DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

jazzy939
post Feb 10 2009, 05:48 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Bro,
Alzheimer's is memory loss thingy.. you're having a 'wandering mind' syndrome! laugh.gif

Just remembered, the SANWA is CD800a model, just basic lah.. That is already RM1XX, based on our discussion on this model in one thread we had, I think the 'TENWA' would be 'better'.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(March05 @ Feb 10 2009, 04:37 PM)
Oops sorry my mind wandered off again....was thinking of the type of sound I want from the T-amp after modding lah. Strange, I'm doing that (mind wandering, I mean) a lot nowadays..do you think it's Alzheimer's I'm contacting?

OK back to the DMMs...what the ****, my searches for digital multimeter on Farnell keeps showing up GOSSEN METRAWATT @ RM8XX. They're trying to squeeze me ah? How come you can find TENMA but I cannot? Ayoyo!

Sanwa is okay....still got a genuine 20 year old analog Sanwa in my toolkit. But finding it very difficult to read the thin needle, especially in low light. DMM is only the way to go.

Anyways, lessee...TENMA - 72-7735, RM200.74....seventy four sen can lah won't break my bank. Specs well within my requirements...great, shortlisted!!!
March05
post Feb 10 2009, 06:13 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 10 2009, 05:48 PM)
Alzheimer's is memory loss thingy.. you're having a  'wandering mind' syndrome! laugh.gif
Not Alzheimer's? My word, that's a relief! My wife thinks wandering mind is tolerable lah. As long as it's not wandering hands, or wandering `something-between-the-legs'. wink.gif

Well, it's looking like the TENMA is the ONE. Thanks, that's another TT session IOU.

BTW the promised TT/TT session is still in the works...just need to fix a suitable date, any Feng Shui masters here?
bsl555
post Feb 10 2009, 11:02 PM

8,046 posts

Just buy the Sanwa CD800a model lah. It'll suffice most of your needs and its quite accurate. I use one too for more exacting measurements, otherwise its ye old Sanwa analog needle meter. Slightly over RM110 at Pacific Radio at Jalan Pasar. FYI, they also own Asia Sound hifi shop.
LittleGhost
post Feb 10 2009, 11:46 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

2nd recommendation for the Sanwas over here.

I'm using CD771 for quite a few years and it has been a great toy to abuse.

EDIT: Display is decently huge and it's very rigid and solid. Dropped it a few times too but the rubbery layer on the outside protected it very much. Around RM200 range.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Feb 10 2009, 11:47 PM
ijan
post Feb 10 2009, 11:56 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

i can say the same for sanwa, ada cd800a, but seriously recommend FLUKE, u can source for cheap used fluke around here...the things ppl sell online..even on lowyat. i know i got my fluke83 for 1/5th the price at only one month old..

Added on February 10, 2009, 11:59 pmid recommend going direct to fluke, saves u a lot cause EVENTUALLY u will buy one. uncle bsl must haf a diff standing on this though but me sokong uncle jazzy on fluke. hard sunnavab1thc!

This post has been edited by ijan: Feb 10 2009, 11:59 PM
jazzy939
post Feb 11 2009, 08:55 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I saw 2 FLUKES for sale in Garage Sales. One going for RM250, the other one going half price for 700 bucks! whistling.gif

This one 250 bucks.FLUKE 73III:

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Feb 11 2009, 08:59 AM

LittleGhost
post Feb 11 2009, 09:06 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

There's a reason I wouldnt want to recommend the Flukes.

Well the Sanwa does as well too. If i really want to spend i'd rather save the money and spend in on scopes+signal generators.

But really, that's just me.
bsl555
post Feb 11 2009, 09:15 AM

8,046 posts

Hey guys. Its usual you fellas luv to suggest nice things that also come with a nice prices, moreover adventure to reach out for great bargains somewhere in cyberspace. I know March05 and I'm sure he's insisting on something of value, useful and practical without going overboard. We aren't able to find a Fluke cheaply just about from anywhere. The basic Sanwa will do for sure.
Speaking about Sanwa, I'd been eyeing that pocket sized multimeter for sometime but wished it was much cheaper. Why?..carry it around when I go buy thingys like resistors. So many times I've found "other values" stuffed in those little trays and the shop multimeter is just atrocious!.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Feb 11 2009, 09:19 AM
March05
post Feb 11 2009, 09:46 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Feb 11 2009, 09:06 AM)
There's a reason I wouldnt want to recommend the Flukes.
Tell us, tell us lah! biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif bsl knows me well enough. Honestly, my wandering mind is now shamelessly swinging to the Sanwa CD880a. A huge difference of RM90 over the TENMA (that's a lot of teh tariks + satay thrown in brows.gif ) The Sanwa CD771 is eye catching....I like the huge display, but the price seems to be RM300++ in reality unless I'm looking in all the wrong places.

FLUKE 80 V series is worth drooling over, but completely out of my budget, I think. The 73 series unfortunately seems to have no capacitance measurement....(I need this, that's the one parameter I've always missed with my current multimeters).

