All Things About BLU-RAY | V9

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 11:49 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

My 1st BD: SpiderMan 3 obviously - because it comes with the PS3 as bundled package.

How about we also list our top 5 BDs that we like best for this year so far?

Here's mine:

a) TDK -> Best movie this year!
b) Iron Man -> Awesome pic and awesome content
c) Wall-E -> fantastic pics
d) Kung Fu Panda -> funniest animation for this year
e) Wanted -> Best shoot 'em up action flick and best Angie Jolie butt shot.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 18 2008, 11:54 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 11:55 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Dec 18 2008, 11:54 AM)
i'm not sure if this is the us or uk version..the seller informed me that it's the us version..but the packaging is the uk version isn't it?..there's no digital copy inside..it's RM100 by the way..
Wow! That's a blind buy then... er.. have you try it on your player yet? Does it work?
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 12:12 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Dec 18 2008, 12:09 PM)
yeah..i dont think bd-live is necessary at the moment..maybe when they start rolling rolling out really amazing features..ill sink my teeth into it then..at the moment hd picture and hd sound is all that matters to me..
Hmm.. sorry I don't get it why for RM100 is cheaper than the US version (which retails around $25), which
has the digital copy and BD live.

Unless.. for RM100, you got Batman Begins bundled free with it too?
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 12:18 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Dec 18 2008, 12:16 PM)
i think I was too excited in getting my first bd that I overlooked some things..you know what,for my future bds I'll research from a-z before buying it..
well,.. no biggie. just curious that's all. I too been wondering if UK version is worth the dip or not but hate to buy it later and found that because of this REGION lock issue.. have to return it to Amazon.UK

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 12:23 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 18 2008, 12:21 PM)
today forum super active rclxms.gif

all cuti ar??
Curi ayam.. tongue.gif

Actually, not much phone calls today in our call center... maybe all customers gone home for holidays or
what.. not sure.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 18 2008, 12:24 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 01:32 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 18 2008, 12:43 PM)
Hey, I own a Samsung HD ready 32" LCD too.  rclxms.gif  BTW, what BD playa ur using? Mine is PS3....I can set to 1080i to watch on my tv and yeah, you can see the difference in HD over sd dvd. The only thing is missin (apart from true 1080p on a bigger size screen), is the 24fps factor which I'm so mesmerized with...  drool.gif . Waitin for bonus lah...  rclxm9.gif
fathil,

Which model of Samsung do you have?

Mine is the A550 series, full HD 1080p @ 1920 x 1080, 15K Dynamic Contrast Ratio tongue.gif
Absolutely best with gaming with Metal Gear Solid 4!

Sony Bravia or Sharp Aquos users may bash me on this but I find Samsung offers the best 32' for the money and better contrast and brightness than those two.

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 01:37 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Dec 18 2008, 01:18 PM)
Agreed...too much details.. rclxub.gif

anywayyyyy...(psssst...can borrow aa dallas..? hihihi)
Debbie Does Dallas is pretty old.. not much HD worthy to see.

If you want the better one, do see 'Pirates' in its full HD glory.
new one - the sequel Pirates 2 also already out..

Awesome.. three way. thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 01:39 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Dec 18 2008, 01:37 PM)
Received today from Mega:  rclxms.gif

Cool!! Good deals on the 'tumpang'? tongue.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 01:54 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(izmel_s @ Dec 18 2008, 01:52 PM)
haha now only eat maggie n bread jep ..huhu
Damnn.. missed that. cry.gif What did jep post? tongue.gif

DDDA is filmed in HD??

Hey.. Pirates is filmed in HD.. so go get that one.. surely you'll won't be dissappointed! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 18 2008, 01:56 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 02:05 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(izmel_s @ Dec 18 2008, 01:59 PM)
now being poison my tun mega .. thinking bout getting B&W ..hahah (must control myself) ..if watch pirates with that my whole taman can hear it..ahha
If watching Pirates.. must close all door and wear the wireless headphones lah! tongue.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2008, 02:13 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(izmel_s @ Dec 18 2008, 02:08 PM)
aiya .. got expensive speakers y must use headphones sume more ..hahahah
No choice.. because no sound proof room.. don't what to excite the neighbours too much
with all those moaning and pleasure gasp. tongue.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 19 2008, 03:48 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(rawfish @ Dec 19 2008, 01:24 AM)
Yes it is now smile.gif
Yes, TDK is back in stock @ Amazon for $24. rclxms.gif

If buy single copy + amazon standard shipping = $33 ~ RM114

Much cheaper than Speedy!

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 19 2008, 03:51 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 19 2008, 09:06 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Dec 19 2008, 05:32 PM)
Oh dear!! i have Predator....  shakehead.gif
Don't worry too much about it. As long you like that movie and enjoy Arnie fighting Alien Predator in High Def,
why care about the reviewer or ratings says about it?

