QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 23 2008, 07:13 PM)
And buy when it is low? Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat
Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat
Nov 23 2008, 08:11 PM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
Nov 23 2008, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 23 2008, 08:49 PM) For me, personally i'll go for those cheap but strong fundamental with good financial background counter which have drop more than 70-80%. Mind sharing the counters you're talking about? Me noob in this..... Its current price will be close to RM1 or lessser better. Its main shareholder should have big players like EPF, Valuecap, Tabung Haji, Angkatan Tentera fund etcs for support. I also look for the stocks which have strong shares buy back from its own main shareholders. Reason: Lesser room to drop more compare to other expensive counters which have drop so much yet. Easier to sell off as cheap means more unit quantity and any slight rebound can make profit Cost of average down is cheaper since its price already low. Have big shareholders/fund managers to hlp hold or push share price up when market recover abit. v_viper88 QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 23 2008, 09:17 PM) I had seen plenty of people are interested in penny stock, because people general view it has not much less for the downside. Absolutely. Just a remind, some stocks are not cheap although price is cheap. The room for the downside for low price stock is as same as high price stock. For a stock that is Rm10, drop to RM5 is seen severe drop (-Rm5), but a stock of Rm1.00 drop to Rm0.50 is seen as minor drop and not much (-0.50). But in the end of the day, they are same with 50% drop. So if one invest the same amount of money (either buy 1 lot in RM 10 or 10 lot of RM1.00), still one lose the same amount of money. However, penny stocks changes more in terms of percentages as compared to higher priced stock. A 50 cents stock can increase 20% to 60 cents in one day. However, a RM5 stock takes more time to reach RM6...... Of course, it can go the other way too.... if it does, the way I see it is to average down, for the long term anyway..... (unless of course, the risk of the company going bankrupt.... die....) Take KNM for example, from below 40 cents shot up to 70 cents during this difficult times.... it is unlikely that a RM4 stock can shoot up to RM7 like penny stocks do, right? Please correct me if I'm wrong... still learning.... Edit : Oh ya, I opened a cash account rather than a margin account as I don't want to be caught with my pants down... This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 23 2008, 10:44 PM |
Nov 24 2008, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:21 AM) Yeap.. tats what i says..stock that drop alot away from its fair value will have a better chance to shoot up higher n faster. Thx for sharing. I've already stated earlier some of my stocks in my watching list waiting to grab when its price drop. I think its in V17.. YTLPowr-WB LIONIND MPHB Zelan This one abit expensive...need to drop more IOICORP - RESORT - Cash acct to invest is good. v_viper88 QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:58 AM) GDP, Jobless claims, Chicago PMI, Durable goods, Existing Home sales......do these data make you shiver in fear? Sell on the rally, buy on dips. Added on November 24, 2008, 2:22 amQuoted from Citigroup Message Board @ yahoo Somali Pirates in Discussions to Acquire Citigroup 21-Nov-08 01:30 pm Somali Pirates in Discussions to Acquire Citigroup November 23 (Bloomberg) -- The Somali pirates, renegade Somalis known for hijacking ships for ransom in the Gulf of Aden, are negotiating a purchase of Citigroup. The pirates would buy Citigroup with new debt and their existing cash stockpiles, earned most recently from hijacking numerous ships, including most recently a $200 million Saudi Arabian oil tanker. The Somali pirates are offering up to $0.10 per share for Citigroup, pirate spokesman Sugule Ali said earlier today. The negotiations have entered the final stage, Ali said. "You may not like our price, but we are not in the business of paying for things. Be happy we are in the mood to offer the shareholders anything," said Ali. The pirates will finance part of the purchase by selling new Pirate Ransom Backed Securities. The PRBS's are backed by the cash flows from future ransom payments from hijackings in the Gulf of Aden. Moody's and S&P have already issued their top investment grade ratings for the PRBS's. Head pirate, Ubu Kalid Shandu, said: "We need a bank so that we have a place to keep all of our ransom money. Thankfully, the dislocations in the capital markets has allowed us to purchase Citigroup at an attractive valuation and to take advantage of TARP capital to grow the business even faster." Shandu added, "We don't call ourselves pirates. We are coastguards and this will just allow us to guard our coasts better." *CITI IN TALKS WITH SOMALI PIRATES FOR POSSIBLE CAPITAL INFUSION *WILL REQUIRE ALL CITI EMPLOYEES TO WEAR PATCH OVER ONE EYE *SOMALIAN PIRATES APPLY TO BECOME BANK TO ACCESS TARP *PAULSON: TARP PIRATE EQUITY IS AN `INVESTMENT,' WILL PAY OFF *KASHKARI SAYS `SOMALI PIRATES ARE 'FUNDAMENTALLY SOUND' ' *Moody's upgrade Somali Pirates to AAA *HUD SAYS SOMALI DHOW FORECLOSURE PROGRAM HAD `VERY LOW' PARTICPATION *SOMALI PIRATES IN DISCUSSION TO ACQUIRE CITIBANK *FED OFFICIALS: AGGRESSIVE EASING WOULD CUT SOMALI PIRATE RISK * FED AGREED OCT. 29 TO TAKE `WHATEVER STEPS' NEEDED FOR SOMALI PIRATES That's a good one - employees to wear eye patch! This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 24 2008, 08:07 AM |
Nov 24 2008, 09:22 AM
I cannot tahan ady.... just grabbed Zelan at 0.785.....
