Toys Shop Compliment & Complaint, Toys Shop C&C

Harddisk
post Jan 24 2010, 05:07 AM

2,957 posts

Gamers Arena @ BTS 5th floor. Bought an MG Hi-Nu there last year end.

The best price I could get within the vicinity. Yup, hunted each and every (almost. I went to check out 5 shops) shops that have gunpla there.

Very friendly staff and the boss was nice enough to open up the box to confirm all the pieces are there before charging me. Will go back there first, if I have anything else I wanna get.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Feb 3 2010, 02:47 PM
Harddisk
post Feb 3 2010, 02:48 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(zoomckng @ Jan 25 2010, 11:52 AM)
went to time machine@BTS to get some toys set. shop has good layout and easy to browse. wat i like most is the auntie, bcos i always go shop with the wife. she will always go against buying more toys. but the auntie was on my side, explaining to her that its more than just toys. not really waste of money haha  rclxms.gif

so 2nd attempt in getting an expensive toy worked! thx TM  biggrin.gif
I guess the "good cop, bad cop" tactic works on you huh? biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Mar 27 2010, 01:09 AM

2,957 posts

My complaint for Time Machine (Times Square) is here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=32738273

@redracer2004: Aren't credit card money withdrawal has a higher surcharge rate than 2.5%?
Harddisk
post Apr 23 2010, 10:43 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Apr 23 2010, 07:48 PM)
XL-shop, dam bad online service. they never replied my email regarding questions of my pre-order. i sent 3 emails. waited for over 5 days no reply. have to look answer elsewhere. then when i pay them, they reply the payment email within hours. WTF?! dunwan serve then dun charge so much la damit.

even their forum i just cant register due to keep wrong at the verification part, "type out the 2nd last number" i tried all the numbers mention no number work. changed browser oso same thing. wtf. wanted to complain to their forum oso phailed. lousy online service.
lol, same here. Only get 1 email reply out of 3.
Harddisk
post Oct 14 2010, 04:39 PM

2,957 posts

^ likewise.
Harddisk
post Nov 24 2010, 07:00 PM

2,957 posts

^ so, there are 2 Gamers' Arena now?

It could be Hobbyz & Toyz (or Toyz & Hobbyz), same name as the 1 in e@Curve.

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:00 pmGamers Arena (5th floor) will be closed in April 2011. The new shop on 7th floor is where they are shifting to.

Nice to know Gamers Arena is continuing business. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Nov 27 2010, 11:00 PM
Harddisk
post Nov 28 2010, 02:22 AM

2,957 posts

^ try using cellophane tapes to remove the stain carefully, if the box is a little glossy type.
Harddisk
post Apr 4 2011, 10:20 PM

2,957 posts

^ so did you buy your MGS Play Arts Kai Sneaking Suit figure from TM at the discounted price? Cheap? biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Apr 6 2011, 11:28 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(strawbeley @ Apr 6 2011, 09:47 AM)
after some times, i wish to amend my previous comments in forum. just like some of you, i won't go back to TM anymore too  .
It's unfortunate that you have to say that. Mind sharing your experience? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Apr 6 2011, 11:36 AM
Harddisk
post Apr 18 2011, 03:17 PM

2,957 posts

^ try to find tutorials. If written guides not good enough, try Youtube? smile.gif
Harddisk
post May 3 2011, 05:32 PM

2,957 posts

^ I guess you are 1 of the few that are supportive of TM.

Maybe you are regular enough that the boss can recognize you already, hence the "better" treatment, compared to prospects that walked into the shop. smile.gif
Harddisk
post May 3 2011, 06:13 PM

2,957 posts

^ define good/bad customer. smile.gif
Harddisk
post May 3 2011, 09:10 PM

2,957 posts

^^ with more than 40% marked up price of an item, it is just elementary that someone would asks for discount.

Likewise, whenever I go GA, I never ask for discount, even I know their paints and display stand not the cheapest, cause I know their Gundam kits are.

Unlike certain shops, everything more expensive than the rest of the shops, so you might want to try to luck to get a better price by asking for discount.

And imagine they always give excuse to you like, "this is the last unit" reason for not giving discount. After you bought it, make a u-turn in a couple of hours later, the same item is being placed onto the same shelf, just ONE unit, to be sold again.

