15,705 posts

Drum set kar? Mebe ur parents kepala pening oredi lar everyday booom boom boom
[vogue]angel
post Nov 19 2008, 06:53 AM

107 posts

chill man. I think its best you put the guitar in ur frens placelar.
I understand how you feel. When i bought myself a guitar, my dad told me: you plenty of money ar? ur duty is to study in college, not play guitar, or you want to be guitar hero then oklar.
This is where you can assure him that its only leisure and relaxing. I did thatlar. and also assure i will finish college n get a job

bout the grandparents, they kinda hard to please 1lar. They are ur elders, so need to repect them.
Mayb ur granparents n parents think ur wasting too much time on playing guitars, so they mengamuklar.
Only time will tell.............
fantasycts
post Nov 19 2008, 08:37 AM

15 posts

i think the major reason why they oppose you of having your guitar is that it will affect your studies and future, and you turned into a head-shaking, loud playing punk. That's what parents are worried about most of the time.

i think u just need to show them that after you get the guitar, put time on your study also and don't like it become worse. I think they'll hate seeing you playing the guitar all the time rather than study.
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 08:50 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lol?
1.get insurrance for your instruments...
2.make a pact with your neighbour to store your guitar there or lie that it is ur nieghbours instrument,they borrowed you
3.live on your own,move out...
these are the 3 ways that drifts thru my mind for now...ill post more if i could think up of some...
mind you...i tried method 2 and 3 before...the 1st one,havent gotten THAT desperate before...
freakfingers12
post Nov 19 2008, 09:30 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

From what I can tell, they're just afraid that playing guitar will drop your grades. Tell them you can divide your time of playing guitar and studying.In fact, picking up a musical instrument actually helps you in your studies(According to Ibanez la).

If you're into metal and they hate it, make them watch Metal:A Headbanger's Journey and Global Metal.Tell them it's a way to release your stress.

If everything else fails, take a break for awhile. Stash all your gear with Gapnap or a friend's house. Take all your gear back when your parents have cooled down. I take breaks sometimes cuz of the 'wall' I always bump into.

Must kinda suck that this shit happened rite? I think if you're serious and really wanna dedicate yourself to this instrument, your parents wont mind.
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 09:35 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

yeah...musician do use their brain more than an average normal person
show you parents this link juz in case they dont believe you
http://www.physorg.com/news142185056.html
if they dont,tell the:you dont want me to be a genius?
mingdynasty
post Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM

656 posts

well... y u so scared of ur parents / grand parents.. its not unethical or breaking the law.. =,=... cannot reason.. ??? fight fire with fire BABY !!!!

This post has been edited by mingdynasty: Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM
quarantined
post Nov 19 2008, 10:27 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I used to watch Tool's video, with my mom on the side. My mom can stand SOAD but not this xD

Anyway I wouldn't say to go against them is the best way to resolve your situation. Find some ways that'll work with your parents, either by talking, spending more time with them, studying hard, helping them with chores... anything. Slowly convincing them that playing music is a good thing. Maybe chat with your siblings about your situation too, I think they should be able to help more. Good luck!
nicholaskong
post Nov 19 2008, 11:42 AM

35 posts

Get some good results on exam n show them playing music wont affect your studies.y not jus talk to them??music is just like a hobby..y they r so against this hobby?mayb jus try to convince them..playing music is a positive hobby..better den wasting time be like a mat rempit?
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

if they really wanna thrash ur guitar, make sure u thrash it on their baby, like hifi set or wat. haha tongue.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 01:54 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM)
if they really wanna thrash ur guitar, make sure u thrash it on their baby, like hifi set or wat. haha tongue.gif
an eye for an eye...it never fails...
try on your own risk dude... laugh.gif
Namqul
post Nov 19 2008, 02:13 PM

790 posts

hmm, 1stly what instrument and how much is it? u think my parents approved all my items? well the 1st few weeks is damn hard, but they manage to accept it. lol. and now my room is a mess. and im not kidding! im quite sure you can always talk your way out of this. try to negotiate. good luck!
razorzx66
post Nov 19 2008, 02:35 PM

343 posts

emm last time my parent offer me a music instrument..

Parent: you wanna guitar?
Me: Ok
Parent: Which one
Me: Stratocaster and marshall?
Parent: So expensive..you think i print money?
Me: Squire and peavey will do
Parent: Ok

my parent from kampung summore
x-crusader
post Nov 19 2008, 03:02 PM

472 posts

i felt tat im so lucky after reading ur story..
as they brought me to a piano teacher when i was 5
i think u should have a talk wif ur parents first..
tell them ur thoughts..
if they really dont accept..
DEBATE LA...lol

SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 03:15 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lolz...if parent could be that easy on debate i would have taken that option long time ago...
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 19 2008, 03:33 PM

728 posts

wow...i didnt know that u were having this problem..
i thought most parents will support their child in having a hobby in music..
well...i think at the moment u shud put ur guitars in ur friend's place first... if not more shyt happen to the guitar then u more sad leh..

and how about a heart to heart discussion with ur parents?show them ur progreess in college..and also .. play some blues or classic pieces for them to listen..so that they know that u bukan main rock mya..
show them that u cna balance both sides..

well...i know its easier said than done ..so all da best bro!
if im in that situation then my house will kelam kabut LOL
Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 03:42 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 19 2008, 09:30 AM)
From what I can tell, they're just afraid that playing guitar will drop your grades. Tell them you can divide your time of playing guitar and studying.In fact, picking up a musical instrument actually helps you in your studies(According to Ibanez la).

If you're into metal and they hate it, make them watch Metal:A Headbanger's Journey and Global Metal.Tell them it's a way to release your stress.

If everything else fails, take a break for awhile. Stash all your gear with Gapnap or a friend's house. Take all your gear back when your parents have cooled down. I take breaks sometimes cuz of the 'wall' I always bump into.

Must kinda suck that this shit happened rite? I think if you're serious and really wanna dedicate yourself to this instrument, your parents wont mind.
lol.

show them a pic of iron maiden.

then tell them, 'ma, u know these group of losers right? they all got university degrees. one of them is even a pilot earning at least a 6-figure salary'.

then u watch them faint tongue.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 03:43 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lolz...that sound reasonable enough
ej91
post Nov 19 2008, 04:30 PM

64 posts

my fren's situation real best
his parents got him soundproof room for his drums shocking.gif
my parents were ok but kinda hated it when i got effects for my guitar smile.gif
do u hav to practice alot?

Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 04:33 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ej91 @ Nov 19 2008, 04:30 PM)
my fren's situation real best
his parents got him soundproof room for his drums shocking.gif
my parents were ok but kinda hated it when i got effects for my guitar smile.gif
do u hav to practice alot?
is your friend by any chance called donald? tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:04 AM