Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

zenwell
post Nov 25 2008, 11:54 PM

1,749 posts

I dunno if someone has discussed about this before but recently only i know Citibank Shell card petrol rebate is only deductible if you have outstanding from previous month. But i noticed tha they will accumulate your rebate as well. Is it like that for all Citibank card holders or izzit me only?

All the while i thought the petrol rebate will be given every month regardless of whether you have outstanding or not(because i have had outstanding for long time until i cleared it recently sweat.gif so i din notice)

My question is, is Maybank and CIMB petronas card also the same? i mean for their petrol rebate?

Also, for citibank card, do they have like point collection to redeem products?
zenwell
post Dec 1 2008, 05:31 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 1 2008, 09:56 AM)
If it is Citi card, forget about it.
Assuming they waive. Then next month, they will charge you late payment charge on the 1st late payment charge and it will go on forever.
Been there. Done that. Many times.
Is Citibank really gives such bad services? So far I'm not having any problems with their credit cards after using it for nearly 2 years. The only time Citibank gives me a week of headache is when i try to apply the personal loan and the service is so bad.

Anyway, may I know if we have cancelled a certain cc, is it safe to continue to keep the card as collection or is it better to cut it up and pass back to the bank?

if I wanna cancel UOB card, can i just go to the branch and settle the balance or do I still need to write a letter?

Thanks notworthy.gif
zenwell
post Dec 5 2008, 10:49 AM

1,749 posts

Depends on which card's benefits you use the most?

Eg: if you are always getting petrol at Shell then it is better to keep Citi Shell card. Likewise for other cards, you gotta evaluate it. At least that's how I do it laugh.gif
zenwell
post Dec 9 2008, 05:49 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Dec 9 2008, 02:19 PM)
I would like to change my mailing address for my HSBC & Maybankard credit cards.

May I know what is the simplest method to do it?
I think usually the change address form is at the back of your monthly statement unless you opted for e-statement then it shud be changed online.
zenwell
post Dec 14 2008, 05:57 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Dec 14 2008, 04:34 AM)
i wanna ask regarding Citibank ShellCard, if we pump petrol @ Shell, do we earn rewards points also?
no sad.gif

so now i switch to MBB petronas. So it's MBB petronas + real rewards points. tongue.gif

Previously am getting petrol from Shell using citibank shell card & bonuslink.

But citibank petrol cash rebate will be good for those who did not clear their outstanding, the rebate will be used to knock off your total bill the following month.
zenwell
post Dec 17 2008, 04:52 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2008, 11:45 PM)
I tell u wat

my friend's office boy is using a Nokia N96... and his salary is only like 800-1.2k leh.... biggrin.gif

how he did it? thanks to plastic...
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 15 2008, 11:54 PM)
AGREED.  nod.gif 

tht day stocktake, saw the warehouse keeper using Nokia N96 too....  sweat.gif
According to my colleague in Philippines Plant, an average salary earner could put aside close to 50% of their monthly salary to repay handphone loan because there is such a big craze for latest handphone there. rclxub.gif
zenwell
post Dec 17 2008, 05:14 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(pingping86 @ Dec 17 2008, 05:05 PM)
Hi all...
Last month i got my UOB the ONE and VOX card...
Last week theres a guy from UOB callin me for the insurance and i reject the insurance...
This morning, i got 2letters from a company ???-Asia claiming that the insurance coverage for my CC...
Wat is all this happening???

Is there anyone aso have the same experience???
Is the insurance free or you need to pay?
zenwell
post Dec 17 2008, 05:21 PM

1,749 posts

I have a question here:

When I get my Maybank CC earlier this year, I can see my transaction online thru M2U, means together with my Maybank savings account. But I din request for online services for my CC.

Recently I just applied for CIMB CC. Although i have a saving account with CIMB and I applied online banking, but my CC account is not automatically appeared when I login to my account. Do I need to apply for separate online banking for my CIMB CC or it is automatically appreared like Maybank?

Hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say here, cos I find it hard for me to explain sweat.gif
zenwell
post Dec 17 2008, 06:06 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Dec 17 2008, 05:28 PM)
automatic appear in cimb click
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 17 2008, 05:36 PM)
for maybank cc , they link it for u automatically, for cimb , u have to link yourself , coz mine is like that... for maybank , for cimb, it doesnt show up so far didt bother link the card never use the card also
Err mine didn't link automatically ler? how to link it ler?
zenwell
post Dec 18 2008, 09:05 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(mi_kit49 @ Dec 17 2008, 06:26 PM)
You need to apply PIN number for your CC. The same PIN number can use for cash advance transaction in ATM.

Your CC transaction will appear automatically in cimbclicks.com once you get your PIN number
QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 17 2008, 09:16 PM)
Go to CIMB Bank, apply for a PIN for your C/C. Once PIN created, you will be able to view your C/C. You can also use your PIN to make a cash advance using your C/C from CIMB ATM.
Ohh ok. Thanks! smile.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 9:07 am
QUOTE(cenkudu @ Dec 18 2008, 07:42 AM)
If we close our credit card but we have overpaid, is it possible for us to get back the remaining balance?
I have overpaid RM0.36 for my cancelled EON cc. they still send me statement every month. How ar? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zenwell: Dec 18 2008, 09:07 AM
zenwell
post Dec 18 2008, 10:55 PM

1,749 posts

For those who use Petronas,

How do you collect your real rewards points without paying at the counter? Meaning that u use your credit card together with the real rewards card? I just recently change to CIMB petronas card, it seems like petronas station is not like shell where u put in your bonus link card first then only put in cc hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
zenwell
post Dec 19 2008, 10:27 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 18 2008, 11:04 PM)
if you use a co-brand card you cannot use the mymesra card.
No. What I'm trying to ask is how do you put in the real rewards card into the CC slot at the pump to collect points? It doesn't have a system like in Shell where you put in your bonuslink card first then only cc.
zenwell
post Dec 19 2008, 10:16 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 19 2008, 11:46 AM)
BTW ... FYI Real Rewards will no longer be accepted to accumulate points @ Petronas effective 1 Jan 2009
QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 19 2008, 02:18 PM)
when i was using a mesra card previously, it will prompt for it after it has approved your credit card. The prompt no longer comes since I switched to a MBB Petronas Visa.
So disappointing. I think i will switch back to Citibank and Bonuslink. But Citibank cards has no point collections sad.gif
zenwell
post Dec 23 2008, 10:33 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 23 2008, 10:24 AM)
Anyone has good organiser to remind us on each due dates of credit cards so that we do not need to set every month.

Set it for once and when we on the computer and if that date falls on, we will get pop up reminder.
Haha, maybe some software expert can consider coming out with something like that smile.gif
zenwell
post Dec 24 2008, 04:29 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 24 2008, 11:55 AM)
@RockIron,
Er.. I usually don't exceed more than 50% of my available CL but I made some rather heavy purchases the last few months hence I used up my total available CL on Amex.

On another note, I just checked.. Citibank gave me an additional RM20k credit line with my renewed CC - weird and crazy bank.  When I wanted it they don't give it to me, when I don't need it, they give it to me !
Tinkerbel,

Finally Citibank has increased for you. Congrats biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Dec 26 2008, 10:46 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Dec 26 2008, 04:35 AM)
hi, i dont know if this is the best place to ask for recommendation, but can some1 recommend a card that suit my needs?

1. petrol rebate
2. purchase rebates (cash back?)
3. points reward

i dont need things like free vouchers/coupons that will only serve to tempt me to spend more on unnecessary things.

will probably use the card for petrol, grocery, bills, and maybe the occasional high end meals. i dont have the habit of going on shopping sprees too.
CIMB or UOB One card. I think so. But I think usually 2. & 3. doesn't come together do they? I know my CIMB card does have 1 & 2, but not sure bout 3 cos I just started using it (although i have applied for some time). Maybe tonite go back and check my statement biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Dec 30 2008, 11:39 AM

1,749 posts

Hi All,

Just wanna check wit u guys usually u how u apply cc? Through DL online forms, fill up and fax back to them together with docs or apply through counters in shopping mall or walk in to bank?

