Hardware RAM upgrades for Macbook / Aluminium / Macbook PRO, What brand of RAM are they using ?

nimrod323
post Dec 16 2008, 10:42 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Dec 16 2008, 10:15 AM)
erk, it is true.>? how about others..? shocking.gif
mine's better,weird more memory = faster.
nimrod323
post Dec 16 2008, 11:43 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(ensp!r@tion @ Dec 16 2008, 07:26 PM)
hey mac sifus here.. i'm going to purchase a macbook 2.4ghz alu tomorrow at machines.. they're offering 2gb ddr3 ram for their promotion.. does anyone know how to check whether they install a ddr3 for you or a ddr2? cause as i know, ddr3 rams are expensive and moreover they're offering 2gb.. thats quite alot although there will be 3gb in total in the end.. does anyone know how to check? i'm just curious here cause apple stuff doesn't come cheap..  notworthy.gif
dude if they install ddr2 u macbook wont even start up man. go under the apple logo and click "About This Mac",it'll display the amount of memory.
nimrod323
post Dec 17 2008, 07:14 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Dec 17 2008, 06:38 AM)
How much is the Macbook Pro - DDR 3 1066Mhz 2GB RAM?
same price as Jeya quoted it
nimrod323
post Dec 17 2008, 07:25 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(_skeevs @ Dec 17 2008, 04:49 PM)
Seems that the most recent firmware update has also helped to solve some stability issues regarding ram upgrades on the new alu macbooks. Anyone else here considering to upgrade their rams on the alu macbooks? I'm thinking of upgrading to 4gb and Machines is offering about rm799 for 2x2gb DDR3 modules. If there could be a cheaper and also safe option I would like to consider that smile.gif

http://ramjet.com/ItemDescription.asp?Item=MBAL4G
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820148191
their rams are certified KTA go for it bro,plus i think theres a 10% cash rebate for secondary purchase if you are a machines member
nimrod323
post Dec 31 2008, 10:48 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(uSeLeSs @ Dec 30 2008, 06:33 PM)

If my existing MB - Core Duo is onli 512MB, so can i just install 1 stick of 2GB ram in 2nd slot while maintain my primary slot - 512MB?
no the core duo chipset only addressees 2gb ram at max,the 512 wont be recognized,just go with the 1x1GB pairing so that it can go dual channel

0.0156sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:53 PM