4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Watches Thread V1

khopl
post Feb 3 2010, 12:30 PM

130 posts

Hi guys, I was just wondering if anyone here purchased from jomashop.com before?

I had an extremely disappointing experience with Jomashop after placing an order for an item to be paid through PayPal.

The problem was my order was not shipped and had been pending for several days. Apparently, I was told by their customer service at Jomashop that I need to "verify" my PayPal account before they could ship my order. I don't know why do I need to verify my PayPal account as it is obviously active and I have been making several purchases/transactions without any glitches. Heck, I even made two other successful orders/payments through PayPal only yesterday and I didn't have to verify anything!!!

There had been several bad reviews on jomashop.com in the internet but still I place an order with them as I couldn't find a lower price anywhere else for the item I wanted. Jomashop's website may look legit and some of their items are pretty reasonably priced but I would NEVER EVER deal with jomashop.com again.

To those of you who has never tried Jomashop or are planning to make a purchase there...my advice is STAY CLEAR!! I would rather shop elsewhere even if I had to pay a little more!.

khopl
post Feb 3 2010, 09:58 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 3 2010, 02:59 PM)
Sorry to hear your problem with them. Care to post the link for your purchase?
I think you should check with Paypal to find out the exact reason.  rclxub.gif
Dude, I even called up PayPal and according to them, there is no reason to verify anything.
Btw, what do you mean by posting the link for my purchase?

However please check out the pics. Note that there are clearly two successful transactions after jomashop.

khopl
post Feb 4 2010, 12:04 AM

130 posts

Thanks alot guys...
I tried to get verified by linking and confirming my credit card.
But it seems like i'm supposed to provide a 4 digit paypal code. where am i supposed to get the code??
It says to check my credit card statement for the code? but how? I mean, the amount wasn't even charged to my card yet...so how to get the code?
can someone guide me? icon_question.gif
khopl
post Feb 4 2010, 03:47 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:40 AM)
khopl, have U receive the other watches U ordered?
Have not received from jomashop. Im thinking of canceling the order. But then, really good price (sigh)!

I ordered one from amazon...stuhrling original. Got it in abt 5 days by DHL. Super smooth transaction. thumbup.gif

I also ordered a few from ebay...i think 4 watches...still waiting for delivery.

Added on February 4, 2010, 3:55 pmBy the way, what you guys think of parnis watches....pretty decent looking...most of them based on panerai models.

Thnking of getting one....or a good quality panerai replica...or possibly u-boat. what u guys think?

Can't afford original Panerai at the moment! Saw my fren wore one yesterday and I was drooling!

This post has been edited by khopl: Feb 4 2010, 03:55 PM
khopl
post Feb 5 2010, 10:55 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 4 2010, 09:22 PM)
china made, quality is a hit or miss... U must have read ck77 post on his homage purchase. his is custom build still like that.

or get something german
eg
http://www.watchseller.com/vollmeru5.html
http://www.gnomonwatches.com/Dievas.html
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Dievas/Dievas_Watches-1.htm

THank patryn33!

Added on February 5, 2010, 11:03 am

Added on February 4, 2010, 9:28 pm
looking for value for money don't go with Tag, Tag is expensive.
Fortis  is well build and was chosen by russian for space mission. even some military ppl use it.
CK is cheap, sure! Fossil make their watches.. most likely done in Philippines or China.
Zenith is renown for the El Primero movement. Tag is using El Primero on their caliber 36 which cost US$7.9k and up. Rolex had El Primero on their Daytona till 2001.

This statement in bold I don't get it.
I totally agree with patryn33...IMHO, no doubt Tag produces good watches but I think they're not really value for money. Its expensive cos Tag spends huge money on marketing/advertising. I'd chose Fortis or even Sinn anytime compared to Tag....so many ppl wearing Tag...I think its losing its exclusivity! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by khopl: Feb 5 2010, 11:03 AM
khopl
post Feb 5 2010, 09:16 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Feb 5 2010, 12:22 PM)
IMHO, the only nice tags are the cheapest of their line, the F1 designs. too bad they don't produce auto F1's but again, the price wouldn't be the same if they do that. Besides that, i don't really see any TAG that is worth mentioning (design,not movement) except maybe for its Grand Carreras.
yea i agree too! the only ones that really worth considering if i were ever to get myselfa tag would be the one of the grand carreras!! biggrin.gif
khopl
post Feb 5 2010, 09:35 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 5 2010, 09:31 PM)
the top of the line calibre 36 uses a zenith movement. with us$7.9k might as well get a zenith
hahaha...yea ur right!
khopl
post Feb 6 2010, 04:46 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 6 2010, 10:24 AM)
U must have the design, like the design just get it. loving the watch design is impt. esp if U cannot find any watches u like.

