AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V5, The Journey Countinues..

cstkl1
post Nov 28 2008, 09:51 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(wanka91 @ Nov 28 2008, 03:55 PM[SPOILER)
]I rest my case cstkl.... it was just an advice and you acted like some kind of spoiled brat who doesnt like what your hearing.

You did post in the wrong thread, no matter how good that info was

and yeah i just finished spm :/
had a feeling this was about me and took a peek.
trying to retort.. its only a ignore list but i guess his ba never told him stop being emo.
and the reason ure ignored is cause u never read what was being talked about in the last few pages...
it wasnt even a war about ati vs nvidia.. it was between two cards only.. real fanboy arent ya
kids nowadays..
also taking advice from u is like asking my maid to advice me/partners on how to manage our companies finances.

begone to the ignore list once again.

QUOTE(tech_frix[SPOILER)
,Nov 28 2008, 04:24 PM]as cstkl1 said, we need to compare it on the same level...
then we can make d conclusion...
now i'm still waiting for cstkl1 ss...erm...kekeke
tech i am trying to find ati gc since sold already ...

been asking asus taiwan to bring in the matrix..

if u want i can post the gtx260 anytime but nothing to compare with except a x1050 keke..[/SPOILER]

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ [SPOILER)
Nov 28 2008, 08:39 PM]gecube 4870 is selling for RM820.  price is going down for real?
christmas and year end rush dude

so the price is mainly down because of more volume in anticipation

remember malaysia we give our kids usually money for shirt etc 17 year old needing permission from the "ba" to buy a gc

2006/7.. parents in the US and even gfs were giving their kids/bf a 8800 GTX/Ultra
purchasing power of the USD.

that time it took a average graduate to use his one month / one and a half for ultra income to pay
in the US.. a 16 yeard old summer part time worker in mcd can buy it after a month...

[/SPOILER]
PS how ppl here would actually be interested in buying the matrix hd4870 if the price was around 1-1.1k

cstkl1
post Nov 29 2008, 06:04 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Nov 29 2008, 02:45 PM)
sure ugly lo lulz laugh.gif you don't need 24 inci anyway unless you watch a lot of 1080P movies very often rclxms.gif

Added on November 29, 2008, 2:48 pm

save your extras and go 22" instead laugh.gif rclxms.gif
why the heck you think it lags doh.gif i gaming on 22" with 512mb also no lag lo tongue.gif
i suspect that guy bs bro.
and all his post in hardware section seems to be increasing his post count only
the 512mb vs 1gb not that much of diff and mainly only 24 only inch
and this also depends as long ure running vista and having 4gb's of ram that is well clocked

Added on November 29, 2008, 6:10 pm
QUOTE(shinhou @ Nov 29 2008, 05:55 PM)
4850 and 4870 cannot play games like crysis on 1920x1200 meh?

http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigabyte-rad...5oc1gi-review/8

This is what i've read. Crysis (0x AA) on 4870 are on 47fps, isn't that adequate?

I am planning to get 24" monitor and 4870 for designing purpose and mild gaming..it seems I have to reconsider.
well for warhead
guaranteed ure gaming experience is at 1680x1050 at enthusiast setting to have fps around 30+

ure running 4870 1gb at 790/4400
e8000's at 4.5ghz 500x9
4x1gb at 1200mhz 5-5-5-15 tRFC 25 tRD 8(p45)7(x38/p35/x48)
on 150gb Raptor X...
and fully optimized gaming rig.. that means ure os not full of junk.

oh yeah crysis is one of those games that loads a lot of textures into mem..

so having 4gb's fast mem's and GC mem thats large and fast..will benefit a lot
heck if the gtx290 came with GDDR5 which is impposible cause it will need a 512bit GDDR5 that will cost a bomb..
we are going to see some gila numbers..
but highly unlikely

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 29 2008, 06:13 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 29 2008, 06:14 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Nov 29 2008, 06:12 PM)
guys,how much better is the HD4850 compared to the 9600GT..got into an arguement with my brother who seemes really unhappy with me buying the 4850..he said its only SLIGHTLY better then the 9600gt and with the price i should have bought a 9600gt..bullcrap right?
depends on what game he is playing and reso

again all the HD4000 series performs the best in vista.
not xp.

cstkl1
post Nov 30 2008, 01:51 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 30 2008, 12:14 AM)
bro,they no need oc also more than enough for 1920*1200 thumbup.gif

dude that fella gila
says crossfire for benchy
yet he is funding for x2...

noobie doesnt know hd4870x2 is a internal crossfire also..

cstkl1
post Nov 30 2008, 10:15 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 30 2008, 08:24 AM)
whistling.gif  whistling.gif
oops, i was referring to dual card cf.  blush.gif
btw, did u mean that if i cannot run a game on 4870 cf (where i need to disable cf only the game get started), the same thing will happen to 4870x2? where I hv to disable cf feature for 4870x2?  hmm.gif
not sure which game ure referring too
but whatever issue u have with hd4870 crossfire
u will have with hd4870x2.

