125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V10, marsupial madness

sharil_routh
post Dec 15 2008, 02:33 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Dec 15 2008, 01:22 PM)
the gathering is so fun.. a group of silly glider owner lol..

Alot of foods, alot of Juice and alot of fun..

Thanks sharing the photos and thanks Sara n TJ for all the hard work.  I love the Chololate cake!!!!!
The chocolate cake from me..... blush.gif

sedapkan....???

The 4 most important things to remember in choosing a diet for your gliders are:

* At least 25% protein; I think more is probably better
* Water
* Calcium!
* Limit fat and sweets

TSnezumitaro
post Dec 15 2008, 02:44 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

yup the cake from u.. soooo yummy.. but i am too full to stuck in more tongue.gif die die i stuck in 3 - 4 cakes tongue.gif

that day i try to melt the yogurt drop into hpw tongue.gif BB love it sooooo much. I myself canot smell any yogurt drop, cos the leatherwood honey smell is strong.
rozitahalim
post Dec 15 2008, 04:43 PM

14 posts

SEDAPNYA ITU BBQ drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
kelvin_faye
post Dec 15 2008, 04:55 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Dec 15 2008, 01:22 PM)
the gathering is so fun.. a group of silly glider owner lol..

Alot of foods, alot of Juice and alot of fun..

Thanks sharing the photos and thanks Sara n TJ for all the hard work.  I love the Chololate cake!!!!!
Pudding not sedap ka? laugh.gif
saramic
post Dec 15 2008, 05:18 PM

236 posts

oops.gif sorry sign0006.gif

Thank you everyone who made it to the small BBQ Glider Owners Gathering....

Special thanks to Kelvin for the wonderful pudding.... (gained 2kgs becos of u tongue.gif )
Sharil for the chocolate cake..... (still enjoying it now)
Shake for the bread pudding.... (yummy)
Mamata & Bugpakoo for BBQing.....
Spel'it for taking time off her very busy schedule....
Bonai & Mike for trying to throw everyone into the pool.... (better luck next time)

Stay tuned for more pool gathering in the near future.....

icon_rolleyes.gif

babydugong
post Dec 15 2008, 05:33 PM

115 posts

And thanks for everyone who take time to come for the gathering, including ME, hahahahahaha. rclxms.gif

Also Sara friend and TJ cousin. thumbup.gif
sharil_routh
post Dec 15 2008, 06:13 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(saramic @ Dec 15 2008, 05:18 PM)
oops.gif sorry sign0006.gif

Thank you everyone who made it to the small BBQ Glider Owners Gathering....

Special thanks to Kelvin for the wonderful pudding.... (gained 2kgs becos of u tongue.gif )
Sharil for the chocolate cake..... (still enjoying it now)
Shake for the bread pudding.... (yummy)
Mamata & Bugpakoo for BBQing.....
Spel'it for taking time off her very busy schedule....
Bonai & Mike for trying to throw everyone into the pool.... (better luck next time)

Stay tuned for more pool gathering in the near future.....

icon_rolleyes.gif

ur welcome... blush.gif
Who's sexy back ? rolleyes.gif brows.gif

There are many different diets available for your sugar glider, each diet has it's ups and downs. It really is controversial as to what the best diet is for a sugar glider in captivity. Although any diet you choose, keep the following in mind:

* A healthy diet is VERY important, serious health conditions will arise if your glider is not feed properly.
* Keep a positive calcium to phosphorous ratio, use calcium supplements that are non-phosphorous.
* A sugar gliders diet should consist of a protein source, vitamins, fruits and vegetables.
* Use vitamin supplements when necessary, but don't over do it, too many vitamins can be just as harmful as not enough.
* Start out by feeding about 3-4 tablespoons of food per night, per glider. If they eat it all the first night add a little more the next night until they leave only a little bit. Remember a sugar gliders stomach is about the same size of your thumbnail, and only holds less than a tablespoon of food/water.
* Often times breeders will offer pregnant or lactating mothers extra protein. Before doing this, be sure it fits into your current diet plan.
* Never add vitamins to your gliders water.
* Always follow the directions of your chosen diet.
* Fresh water and a high quality staple food must be available at all times.
* Feed you glider a varied diet within your chosen diet plan. This will prevent food boredom, and ensures a balanced diet. Example, feed various fruits, juices, vegetables, etc.
* Cat food or pellet base diets are not recommended. Sugar gliders are sap suckers, by feeding large amounts of hard food can lead to an infection in the jaw known as “lumpy jaw”.
* Do not mix diets. Each diet is balanced with the right amount of vitamins and minerals. Mixing diets can affect these balances resulting in either too much, or not enough of something.
* Give the diet a chance before deciding your gliders don't like it. Sugar Gliders can be like 2 year olds, and have similar eating patterns. One week they will go without touching any fruit, the next that is all they will eat.