are u looking at Carrera Calibre 16 Day date or Aquaracer?
http://www.tagheuer.com/the-collection/aqu...=CAF2110.BA0809
http://www.tagheuer.com/the-collection/car...w=CV2A10.BA0796

if I not wrong Aquaracer is priced lower than Carrera although both are using the same movement.

here is review on the Tag Aquaracer Calibre 16. based off 7750, can get other brands with 7750 or base of 7750 at lower cost.
http://www.watchbizz.com/archive/wt_2008_0...2008_01_076.pdf

brands such as Sinn, Fortis, Longines, Guinand (founded by founder of Sinn see thread below) is a better buy
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=198944
The Carrera looks nicer than the Aquaracer altho they're both using the same movement.

However, in my opinion, getting a watch is a very individual thing. It all depends on yourself and your preference...and perhaps just as important ur bugdget.

If I were to buy a watch along that price range I would prefer to opt for other brand cos:
1) Firstly I'm not a Tag guy...I dunno why the brand doesn't appeal that much to me althought I know for a fact they produces a fine line of watches.
Like I said, I love the Grand Carreras and that's the only one I'd consider getting if I had to get a Tag Heuer!
2) For that price range, I would go for Sinn, Fortis, Guinand among others as I think they are more exclusive...meaning not many ppl own them (esp
not that many in this part of the world! tongue.gif ) Maybe that's just me, but I prefer a brand that is more exclusive...not something you see and you
can get everywhere.

Well, that's just my opinion...and if you're a Tag guy and you really like it then by all means go get one!

Good luck and do share some pics of it when you get one! smile.gif

khopl
post Feb 10 2010, 05:11 PM

130 posts

[quote=Vincent Pang,Feb 9 2010, 02:04 AM]
i heard that Ball movements are ETA too. Now i'm torn between Ball Aviator and Tag Aquaracer Calibre 5. Any recommendation?

Get the ball and you won't regret it! biggrin.gif

I just got one abt a month ago...plus the lume is excellent esp at nite. thumbup.gif
khopl
post Feb 11 2010, 05:23 PM

130 posts

its finally here!! rclxms.gif

decent looking for its price for me. smile.gif

BTW, I think the straps are a little too long for me...anyone can help to direct me to some reputable site to get straps from?
Any help will much appreciated guys.
khopl
post Feb 13 2010, 12:55 PM

130 posts

Added on February 12, 2010, 11:04 am

congrats! 1st watch in your big order that arrive?

Nope...a few arrived..waiting for 2-3 more biggrin.gif

Ones arrived:

There's one more that's arrived but no time to post it yet. Looks very much like Panerai...will post it ASAP.
khopl
post Feb 13 2010, 02:46 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 13 2010, 12:58 PM)
do give a review of the places U had shopped at.
I got most of them at ebay except the Stuhrling (Black, round case) I got from Amazon.

All were smooth transactions and pretty fast delivery.

Added on February 13, 2010, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Feb 12 2010, 02:06 AM)

Great looking watch. What's the size? looks damn big haha. I love big watches tongue.gif 43mm fits right on my wrist.
Thanks! Its a 47mmx47mm...I love big watches too...must be at least 44mm and above for me biggrin.gif

here's the link for the watch (altho I didn't buy it from this seller) if u want more info:
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-MEN-MILITARY-ROYAL...=item4a9e7f1b74

Added on February 13, 2010, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Feb 11 2010, 05:43 PM)
how much is it???
Got it for USD19.98 from ebay inc shipping charges.

This post has been edited by khopl: Feb 13 2010, 03:02 PM
khopl
post Feb 16 2010, 04:43 PM

130 posts

One more arrived biggrin.gif

khopl
post Feb 17 2010, 07:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(crocky @ Feb 17 2010, 12:24 AM)
cant view the pic

there you go! smile.gif
khopl
post Feb 19 2010, 02:13 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 23 2010, 02:23 PM)
Received my first homage watch on Thursday 20 January 2010 from Getat.
Watch was ordered and paid on 24 December 2009 and the shipment was stuck in HK post office for some times due to some issue. Communication via email was ok but reply often delay by 2-3 days, he is trying his best to answer all my quiries.
The spec:-
Movement: Asian Unitas 6497 manual winding
Case: 47mm without crown 316L polished steel with doom plexiglass, California sandwich dial.

