6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

My Nightmare Has Turn Into Reality~!, what a tragedy...what to do.. >_<

Ryuuga
post Nov 19 2008, 10:04 PM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM)
if they really wanna thrash ur guitar, make sure u thrash it on their baby, like hifi set or wat. haha tongue.gif
His parents don't like music how to have hifi set??

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 06:43 PM)
darn.. nice move blacktrix but that doesn't simply works for me,  student like me hardly cant afford to enter Alexis 
its guitar ( got electric+acoustic and classical ) actually i got 4 guitar with me 2 acoustic 1 classical and 1 electric 
i told them earlier back then when i purchase the guitar, cant simply resist to tell them i started playing guitar..   but it turn out to be the opposite reaction, they hate it but i still stick with the guitar until i stumble on this BIG wall atm!  cry.gif
listen to them is the only option now..

1 of my acoustic guitar got whacked by my dad using his knee, this happen after the debate* went pretty hot.. luckily my dad randomly pick a santa cruz acoustic among those 4 guitar.. still.. its my loss  cry.gif [color=blue]( this picture taken while me cleaning up the mess my dad done, gotta removes the strings before somebody get hurt! )

the debate resulting by 1 of my guitar got Whacked! and a new serious demand, i had to sell all my guitar and and show them the money, any cheating like sending to a friend, lending to a friend or anything equals to it shall not be tolerated.. i might be thrown out of the house if i were caught telling lies shocking.gif  cry.gif

usually my dad would not go this far but.. my grandparent insist my parent needs to be more tougher on me, u spoil your son too much something like that la

i had to do what i had to do, sell 1 or 2 of the guitar and hide the other one at my college.
I'll take and upload some pictures in the garage sale section later on this weekend  cry.gif
how old are you man? if u say can afford to enter alexis i assume you're in your teens probably below 18?
and where are you staying if you don't mind me asking?

You have the exact same amount and types of guitars as me. 2 acoustics, 1 classical, and 1 electric.
Looking back, i actually overheard my grandparents disagreeing my going to a music college as well. but my parents dont give a shyt what my grandparents say. my grandparents say a million other stuff my parents just turn a deaf ear to.
frankly, grandparents can be annoying. and im not being disrespectful, they are at least 2 generations earlier and older by less than a century. imagine what will the world become in a centuries time! what im saying is grandparents are sticking to traditions and beliefs that no longer apply in this day and time. Those who actually follow those beliefs will only suffer for themselves.
Be thankful you are phasing out from the "old tradition"

You can sell off all your guitars. And if you stay anywhere nearby sunway pjs9, you are free to drop by my house anytime i will give you theory lessons and we can jam anytime. i pity you in the name of music, but that is life. All you can do now is stay optimistic. Don't let shyt like this put you down because you're never gonna give in to it. You're still young, perhaps this is a challenge for you to be a great musician in the future.
I think everyone in this forum feels for you and your guitar. Just don't give up no matter what!!!

EDIT: i'm surprised your dad could actually break the guitar so easily..

MAY THE MUSIC STAY WITH YOU!!

This post has been edited by Ryuuga: Nov 19 2008, 10:07 PM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

We should organize mass musician stake out in front of his house....... for sure will get scared already!
SUSParamore
post Nov 19 2008, 10:16 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM)
We should organize mass musician stake out in front of his house....... for sure will get scared already!
I am serious about that. We will do it. Hopefully mushimushi88 are okay with that and be strong.
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 10:21 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Nov 19 2008, 07:55 PM)
Well they can disown him.
Some conservative families hate all forms of non-money making knowledge.

Musicians are severely looked down upon by the traditional chinese family because it correlates with the blind erhu beggar or the songstress.
Musicians = Beggars

In the eyes of such families.
It is no different from being a garbage collector working for DBKL.
But mushi you also one kind lah wtf you buy so many guitars for?!

If I am the parent also I will start worrying about your obsession with guitars at the expense of your studies.
They could disown him or now, but not at the future.

"traditional chinese family because it correlates with the blind erhu beggar or the songstress."
Now is not the Dynasty era d.... i will be surprise that there are still ppl thinking like like, they need to catch up with the new generations

QUOTE(Paramore @ Nov 19 2008, 09:42 PM)
Well I can visit you like later in a month.

No, I am not nice. I am doing this because I am a musician.
He is a teacher too, may be this could help...

wodenus
post Nov 19 2008, 10:30 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Actually I don't blame them. The thing is, can your survive by playing music ? if you can survive then your parents won't worry so much. What they're worried about is what happens after they're gone. They don't want to see you starving on the street with your guitars smile.gif

You could have taken them to wherever you play your gigs, let the owner there talk to them, there's no generation gap then. All they need to know is whether it can be a respectable occupation smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 20 2008, 12:03 AM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 10:46 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

It's not a question of "if you can earn money"...... it's the fact that they completely don't allow him to play music.
Playing music is no different from playing video games or watching television...... it's something to keep your mind occupied (for lack of a better term).......
Andy0625
post Nov 19 2008, 10:57 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Without you guys(musicians) , life will be dull.
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 11:25 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:46 PM)
It's not a question of "if you can earn money"...... it's the fact that they completely don't allow him to play music.
Playing music is no different from playing video games or watching television...... it's something to keep your mind occupied (for lack of a better term).......
heck, i'd rather my youngest bro practicing his bass than playing video games.
Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 11:41 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

imagine before u were bringing ur guy friends to ur room to play guitar.