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Dec 15 2008, 07:52 PM
kelvin_faye
post Dec 15 2008, 07:10 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Sayang : Nexy time dont wear contact lense ya. Very susah mau tolak u ke dalam pool.

And ajak swimming, alasannyer, xda tmpt nak letak lense. S E N T A P !

I yg malu2 ayam pon da turun swimming tau. Tak malu ker ngn i? wub.gif
sharil_routh
post Dec 15 2008, 07:10 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(rozitahalim @ Dec 15 2008, 04:43 PM)
SEDAPNYA ITU BBQ  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Aiseh... lupa nak pos foods kat rumah rozita.... blush.gif

Below are some recommendations on things you may want to avoid feeding to your sugar glider. The best advice I can give any sugar glider owner when trying to decide if something is "safe" for them is: "If there is a doubt...don't". There are so many things your sugar glider can have safely without having to introduce something into their diet that may be harmful.

* Do not feed pits or seeds of fruit to your sugar glider, these are toxic and could cause intestinal blockage
* Never feed your gliders raw eggs or meat
* Chocolate, coffee, tea and soda can be toxic to a gliders, as well as most pets
* Avoid onions and foods that contain onion powder, as it is believed to be toxic to gliders as well as most all small animals. Please check the ingredients list of baby foods you feed your sugar gliders, because some of them do contain onion powder. Onions are known to cause a health problem, known as Heinz-body hemolytic anemia, in animals. Onions contain dipropyl disulfide, which can destroys red blood cells
* Avoid feeding or offer sparingly, food that have high fat content such as peanuts
* Avoid feeding avocados as they are high in fat and contains toxins known as cardiac glycosides.
* Never feed bugs that have been caught outdoors, they may have been in contact with fertilizers or insecticides. Not to mention parasites that bugs caught outside may have.
* Take caution when feeding crickets, as they can contain aflatoxins, especially if they were raised on corn products.
* Some people feel that sugar gliders are lactose intolerant. Although straight milk can cause digestive upset, some people do feed their sugar gliders plain non-fat yogurt, as it contains natural bacterial cultures that will help digest the lactose and promote the absorption of calcium.
* Don't feed your sugar glider "left overs", they can contain a number of unhealthy things, such as preservatives and various spices. (Ex. Snacks, Prepared Dinners, Candy, Chips....)
* Avoid canned foods prepared for people, as they contain too much sugar, salt, and preservatives.
* Avoid offering your sugar glider plants or branches that are toxic.

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Dec 15 2008, 07:23 PM
sharil_routh
post Dec 15 2008, 07:23 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Dec 15 2008, 07:10 PM)

Sayang : Nexy time dont wear contact lense ya. Very susah mau tolak u ke dalam pool.

And ajak swimming, alasannyer, xda tmpt nak letak lense. S E N T A P !

I yg malu2 ayam pon da turun swimming tau. Tak malu ker ngn i? wub.gif
NAsib baik ada handset gak dlm suar aku....
Kalo time tu korg tolak aku gak.... mmg kena tampo sekor2.... thumbup.gif

Common New Owner Questions:

Q. Do sugar gliders bite?
A. Yes, sugar gliders can bite. Anything with teeth can bite, but tame and bonded gliders rarely do. A sugar glider bite feels similar to that of a hamster bite, although they don’t always break skin. Sometimes a tame and bonded glider may bite out of illness or if it is startled. Unbonded sugar gliders will bite out of fear. If your sugar glider does bite, it is important to take the bite. If the sugar glider learns that it can archive what it wants by biting, it will continue the behavior.

A less painful type of “bite” is called a nip. In this case the sugar glider doesn’t break the skin, but creates more of a pinch. This is often times a warning of its unhappiness or discomfort. Sugar gliders may nip you if they smell food or something they think is food on your hands (ex. lotions).

Tips to avoid being bit:

Avoid grabbing a sugar glider from above. This will create a defensive response, and may result in a bite. Instead, try coxing the sugar glider on the back of your hand, or scooping it up gently from below.

Some sugar gliders are “pouch protective” in these cases, the sugar glider will feel the need to protect their nest. Gently coax the sugar glider out of the pouch by working him up to the top of the pouch.

