My Nightmare Has Turn Into Reality~!, what a tragedy...what to do.. >_<

TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 12:58 AM, updated 18y ago

293 posts

cry.gif

finally the day has come, for those who have yet talked to me before should know i got some problem regarding having a music instrument in my house so here goes.. sweat.gif

Today after finishing my routine college class, went straight to home and guess what? my grandparent come for a visit with some cousin,first i was happy they came but later on they asked me to sit in the living area for a moment and i thought this could be a bad omen since their face shows some serious expression ohmy.gif

first they asked me bout hows college going etc ( all the nice stuff b4 they bring the worst question ) and then BAM!.. my grandma goes to my room and take out my musical instrument with the help of the cousin. And they start nagging bout why you play music? and many other (pedas question) i can barely hold my anger at that point but heck.. if i talk it will make thing worse, my opinion doesn't seems to mean anything to them and they come up with a collusion so that i would get the instrument out of the house before they thrash them to pieces cry.gif

my parent dint help much in this matter, they also join forces with my grandparents while lecturing me non stop for like.. 1 1/2 hours!

i really need some opinion in this guys, shud i just leave my instrument at a friend house? there's the second problem.. i dun have ANY friend that lived near me.. cry.gif

or the second option.. sell THEM! shocking.gif
its a very hard option since the instrument that i own barely reach 2 months! ( STILL NEW!! cry.gif )

help me guys, I WANT to keep the instrument but at the same time.. i dun want to disappoint my family for not taking the issue seriously.. and they wont stop nagging me everyday since the day grandparent visit (>_<)

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Nov 19 2008, 01:08 AM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 01:09 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

The original point of music was a form of self expression. I'm sorry that your parents don't have the same views, but if you can, try to convince them.

I would suggest taking them out for dinner at a club like Alexis. Say that you are sorry for all the trouble you caused and want to make it up to them by taking them out for a nice dinner. Now, what they DON'T know is that alot of great jazz musicians and artists jam and play at restaurants like these. Just have casual talk and when the band comes on and play through a view of their set, just tell them you would aspire to play like these people. Then tell them that music really makes you happy and in a way, releases the stress from your daily grind at college. If you don't have a release, you might just break from the pressure and that music is your ticket out of a mental institution.....

2 pluses with this is that,
a) It's a public place so they can't raise their voices.
b) it's a great way to show them how wonderful music can be

Again, this is how "I" would handle a situation like this. Basically, you need to explain why music is important to you and why it isn't so bad as they might think it would be.

Of course, there is the extreme way of running away from home with your instruments and trying to make a career as a gigging musician (lots of great rock & rollers, blues players and metal heads start of EXACTLY like that), but again..... that's the EXTREME way tongue.gif

Ryuuga
post Nov 19 2008, 01:13 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

its sad to know malaysian parents are unsupportive of their child's creativity and the creative industry in malaysia.
being in the industry myself, i've seen a fair amount of people who, i could say, are not as fortunate as myself to have parents that supports me to study music. but i've also seen a fair amount of people, despite being unable to pursue a career they dream of are extremely skilled, but are unable to exercise their creativity and skills due to parents restrictions. This is a HUGE let down and a dissapointment at the mentality of malaysian parents.

what i can suggest is, state your location and your instrument here, perhaps if you're as fortunate to have a fellow forumer living nearby they might be able to help you "adopt" your instrument. that way you could still jam at their house without your parents knowing. even if your parents know you could just tell them you sold it to your "friend" and occasionally goes to his house to have some fun.

if you're daring enough, you could ask your parents don't they listen to the radio? don't they have music CDs? don't they watch movies that have famous theme songs? don't they watch advertistments with catchy jingle tunes? what are all those? all those are music of course!!
what is wrong with learning music? what is wrong with expressing yourself and having fun? the definition of fun differs to everyone. if having fun is a crime, everyone should be sentenced to jail.

There is nothing more fun than playing music. Period.
post Nov 19 2008, 01:14 AM

lost soul
866 posts

chill~
bring it out and keep it in your friend's house.
i mean your band....
no big deal.

just don't let your music soul die because of this.