For me i apply through booths in shopping mall except for my CIMB cc which my company's account current officer ask me to help her in her cc sales so i just cincai apply one.

if I wanna apply online, is it safe and it is easily approved?
zenwell
post Dec 30 2008, 02:07 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 30 2008, 12:12 PM)
It should be within 3-5 working days. But it depends whether how fast the merchant post the transactions back to the bank, some as fast within 24 hours (especially for petrol stations and certain department stores), some can take up to 1 week or more. I've had transactions which are only posted after 3 months in extreme cases, could be they forgot or lost my transactions and post it when they found it later. I recommend you have a system where you track your actual purchases vs. the posted transactions in your statement. Don't be too quick to throw your slips away for those that did not appear in your statement. These won't happen often but sometimes you might encounter it.

The last thing you want to do is to dispute a real transactions which you performed (and forgot all about it). For such disputes, the bank may charge you administrative fees and possibly other fees that will make you upset. cry.gif

P/S Got my PS3 during the launch. Paid it using my cc. Yes, Sony Centre accept cc.

Added on December 30, 2008, 12:21 pm

For me, I'd perfer to apply it through the booth (agents) setup @ the fairs / shopping malls / etc. At least I can "chat" up the friendly agents.  tongue.gif  Beware of rogue agents and I'll only apply when I feel comfortable applying with that person. I'm particular about the way my documents are being handled and if I see anything wrong, I may just walk out, take all my documents away and cancel the application. Sounds harsh but I have to protect myself (at least attempt) from identity theft/fraud.

I don't think it is any different with applying online coz the approval process is still the same as it will be subjected to the same treatment the credit control department of the bank. (Generally the approving authority for cc) Is is merely a self service system where agents are not required and sometimes you are "rewarded" with some freebies (or extra annual fee waivers) when you use the system. Don't forget that you still need to submit the documentations to the bank.  hmm.gif

I don't mind applying via the agents coz at least they do most of the work.
But recently I notice that banks do not rent booth in shoppings malls anymore, except for Citibank in Giant which only promotes Giant Citibank card or AEON in JJ stores. Last time there used to be a lot... chasing ppl around the mall. Since this yr I hardly see any. hmm.gif hmm.gif
zenwell
post Dec 30 2008, 02:12 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 30 2008, 12:59 PM)
Wah!!! U giv a good idea. Maybe I should complain to PBB branch manager as well.

Anyway I hav no problem with Alliance Bank. Apply their plat cards for first time already approved. rclxms.gif

Really no idea how PBB process my application????? doh.gif
My friend told me PBB is usually very strict in approving cc, loans etc compare to other banks. But surprisingly, when I started applying cc 3 yrs ago, PBB is the first bank to approve my application whereas mbf & Ambank rejected my application. PBB is my 1st cc, but i have cancelled it in 2007. I gues it is because I have car loan with them and I deposit $$ in my PBB saving to pay for UTAR fees.
zenwell
post Dec 30 2008, 05:42 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
They are still there but maybe selectively as the hit rate for the malls could be lower. (Everyone just chasing possible applicants but not necessarily can get quality applicants) Not sure which malls are you referring to but I'm referring to just MidValley and 1Utama.

I personally would stay clear of Aeon JJ cc coz of bad experience. Imagine my payment gone missing and when I provide them with proof of payment, they refuse to recognise it. Had to pay again to safeguard my good credit history and I cancelled the card immediately after the payment was received. Heard the same experience with a few of my friends. I don't tolerate bad CS and this one just sets the record for being the worst of them all.  shakehead.gif
Huh? is AEON that bad? Wah you have to pay twice! is the amount big? Like that rugi lar. So teruk lar this AEON shakehead.gif shakehead.gif Luckily i never considered their cards b4 tongue.gif

As for the cc booths, I seldom go to those big malls. Last time when I go to JJ, there are like 4 to 5 booths from diff banks promoting their cc. Now I don't see any except AEON. Last month I went to 1U, I only saw 1 OCBC booth in the whole mall.

0.0674sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:17 PM