Penang's Overclocker Club Official Thread V4

metsatsu
post Jun 24 2009, 07:18 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 24 2009, 06:58 AM)
wow..so cheap..
got ppl selling in penang or not..?
how bout pict quality..not sharp.color oso
my current 22" AOC 2216Vw not as good as my Samsung 19"
AOC vs samsung??

lol doh.gif i think it's obvious, doesn't matter what screen size
metsatsu
post Jun 24 2009, 07:42 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

I've read up alot of roundup reviews from pc magazines and internet. AOC always received bad criticisms...
metsatsu
post Jul 1 2009, 10:21 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Jul 1 2009, 03:07 PM)
27" want??? brows.gif
Not in all cases.
Samsung LCDs, like it's TVs, the qualities between batches can vary a lot.
The main thing for an LCD is the panel, which in this case, a lot of Samsung LCDs u see actually do not use Samsung Panels. (I learnt about this when chatting with an LCD Panel Vendor.)

There are multiple grades when it comes to these panels. So for the normal entry models, i think even the manufacturers, be it Samsung, BenQ, LG, Dell could not keep track of what panels they're using in that particular batch. Whoever can offer the best price will be used. It's more or less luck if you get a good unit or not i'd say.

Don't wanna go wrong, always choose the higher end models... thumbup.gif
higher models... mind to give a few examples?
metsatsu
post Jul 3 2009, 03:27 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

399 for a 23'' full hd lcd is dirt cheeeeeap. See if there's any light 'bleeding' when it's displaying all black. That's a good start for rating this display

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Jul 5 2009, 12:04 AM
metsatsu
post Jul 22 2009, 11:39 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Jul 6 2009, 03:11 PM)
For 399 even with some backlight bleeding also it's still damn cheap.

Higher end means, Ultrasharp series and above... biggrin.gif Oh ya, and also 24" and above, and also the 20" Ultrasharp Non WS. The 22" US is not High end as that uses TN Panels.

Btw, i see Moderno selling something from Coolit called the Domino ALC.
How does this fare against the Corsair we were talking about earlier?
The price is below Rm400... brows.gif
gosh.... picking back my old wound. sad.gif

regarding the corsair H50. swisspac doesn't seem to be keen to bulk it.... and they kept saying it won't be covered by warranty (wtf? that's utterly bs), so i decided to let this down the drain
metsatsu
post Aug 2 2009, 04:05 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(Omega93 @ Aug 2 2009, 10:01 AM)
Hi new here , trying to build a new rig ~_~ (got a free C2Q 9300 >_>)

are these prices ok? @_@

Acbel M8 Modular Power 750w  RM540
Asus P5Q Pro  RM470
Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black RM345
Corsair 2X 2GB DDR2 800 CL4 Twin 2X4096-6400C4DHX  RM233
WD 1TB Caviar Black  RM345
Xigmatek Dark Knight  RM170
AOC 2236Vw RM555

still cant find a HD4890 vapor-x >_<
or if any1 can reccommend a gc around 800 ? sweat.gif 
also is an acer screen or AOC screen better ?  unsure.gif

+ anywhr i can go to assemble it? ~_~ (lazy to do it my self)
for the red, here's my personal comments:

why on earth would u wanna spend RM540 for that piece of crappy psu? just go for corsair TX750 for almost the same price.
and never EVER EVER buy AOC LCD, u will regret it. acer will be preferred in this case.

Blue why don't u go to bukit jambul complex and ask swisspac pc shop? at least they can try to order for u even if they don't have the stock. there's a freelance penang pc assembler in LYN. ask our beloved acemeimei (acecombat), she will do it for u if she's in the mood brows.gif (for a little extra "cost" brows.gif )

metsatsu
post Aug 2 2009, 05:08 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

if ur looking for a the 22" acer lcd it will be 600 something for the glossy one and the matte one will be around RM580 something.

unfortunately there's no such thing as cheap razer products in penang bro. u want cheap, LYN garage sales is the best place to find cheap 2nd hand razer products. if u want to be able to 'see' and 'feel' the products where there is the most stock, nanyang (prangin mall and midland) or gadget zone will be your best bet.