now that the guitars arent there, and ur guy friend is still coming...that will make them wonder wat ur really up to...

then perhaps the guitars will come back tongue.gif
ChipZ
post Nov 20 2008, 12:10 AM

1,330 posts

Tell ur parents to choose 1 of this 2 "

1)I will have myself locked with the guitar for the whole day
2)I will bring a girl back and have ourselves locked in the room for the whole night
BelowAverage
post Nov 20 2008, 12:22 AM

1,274 posts

omg? i cant belive what i read.
Is not like TS play dota 24/7 and the father wack the desktop.
Is a guitar! i dont get it? What is TS father problem??
is there something wrong with the guitar?

I started learning piano at 4 years old.
So far i never seen a parent who would go so far to preventing their children to play music.
even if the parent tak suka their children to play guitar, they just close 1 eye and just let the son do what they like cause they are not doing anything wrong but something beneficial.

Ts, so far u never really reply why ur parents and grandparents are so angry at u playing guitar, cause all the reply i read are theories from lyn members.

can u share with us the story behind this story?
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 12:25 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 12:58 AM)

first they asked me bout hows college going etc ( all the nice stuff b4 they bring the worst question ) and then BAM!.. my grandma goes to my room and take out my musical instrument with the help of the cousin. And they start nagging bout why you play music? and many other (pedas question)
see la, he already said they started by asking on college...then some pedas questions...
makes one wonder wat tongue.gif
beastwars
post Nov 20 2008, 12:39 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM)
i second to that..!
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 20 2008, 12:43 AM

728 posts

if mushi really neglect studies because of music then is a different story..but i guess he wont?

count me in if there's any thing i can help to help mushi.
Ryuuga
post Nov 20 2008, 12:43 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

^ yeah count me in anytime
+3kk!
post Nov 20 2008, 12:48 AM

8,275 posts

despite all teh buzz on the parents being wrong (which i do agree to )

i have to ask something, TS are your grades falling badly or bad happenings between you and your family members on music and so on?

cause i really find it very strange, say your parents hated music playing junkies but you managed to get 4 pieces of planks into your room WITH their knowledge. a gift from your uncle again with their knowledge.

and i do assumre that you do have an amp, and a few years of guitar playing experience to boot.

now this is where it gets fishy, why now?

based on my understanding of the situation your parents were against but relatively content on you having music instruments and well grandparents advise are normally taken into second consideration (if they are you wont have a computer) in most families.

and if they were in that extreme case, the question of how they manage to allow years of guitar playing and well 4 planks to go uncontested would baffle me. if i didnt want my son to be in music, i would asy no and whack the daylights out of him after the first guitar (thats assuming super conservertive thinking)

so yea? i think something is missing somewhere. cause even from a family background where musicians had a bad name, my parents still managed to let me go ahead (despite constant teasing) with my music. my gf comes from an extreme conservertive family and she acn play piano, my friend similar extreme conservertive but his parents support him. so conservertive thinking doesnt seem to add up here again.

of course this is based on my own understanding on the subject

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Nov 20 2008, 12:51 AM
beastwars
post Nov 20 2008, 01:12 AM

253 posts

actually ur parents are allrite at first right ?
but ur atok and nenek rite?
the ones that arent agreeing abt u playing music?
let us know if u need help
Xannava
post Nov 20 2008, 08:20 AM

765 posts

Playing paino in my opinion are the fav among parents because of well.... I guess it does not relate to musician = beggar (as if beggar can afford piano). Piano is mostly related to rich people (last time la, now very common d... although some would disagree).

When I started guitar on my own, my parents dun mind. But when I brought out the question of an electric guitar, their eyes pop out.... after a bit of explaining and constant "this has electric guitar in it!" at their fav songs on radio, they stopped the eye popping look already.

I dun think playing guitar will effect ur studies. This was how I learned my Bio during my last final exams.
Memorize one page (ok i noe I'm better off understanding than memorizing but hey, that's how my brain works), play guitar, memorize another page, play again... and I got an A.

Btw, why four guitars? When I wanted to upgrade from my classical guitar to acoustic, parents already had the impression that one was way enough.
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 08:33 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 20 2008, 08:20 AM)
Btw, why four guitars? When I wanted to upgrade from my classical guitar to acoustic, parents already had the impression that one was way enough.
one word - GAS! tongue.gif

i got more than 4...tho not as crazy as some ppl like one datuk who has 20+ mostly strats and bought just cos he likes to look at it...
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 20 2008, 08:48 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

whoa...he broke a guitar... shocking.gif
dude...save it...send them all to your friends 1st till your dad cools down....man...breaking an instrument is really a crazy thing to do...well thank god he choose the cheapest one...
i didnt say debating is a good option...i did say try at your own risk...darn...i guess you juz gotta face it...your dad is a mommys boy...so when your granma said no...its the end of story...

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0157sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:02 PM