**_**House of Miniature Schnauzer V7**_**

h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 01:23 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Vickie @ Feb 12 2009, 11:14 AM)
Wow... the white MS and solid black MS are very cute la...
As i know is hard to get solid colour MS, is it?

I need some help!
My puffy very naughty recently. She can climb up to bite something from the table e.g. wallet. Then she will bring the wallet up to the chair and start to bite it till broke. I scold her hardly and punch her then lock her in cage also no used on her because she repeating the same act.

Can anybody suggest me some way to teach on her behavior?
PLS don't physically punish her in any way. Very bad for the dog and your relationship. Like i said before, take a mineral bottle (empty) and fill it up 1/4 with coins or stones. When you catch her doing things you don't want, shake it at her hard and say "NO!" or LEAVE IT!. If she stops, praise her.

h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 01:26 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Feb 12 2009, 11:12 AM)
total got 98 pages wor.... which pages?  sweat.gif
here is the link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/842916/+1340

Added on February 12, 2009, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(Winnie_sia87 @ Feb 12 2009, 11:26 AM)
How to teach Bang Bang? Can share?
well i ask her to go down (prone).

I have a treat in my hand but it's in my fist so she can smell it but she can't see it.

I make a gun with my hand and point at her, then i say BANG BANG!

You keep saying and wait.

If you're very lucky, she will get bored and she might lay down on the side.
PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!!

Now if you're like me and not so lucky, i kinda use my free hand and gently nudge her on her side so she might lay on her side.
The moment she lies on her side: PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!!

Rinse and repeat. Kimi learnt it in 45 mins.

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 12 2009, 01:29 PM
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 01:36 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(asa @ Feb 12 2009, 01:31 PM)
My parent let Carrie pee and poo at d yard area, so when she is inside d house, she not willing to pee and poo inside her cage oredi.
d worst thing is she oso not willing to pee and poo at d yard after raining, so wat she did is 'settle' in d kitchen area, what can i do to train her pee in her cage? so that easier us to clean up.
erm... she shouldn't pee/poop in her cage. That's not natural to them to do that where they sleep.

Try this,
(1) supervise her everytime she does it in yard. Tell her "Do it" when she's sniffing about. When she does, PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!! PRAISE HER!!!! and give her the hidden treat in your pocket.

(2) After a few times, repeat it but after rain. Hopefully she catches on. Otherwise go back to (1).

Eventually she realizes that peep/poop in the yard is a good thing and she gets praise and treat; and that rain is not going to stop her from getting praise and possibly, treats.

Hope that works.

Added on February 12, 2009, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(Vickie @ Feb 12 2009, 01:32 PM)
if she listen to command.. then i wouldn't be soo headache...
I know it's very hard and takes a lot of patience but try my method. It might work. smile.gif

Anyways, try your best not to hit/scold her. Somehow dogs respond to kind masters better than harsh ones.

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 12 2009, 01:38 PM
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 01:55 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Vickie @ Feb 12 2009, 01:43 PM)
ya.. i will try it on...  blush.gif

is that rise my voice up to called her name, can be work?
Well only raise voice if neccessary. Even i have a hard time not to raise my voice sometimes but i try not to do it.
I try to call Kimi with happy femalish voice (altho i'm male). They seem to like it very much and respond well to it.

Anyways, guys and gals, i found out that according to a ranking (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Intelligence_of_Dogs), MS is #12 in intelligence which is pretty impressive!!

It says it will learn a command >85% of the time in 5-15 repetitions!!

I can vouch for that.