Offer the back of your hand instead of the palm. Most animals will find this less intimidating. Not to mention, taking a bite on the back of the hand is less painful than on the palm.

Q. Do sugar gliders need immunization (shots)?
A. No. Sugar gliders are not required or recommended for immunization shots at this time. The lower body temperature keeps the glider safe from many illnesses that would other wise affect placental mammals. One example is rabies. If a sugar glider came into contact with rabies the glider could not get or spread the disease. Sugar gliders are marsupials, as such their body temperature is lower than that of placental mammals.. Of coarse this does not mean that sugar gliders unable to get sick. There are still many diseases sugar gliders are susceptible to.

Q. Do sugar gliders make a lot of noise?
A. Sugar gliders are nocturnal animals. They are extremely active, vocal, and playful at night. Often times a verity of vocalizations can be heard, from barking (similar to a small puppy barking), crabbing, to chittering and hissing. Toys and wheels make noise. Most people, especially light sleepers, should not house sugar gliders in their bedroom. For the most part, yes, they can be loud, however, they aren’t usually loud enough to keep the neighbors up.

Q. Do sugar gliders teeth keep growing?
A. NO!! Sugar gliders are NOT rodents, they are marsupial possums. A sugar gliders teeth should never be trimmed or floated.

Q. My sugar glider doesn’t seem to drink a lot of water. Should I be worried?
A. Sugar gliders receive most of their “water” from the foods they consume. This is why dry pellet diets are not recommended as a healthy diet. Fresh water should always be offered. If you are concerned about dehydration, try tenting the skin on the back of the sugar glider’s neck. If it goes back down immediately, there are no problems with dehydration. However, if the skin stays tented or goes down slowly, the glider is dehydrated. Often times offering a small amount of juice, glideraide, or a 50/50 mixture of Pedialyte and water will help a dehydrated sugar glider. Sugar gliders can hide illnesses well. If you have any reason to believe your sugar glider may be ill, take it to the vet as soon as possible.

Q. What is that bald spot on the head and chest of my sugar glider?

A. The “bald spot” on the head, and chest are caused by active scent glands secreting oils. Intact males will rub their chest, head, and anus on their cage, colony members, and other objects, to mark what is “theirs”. Males that are neutered will stop producing the oil that mats down the fur creating the “bald spots”. Over time, neutered males will completely loose their “bald spots”.

Q. What is that pink worm thing coming out of my sugar gliders anus??
A. This is a males penis. The penis is pinkish in color, and is considered to be bifurcated. This means it is divided in two, but it is actually 2 separate shafts. New owners often mistake the penis for worms, or intestines. The penis is quite long, but is most often retracted . You may at times see your male with it out, cleaning it, and even showing it off.

Q. Can I take photos of my sugar glider with the flash?
A. Yes. You can safely take a few photos of your sugar glider using the flash. It is recommended that you limit photos in one session, and use the flash when needed. Occasionally using the flash feature on your camera will not harm the sugar glider’s eyes. However, using it repetitively for long photo sessions, may become uncomfortable for the sugar glider but avoid using flash also recommended.

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Dec 15 2008, 07:29 PM
zaifer
post Dec 15 2008, 08:59 PM

205 posts

oh help cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
jus have my suggie today.. but it keep make noisy when i try to approach him...
what should i do ?!?!

sharil_routh
post Dec 15 2008, 09:06 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(zaifer @ Dec 15 2008, 08:59 PM)
oh help  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
jus have my suggie today.. but it keep make noisy when i try to approach him...
what should i do ?!?!
Bonding with your sugar glider can be a rough road, although once you get there, it is worth the trip. Gliders are very social animals, and bond fairly easy. The more time you spend with your glider, the stronger your bond will be. There are a few tips that can help make this process easier on you and your new sugar glider.

