide on what you want to do.

Added on September 18, 2010, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(Narutoboyz2 @ Aug 4 2010, 09:22 PM)
I did not have a stable job for the past few years. Only lately found a stable job and all situations come back to normal meaning there are less worry of financials.

I have stop paying 4 of my credit cards for the past 5 years and i think total of the cards past 5 years was around 50k (for all) I did not receive any bankcruptcy letter from the bank yet, however since I am much more stable now, thought of going to see AKPK to help.

But what will my minimum payment for my debts? As I am quite new on the job therefore does not allow me to take off and see AKPK. Please help what shall I do. I know for definetely I am on CTOS or CCRIS but bankcruptcy dunno.

Lost of direction already. Please help. icon_question.gif
If I am not wrong, the banks cannot combine the total credit you owe to issue you a bankruptcy letter. So unless you owe one single bank RM30k, they cannot consider you bankrupt, some can help clarify this.

However, surely you would have received tons of warning letter for payment? And please, do go see AKPK before it is any later than it is already.

This post has been edited by fuzzy: Sep 18 2010, 05:13 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Oct 22 2011, 05:51 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Apr 28 2011, 09:35 AM)
Yeah man, its very hard to digest but that is the harsh reality. We can take it as a lesson learnt. The loopholes in Malaysia's financial system did contributed to this scenarios obviously
We need to stop blaming other parties for our own mistakes. I'm actually glad there are people who is coming here to find better solutions to their debt problems, rather than continuing to do the same thing expecting different results.
SUSfuzzy
post May 3 2012, 02:44 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(vh_20 @ May 2 2012, 11:48 AM)
need advise.

i have bad credit card debts totalling to RM15k. now am looking to settle it by rescheduling the payment. i have called RHB and they said i need to pay 30% upfront then they will consider to reschedule monthly payment. the problem is i cant pay 30%. i am willing to pay RM1.5k only. they replied that nothing can be done if i cant pay 30%.

is this true that i have to pay 30%? any law or whatever that can support me if i only want to pay RM1.5k? or going to akpk is the best solution?

thanks.
There is no law that supports you and really, the law supports the bank because you legally and knowing took credit from them without the ability to repay as per the agreement date (ie. due date). But, the bank also have no hard and fast rule to demand the % as upfront payment, this is up to their own judgement.

Try to escalate it to another officer / higher ranking officer to see if they are willing to give you any leeway on this, otherwise you would do better to approach AKPK on this issue.
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 7 2012, 06:43 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(girly88 @ Jun 5 2012, 03:59 PM)
Hi all..i have cc debt with Maybank around rm5800.. since im jobless for 3 months my repayment for both cards is stuck..so now the interest has shot up. They ask me to pay 1800 and balance to pay rm590 monthly for 5 mths..Im earning 4k mthly and i have my expense as below:

House loan: RM780
Car Loan  : RM387
Debt repay to friend: RM1500
PTPTN: RM150
Insurance: RM170
Other expense: RM1000

Am i able to apply to akpk with this situation?
It is not advisable to go to them unless you really have no else to turn. Am I assuming that you were unemployed but now have found a new job earning 4k a month? It would be more advisable for you to focus your debt repayment for your CC first since their carry the highest interest rate.

Is it possible to suspend your debt repayment to your friend and cut down on your other expenses? That way you can clear the CC debt first and then resume repaying them.
SUSfuzzy
post Oct 1 2012, 05:34 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Hudd @ Sep 27 2012, 10:48 AM)
Guys, which one is better for CC settlement. AKPK or personal loan with 6.88% interest?
What is the amount? The best option is family or friend with 0% interest (mebbe a nice dinner). If the debt is far too much that it cannot be handled, call the bank straight to see any potential way to settle it. Some would rather turn the CC debt into a term loan then have it go bad.

If else fails, only go to AKPK for advice.
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 25 2015, 06:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ceekay78 @ Feb 25 2015, 04:58 PM)
i see... my friends case, he didnt manage to apply anything being approved. Maybe coz of his past debts too high & many outstanding payments that total of 1MIL in debts.
Sometimes it has nothing to do with being in AKPK or not, just simply his past records. Banks have risk management process to determine if they want to give out loans to certain individuals and they will have their own method or calculating those risks.