cstkl1
post Nov 30 2008, 10:44 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 30 2008, 10:34 AM)
Crysis n FC2 cannot run at all, crashes on 4870 cf. Other than these 2 games, cf works fine.
I dun think 4870x2 cannot play these games  hmm.gif

Yeah, i'm not the only one experiencing this issue.
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm...threadid=101882
Could b driver or the game itself.
ok let me make this clear

4870x2 is the SAME as 4870 1gb crossfire.
u still have to enable to gpu's for crossfire option for both cores on the single card
so if they game has issue with crossfire ure still end up using only one gpu on that card.. so its again the same as hd4870 1gb.
its just that hd4870x2 is cheaper than having 2 hd4870x2
consumes less power
and less strain on ure mobo's nb/sb

ericcyl..
can u explain to him

or all users of dual gpu on single card..
please explain to this guy..

that whatever hd4870x2 is actually two gc on crossfired but in a single card solution
and whatever issue u will have on a dual card crossfire u will also have in the hd4870x2.
and his comments saying crossfire is a waste of money also means dual gpu on a single card solution also is a waste of money.

oh yeah i got the rough estimate price for the matrix
the hd4870 is around RM1200-RM1400
and HD4850 is around RM700..

so anybody interested.... this is a no gain bulk..
need five for both normally.. will be here before christmas..
will be asking taiwan tommorow..

also funny note
today czone staff made me laugh...
enqiured about a gc..
he said they sold last time.
and said they were the only one and they ordered from taiwan
idiot didnt know it was servex that brought it in...
and other than a few individual enthusiast.. ahem..
they dont allow even shops to buy from them without a account.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 30 2008, 10:50 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 30 2008, 10:54 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(gulhalim @ Nov 30 2008, 10:47 PM)
does the Palit 4870 Sonic Dual and Gainward 4870 GS have much difference?
one makes the distro earn more dough that the other..

they are the same.

its like asking is foxconn gfx and asus stock nvidia cards any diff..
the name... the box..warrantty.. thats about it..

was in lyp in the afternoon
sishh the DK price is NUTs..especially the TOP
but then again 3 years warrantty and better packaging...

cycom seems to be the cheapest on the GFX side
and a few cards already gone
there was one Asus HD4870x2 triple fan.. saw in one the shops last week gone
no more sign of any zotac GTX260 Amp2
Most of Asus Normal HD4870 Top all gone..

but everywhere was flooded with Asus DK 's and Gaygay/Galaxy GTX280 OC/+ edition... ( box seems to be getting smaller and smaller.. cutting cost??)
was even suprise with the asus HD4870x2 box in cycom.. so freaking small..
like half the size of the DK box
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 12:14 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 30 2008, 11:39 PM)
I still dun understand...
ok make it simple

in ure hand 4870 two cards in both hand
ure mind says yippy i have two cards

in ure hand 4870x2 in one card in both hands
ure mind go oh no i have one card

u put two hd4870 in ure mobo..
ure mobo goes oh no.. two cards.. nb going to get hot

u put one hd4870x2 in ure mobo
ure mobo goes yes.. nb wont be straining

however ure OS says
no difference.
and ask u .. u want to run single or in crossfire .
same with hd4870x2...

hd4870x2 is crossfire

hd4870x2 crossfire is quadfire.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 1 2008, 12:15 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 12:27 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Dec 1 2008, 12:26 AM)
Eeeh.....Do you know Palit own gainward?Gainward did R&D for Palit for ATI card as well whistling.gif
So both is exactly the same,with different cooler.
What about this,you send gainward HD4850 GS for me to test and compare head to head with HD4850 Toxic(Maybe palit sonnic as well) whistling.gif Or you do the comparison and share the result.Also,dismantle the gc and tell us the difference you can spot between palit and gainward
Think of adding you into my ignore list,gosh traditional sales man technique.
unignored now
one of the best thing uve said...

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 12:35 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Dec 1 2008, 12:30 AM)
i thought palit and gainward have their own r&d department
eh..
must be twins working in both department

palit came out with their hd4000 series overclock first
then gainward same design

palit came out with hd4870x2 tri slot edition first
and gainward same design...

its a miracle i tell u..

gainward ati r&d... chopping gainward logo .
weve made a new product.!!!! tongue.gif
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 01:47 AM

6,799 posts

Edited cause wasting my time
and might as well be cordial about it.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 1 2008, 02:06 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 02:10 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Scanart @ Dec 1 2008, 02:05 AM)
Yes you are right on that, I will have to admit and agree. Sales "stuffs" is one of my job function.  sweat.gif  I do tried my best to keep it to news, updates on new models and reviews.