This post has been edited by 9876789: Nov 19 2008, 01:15 AM
beastwars
post Nov 19 2008, 01:14 AM

253 posts

pity u la bro..
got family members dont understand ur passion in music..
well maybe u can store them for awhile in ur car trunk..
if u haf a car.

thats what so far i can think of..

sorry
soul_star
post Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM

541 posts

how bout u rent them?
just an opinion from a 14 years old male
ah_heng
post Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM

505 posts

what musical intruments u got and why they dun like u playing it? I thought parents nowadays like to send their kids to study musics wink.gif
evalshtog
post Nov 19 2008, 01:20 AM

209 posts

run away man .get ur guitar and head straight out =)
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 01:20 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

yes, Ryuuga.. thats Malaysian...
If I were you... I would NOT give up my guitar, convince them with all the way u have, show them you can score good grades on your study even you are playing music,

As i can see, the main problem is - They afraid that music would affect your study, so am i right? For your information, this is WAS my problem too, What your could do is out ur study at first, Get a good Grades, show it to your family, tell them " i can still scores and (may be) with metter marks with Music" . Ur may be wanna put music at 1st place in ur live, but however, if ur parents dun like it, just tell them u are putting ur studies at 1st.
saru88
post Nov 19 2008, 01:21 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

aiyo...
how old are you?
i assume u r 20...

u think urself still young?

u r matured enuff to make ur own decision...
whether to stop playing music just because u got scolded by grandparents...
or just dun gv a fuk about them...

can't believe ur grandparents so conservative...
feel bad for u...
Why^Me
post Nov 19 2008, 01:25 AM

551 posts

haha... last time i bring my guitar home, i said that i borrow it from my fren...
then they stop asking.
beastwars

253 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM)
what musical intruments u got and why they dun like u playing it? I thought parents nowadays like to send their kids to study musics wink.gif
yeah i kinda thought this too..hmmm
dont be down..
music is life man..u play music
so it means u give life!!
u must keep on rockin..

always remember the movie " the pick of destiny"
if u watch it before..
blacktrix

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Where do you live bro? Like Ryuuga says, maybe one of the forumers can "adopt" your guitars while the situation cools down.
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 01:31 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Nov 19 2008, 01:21 AM)
u r matured enuff to make ur own decision...
whether to stop playing music just because u got scolded by grandparents...
or just dun gv a fuk about them...

Thats not a good thing to say, U may wanna act like that (true that even point towards me too sometimes..)
, but in the matter of fact, u shoudNT, they are your grandparents anyway, without them u wont be here.

Added on November 19, 2008, 1:34 am
QUOTE(ah_heng @ Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM)
True, same are, but they will mostly send them to classical music lesson , some more if the parents are music lovers themself (that'll be cool blink.gif )

This post has been edited by sarcast: Nov 19 2008, 01:34 AM
echobrainproject
post Nov 19 2008, 01:50 AM

4,765 posts

bro, can relate to you. first few month of me picking up the guitar i didnt really get approval from my parents too. in fact they were against it when i wanted to pick up electric and was against my purchase.

you said u're in college so i guess u're old enough to get your parents to sit down and have a serious talk with them. explain to them you just want to play music and u'll still do your studies and your duties. dont be too emotional and react based on your emotion. i know its hard to keep it back, but try to keep the discussion as formal as possible. hear what your parents' points on why they want you to stop. decisions dont have to be made then. you can take some days off just to think of whats been discussed, then plan what you're gona do. u're old enough to make decisions, just make sure its a smart decision you'll be making.

i paid the price to get to play guitar. at least now my parents arent against it (but theyre not that supportive either). if its really what you want, you can go for it, just be concious that with challenges, therell be a price to pay to overcome them.
gapnap
post Nov 19 2008, 01:56 AM

1,782 posts

aiya..put your guitar at music master only lah ...will be well taken care off..

there's always room for another guitar smile.gif
Dead Eye
post Nov 19 2008, 01:59 AM

Where Musician Get Their Gears
677 posts

wahh this one ganas wei, i tink its best u put the guitar elsewhere. i mean, are the stories behind y they hate musical instruments?

gapnap damn cun la, put at music master. thats the best idea biggrin.gif
Lefty
post Nov 19 2008, 02:02 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

just discuss with ur parent nicely, say u will still focus on ur study and do house work . just play music because it is fun and better than go watching TV. it 's just like another sport.if they still cant accept mayb need to put ur thing in ur fren place first. remember never forget and give up the love for music. maintain and hold on to the root of reason why u are into mussic. in the mean time dun hurt ur parents, no them means no you remember. no them no u, no u means u got no chance to love in music. take them slowly.
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 02:04 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

i wanted to help, but i cant think of any solution for u. =(

but yea, put at music master is good idea too, if gapnap doesn't mind.
Plus ! u can also learn guitar from him. haha.
ken0777
post Nov 19 2008, 02:12 AM

536 posts

Don't fret bro... Keep the passion... put your guitar somewhere safe and keep it at a fren's place... Well no choice you have to obey your parents will also... But slowly convince them that you are mature enough to balance music and study... Earn their trust and more importantly... Just listen to them first...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0201sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:11 PM