kmarc
post Nov 28 2008, 12:14 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 12:09 PM)
Yup.. resort drop quite abit this morning.. but Resort special weapon not out yet.. its war chest RM 4.3B.

Here's latest CIMB research on Resort outperform TP RM3.55
[attachmentid=691435]

Dang.. just now i wanted to grab summore at 2.29 but it shoot up 2.35.

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
That's a very good report leh... and like what they say, Resort has a 4.3 BILLION cash pile, RM250 million is nothing to them....

So why the market react so badly....

Anyway, hope investors read these reports and realize that they over-reacted... then, it is up up and away!!! laugh.gif

@viper88 - so at what price you queue at the moment? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Nov 28 2008, 06:22 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 01:54 PM)
Maybe some investor panic after see Genting fall, and they oso worried about Resort commitment in buying 3 US companies ( Lim kok Teh is the director of the companies).

I queued at 2.28, will see how market react later in the evening. Maybe will grab at higher price than 2.28.. Man.. resort is RM2+ shares..
expensive leh.. my bullet run out fast.

I made little profit on lionind this morning... buy 30K unit n fast fast sell off..  laugh.gif

Here's LionInd report today from Dow Jones.

November 27, 2008 22:31 ET (03:31 GMT)
Copyright © 2008 Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
Wah! You really have lots of bullets.... for this month, my ammo already half gone...

Looking at resort's trend, I think Genting will follow suit - drop another 1-2 days then stabilize at a new price......

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 28 2008, 03:56 PM)
Resort is cash rich while casino and hotelier business in Genting Highland are still profitable, just may suffer some minor drop in the near future due to economy slowdown. It is still a highly profitable business.

But for Genting, it is different scenario, UK casinos are bleeding businesses until now, Singapore casino profitable issue still unknown, while need massive capital injection for the construction of it and Genting needs to raise significant amount of borrowing for it.
But in distance future, if Singapore casino indeed a very profitable business, then Genting might be better than resort.
Genting is considered a growth and high risk stock currently compared to Resort.

But Resorts has its own issue as well, cash rich but doesn't want to reward their shareholders, if the company keep on holding the cash forever, while give peanut dividend to shareholders, then those cash rich is meaningless to shareholders as well.
At the mean time,recent acquistion doesn't well received by the shareholders and market.
Noob question - How to check how much dividend a company was giving previously? hmm.gif

If Resorts giving peanuts dividend, then I want to sell when the price goes up! smile.gif
kmarc
post Nov 28 2008, 07:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 28 2008, 06:28 PM)
Sime Darby Q1 net profit up 44% to RM867m

KUALA LUMPUR: Sime Darby Bhd posted net profit of RM867mil, up 44% from RM601.27mil a year ago, boosted by plantations.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...58&sec=business
Damn.... Looks like can't grab SIME at a low price.....

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 07:00 PM)
Dang.. been bz with work today n no time to follow up with Resort news. i just set queue buy at 2.28 but no match.
After came beck, chk my email got warning news about resorts from my remiser.
RED Alert!!!!!!

=====================
From my view, by looking at the RSI chart, the price could be down some more and maybe could breach RM2.00. The right time to buy if the RSI break 30, but you also need to look at the market sentiment.

=====================
0651 GMT [Dow Jones] STOCK CALL: Credit Suisse downgrades Resorts World (4715.KU) to Underperform from Outperform, cuts target price to MYR1.80 from MYR3.55. Notes Resorts plans to acquire 10% equity interest in US-based Walker Digital but "we fail to see the merits of its related party proposal and, hence, remain wary of how Resorts will invest its sizable cash pile." Adds management unable to provide assurance cash would not be spent on any more related party transactions. Although Resorts outperformed market by 18% in past 3 months, reckons corporate governance concerns could weigh down future performance. Warns foreign shareholdings relatively high, 37% as of end-September; "we think the stock could overshoot on the downside." Shares down 4.5% at MYR2.33. (PVA)
======================

Dun shoot now... very dangerous.... foreign shareholders 37% maybe dumping their shares.
Not sure whether this Credit Suisse trying to scares off normal shareholder to sell off their shares at a low price..
Be careful.

v_viper88
I see..... hmmm.... let's see how it goes, might want to get a bit more if it drops really low.... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Nov 28 2008, 09:42 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 28 2008, 08:40 PM)
26-Sep-08    Interim 3¢
26-Jun-08     Final 3.6¢
26-Sep-07    Interim 2.88¢
25-Jun-07     Final 3¢

Before 1:5 split 
29-Sep-06    Interim 12¢
29-Jun-06     Final 14¢
30-Sep-05    Interim 10¢
04-Jul-05      Final 11¢
30-Sep-04    Interim 9¢

So dividend yield still lower than FD rate.  sweat.gif  doh.gif
By so called holding a cash rich company share.  yawn.gif
Company not actually kiam-siap, he is actually one of the highest paid CEO.
Hmmmm... so low dividend.... if that is the case, will sell this counter when and IF it goes up.... smile.gif

Thanx for the info but where did you get that info? Wanna check other company's dividend history too. Any good links?