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 12 2009, 02:00 PM
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 02:33 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:15 PM)
here toro's latest trick video clip

check it out....do rate it ya...smile.gif
Jason's blog
that's very good.. i'm guessing you use a lot of hand and toro responds to your hands more than your voice?

anyways, try it all again without treats. That will be the ultimate test. smile.gif
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 02:36 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Feb 12 2009, 12:42 PM)
yayaya have a cheras area gathering....i am desperate for some one who can show me how to train Kenji. He is always howling( like singing). When bebe stay with him he will keep quiet but when bebe comes and sit with me kenji will make lots of noise. Its going to be distracting and irritating for the neighbours. its weird because we dont really understand what he wants yet, when i put him in the cage he barks, when i let him out he will bark i let him play with bebe he will bark, i carry him he will also bark.
=.= hard to understand what he is trying to portray hahaha...any1 speaks puppy language?
How old is Kenji? The best way to teach a dog not to bark is to teach it when to bark (on command). brows.gif

h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 02:44 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:40 PM)
the only trick tat i failed to teach toro....sad.gif

Added on February 12, 2009, 2:42 pm
tat 1 is shiro....my toy poodle...ya...keep disturbing toro.....hav to use my leg to push him away...haha
Stop barking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vylUvBnytRk&feature=channel
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 02:52 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:49 PM)
he will stop barking whn i ask him not to bark at home, but whn bring him out....watever command he oso forget....n bar like hell whn i dun let him off leash
I think you need 2 things... one to stop barking.. and one to bark.
Can't have one without the other i think.

If you teach Toro to bark, maybe he will stop.

Rayne's article reference above is pretty good advice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 12 2009, 02:52 PM
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 02:56 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Feb 12 2009, 02:54 PM)
lol ya i have tried that method many times. he can starve himself for 2 days on the 2nd day (midnight) only he will eat. but now with kenji around he will eat his food a bit. Because kenji will try his best to run to bebe's bowl once he finishes his. lol....
2 days? wow.. that sounds abnormal... are you sure you're not overfeeding Kenji?

h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 03:03 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Feb 12 2009, 03:01 PM)
Wow Toro is good...Thumbs up for him.....i dun think i will b able to train kenji that way....hahaha. i keep him in the cage he will bark i let him out he will come out n bark at the tv, bark the the pillow bark at me, then he will play with bebe then when i sit on the sofa he will bark at me. hopefully kenji will be like toro then i will be very happy.
There's no reason why Kenji cannot learn like Toro. It's all up to you only, your commitment, dedication and humility.
h71y6
post Feb 12 2009, 04:31 PM

47 posts

can add me as well? Penang
MS: Kimi (Salt & Pepper)
MSN: derekong@streamyx.com

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 12 2009, 04:32 PM
h71y6
post Feb 13 2009, 10:15 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(asa @ Feb 12 2009, 05:02 PM)
limgp1976 & h71y6

received my msn com firm request liao? i m not sure got reach u guys o not o tongue.gif
Sorry don't see leh... PM me your email and i add you?

Btw, i'm old.. (78) sad.gif

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 13 2009, 10:17 AM
h71y6
post Feb 13 2009, 01:20 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Candy&Vincent @ Feb 13 2009, 11:50 AM)
Me already loss ...few pages you are discuss about the dog training....

Toro really done a great job. Cute  rclxms.gif

My Wilbur.... shakehead.gif  i guess he dun have that high IQ-ler.
1) When I get the tricks or the kibbles, not yet said sit, he already sit there.....alamak.
2) When i teach him bang bang, he thought is sit. I need to use my hand and and bang his neck, then he thought i scold him, after that only he lie down and turn his stomach up and surrender.  doh.gif
3) When teach him "Hand hand", he will fall down when the hand is up, alamak....cannot balance himself....
4) Turn : he will only turn once after saw me turn few times.... Me already pening  rclxub.gif
5) The only success things to teach is, ask him "wait" before eat. Before give him food, jt show my hand and said "Wait", then after few seconds, said "Eat".

Now only i know the OB Training Class is not that expansive.....maybe i can think about it.

Winnie&vincent, maybe wilbur can be classmate with your boy boy....hehehhe rclxms.gif

h71y6,

You seem like have many knowledge on the dog training ler.... thumbup.gif .....