Appreciate the feedback, folks. Maybe some of the other readers here are also in looking for DMMs, so they will also find good use of your suggestions.

bsl555
post Feb 11 2009, 09:57 AM

8,046 posts

March05. Trust me and just buy the Sanwa, or any Sanwa model for your purposes, no need to think so much. Its still Made in Jepun and been around for decades. You can never really go wrong with it.
LittleGhost
post Feb 11 2009, 10:13 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Feb 11 2009, 09:46 AM)
Tell us, tell us lah!  biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif bsl knows me well enough. Honestly, my wandering mind is now shamelessly swinging to the Sanwa CD880a. A huge difference of RM90 over the TENMA (that's a lot of teh tariks + satay thrown in  brows.gif ) The Sanwa CD771 is eye catching....I like the huge display, but the price seems to be RM300++ in reality unless I'm looking in all the wrong places.

FLUKE 80 V series is worth drooling over, but completely out of my budget, I think. The 73 series unfortunately seems to have no capacitance measurement....(I need this, that's the one parameter I've always missed with my current multimeters).

Appreciate the feedback, folks. Maybe some of the other readers here are also in looking for DMMs, so they will also find good use of your suggestions.
Reasons: Expensive, money better spent on more practical equipments such as scopes and signal generators. I'm now even adding a PCB Miller in my list unfortunately saving up for that much money will take years. (SAD)

I got my CD771 for Rm220 three years ago. smile.gif EDIT: Should be even cheaper now.

You're getting it at the wrong places.

EDIT:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=917206&hl=fluke

The Fluke looks like a pretty decent buy though. But if yuo're patient there should be more nicely priced second hands that will do better than sanwas if you're not keen on the sanwas.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Feb 11 2009, 10:21 AM
milen007
post Feb 11 2009, 10:44 AM

13 posts

how bout oscilloscope recommendation? need cheap and usable to play around?

100MSa/s USB PC Based Digital Storage Oscilloscope 2090 any good? but it cost 200usd

This post has been edited by milen007: Feb 11 2009, 10:45 AM
March05
post Feb 11 2009, 11:17 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Feb 11 2009, 10:13 AM)
I got my CD771 for Rm220 three years ago.  smile.gif EDIT: Should be even cheaper now.
You're getting it at the wrong places.
LittleGhost, hokay, I get your reasoning on the value of the FLUKE stuff. I kinda like the higher accuracy of the FLUKES compared to the Sanwas, but it'll be overkill for a non-techie like me. However, if the price of a 80V series used unit is right...who knows, I might be tempted (I think more for the snob value of owning one rather than its function.)

So, now it boils down to either the Sanwa CD800a or the CD771. I think if I can get a new CD771 for RM200 or less, that's my choice. The backlight & larger display is right up my list of priorities. And it is a bit more accurate than the CD800a + seems slightly better featured.

ijan
post Feb 11 2009, 12:07 PM

3,448 posts

fluke acc (6000 counts), a bit better than sanwa (4000) for the lower end, fluke 70/80>sanwa low end, but when the count goes up, then its different. the higher fluke 28x series has 50,000 counts..thats kewl..

cd771 has better feature..that you will not use smile.gif

Added on February 11, 2009, 12:09 pmthe online price mam rs n farnell cannot be used as reference la, like my fluke 83 almost rm2k in price, but i know the first owner bought them for slightly over rm1k, and i bought them much less than 30% of that.

This post has been edited by ijan: Feb 11 2009, 12:09 PM
bsl555
post Feb 11 2009, 12:15 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Feb 11 2009, 12:07 PM)
fluke acc (6000 counts), a bit better than sanwa (4000) for the lower end, fluke 70/80>sanwa low end, but when the count goes up, then its different. the higher fluke 28x series has 50,000 counts..thats kewl..
Yes its kewl, when you're involved with rocket science and multiple decimal points on the scale. I know March05 need a general purpose DMM, thats it. smile.gif

ijan
post Feb 11 2009, 02:58 PM

3,448 posts

agreed.
jazzy939
post Feb 11 2009, 03:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Surely with FLUKE, you'll be getting, QUOTE " something easy to read (need big display fonts for this old man), reads usual stuff like DC & AC voltage, current, resistance, capacitance, accurate to 2 decimals,.......warm sound, solid mid-range, powerful bass, sweet treble, got PRAT, etc. " UNQUOTE laugh.gif

KenC
post Feb 13 2009, 04:20 PM

78 posts

I'm new here, Met March05 at Nixie and he introduced me here. I am so glad that I drop by, you guys are a fun lot.

Mrch05,
Take the Sanwa, its great value for money, I have on of those 880 too; Save the money for other instruments like Little ghose suggested.

Cheers

KenC

This post has been edited by KenC: Feb 13 2009, 07:39 PM
jazzy939
post Feb 13 2009, 05:16 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

kenC,
Well come aboard! thumbup.gif

Here's the fine print:
We do not guarantee your sanity here.. Enter, read at your own risks! laugh.gif

KenC