^ I have held their Gundam box, but never fully took out from the shelf, just pull out to look at the box art. Luckily auntie never ask me to "stop touching". Not sure if because I was carrying my dSLR everywhere I go, treatment was different? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 3 2011, 09:15 PM
Harddisk
post May 3 2011, 10:38 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 3 2011, 09:46 PM)
I do recall that when I was new to the scene they were much less friendly. Like someone else has mentioned one probably needs to know them a bit before they warm up to you.
Rule no 1 in securing your prospects/customers hearts: warm yourself up, YOURSELF, not the customer to do it for you. If not, put yourself in the microwave first.

Being hostile and show bossy face/look/khuan/action won't bring businesses in. So I guess now we know why so many had bad experience with them, cause they lacked a microwave/oven. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 3 2011, 11:02 PM
Harddisk
post May 3 2011, 11:15 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(snakees @ May 3 2011, 10:59 PM)
And imagine they always give excuse to you like, "this is the last unit" reason for not giving discount. After you bought it, make a u-turn in a couple of hours later, the same item is being placed onto the same shelf, just ONE unit, to be sold again.
just tell them that you wanted 3 piece instead of 1 piece la rclxm9.gif . when they take out another 2pcs,  tell them you need to double confirm with your friends whether your friends wanted it too

it is just business tactic to make you buy dude  biggrin.gif
lol, but I am not a good liar. I am very honest when buying stuff, so I also lazy to bargain. Ask once, got discount or not, if not, then forget it, just pay. laugh.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ May 3 2011, 11:05 PM)
i ask for a discount until the limit..until the seller said cannot give anymore..it's RUGI already..but he still serve me well till today. Congrats & Thanks to Mr Terry @ 1 Toy / Amcorp Mall  notworthy.gif

** do u think i'm a Bad Customer? imho it's a normal buyer habit to ask for discount as low as we can. As a seller they should entertain us..just reply the answer politely. If we can find some where cheaper..then we have an option to get it from other shop..it's normal in business right? But sometimes we rather spend extra RM5-10 more with our favorite shop since they give a better Customer Service than other shop
Yeah, can use credit card without surcharge, best!

And they are (Gamers Arena) more than happy to oblige.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 3 2011, 11:17 PM
Harddisk
post May 4 2011, 07:21 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(snakees @ May 4 2011, 02:24 AM)
I don't think so GA got the cheapest price for Gundam, as other shop is still cheaper even with the credit card surcharge.
GA still offers the cheapest kits that I looked for. Other shop got cheaper price, after a couple of months I have bought from GA, then only other shops restock on that kit. As for after surcharge still being cheap, that's very unlikely.

Cash is king, pay cash and enjoy the cheapest price  whistling.gif
That's a very old old thinking when we are in era of Information Technology, where paperless counts.

In situation like this, then it is up to you to warm the seller up, if you want something from them which other place can't offer.  Use your own PR skill to break the ice. It is discount and the rare/limited item that you wanted. Seller wouldn't bother whether you buy or not as this item is hard to get and if you don't buy, then another customer still will buy.  In this case, seller got an upper hand
What I bought last time was not limited edition stuff. Just that I was not exposed to online purchasing, so kena waterfish by TM. Now, never ever go back there.

Using your PR skill cause you nothing and get you what you want and it is workable everywhere. Use the force, use the Jedi trick
Jedi mind trick doesn't work. You wanna demonstrate to me once? laugh.gif

When i was young, wherever i go with my parent. they always tell me this : see only, don't touch!

What does that mean : My parent is afraid that i drop the item causing it to break. Break lead to force buying. Force buying lead to anger. Anger lead to hate. All this lead to bad buying experience and bad customer service.
That's probably right cause like you said, when you were young. You should understand, we, here, are adults, with sane mind and we can make decisions. Decisions which WE ourselves will have to bear responsibilities to. Decisions that might put us in jail. You think we can't handle glassware? After so many years of being human being, we are still afraid of admitting to our faults?

Snakees thinks we are all still juveniles?

Why bother touching when you have no intention to buy. Touching a collector item lead to box damage even if you did not drop it. Collector item lost value due to box damage. And when a customer buy, it is so obvious they will look for the best box condition. Making the item lost on value without buying is sure to anger the seller. It is like walking into a car showroom, scratch a car and then walk away hoping that the car salesman did not notice
Nah, they said that to customers even touching the Gundam boxes. Those more expensive or limited stuff, they locked away in the glass case.