I know scold and punish our puppy will spoil the realtionship. But, I dunno how to control it. If Wilbur is naughty, he will seem crazy, I will raise up my voice said "NO" or just show my hand (boxing hand) like want to hit him. Then he will "guai guai" and lie down. He will show his unsatisfied by sitting back to me and dun want to look at me.... call his name also dun want bother.... vmad.gif  "ke sei"

If like that, is that necessary to sent him to training? to make my wilbur not to be so wild? Actually what is taught from the OB Training?
You're doing fine.. it's not easy lar so this is normal. Ok let's recap on the fundamentals:

1. Make yourself to be the master/leader of the pack.

You need to establish that you are the leader and it must listen to you. Take him to a field or yard, preferably without distraction. Use a long leash.
Now walk around. Don't look or acknowledge him. If he moves away or do other things, tug him and drag him. Don't shorten the leash. Leave it long. Don't look at him or call him.
Just walk and keep walking around.

Secondly, when you are with it at home, don't sayang don't praise don't do anything with it. Unless it does something right. Just ignore it.

Also, if you're watching TV for example, put it on a leash and bring her to the foot of the couch on the floor beside you.
Watch TV, etc and ignore it.

Do the above, and you'll establish yourself as the leader and it must follow you and his existence depends wholly on you.

Remember, ignore ie no calls, praise, pet, eye contact, nothing. Bad things - ignore and if needed pull leash and bring her away. Good things, maybe a praise but that's it.

Just do the above first and you'll find the other things will come much easier.

h71y6
post Feb 13 2009, 02:48 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Feb 13 2009, 02:26 PM)
sounds so mean no wonder my dog bullies me  yawn.gif
hehe.. it's necessary.. it's called tough love... brows.gif
h71y6
post Feb 13 2009, 03:18 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(asa @ Feb 13 2009, 03:00 PM)
last night spent 30 mins trained Carrie bang bang,

when i bang her, she tot i asking 'hand', i bang continuously 15 minutes then she tired liao, she 'lie down' instead of surrender, although i fast fast praise her, but she like dunno wat happen, blur blur  rclxub.gif  haha..
Well one idea.. once she lays down on her side, give her a treat while she is laying down. so the side of her face is on floor and you have your hand and treat at her mouth/nose.

h71y6
post Feb 16 2009, 11:06 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(raven6009 @ Feb 16 2009, 10:34 AM)
me opt 4 lamb n rice loh.Coz MS can easy get skin prop.
yeah MS sure got a lot of skin problems... Kimi is easily allergic to many things i.e. food, dust, fleas, etc.

Now she's been having real issues... since last week she's been licking her paws until they swell and the pads crack.
I have no idea why but i'm been trying to eliminate as many possibilities... i'm out of ideas.

I had to get her the sunflower neck brace to get her to stop licking her paws but she gets traumatized by it.
So i resorted to super hot Tabasco sauce on her paws. It works for now.

(btw, fyi, when people are allergic, they sneeze. For dogs, the lick their paws.)

Anyone has experience in this?
h71y6
post Feb 16 2009, 01:04 PM

47 posts

Kimi waits for me to take out once everyday in the field for pee/poop.

Otherwise, she will go pee/poop in my toilet. She never pee/poop simply around house or other people's house. Just show her where the toilet is and she'll be fine.

Can be taught one. Not hard but patience and consistency required.

Added on February 16, 2009, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(bazaar91 @ Feb 16 2009, 12:43 PM)
i think the spray thing will not work at all! cos alot ppl ask me dun buy this thing cool2.gif
It hardly works for most cases. This from experience.

This post has been edited by h71y6: Feb 16 2009, 01:06 PM
h71y6
post Feb 16 2009, 03:14 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(waichee86 @ Feb 16 2009, 01:59 PM)
sori ar...its blue seal
dunno good anot..

Added on February 16, 2009, 2:01 pmhow bout natural balance ar?
anyone here is feeding dat?
good anot?
how much ar?
I'm feeding Kimi Natural Balance. Ok so far.
43RM per bag i think. Can use very long cos they need less due to quality.
h71y6
post Feb 16 2009, 03:45 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(waichee86 @ Feb 16 2009, 03:24 PM)
h71y6...u noe how much for da big pack? like 15kg wan...thx ya
I'll find out when i get home later.. i forgot liao but it's medium size bag.

h71y6
post Feb 16 2009, 06:20 PM

47 posts

OK. Natural Balance (Vegetarian) Allergy Formula @ 43RM for 2+ kg.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0413sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:06 PM