47 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

CIMB Management Trainee

ArSe-SeNG
post Jan 17 2010, 10:49 PM

101 posts

No master students from local universities. I guess you need to recheck your facts.

Don't let me get started about UPM. Unless you come from there too, then you will know what is going on in there. And all the buzz and fuss about "Research University", it looks cool to outsiders. But when insiders like me actually gets to see what they do with the money, then it's not much of a hoo haa anymore. And when I mean by rankings, I mean the international university rankings. There is no point being a 'jaguh kampung' when at the end of the day, we're all merely proud that we're doing nothing that matters.

I am not proud of what is going in my alma mater, but rest assured I will be back there to sort things out.

My grades are on the low 3.7, so it is not first class. And as for Manglish, we're Malaysians. Do the math.

Also, MT's is not just a higher salary contrary to popular beliefs. We get to be rotated to departments where no fresh grads can enter. And chances are, if we perform there, we will be confirmed there.

Anyway, I just need to clarify that I am posting all these as you are sending all the wrong information out. Which is why I am asking if you are from the programme itself. If not, don't simply post stuff la. If yes, I have to speak to HR. Haha. Just kidding bro/sis.

DeniseLau
post Jan 18 2010, 01:46 AM

324 posts

Just spotted another anomaly:

On the CIMB website, it says minimum academic grade requirement is a CGPA of 3.30.
http://www.cimb.com/index.php?ch=group_ch_...&tpt=cimb_group

But in two of the printed adverts, one from GradMalaysia.com's book "Malaysia's 100 leading graduate employers 2008" and the other from Biz:connexion's (Graduan.com.my) "Graduan 2009"; the CIMB advert says that the minimum academic grade requirement is a CGPA of 3.00 or above.

I'm at 3.00, and so I'm stuck between the two shocking.gif

This post has been edited by DeniseLau: Jan 18 2010, 01:48 AM
tata88
post Jan 18 2010, 07:13 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(ArSe-SeNG @ Jan 17 2010, 10:49 PM)
No master students from local universities. I guess you need to recheck your facts.

Don't let me get started about UPM. Unless you come from there too, then you will know what is going on in there. And all the buzz and fuss about "Research University", it looks cool to outsiders. But when insiders like me actually gets to see what they do with the money, then it's not much of a hoo haa anymore. And when I mean by rankings, I mean the international university rankings. There is no point being a 'jaguh kampung' when at the end of the day, we're all merely proud that we're doing nothing that matters.

I am not proud of what is going in my alma mater, but rest assured I will be back there to sort things out.

My grades are on the low 3.7, so it is not first class. And as for Manglish, we're Malaysians. Do the math.

Also, MT's is not just a higher salary contrary to popular beliefs. We get to be rotated to departments where no fresh grads can enter. And chances are, if we perform there, we will be confirmed there.

Anyway, I just need to clarify that I am posting all these as you are sending all the wrong information out. Which is why I am asking if you are from the programme itself. If not, don't simply post stuff la. If yes, I have to speak to HR. Haha. Just kidding bro/sis.
I need to clarify again... I did say about master degree holder in TCB but i did not say whether they are from local universities. I actually mean that there are also competition from master degree holder for TCB.

You were from UPM so you feel that UPM exists something like this which you posted "But when insiders like me actually gets to see what they do with the money, then it's not much of a hoo haa anymore." but you were not from UM, USM or UKM. Why would you think that those three universities will surely better than UPM in terms of how they use their money?

For the international rankings for UM, USM, UKM and UPM. There is no point in talking about ranking for Malaysia universities internationally because it fluctuates every year. This year you see it increase, next year you probably see it decrease. UM, USM, UKM and UPM is around rank 200. How can you differentiate the quality from it? Can you say rank 200 is better than rank 210 or 220? I am curious about how you interpret the ranking of universities.. If you want to compare Harvard with UM, USM, UKM and UPM, then it will be obvious but don't try to see things you want to see from the number of the ranking for UM, UKM, UPM and USM.

I did say MT is nothing special but i also said only if he/she can get a permanent job that he interested in. If a person can get a permanent job that he wants and the position can also be pursue if he/she get into MT, then what is the difference between 2 situation? Of course, the main difference will be in $.