So, you think Gundam kits are limited? There are some, but they put very high up on the shelves, where you would need a ladder to get them. Who would go through all the trouble up there just to touch those boxes?

Luckily I seldom shop of t-shirts, if not you might accuse me of sticking chewing gums onto your t-shirts, as I like chewing gums. cool2.gif

I deal with clothing, and i find it really sickening that the clothing i am selling, have bubble gum sticking to it. Will customer still buy a T-Shirt with bubble gum sticking to it. Will customer accept dirty finger print on a new white T-Shirt?
Let's look at this from another point of view, just for the sake of discussion. What if a customer's hand got stuck to the bubble gum that was stuck to the piece of clothing. Would they hold it against you? I believe most customers would shrug it off and just leave the shop to fix themselves up in the washroom.

I believe these are a certain risk that you have to take into considerations, running your own business. It's similar in the case of a sandwiched car accident. The middle one was innocent, but still have to claim for own insurance and lose all the NCD. There are things just not fair, yet we have to live with it.

Still, there are the risk of running businesses. If there is no risk, it is not a business, it's casino, or Sports Toto. Hopefully I don't get sued for that. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 4 2011, 07:42 AM
Harddisk
post May 4 2011, 10:46 AM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2011, 10:23 AM)
i dun reli thk TM services r bad, cos i hardly talk with shopkeepers oso  tongue.gif
except GA coz their staffs r so open n frenly  thumbup.gif

i jz hate TM aunty keep following me n keep telling me this is rare la, discounted la, or last unit la whenever i touch sumthg  sweat.gif
She very hard sell. laugh.gif

Might works in the wet market, but for hobby collections... hmm.gif
Harddisk
post May 4 2011, 11:42 AM

2,957 posts

^ how much did you rugi compared to other shops? Or you no eye see already?
Harddisk
post May 4 2011, 12:24 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 4 2011, 12:16 PM)
It works both ways really, behave like an arse, get treated like an arse.
I find that most people are friendly or will be more accomodating if you yourself put in some effort.

The real problem with TM for me is that their prices are at times very steep.
This one really tak kira one. I always find their prices steep, especially in figures. Gunpla, some still competitive, maybe cheaper by RM1 compared to GA. But they only accepts CC with surcharge. So ended up more expensive. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post May 4 2011, 02:19 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(snakees @ May 4 2011, 01:23 PM)
Old thinking / paperless or not, CASH is still the king. If you see RM100.00 and a credit card on the floor, which one would you pick up first?

Also, why not you try flashing your credit card in a wet market or a wholesale centre . Hopefully the trader there won't give you that weird look  smile.gif
That is why, you are the one dropping RM100 and I will only drop the credit card. laugh.gif

I don't go wet market, so flicking credit cards in wet market won't happens on me. Shopping from supermarket got la.

Added on May 4, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2011, 01:28 PM)
IIRC i got it for rm250
its not even supermessiah or armoredmessiah  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
GA is selling that for RM170-RM180, right?

Meaning RM70 mark up? More than 40%... sweat.gif

Added on May 4, 2011, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(snakees @ May 4 2011, 02:06 PM)
Put it this way, you go your friend house, you simply touch your friend stuff ? If you do, then it is nothing but no manners.

Still the best is, only touch if you want to buy. if not then it is always better not to touch other people stuff, even if it is place on the shelf for sale and it is not against the law to touch.  I belief that in today era, basic manners like this have been taught  99.99% in house unless you are the 0.01% that is being left out

Nice to see, nice to touch. once broken consider sold. But it is unreasonable for any retailer to force you to buy a gundam if you leave a small dent on the box after you touch it. Box damage, value drop. your touch lead to seller lost, but you gain the pleasure to enjoy touching . Nothing but selfish
So you are saying, I touched my friend's stuff, then I tell him/her, "I want to buy these and that"

Not everyone as kaya as you, once touch can buy everything, including your friend's house. (remember you touched the floor as you entered the house?)

It's a basic shopping concept, to touch/hold an item of interest. That's why you see there are fitting rooms for clothing department.

Besides, friend's stuff not for sale, so I won't touch. That very basic manner I understand, of course. But your analogy is not a very good one though. Got something else? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: May 4 2011, 02:23 PM

0.0272sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:02 PM