This homage watch is base on Pam3646 and Pam249.
For more history and story, please refer to this link (great blog by the way):-
Jake's Rolex Watch Blog

Following are my simple review and impression.

Outter box

Inner box secured by bubble wrap (+1)

Simple watch case with bubble wrap and plastic to protect the watch (+1)

The watch, look good? Read on,

Back view (6497 or 6498 movement?)

My finding,
1. The most importantly thing is accuracy test. I do not have professional training (like William Hung whistling.gif ) and any tools to measure. As a simple measurement, I set the watch same time with my Astro decoder's time and wait for it to run for an hour.
The watch is running approximately +4 minutes faster  blink.gif I thought the movement need some times to 'break-in' or 'run-in'
Patiently I waited for it to run 24 hours and ridiculously it ran +1 hour 30 minutes faster  doh.gif This is absolutely unacceptable.
I don't expect the accuracy to be perfect for mechanical watch and -1 or +1 minute per day is ok for me, but not until such variant.

2. Uneven paint on 4,5,6 o'clock indexes, especially number 4

3. Bad lume
4. Hard to screw and unscrew the screw-in crown
5. Movement is loud
6. Strap is good, I can smell the genuine leather smell (+1)
6. From the clear back, I have noticed it is a 6498 instead of 6497 as listed on his website.
This is the 6497 shown on his site.

I can accept other flaws in view of the price I've paid for, but not for the accuracy. The most basic function of a watch is to tell corret time, 1 minute variant per day for me is ok for any mechanical watch.

I've email him the above issues and he replied that the watch might be magnitised during the shipment (is it possible?  rclxub.gif) and he agreed to return and refund for me. I will get the watch to regulate and maybe demagnitise by local watchmaker and to ask for reimbursement from him.

What a bad experience for my first online purchase watch  cry.gif

Lastly, wrist shot.

Thanks for reading  notworthy.gif
Hey ck77 just wondering how is your watch doing? Did you managed to get it fixed since it was running unacceptably fast as you mentioned when it first arrived?

Did you also managed to confirm if the movement (6497 or 6498) is the correct one as you ordered?

I saw a 45mm at getat that I quite like but I'm now having some doubts after your experience with them...what do you think? hmm.gif

khopl
post Feb 19 2010, 06:41 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:43 PM)
Watch is running fine after some 'treatment' by my friend's watchmaker. I've contacted Getat and he have refunded me some cost  thumbup.gif

The movement is indeed a standard 6497 (Asian made), with swan neck regulator, but am not sure it is working or not  tongue.gif

I read a lot of positive feedback from other forums and am sure my case is an isolated one. And Getat has done the right thing to refund me. So my verdict of Getat is still ok  smile.gif
Thanks, then I might consider going ahead and getting one from them. biggrin.gif

khopl
post Feb 22 2010, 06:02 PM

130 posts

This one arrived today! rclxms.gif

Do you watch sifus out there have a clue as to what kind of movement they are using for this watch?

user posted image Love the bluish effect on certain angles on the domed dial glass

user posted image anyone know what movement is this?? gotta good feeling its china made!

and Nando, yea, now my aviator is getting even lonelier! hahaha... biggrin.gif
khopl
post Feb 23 2010, 01:51 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 22 2010, 08:18 PM)
looks good!!

...pity your Ball....lonelier now....hahaha

wah...7 days power reserve indicator some more...so, does it work?

haha
Hahahaha....man how I wish that dial was for power reserve. It only shows the day....1=Mon, 2=Tue, 3=Wed, so on... blush.gif
this is definitely a china made movement with american brand.

ck77: The diameter is 48mm.
khopl
post Feb 23 2010, 02:07 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 22 2010, 06:46 PM)
Congrat of your new haulĀ  thumbup.gif
This is a Big Pilot homageĀ  rclxms.gif
https://www.iwc.com/collection/collection_d...sp?l=en&mid=401
The movement should be a Chinese automatic if am not wrong. Is the power reserve indicator work?
What's the size of the dial?
hmm...oh yea u just made me realised it looks somewhat like IWC Big Pilot's Watch.
damn...so mine shows the day instead of power reserve sad.gif what a let down
but i guess u get for what u pay brows.gif
diameter is 48mm

This post has been edited by khopl: Feb 23 2010, 04:14 PM
khopl
post Feb 23 2010, 07:04 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 23 2010, 04:08 PM)
WOW!!!..one of my grail....

must have cost a big hole in your pocket!
yea how much you got it for...if u don mind sharing that is.
a fren of mine got the portuguese chronograph for 17k after discount.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0612sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:56 AM