If any people feel that my information is really wrong, just ignore it.
ice_brakerz
post Jan 18 2010, 08:49 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(tata88 @ Jan 18 2010, 08:13 PM)
I need to clarify again... I did say about master degree holder in TCB but i did not say whether they are from local universities. I actually mean that there are also competition from master degree holder for TCB.

You were from UPM so you feel that UPM exists something like this which you posted "But when insiders like me actually gets to see what they do with the money, then it's not much of a hoo haa anymore." but you were not from UM, USM or UKM. Why would you think that those three universities will surely better than UPM in terms of how they use their money?

For the international rankings for UM, USM, UKM and UPM. There is no point in talking about ranking for Malaysia universities internationally because it fluctuates every year. This year you see it increase, next year you probably see it decrease. UM, USM, UKM and UPM is around rank 200. How can you differentiate the quality from it? Can you say rank 200 is better than rank 210 or 220? I am curious about how you interpret the ranking of universities.. If you want to compare Harvard with UM, USM, UKM and UPM, then it will be obvious but don't try to see things you want to see from the number of the ranking for UM, UKM, UPM and USM.

I did say MT is nothing special but i also said only if he/she can get a permanent job that he interested in. If a person can get a permanent job that he wants and the position can also be pursue if he/she get into MT, then what is the difference between 2 situation? Of course, the main difference will be in $.

If any people feel that my information is really wrong, just ignore it.
Ok i aint going to side anybody but something kinda ticked me, the fact that your last sentence says 'If any people feel that my information is really wrong, just ignore it.', is kinda irresponsible. Before you whack back at me i would just like to clarify that i aint saying that you are wrong about your info, but i certainly do believe that whatever you have pointed out or are going to be pointed out needs to be supported by facts. This is due to the fact that you can actually REALLY misled someone that might actually be interested in the industry but might face certain doubts becuase of what you have just said. This is especially so when someone i know has just called up directly to me asking about details once she read your forum (lol.... i actually told her to check it out) and it got her even more confused.

Hence i would side with AS, and question whether are you actually in the programme? Cause if not you are certainly causing certain amounts of misguidance.

Hope you are not offended, i just want to make sure the right amount of information is being passed on to our potential buddies in the future

ArSe-SeNG
post Jan 19 2010, 08:42 AM

101 posts

Oooo, I know cause at night my soul flies out from my body and checks out the accounting records of those unis. Is there anyway we can delete those posts? Certainly destroying the purpose of this thread. Tata88 seems a little lost.

But anyway, as for CGPA, I have no idea. Even if minimum is 3.00, but everyone else is 3.5, of course 3.5 has preference right? But just apply lah. Even if your CGPA is low, but they see something special in you, or you have special skills that fit in, who knows? It never hurts to try. It only kills that you never tried.

But try to improve your CGPA la. One more semester, do your best!!!!

Keep us updated.
ckwei
post Jan 19 2010, 10:28 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

the cgpa is just a guideline. i know of people who has entered with just a 60pt avg and still did fine smile.gif
DeniseLau
post Jan 20 2010, 01:53 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(ArSe-SeNG @ Jan 19 2010, 08:42 AM)
Oooo, I know cause at night my soul flies out from my body and checks out the accounting records of those unis. Is there anyway we can delete those posts? Certainly destroying the purpose of this thread. Tata88 seems a little lost.

But anyway, as for CGPA, I have no idea. Even if minimum is 3.00, but everyone else is 3.5, of course 3.5 has preference right? But just apply lah. Even if your CGPA is low, but they see something special in you, or you have special skills that fit in, who knows? It never hurts to try. It only kills that you never tried.

But try to improve your CGPA la. One more semester, do your best!!!!