Actually I put 0.790 but they match at 0.785 |
Nov 24 2008, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(eltaria @ Nov 24 2008, 09:23 AM) and u got a nice profit already now 0.815 zelan guys, what's your exit plan? getting about 13% return dee if u got it at 0.8 QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 24 2008, 09:24 AM) wah, now is .810... you earn man. I think it'll climb higher in the afternoon. No la... me buying for long term.... small amount too....But I'm still scared to buy. That's why I'm still poor man Hmmmm.... maybe should sell if good baby bull.... |
Nov 24 2008, 09:55 AM
Nov 24 2008, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 24 2008, 09:58 AM) Well, i bought it nicely before it ex-div after of doing some research n monitor its price support. What is your plans for the Zelan shares? Keep for long term or sell off if value increase? If sell off, what is your target price? Dividen + oversold + good financial result + strong buyback support for big shareholders. I feel its chances to get profit is higher so i go for it. v_viper88 |
Nov 24 2008, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 24 2008, 10:28 AM) Nowdays world market quite unstable... normally i dun plan to keep for long, will sell on strength. I see... what's your target price? Now already +9.5 cents! Maybe will buy back some when it retreat later. This counter have strong buy from strong shareholders... its news play oso good. Have good potential to go higher. |
Nov 24 2008, 01:08 PM
LOL.... I come back and found Zelan has dropped to +1 cent....
Gonna get some more this afternoon.... |
Nov 24 2008, 01:25 PM
Nov 24 2008, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:30 PM) Why not? Is it because of low dividend or the stock price will not go up much? QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:54 PM) can i quote the above statement and put this, Perhaps dun detain me, ISA!!! |
Nov 24 2008, 02:26 PM
Ding ding! Start afternoon session!!!
Too bad cannot buy Citigroup's share..... |
Nov 24 2008, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Nov 24 2008, 03:22 PM) So how many people got trapped with Zelan? Me lor.... but I didn't buy that much I believe still got a lot of selling pressure for this counter. They just waiting for it to go higher a bit before they dump to the massive buy queues. I queued at 0.735 (5 cents lower) but not coming down yet..... |
Nov 24 2008, 03:42 PM
Nov 24 2008, 03:45 PM
Nov 24 2008, 04:31 PM
Nov 24 2008, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(mo_meng @ Nov 24 2008, 04:37 PM) Errr..... I don't think you can get KNM at that price... still a long long way....Wow.... look at the active counters.... all blood red except for Zelan..... Again, looks like Malaysian stock market doesn't follow the rest of the world????!!??? |
Nov 24 2008, 05:03 PM
Nov 24 2008, 08:39 PM
Nov 24 2008, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(danlhct @ Nov 24 2008, 09:25 PM) Today Citigroup share will rise sharply. Too bad I do not have offshore trading account to buy the share I wished I could buy some citigroup shares too.....Any good recommended US share trading account? Say, what are you guys buying tomorrow? Any specific counters? |
| Change to: | 0.1646sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:19 AM |