Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

miriel10
post Jun 19 2009, 06:08 PM

376 posts

doesnt mean u have to OC ur GPU for ur PSU to fail. sometimes crashes that happened in-game are usually connected to ur PSU. doesnt matter if its OC or stock.
miriel10
post Jun 19 2009, 08:04 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:31 PM)
guys,noob question here..how we want to enable AMD Cool n Quiet in BIOS?n does it have effect in CPU performance when playing games?
usually in CPU configuration part of the bios. different brand, different name for the setting. it does not have any effect in cpu performance coz it will get back to its original/OC'ed clock when playing games.
miriel10
post Jun 19 2009, 11:59 PM

376 posts

u mean after putting ur system together? well.. normally nothing except u're overclocking. but if u're setting up windows for the first time, its best to configure the boot setting priority to ur DVD rom.
miriel10
post Jun 20 2009, 12:06 AM

376 posts

depends. results may vary on different configurations. u best ask that question in Overclocker's United.
miriel10
post Jun 22 2009, 03:48 PM

376 posts

nope. 4 cores and hyperthreading = 8 cores.
miriel10
post Jul 13 2009, 06:29 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(hantu667 @ Jul 13 2009, 01:59 AM)
i buy 2333sw lcd..
but i dont get dvi cable
2333sw dont get dvi cable ker?
the pictures in newegg shows that the monitor's packaging includes dvi cable. assuming it is included, u should demand it from the seller.
miriel10
post Jul 16 2009, 07:40 PM

376 posts

it is possible. if memory serves me right, there's an option of "Leave the current file system intact" or something in a Windows installation. meaning u can install windows without formatting it.
miriel10
post Jul 25 2009, 12:37 PM

376 posts

question: what's the difference of a 1TB version of Western Digital Caviar Green and Caviar Black? AFAIK both have 32MB cache so i assume performance should be the same.
miriel10
post Jul 26 2009, 12:25 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 25 2009, 02:15 PM)
i think the performance if hardly notice..unless u do the write/read benchmarking
anf green consume low power, 4-5w and black like 8-10
also black is 7200rpm and green is 5400rpm
so that is the different
ahh. RPM speed. thanks for clearing that up biggrin.gif

another question: if i replace my current P35 mobo with a G31 mobo, do i have to reinstall windows again? their drivers are the same which is why i'm asking. before asking* me why i'm replacing my P35 mobo with a G31 is that i need to RMA it. SATA ports can detect HDDs but cant write any data to it eg. will always stuck on boot screen and cant make new windows installation.

This post has been edited by miriel10: Jul 26 2009, 01:52 AM
miriel10
post Jul 27 2009, 01:11 AM

376 posts

thanks bro mushy biggrin.gif
miriel10
post Jul 27 2009, 06:23 PM

376 posts

i dont think its true power. i'm still a noob at PSU calculation so someone else might clear that up for u. for ur next question, a 450w psu can be use with a quad core cpu. but when u include a good gpu that requires a power connector, better invest in a true power psu like the xigmatek 650w or a strider st56f wink.gif
miriel10
post Jul 29 2009, 12:31 AM

376 posts

try plug-in the RAMs one by one. that way u can know which ram is malfunctioning.
miriel10
post Jul 29 2009, 06:59 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 29 2009, 04:49 PM)
Noob question -

Should or shouldnt I transfer my home rig system, windows XP installed on IDE drive to Sata drive ? Will the performance faster ? Lower power consumption ?
SATA performs faster than IDE. about its power consumption, i think SATA generates lower power than IDE. u can consider Western Digital Caviar Green series if u're environment-conscious.

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 29 2009, 11:32 AM)
This is the n00best question I'm ever going to ask. Jeez....Yeah I didn't search. I'm feeling a lil lazy today.

Having been out of the hardware loop for 3 years, I'm absolutely confused between the whole i7 and AMD Phenom x4 thing. Anybody care to do a quick update for me? Who's better? Who's faster, in what applications? Ya know, the basic stuff.....I'm gonna search teh thread in a bit.
depends. gaming wise, there are some benchmarks which put the Phenom II X4 on par with i7 920. productivity and encoding wise, Core i7 wins hands down.

QUOTE(mono_demon @ Jul 29 2009, 02:05 PM)
i also got some noob question.

1. how much does laptop power consumption actually?
2. if mainly use for surfing, which is better, pc or latop?
3. and how to calculate without using the power meter?
1. depends on the laptop itself. netbook consumes lower power compared to notebook.
2. if mainly for surfing, both are fine.
3. google is ur friend tongue.gif

QUOTE(finalmoto123 @ Jul 29 2009, 06:04 PM)
how to find whether a proc can use 64bit OS? or all proc can use
first off, u need to figure out if ur proc can run 64bit environment. download CPU-Z and check "Instructions". for AMD, there should have x86-64 while Intel have EM64T.
miriel10
post Aug 6 2009, 01:34 AM

376 posts

nope.

HD ready - is capable of accepting HD signals although it may not be able to display at full resolution 1920x1080.
Full HD - is capable of accepting HD signals and able to display full resolution at 1920x1080.
miriel10
post Aug 11 2009, 02:51 PM

376 posts

1. u can try at allIT. if not, ask moderno.
miriel10
post Aug 11 2009, 09:00 PM

376 posts

186.18 is not the latest nvidia drivers. go to nvidia and download 190.38 and see if it helps. prototype is not cpu hungry as gta iv. dual core runs the game fine as evident by dlwl.
miriel10
post Aug 25 2009, 02:09 AM

376 posts

obviously to the GC.

Added on August 25, 2009, 2:10 am
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Aug 25 2009, 01:38 AM)
so when i buy d AMD 720 BE...
it'll stated in d box black edition rite...?
yes smile.gif

This post has been edited by miriel10: Aug 25 2009, 02:10 AM
miriel10
post Aug 27 2009, 12:06 PM

376 posts

1. it is advisable to change it if ur current psu is not true power. suggest getting atleast a 550W true power psu e.g. silverstone ST56F.

2. not necessarily but in ur case, ur current proc will definitely bottlenecks that gtx285.

3. nope. as long as there's a pcie x16 slot, u're good to go.

just my 2 cents tho. i think u shouldnt be investing in a gtx285 with DX11 cards looming over the horizon. best bang for buck card u can get is either the 4850 or the 4870/gtx260+. these cards performs well enough for graphics intensive games.

This post has been edited by miriel10: Aug 27 2009, 12:07 PM
miriel10
post Aug 28 2009, 05:40 AM

376 posts

silverstone st50f is a true power psu while that cooler master extreme 500w is not. either one is fine to power up the 4850. about that cap ayam one, i'll let the bigger sifus clarify on that. me still noob about 12+ rails n such.

surely u can use that card with ur current setup but it will not perform to its potential as ur proc will definitely bottlenecks it.
miriel10
post Aug 31 2009, 04:25 PM

376 posts

what's the connection between H1N1 and DDR2 again?

that aside, hopefully the price will come down soon.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0410sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:20 PM