Keep us updated.
Yep, one last semester! Results from last semester was released on Monday, managed to get 4.0!! rclxm9.gif

Will update again rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ckwei @ Jan 19 2010, 10:28 PM)
the cgpa is just a guideline. i know of people who has entered with just a 60pt avg and still did fine smile.gif
Wow! Shall do my best!
ice_brakerz
post Jan 20 2010, 08:39 AM

47 posts

smile.gif congrats.... gambate for the last one then...
gloomberg
post Jan 27 2010, 12:21 AM

510 posts

OMG! Although there are a lot of misconception going on here, some of them are true. Most employers nowadays would prefer going for foreign grads due to their international exposure and diverse experience, unlike local grads. I'm not saying that the local grads aren't as good, as it still depends on the individual itself. For me, I'm going for the 3rd stage (business presentation) and I'm still cracking my head on thinking what to say for this presentation. Really worried! And yes, there are a lot of uncertainties, but if u do good, I believe that we will be fine. smile.gif Anyway, it says that the presentation would take 15 mins, never did that b4! Usually it is <10 mins! icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by gloomberg: Jan 27 2010, 12:21 AM
pepper99
post Jan 27 2010, 04:26 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Jan 13 2010, 12:24 PM)
So, Pepper. Where are you now? Are you telling me you turned down Bursa!? ZOMG! tongue.gif
yup i turned down bursa.. lol.. im in cimb IB-CCS( corporate client solutions).. will be ending my internship in 3 weeks.. smile.gif
ice_brakerz
post Jan 28 2010, 06:25 PM

47 posts

hey guys any of you recently got hired??? i'm still awaiting for my fourth round =(
gloomberg
post Jan 30 2010, 05:32 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(ice_brakerz @ Jan 28 2010, 06:25 PM)
hey guys any of you recently got hired??? i'm still awaiting for my fourth round =(
Ha, are you that guy who's with me? Still wondering... Will know soon!
ice_brakerz
post Jan 31 2010, 05:34 PM

47 posts

when was your third round?
gloomberg
post Feb 1 2010, 03:08 PM

510 posts

last week actually. im still waiting for my fourth round, no reply yet. Gan cheong all the time now. Anyone in the 4th round before, any tips that u can provide?

This post has been edited by gloomberg: Feb 1 2010, 03:10 PM
leyley
post Feb 2 2010, 12:00 PM

2,096 posts

Theres quite a few tips in the first few pages brows.gif
ice_brakerz
post Feb 2 2010, 12:51 PM

47 posts

yeap i am also waiting for my fourth round, but they called to tell me that it would be after CNY, i dont think i would be waiting around much longer for them already....... good luck buddie
DeniseLau
post Feb 2 2010, 10:16 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(ice_brakerz @ Feb 2 2010, 12:51 PM)
yeap i am also waiting for my fourth round, but they called to tell me that it would be after CNY, i dont think i would be waiting around much longer for them already....... good luck buddie
Serious? Isn't CIMB like a highly sought after place to work?

I went to a career fair at my uni today, met the CIMB recruiters and spoke to them. It seems (to me) that I should start looking for ways to finance a MBA (Business and Finance), otherwise the "vegas odds" are stacked up against me.

*begins search for another 15k*

ice_brakerz
post Feb 4 2010, 12:08 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ Feb 2 2010, 11:16 PM)
Serious? Isn't CIMB like a highly sought after place to work?

I went to a career fair at my uni today, met the CIMB recruiters and spoke to them. It seems (to me) that I should start looking for ways to finance a MBA (Business and Finance), otherwise the "vegas odds" are stacked up against me.

*begins search for another 15k*
Erm.... ok lets just put it this way, CIMB one of the top banks in malaysia, high salary, good opportunity. People want to get in because of these.

But equivalently, if you have the academics but lack the experience you can always work in another firm that provides you with the opportunities.

It depends on what you are after..... the money that comes with the job, or the job that comes with the money.

I would love to work in CIMB too, but they keep delaying and stuff, wasting my time.
gloomberg
post Feb 4 2010, 12:14 AM

510 posts

Woot. Don't wanna wait la, but will try to hang on. Luckily I'm still in the interview process with other companies. But I'll call and see how it goes.
ice_brakerz
post Feb 4 2010, 03:07 PM

47 posts

Yeah i dont want to wait also, not likei go CIMB guarantee i can become successful also, my friend just kena from the head yesterday lol......

47 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:16 AM