Added on August 2, 2009, 5:11 pmbtw, guys from penang.... who has EVGA x58 classified mobo?

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Aug 2 2009, 05:11 PM
metsatsu
post Aug 2 2009, 06:42 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

prangin mall nanyang should have, few weeks back i checked they still had some tx2 left. but now not sure liao. i really think u should check out BJ, u will have better luck searching for whatever u need there
metsatsu
post Aug 5 2009, 07:25 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(Omega93 @ Aug 4 2009, 11:49 PM)
i just bought xigmatek PTI paste instead- -ll o well getting stuff in a few more days btw y is the thread uhh kinda.. dead?
it has always been like that smile.gif not too many kaki here tongue.gif btw, why on earth did u go buy xigmatek paste?
metsatsu
post Aug 6 2009, 12:05 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

guys... anyone of you here owns evga classified?
metsatsu
post Aug 8 2009, 11:05 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

finally a "not so biased" review of H50 vs TRUE

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticl...174&articID=939
metsatsu
post Aug 11 2009, 12:44 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(dotatornado @ Aug 11 2009, 09:40 AM)
CPU-i7-920

MB-ASUS P6T SE CF X58/1600FSB/1333DDR3

GPU-SAPPHIRE HD 4870 1G GDDR5 PCI-E QP

RAM-CORSAIR TR3X3GB1333C9 (1GB 1333MHz x 3)

HD-640GB Western Digital 16M - WD6400AAKS

PSU-Acbel 660W true power

Cassing-CM 690

DVD driver-forgot, i ask for cheaper 1.

total 3.64...  sweat.gif over bugget .. and can't get what u all suggest ..

How is that ok ? like that ?

thx for suggestion  rclxms.gif
A sub 4k i7 is bloody cheap for a fully penang bought and assembled parts bro. Thats quite impressive alrdy
metsatsu
post Aug 12 2009, 07:43 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 12 2009, 11:27 AM)
guys, I got a ddr3 triple channel 3gb kit to let go, interested visit my link as signature there...

@owikh,
ya, wat happened ?
Kvmcom is an ass from my personal experience. total lack of communication skill
metsatsu
post Aug 13 2009, 12:29 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

DFI UT.... The one u just sold recently? So i guess whoever got that mobo is not pleased with the absence of receipt then
metsatsu
post Aug 13 2009, 02:46 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Let me guess, he always replied u with either one or two sentences and u r the one who always does the pm'ing first?
metsatsu
post Aug 18 2009, 07:16 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

hi bro, u r not out of topic. smile.gif

bukit jambul complex is the place where u should start. or u can pm our fellow forumer hikari85 who's a seller based in penang.
metsatsu
post Aug 19 2009, 10:42 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 18 2009, 11:36 PM)
i7 is more challenging... now waiting for i5. Saw someone hit 5.6Ghz with i5 870  drool.gif
Alrdy saying byebye to your 'fair lady'?
metsatsu
post Aug 20 2009, 01:41 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Why dont u try pm iiee? Coz he just got his asus mobo rma'ed, and alrdy arrived back from rma.
I heard alot of bad story about gadget zone's warranty service...
metsatsu
post Aug 26 2009, 10:39 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 26 2009, 07:33 PM)
There's no such a thing. The so called life span is too overrated.
Any part can get damaged even though it's not OCed.
lol the right man to make this statement...

considering the fact of how many hardwares u have RMA'ed tongue.gif
metsatsu
post Sep 5 2009, 10:45 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

hey any of guys here wanna buy a 2nd hand logitech z2300 speakers?? refer to this thread. if straight away take 2, he can offer for RM400 each only!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1151931

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0277sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:52 AM