Stock market V19, Chit chat in the market

TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 03:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 10 2008, 03:33 PM)
THPLANT is proposing 1-for-1 bonus issues.

current price at 2.20, which is around the IPO price.

is it worth buying?  hmm.gif
IPO price means nothing actually.

My personal opinion, plantation stocks normally go up and down together due to the movement of CPO, so for me I would go for those old and established name that has showed good company management and showing good track of record one while big cap enough that fund managers need to put down the name into their list.

Don't mean this stock no good, just some personal opinion.
TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 03:52 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 10 2008, 03:46 PM)
yes. but if not mistaken their price wasn't cheap last time. they go pte then have to pay others shareholders' share.
like this how to compete with DIGI ler, i wondering........
Competitiveness of a company has nothing to do with listed or no.

Not to forget that Maxis is a money making machine which generate billions of profit as well every year.
As long as the company cashflow is strong, and financial strong, list or no list make no different. In fact, listed means more hassle and troublesome paper work and job and not as flexible as pte for the company management actually.

It being privatised at Rm15.30 something like that. If the company owner wish to list back, he can still do it in the future. May be re-listed back at RM20.00 or elsewhere, then he make even more gain out of it.
TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 03:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 10 2008, 03:52 PM)
Went private with rm 14 was not cheap, but another party could offer rm 25 to buy part of the shares would become cheap.
You remind me about the deal Maxis put up last time after being privatised.

Soon after it being privatised, at RM14 or Rm15, a large chunk (about 20% or so) of the shares being offered out to some foreign investors (middle east investment arm) something like Rm20 or so.

Not quite remember exactly, some sort like that. He made money out of this deal!

TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 04:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 10 2008, 04:10 PM)
if delisted .. is that means all ur shares money gone?
You still have the shares, just it no longer listed and tradable in the stock exchange.

But delisted share as good as toilet paper.
Just like you have something but cannot be sold, then how much should it worth?
TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 04:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 10 2008, 04:34 PM)
ic just as i wonder it must b something happening at MAXIS.
anyway, why u say pte / listed company make no different mr. cherroy.

I tot if u listed company can input more $ into ur company fund so can grow ur company.
If one company is financial sound, cash rich, has access to capital market to raise capital through bond etc, it makes no different in term of company competitiveness.
TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 05:28 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 10 2008, 04:49 PM)
but majority big corp are listed company leh.
perhaps if ur company not listed ppl don't know imo.
Yes, because when the company become bigger, it makes sense to get cheap capital from the market investors through listing, also risk of company can be spreaded out.

But listing is not about making company to be known, making business doesn't need to be well known to the public.
TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 09:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 10 2008, 07:09 PM)
hi mr cherroy refer back to this thread u posted, after all I don't fully agree (bold sentence).
to buy more than 1 lot it better than own 1 lot. basically its strategy rather than 'Cheap'.

1lot of BAT @ 44.00 shld be 4400 sharp
while to buy 100 lots of penny stock not necessarily @ 0.40 as share price is fluctuate in a single day.
if u buy separately session in a single day u may by chance get 100 lots of abc stock @ avg price less than 0.40 (let say 0.38).

e.g  1 lot BAT @ 44.00 = 4400 + 28 + 5 + 1.32 = 4434.32
      115 lots ABC @ 0.38 = 4370 + 28 + 5 + 1.31 = 4404.31

44.oo's 10% is 4.400  ;  48.400 x 1lot      = 4840 - 28 - 5 - 1.45 - 4034.32 = 771.23
      00.38's 10% is 0.038  :    0.418 x 115lots = 4807 - 28 - 5 - 1.44 - 3833.14 = 939.42

for a stock at 44.00 stock to match penny stock's return it must rise +- 15% which is 5.00-6.00 wow
      for penny stock as u mention nit huge volume of buyer to surge, just few cents its possible (e.g. PA stock) big player + small player oso   
      joining the trade, meanwhile stock valued @ 44.00 I believe not much player there.
      what if one day 1 day BAT goes pte like MAXIS. then 1 lot = 4840 gone or if one day my abc goes pte let say i just buy 10 lots only = 380.
      which one higher risk?

sry just my humble opinion. this is my strategy of trade
I know where your arguement come from. It is quite common preception in the market but think deeper, it makes no or not much different, as it is the total amount you had invested that matter only.
But I don't know how you come out the 10% part, nvm, this is not important.

As response to your statement,
If one company going into private, it means the privatising party need to fork out at least more than current market price before it can be done, it is not 4400 gone. Maxis shareholders never lose a single cent out of it.

You are comparing with different method. 1 lot 4840 vs 10 lot or 100 lots amounted 380.

Let say you have 5000k in hand and meant to be invested, you either buy 1 lot (x100) of 4400 or 100+ lots at 0.38 equivalent. It is the amount of invested money that matter, not price.

Yes, more transaction give you chance to do DCA, but insignificant in a 4k trade, as you don't trade lower than 1 K per transaction or per day as min commission will kill you potential gain in the first place. If higher amount like 8K, then even at 44.00 you have at least 2 transaction can be made already.
Still amount of invested money dictates, not price.

Below although not related, but just for some information.
High price stock, why it is high in the first place? because they are good company that provide good return rate to the shareholder, that's why people willing to buy at that high price (excluding those being goreng one), while penny stock why it stays at penny for years and decade? because it can't deliver good return rate to the shareholders, so people not willing to buy at higher price, (excluding those low price because of splitting).