Added on November 28, 2008, 9:44 pm
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 09:19 PM)
I chk with my remiser just now, he told me the oversea company Resort want to acquire have direct interest with their director, one of th the company is only about 2 year in operation. This
creates doubt n fear of mismanagement of the company $$$$$. Alot shareholders especially foreign shareholder sell off their share after this news out. REsort share will still volatile in the coming weeks and its next strong support level about rm2.

My remiser doubt Resort will go down too much due to its big cash. Its only a matter of time Resort will go up back.

v_viper88
Aikes... looks like it will drop more.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 28 2008, 09:44 PM
kmarc
post Nov 28 2008, 10:48 PM

14,576 posts

AirAsia post 465million net loss!!!

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 07:25 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 29 2008, 12:39 AM)
yeah... agreed  nod.gif
Lately, me too depending on my instinct ... but as you said not guaranteed... sometime there is also false instinct...  laugh.gif

DJ rally for 5th day...
closed at +102.43 pts  8829.04
Errr... why do you need to quickly sell off the shares.... is it because of the T+3 or you're afraid it might drop further? hmm.gif

I'm still holding on to Zelan which I bought at 0.785 (2000 shares, peanuts amount compare to you guys) as I'm waiting for the market to go up around year-end or chinese new year..... Might even keep longer if the market is recovering (unlikely, looking at world economy)....

At the moment, I'm also stuck with KINSTEL and RESORT as the price I bought was higher. Again, will be waiting for those counters to go up (maybe next year or two sweat.gif) before I sell them....
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 12:32 PM

14,576 posts

That's the reason I started buying stocks. The fact that the prices of shares dropped so much and will go up one day. Even though trading shares involves high risk, the risks are much less when the stocks are cheap as they have fallen much and probably would not drop that much more (that's excluding companies that go bust!!!).

I didn't plan to play stocks yet as my strategy was to save money for savings/emergency funds, then unit trust, then only invest in stocks. Due to the current GREAT depression that is happening now, I actually had to skip the "unit trust investment" part and jump straight to buying stocks!!! biggrin.gif

My initial plan was for long-term investment but after starting to trade, I'm getting addicted to this intra-day trading!! sweat.gif Haven't started doing it yet.....

I don't know about you guys but I experience something quite illogical when I started trading:

Before trading stocks - I like my weekends where I can rest and enjoy
After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!! laugh.gif

Anyway, today is my D12 of stocks trading (yes, I'm counting blush.gif) and I'm getting very good info from you guys. thumbup.gif

kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 02:34 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Nov 29 2008, 12:46 PM)
That's the problem with trading - it becomes addictive. Almost everyone will become emotional and will lose in the end ...like going to the casinos. If you make more, you'll become more confident and trade even more each time. And if you lose, you'll also trade more to try to "make back" because your ego has been hurt.

Back in 2000, I turned $30,000 to almost $100,000 and then lost it all back ...including the initial $30,000. Sepandai-pandai tupai melompat, akhirnya jatuh juga ke tanah. Of course the good thing is I've learnt my lesson and I'm a better investor today.
Yeah, I'm aware of the risk. Hope I don't lose everything too.... sweat.gif

Once I get a few long-term stocks, will wanna play intraday/intraweek trading!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 29 2008, 12:52 PM)
I also feeel like that ....  laugh.gif

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 29 2008, 01:18 PM)
QUOTE(kmarc)
Before trading stocks - I like my weekends where I can rest and enjoy
After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!! 
biggrin.gif Me too....I pray Monday comes early since I am in stock market. Last time I could hardly wake up in the morning despites snoozing few times of my alarm, now no second delay when alarming. Then straight go to on PC to watch DJ movement. whistling.gif Sometimes I even woke up before my alarm time. rclxms.gif
thumbup.gif

Me too. So easy to jump out of bed! laugh.gif Last time, had to press the snooze button many many times!!! sweat.gif

@ Cherroy - Maybe we should have a list/database which is updated frequently, you know, for reference. Something like this:

1) Long-term stocks e.g. Public bank, maybank, IOICORP, YTLPOWER, Resort, etc
2) Short-term stocks
3) Good dividend stocks
4) Don't buy stocks
5) Urgent! Must buy stocks
6) Urgent! Must sell stocks e.g. Airasia on monday!!!

Although we have threads for those, it would be really useful to list them down, don't you think? Info will come from our forumers, of course, buy at your own judgement/risk!!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 29 2008, 02:44 PM
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 03:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ProGamerCF @ Nov 29 2008, 02:49 PM)
is a good idea, but is very hard to maintain..
dun u think so?
Won't be that hard, I think (if don't spam too much for that particular thread)

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 02:58 PM)
Better stick with those existing individual thread, as there are details information posted by forumers already.

Create another will result in cross-linked discussion, which by then dividend stock thread become like public bank thread on one day, and another day become BAT thread. Just like this thread, last 2 days, it more like Resort thread already.

Some more, one may not agree abc stock is long term stock as well etc.

This thread serves quite good for general discussion already until now. Always welcomed any idea. smile.gif

Cheers.
Ok, just thought that a database thread (minus the spam) would be nice and convenient. smile.gif

For example, if I want to find good dividend stocks, I have to practically browse and read through the whole "Good dividend thread" before I can come up with a list.....