And I apologised for calling you and OC3/4 names.  notworthy.gif It was uncalled for.  icon_rolleyes.gif
kekek thats all u can say
my typo...

anyways last rebuttal for u

and take my advice on that
kaira already had a big fall on the nvidia cards with the xfx.
you guys will be the on course for the same trend if u think loyalty to gainward is because of branding

heck u could have come with so many arguments against palit distro rather than the brand.
with branding, service, rma time etc etc
yet u choose to ignore any form of reproof.

those who seen my recommendations and ask me on a very weekly basis knows i am impartial and take will take full responsibility on the advice i gave out
if anything was astray.
i doubt u will and just leave it to somebody else.

netraid was really good..
active on promoting his company netraid first second brand.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 1 2008, 02:13 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 02:22 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 1 2008, 02:19 AM)
Eh guys what version of ATi Tray Tools works for Vista X64?Mine keep getting Error cannot run doh.gif
advice is not to try
but i got whatever the version was from guru3d

its not been fully updated properly for 64 bit
was testing it for quite some time
even the lod bias are not working right.

oh yeah but to get it partially working u need to install on the driver and dont install catalyst centre
then install ati tray tools...
and then only catalyst centre.

seems to work better this way for lod bias.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 1 2008, 02:22 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 01:37 PM

6,799 posts

so is there anybody actually serious about getting the matrix...

if not i will just buy two for myself.

cstkl1
post Dec 1 2008, 04:16 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Dec 1 2008, 01:45 PM)
u got special price?
QUOTE(picksickrick @ Dec 1 2008, 01:49 PM)
cstkl1; u planning on a bulk?

still thinking whether it's worth is..as $$$ is very limited smile.gif
QUOTE(nles @ Dec 1 2008, 03:53 PM)
Im serious xD

getting one to replace my 3870 so I can send to RMA.

u getting two 4870?

Is 620w enough to power two 4870?
no special price
no untung for anybody bulk

asus taiwan request moq.
and we would be one of the first in the world to get it.

current only the hd4850 matrix is production

cstkl1
post Dec 2 2008, 11:51 PM

6,799 posts

ok dude final prize for hd4870 matrix is rm1420 and shipping is rm150-rm200
hmm i think i myself will take one only...cause the price of gtx280 55nm already so cheap rm1300...
so anybody interested.
by the way this card is freaking limited

even to get 2 two malaysia will be lucky

cstkl1
post Dec 3 2008, 12:13 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(NarutoKiubi @ Dec 2 2008, 11:54 PM)
4870 or 4870x2??

because if for 4870 only the card is freaking expensive...

somemore plus shipping...

man...

very expensive la macha...
shipping shared larr by all the number of cards
its not per card per shipping

its per lot per shipping

QUOTE(pikacu @ Dec 3 2008, 12:00 AM)
gtx280 55nm edi out ? i tot the availability ard world atleast Jan 2009
nope u can get it by mid december
the new stock of gtx280 guarantee 55nm
but the gtx260 216sp will be mixed

cstkl1
post Dec 3 2008, 09:21 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Dec 3 2008, 08:47 PM)
hmm am i the only one here who have not RMA the GC once b4 because of my conservative usage laugh.gif tongue.gif
kekeke i have not rmaed any gc since x800 days..

but then again for ati in the past i always bought reference

always found the non-reference ones are the ones with high rma rate.
his iceq4 is one example
and all the sapphire blue pcb's
cstkl1
post Dec 3 2008, 11:41 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Dec 3 2008, 10:36 PM)
that guy never rape his card like others....
he really is conservative.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
hahah i guess thats cause i clock everything super stable
while a lot of ppl here like to clock and post unstable results.

have u guys run memtest86 for like 2/3 days on a lcd...
do u know what happens...
u create a burn in into ure lcd...
kekekeke...

even once lcd had a orthos burn in on it...
took a while for it to go ..

Added on December 3, 2008, 11:46 pmlast call for anybody who want this

this is really niche product

hope can clock this 900 core.. kekeke

those who want to see what so great about this card
google the 9600gt matrix review... it can run a 856mhz 2000mhz shader stable...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 3 2008, 11:47 PM
cstkl1
post Dec 4 2008, 12:02 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Dec 3 2008, 11:57 PM)
bro cstkl1, got extra card r??
sell me one lor...hehehe

so when will d matrix reach ur hand??
give a mini review r...
wont be taking two..
well if u want one its not too late to order.
RM1420

and delivery charge is rm150
shared by no of cards ordered per person .
so in this case is rm75.
but i do warn its considered lucky if theres even two cards to be allocated to malaysia..
asus considering this a really niche product..heck its not even on their website..
remembered still the first time when i got the asus hd3870x2 rog ... was one of the first retail card in the world.
only after two months they brought in a few more..but thats about it.

and malaysia is way down their priority list...

will take one
and the new gtx280 55nm
would actually prefer want the gtx260 55nm.. but u wont know cause it will be mixed up with the 65nm.

hahah mini review??
nah wasted all my time last time reviewing and posting...
takes days and hours ... to get all super stable.... waste of my time.

one thing lyn will never become xs.. cause everybody here likes to talk rubbish.
the amount we all shared and learned in each intel mobo speciality thread in xs is amazing..
everybody contributes..
not talk rubbish.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Dec 4 2008, 12:05 AM

0.0423sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:30 AM