Added on December 19, 2008, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 19 2008, 07:15 PM)
planet earth 4BDs should be US, UK's set is 5BD
Are there any extras in the UK version that US version doesn't have in the 5th disc?

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 19 2008, 09:08 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 20 2008, 09:31 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 19 2008, 09:16 PM)
not sure yet......i sold off my US set and waiting for my UK set to arrive.....one thing that is not on the US set is the behind the scene...which IMO are pretty good. the DVD has a behind the scene on how some of the scenes were shot after every episode. am not sure if this is included in the UK version.
QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 19 2008, 09:30 PM)
well...at least i am getting some extras with the UK set....plus, the US sets were sold off at a pretty good price....hehehe
Ok, I see.. at first, I wasn't sure which UK version that you guys were chatting about.

The version that I have is the BBC UK version which was narrated by David Attenborough.
The US Discovery Channel version is narrated by Sigourney Weaver.

But, this BBC UK version is available from US Amazon anyway, which is where I got it in the first place.

It seems that the US Discovery Channel version is only available from the Discovery Channel web site.

But, I don't see a 5th disc on my BBC version (Blu Ray). Not sure if there is any missing content from the one sold
from Amazon UK.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 20 2008, 09:39 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 22 2008, 01:53 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 22 2008, 11:14 AM)
the glass is very tough now....the salesman bang the glass in front of me...sweat.gif
no burn in effect for all new panel lar.....
now 32" also available liao....

black still champion thumbup.gif
contrast ratio also champion laugh.gif
consume a bit more power than LCD but i think for 50" , I have to pay like RM80 more a year tongue.gif
for big screen....cheaper than LCD

colour very natural, no motion blur thumbup.gif

for me the cons:-
the reflection!!!! LG & Panny model like looking into mirror  sweat.gif
Pioneer better but in day time with direct bright background....just like the old CRT  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Disadvantage about Plasma is 1.5x to 2x heavier than LCD for same size TV. So, if want want to wall-mount it, better make sure your professional installer knows how to do it well with good support because gotta a friend who tried to do it himself, plasma tv fell off after 2 months, broken in many pieces... RM15K gone!

Both Plasma and LCD are equally as good when watching Blu Ray.

Yes, Plasma has more reflection, consumes more power but better in contrast when in darker room.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 22 2008, 01:58 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 23 2008, 12:52 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 21 2008, 02:59 PM)
I'm no tech expert but the one shown is a widescreen format of 2.35:1 aspect ratio. The full screen one is widescreen 1.78:1 (or 1.85:1) aspect. Did I get this right?
FullScreen is actually 1:33 or Pan & Scan. If you really have this, then you'll see the black bars on the side, not top or bottom.

danmooncake
post Dec 24 2008, 01:16 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Dec 24 2008, 11:36 AM)
English dudes, English! Sorry I cannot recognise the characters at all...yellow banana... blush.gif
This link is in English: http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/News/Detai...px?NewsId=24560
which describe the specs.

IMO, I am not sure if this necessary.. what the industry needs is to continue to make BD player cheaper and later, the BD discs cheaper so that more consumers are willing to migrate there immediately instead of another conversion step like hybrid disc, which is a waste of time and money.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 24 2008, 01:30 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 26 2008, 12:27 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 25 2008, 11:16 AM)
nice price.. but as usual dated titles.. aren't some of these from last years BOGO deals.. hehe! CDN still stronger than USD

anyway, mega, me long time no buy liao.. got other "plans" for HD collection..  brows.gif
CDN rate IS lower than USD now but their shipping rates sucks and since no vpost address coverage, not
much of a deal here. tongue.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 27 2008, 11:31 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Dec 27 2008, 11:13 AM)
yeah bro! can get LPCM... sweat.gif
btw below aare the images of it...

If China made BD-R only can encode video using AVC format (Sony HD cam codec in 720p) and Audio is only DD 5.1,
is that still consider BD quality?

danmooncake
post Dec 27 2008, 11:41 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Dec 27 2008, 12:53 PM)
check the picture i posted then u will notice that the bd is black colour 1...
But, a black BD side doesn't mean it is BD tho. I mean a regular R/W DVD also black.
Perhaps best to verify is to put this into a PC with Blu Ray ROM drive (unfortunately, which not many people has) and
check its size.

While I would agree that China Jack Sparrow may have manage to re-encode ori BD into their BD 25,
but re-encoding it back to 720p only with AVC codec and DD 5.1 has a created sub-par
high-def quality movie.

Until the price is at least 1/8 of the ori, most of us will continue to stick with the ori imports price.
Sometimes, Amazon sells their ori as low as US$10.

The other question is.. not sure what the long term effect of playing fakes BD on our expensive
BD player since some BD lens are pretty sensitive. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 27 2008, 11:42 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0457sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:19 PM