Anyway, I have gained lots of information from this thread. V19 coming soon! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 04:32 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 03:32 PM)
Because the term and classification of it can be subjective, so kind of troublesome and might not agreed by others.

LYN forumers are famous for spam, tongue.gif  no offence, even the pinned useful link/website and must website thread which being created for sharing and reference, also being spammed.  doh.gif

Cheers, appreciated for the suggestion.
Haha.... I'm also sometimes guilty of spamming...

However, to tell you the truth, spamming sometimes make the thread more lively....... that's my opinion anyway.... wink.gif

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 29 2008, 03:33 PM)
I notice that Bursa does put up some good stocks for special offers almost every week.

But next week, AA might not be good. Judge your own.

The sad thing is most forumers are happy with only 2sen profit in the short term.
. Again,  I personally would disagree a 2sen profit expected from Resort World like the other forumers.

But I still respect their decisions, after all.
Errr.... where to get the special offers? I went to their website but couldn't find any "sales" biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 07:21 PM

14,576 posts

Have you guys read this? http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/

Read the Friday and Saturday postings on AirAsia.

After reading that, I'm not sure I want to buy AirAsia for long term, having a debt of 6.3 billion!!! rclxub.gif

AirAsia's stock price would probably drop come Monday. What do you guys think? Play this stock? Grab when low and cabut when rally? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 29 2008, 07:29 PM
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 09:28 PM

14,576 posts

So you guys gonna trade AirAsia shares? Very risky wor.... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 09:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Nov 29 2008, 09:30 PM)
will airasia become the next hot stock in this thread
Dunno... but I think I dare not touch it...

QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 29 2008, 09:36 PM)
nope, just curious about them... tongue.gif
Yeah, I think I will stay at the sidelines for this one....
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 10:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 29 2008, 09:58 PM)
AIRASIA never distribute dividend, not in their past record.
Aikes! Then I will not touch this counter..... no point waiting for it to go up, as other counters will go up and still give dividends!
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 12:42 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 29 2008, 11:58 PM)
Sorry to gatecrash but i really wonder what do you guys think of DJIA's performance for the short term. Best rally since the depression, hence there's not enough data to 'predict' what happens next. The article on CNBC.com (iirc) suggested that while 4-5 days rallies are mostly good sign, rallies of 1x% magnitute however don't always guarantee a good follow through...
I don't think anybody can actually answer that question. Some articles say that this is a good time to buy stocks but the possibility of the market dropping further cannot be ruled out. I think most people think that the bear market will be here for quite some time, before global economy recovers......

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Nov 30 2008, 12:24 AM)
buy AA for technical rebound?
Would like to but afraid it won't rebound, then get stuck with the stocks..... not really good as panasonic88 pointed out that they don't give dividends!!! rclxub.gif

As tempting as it may be, I've made up my mind not to buy AirAsia..... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 30 2008, 12:43 AM
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 08:58 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 30 2008, 12:52 AM)
This is what i am waiting for on these plantation counter.  biggrin.gif by the time you might  see asiatic, ioi below 2.00... and that is the time to accumulate them  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah, me too. Still waiting for IOI to drop to get some cheap shares.....
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 10:15 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 30 2008, 09:57 AM)
One funny thing about the forumers is they expect only  their shares like YTL Power to go up, but other stocks to drop like stones. biggrin.gif

Correct me if I am wrong.
Haha, everybody is like that la......

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 30 2008, 10:07 AM)
A better way to invest in Plantation Stocks is to follow the old uncle way of investing. Just buy at your price and becomes forgetful of what you bought for the next 3 to 5 years.

Do not need  to check the weather reports ( flooding, half the Indo  sinks  and so on ) on daily basis. cool2.gif
True, but for IOICORP, it's price is 150% compared to a month ago, shoot up from around RM2 to RM3 ady..... that's why I'm hoping it might drop a bit first before I get it....

You guys think IOICORP at RM3 is still a good buy? Or is there are stocks that are better? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 30 2008, 10:17 AM
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 10:21 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 30 2008, 10:20 AM)
Perhaps they fire the CEO this time, so you could buy at below RM 2.00 hmm.gif
Ya ya! Like Zelan.... wishful thinking..... sweat.gif sweat.gif
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 04:15 PM

14,576 posts

What's the strategy for this week?

Besides Airasia, any tips on what to do @ which counter to buy? Sit by the sidelines?
kmarc
post Nov 30 2008, 05:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Nov 30 2008, 04:52 PM)
If you know how to hunt, meal is here.

BRDB
ENGTEX
INSBIO
KHSB
MMCCORP
OLYMPIA
PMCAP
PMHLDG
RANHILL

Better than just wait for dividend once or twice a year.
Trader's rewards come every few days.
Aikes! Me don't know any of the companies.... have to do some research on them.... hmm.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 30 2008, 04:52 PM)
Hunt at the RIGHT time, otherwise, meat oso no tongue.gif
Do you know any of the above companies? Any recommendations? smile.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0365sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:45 AM