TScherroy
post Dec 10 2008, 09:58 PM

25,802 posts

For previous resort case,

If you mean to invested 10K in resort, you buy 50 lot of 2.10 vs 10 lot of 10.50 (if resort never split it share), they are totally the same stock, same holding % in the company.

But I can bet people will say resort is cheap at 2.10 but expensive at 10.50 (if resort never split until now), but they are the same!
TScherroy
post Dec 11 2008, 10:09 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 11 2008, 12:30 AM)
well correct oso la, but this case u compared same stock at dif price (b4 n after split), wat if, if u compare 2 dif stock at dif price?
but dunno la if comparing 2 dif stock I still think that the way I was thinking about. anyway thanks for ur clear explanation.

erm for newbie usually trade extra carefully and trade using smaller amount of $ b4 bcom experience.
am i right just flash back ur memory when is ur maiden trade and which stock did u buy .... i think its probably start with penny stock

just my two pennies worth.... dare to ask no offense this is how rookie trader learning to progress...
thanks for sharing ur knowledge
I can share my experience, I first traded stocks were KLK and PPB, both at around 7.00.

I am not against penny stock, just advise people don't look at low price means they are cheap and having more potential, it doesn't correlated.

Stock become too low price has its reason, stock price is not something just figure that moving up and down for fun.

TScherroy
post Dec 11 2008, 10:50 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 11 2008, 10:42 AM)
thanks again mr. cherroy willing to share ur precious experience here.

but with low capital ppl tend to aiming cheap stock (due to limited choices) coz can diversified our investment (don't put all ur eggs in 1 basket), on the other hand huge capital wider option can but bluechip buy BAT or even speculate penny stock. "still ppl mind set la after all" u r right mr. cherroy,

no offense to come with such opinion but thanks for all the feedback.
cause I dont comes out with such ridiculous idea wouldn't learn from siffoo
If for short term trade and speculation, blue chips, potato chips or chocolate chips make no different, as you only trade the differentiate in the price, it is just like a gaming process or a computer game that you speculate the price movement only, whether it is ABC or XYZ stock, make no different, it is all about price movement only.

But previous statement I made is about long term investment, ie. you are actually investing in the company and aims for that company make profit for you and growth with the company.
TScherroy
post Dec 11 2008, 11:52 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Dec 11 2008, 11:22 AM)
speaking of long term investment, is MMC a good buy at such price?

I'm thinking it's a good deal if we look at it from a 3-5 years frame.
SATS purchase, if it goes through the AGM while it's expensive, and it's a RPT, and paid in cash some more, there's an upside to it as well as it synergizes well with their logistics business, from port to plane.

Not to mention their other ongoing projects as well.

what do you all think?
The company is all about one person ie. its CEO.
Which people said it highly political linked.

Market doesn't like any company come out with expensive acquisition.

No comment nor any view this stock is good or not.
TScherroy
post Dec 11 2008, 11:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yang yang @ Dec 11 2008, 11:32 AM)
If i have TNB stock, 10 Dec is the X date, when can sell the stock? Is it 12 or 15 Dec? TQ notworthy.gif
You can sell on 10 Dec which you already entitle for it.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 09:57 AM

25,802 posts

Realistically, one should expect this market won't go up or down too far. It can be be range bound for months even up to year. Up too much, go down, donw too much, up back again.

Don't expect can make a lot in this market, it is a time frame that more on hold and wait while still can enjoy some dividend payout which is better than FD.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 01:52 PM

25,802 posts

The auto-bailout fail to be compromised.

But it can have second round talk, remember the 700 billion TARP, also need 2 time to pass?

Also, Secretary Treasure can use the 700 billions to bail out auto as well. The 700 billion is a blank cheque after all.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 03:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 12 2008, 03:13 PM)
http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...ccba00-ce9ed699
i thought last time said one resign only why not 2 ha

Added on December 12, 2008, 3:15 pm
ppl fear big guy greed ma haha

btw .. GM will bankrupt mea?
According to report, without bailout money, it might be within week or weeks only.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 03:20 PM

25,802 posts

Market especially Asian now already get use of those plunge in US, won't like last time out, even DJ plunged 500 points, Asian bourses generally loss about 2-3% as most foreign funds that want to 'cabut' one, already 'cabut'.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 03:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 12 2008, 03:24 PM)
if the bailout fail the market will drop deep
how can the bailout not wotk .. c just say reject market drop like this
same like last time when bailing citi rite
later sure say ok de .. maybe the senate take this time to buy stock than they agree on bailout to earn wahaha
Because the UAW, or the union doesn't agree to take pay cut, they are willing to let the company goes into trouble or bankruptcy rather taking pay cut.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 04:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 12 2008, 03:48 PM)
if they combine .. hehe
if i buy liao 10 lot than i buy 1 lot per following transaction hehe will make the seller paying more fees (if they cannot dispose all at that time hehe)

You want to become the market joker?
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2008, 04:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 12 2008, 04:05 PM)

Added on December 12, 2008, 4:07 pm
maybe they got better offer oustide  tongue.gif

They just want them to ahve some pay cut to the level as same as other Japanese auto-maker only, but union doesn't agree according to the report/news.
TScherroy
post Dec 13 2008, 02:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 13 2008, 12:14 AM)

Added on December 13, 2008, 12:25 am
I'd ask cherroy this question before. but just forgotten is this apply to sale oso?
sale twice in dif session in a single day charge under one contract?
Same one, buy and sell transaction has no different.

As long as done in the same day (morning + afternoon session), same stock, all transaction will be aggregated/accumulated as one contract.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:30 AM