* When you first bring your glider home, try not to have their cage filled with toys. Sugar gliders are very interactive, but if they have too much fun in their cage, they may not be interested in bonding with you.
* Sugar gliders are capable of identifying members of their "family" by scent. Use a small cloth and wear it close to your skin for a day or so. (some people use an old shirt) Then place it where your glider sleeps. This will get your glider used to your scent, with out you physically being involved. However, make sure you aren't wearing perfumes, as they can be harmful to the glider.
* Use a bonding pouch, (a fabric pouch worn around the neck) this will familiarize your glider with your voice, routine, everyday noises, as well as your scent.(click on my signature below thumbup.gif )
* Try pocket training your sugar glider, wear a tee-shirt with a pocket all day and night, in the morning, remove all pouches and nest boxes, and replace them with your tee-shirt. This will ultimately serve the same purpose as a bonding pouch.
* Move slowly and deliberately around your sugar glider. Fast and sudden movements might frighten your sugar glider. Fast motion could trigger their instinct to defend themselves against a predator attack.
* Speak to your sugar glider frequently using a soft and comforting voice, as this will help you gain their trust. Never raise your voice or use a negative tone, as this will set back the bonding process.
* Use a small room that has been glider proofed, or tent to let your glider out for play time (like my bro tee jay did ), this will allow the glider to get used to your presence, and greatly aid in the bonding process.
* Always handle your sugar glider with care, just as you would a human baby. Don't grab your sugar glider, or chase him around their cage, as this could scare the glider, and make him less likely to trust you.
* Place your hands in your gliders cage often, offering finger treats, such as applesauce on the tip of your finger, or try offering a mealworm. Stoke your glider gently as often as it will allow.
* Avoid looking directly down in the sugar gliders pouch, or reaching your hands in the pouch. Let the pouch be a "safe" zone for the sugar glider. Cox your glider out using a treat, or gently nudge them out of the pouch from the outside of the pouch.
* Patience is the most important thing in bonding. It will not happen over night, and will take some time

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Dec 15 2008, 09:09 PM
TSnezumitaro
post Dec 15 2008, 10:13 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Dec 15 2008, 04:55 PM)
Pudding not sedap ka? laugh.gif
Sure that is nice too!! its COOL everyone down especially everyone see sexy Kelvin tongue.gif
Shake one I also like.. all the food is nice.. eat until canot move lol...

kelvin_faye
post Dec 15 2008, 11:31 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Dec 15 2008, 10:13 PM)
Sure that is nice too!! its COOL everyone down especially everyone see sexy Kelvin tongue.gif
Shake one I also like.. all the food is nice.. eat until canot move lol...
Hahahaha laugh.gif I know i am the C L O W N that nite, but who cares right? blush.gif

I am very happy that day! Yahoo. Should have more like this. But me will be busier in the future. Huhu sad.gif

So i enjoyed the most that night as if it's my last. As always it will be.

Thanks for the wonderful nite guys n gals!

HPW diet = A W E S O M E !

They now will only eat HPW diet before starting to eat fruits. And Daisha who has weight problem is beginning to plump up d. Even baby Elmira began to plump plump d. Kekeke

icon_rolleyes.gif
Kelvin
mikelim2020
post Dec 15 2008, 11:33 PM

497 posts

bbq rocks !!!!!!!!! i love the glider meat sara mrinated and mamata bbqed
kenixkenix
post Dec 16 2008, 12:29 AM

hai kawan kawan
571 posts

fuyoh
mikelim2020!!!
bonai
post Dec 16 2008, 12:38 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Dec 15 2008, 11:31 PM)
Hahahaha laugh.gif I know i am the C L O W N that nite, but who cares right?  blush.gif

I am very happy that day! Yahoo. Should have more like this. But me will be busier in the future. Huhu sad.gif

So i enjoyed the most that night as if it's my last. As always it will be.

Thanks for the wonderful nite guys n gals!

HPW diet = A W E S O M E !

They now will only eat HPW diet before starting to eat fruits. And Daisha who has weight problem is beginning to plump up d. Even baby Elmira began to plump plump d. Kekeke

icon_rolleyes.gif
Kelvin
Yeah, HPW proven to plump up your little ones...

and very cool to have a fat glider..

I'll post my fat glider's picture sometime..
zaifer
post Dec 16 2008, 02:41 AM

205 posts

he tot im the predator... so how i offer him finger treats? = = cry.gif

Added on December 16, 2008, 3:04 amso now i should keep him in the cage or?

Added on December 16, 2008, 3:06 amnow i need to close the whole cage only he dare to sleep.... wa... how a...

This post has been edited by zaifer: Dec 16 2008, 03:06 AM
luc
post Dec 16 2008, 08:14 AM

295 posts

blah la wei!.....BBQ tak ajak!.......camni la korang....takpe takpe.....

gliders = cute animals..
sharil_routh
post Dec 16 2008, 08:21 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(luc @ Dec 16 2008, 08:14 AM)
blah la wei!.....BBQ tak ajak!.......camni la korang....takpe takpe.....
gliders = cute animals..
betol, betol.. boleh blah la diorg....bbq x ajak aku.. huh..terok tol..

gliders + HPW diet = healthy plum gliders thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Dec 16 2008, 08:23 AM

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:29 AM