Being in AKPK is more likely a correlation to the likelihood of being rejected for loans rather than a causal point. After all, people do not go to AKPK because they are financially well off, so more likely than not their past financial records would have been very poor to begin with.
SUSfuzzy
post Mar 17 2015, 02:50 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(adrianfej @ Mar 14 2015, 08:58 PM)
Hi all sifus and master.

I have been out from akpk for i think 6 to 7 mths now. I have print out ccris and its empty in there and there is no mention of akpk there as well. But i tried to apply loan 2 mths ago and it got rejected. Any reason for that bros ? Need advise.
Check with the bank bro. Not all bank are the same. It could be due to AKPK, or due to your current debt-to-income ratio, commitment-to-income ration, risk appetite, etc...

SUSfuzzy
post Feb 22 2016, 06:17 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Storathz @ Feb 14 2016, 10:30 AM)

I would like to seek an advice from you guys.
I'm having a debt with AEON, roughly the amount is RM 8600~RM9000 for my motorcycle loan which already overdue for quite few years (and of course the account has already been sent to collection agency.)

I'm thinking to seek help from AKPK, but I also wonder if I go directly to AEON, will I get better repayment plan?
Does it necessary for me to seek help from AKPK? Because I went through few pages, all also having debt of more than RM 50,000 which is much higher than my debt.

TIA.  notworthy.gif
Go to AEON first, see if they are willing to workout a payment plan. Else, only go to AKPK to look at your options. Seeking advice from AKPK does not entail getting their involvement in your case.
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 28 2016, 05:29 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Sim On @ Jun 27 2016, 11:00 PM)
Dear all Sifus,

I'm trying to help one relative with his Hong Leong CC debts. Here are a bit of history how he got into this situation :

- Around 1996/97 he bought an Iswara Aeroback with loan from EON Bank. So the loan come with a CC, with credit limit RM3k.

- Used the CC for few years. After that he decided to cancel the card with some unpaid balance.

- Paid the balance on/off until his last balance is around RM1.8k.

- He contacted the staff in EON Bank telling the officer he was unable to pay the balance. Funny thing is the statement from EON Bank didn't come on regular basis & after sometimes it stopped coming altogether.

- When EON Bank was taken over by Hong Leong bank, sometimes in 2010/11 he started receiving the statements again, and that time the balance on the statement was already around RM15k.

- Last year he started receiving calls from the debt collector agents and he believed his debt is around 20k or more now.

- He is now on Socso pension around RM1.3k a month and I think it is going to be difficult for him to settle his debt in full.

My question :
1) should he go to AKPK? He is already 51y.o with low income, barely enough to cover his expenses.

2) some relative are willing to pool some RM8-10k to help him with the debt. U sifus think HLB will accept 10k to clear his debt?

3) any chance for him to negotiate for lower full settlement?

He should start by calling the HL collections team and see if a deal can be negotiated there. Banks only sell debts to 3rd parties because it is deemed NPL, if that fail then by all means go to AKPK. They can offer you advice on how to solve the issue FOR FREE and it will not impact his credit for simply getting advice. If there is no other options, they engage them as they can possibly help negotiate a lower settlement or a much better rate for payback.
SUSfuzzy
post Oct 24 2016, 04:55 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Oct 20 2016, 03:27 PM)
Even after you've settled all your debt?

I have an appointment with them tomorrow
I think some has said it will still show up in your background checks so banks would be less likely to give out loans should they find out you were in AKPK before..
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 30 2019, 04:31 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(MDLT Eht Nioj @ Jan 29 2019, 03:39 PM)
May I know what's the advantage of settling your debt manually with the bank (via accepting the bank's offered instalment plan) vs doing it via AKPK?
I think the big advantage is you are still free to apply other credit lines as long as the other banks accept it.

If you go through AKPK, you might bet a better deal but at the same time you will get a record that will prevent you from getting a new credit line until the debt is cleared.

0.0225sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:41 PM