Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)
tinkerbel
Dec 16 2008, 06:09 PM
Fanaddict!
@Reventon, You haven't been charged the annual fee?! Now that's good! I was hoping the redemption letter on the Longines watch would come before the annual fee but ah well.. that wasn't the case.
Perhaps U should call and speak to the CS and check what's happened with the redemption letter on the watches? I should be receiving mine in my next bill cycle - speaking of which, I'm quite unhappy with the way Amex/MBB sending information out - by the time I get the stuff from them in the mail re some promotion, the promotion would either have ended or about to end. Am I the only one having such a problem?
Am thinking of writing them a nice letter but I haven't found the time to do so yet ! *grins*
tinkerbel
Dec 16 2008, 08:36 PM
Fanaddict!
@Reventon, I don't hold any MBB CC's - just the Amex Platinum Credit Card hence have no prior experience with MBB's CS.
Do let me know if U get ur Amex Platinum CC annual fees waived too - speaking of which, MBB CS did tell me that MBB waives annual fee on the 3rd MBB card but I see no reason in needing 2 additional cards; esp since I know I won't be using it and that it's not applicable for the Amex Platinum range.
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 16 2008, 08:36 PM
tinkerbel
Dec 19 2008, 12:42 PM
Fanaddict!
@Putraskyline, U might want to just give them a little bit more time; it is afterall the holiday season  Just who on earth is in the mood to work?  I know I'm not but well, that's probably cause I'm sick!
tinkerbel
Dec 19 2008, 01:06 PM
Fanaddict!
@tempation1314, Er.. U applied too many times is it until kena rejected?
tinkerbel
Dec 19 2008, 03:54 PM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, PB is not v keen on giving out CCs. Y don't u put in another application to another bank?
tinkerbel
Dec 19 2008, 04:32 PM
Fanaddict!
@tgeoklin, Yes a 'credit over exposure' indeed is real. That's another reason for banks to decline additional CL requests.
@muscaa, For the price you've to pay to use the card, the amount of benefits that ur getting back is just not worth it. Go for the Gold Amex Charge - it now comes with 3 years waiver on annual fees. Benefits are the same, except don't have 10x reward points [oK.. that's the onli additional benefit but how often will u be spending $ in those outlets?] - weigh ur purchases versus the points carefully.
Amex Platinum Credit Card annual fees = RM800 p/annum.
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 19 2008, 04:33 PM
tinkerbel
Dec 21 2008, 11:56 PM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, I think PB will offer U a CC if U put some $ in their bank; invest in one of their products or perhaps just take up a car loan or bank loan from them  Most friends of mine who holds PB CC's were given their CCs based on their existing bank loan. Mom's been banking with PB for ages but she's never bothered requesting for a CC so am not quite sure how the procedure is.
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 09:46 AM
Fanaddict!
@bluffy83, If U pay up when the bill comes U just pay the actual amount of RM6.80. If U don't then the amount will continue to hike (think of interest rates) until U make full payment.
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 10:12 AM
Fanaddict!
@J'Daniel, Yeah but when merchants do that, they will usually inform the customer.
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 11:13 AM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, Amex offered U an Amex Platinum FOC?! hMmm.... I'm jealous!
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 02:36 PM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, oKies doKies.. I seriously hope MBB will offer me the Amex Platinum card FOC too!
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 04:23 PM
Fanaddict!
@pingping86, Merchants normally look at a minimum transaction before they allow CC transactions; that could be the case with 7-11. Or, perhaps 7-11 operates on cash only basis?
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 05:40 PM
Fanaddict!
@PleaseEnterYourName, Insurance co ties up with Banks to offer such scheme. With such scheme U will need to pay a monthly subscription/premium of RMX.
tinkerbel
Dec 22 2008, 11:09 PM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, I believe I'm a pretty 'big' spender with Citibank. I also clear my bills promptly and in full. However, I've never been offered a credit increase nor have I ever got my annual fees waived (without having to request for it!).
It is for those reasons and many others I've decided to stop using Citibank as my primary card. Well, I hate to say it but it still is sort off my primary card; at least until Amex / MBB allows me to make online bill payments using my Amex CC! *siGh*
tinkerbel
Dec 23 2008, 10:15 AM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, I'm oredi an existing user of the Amex Platinum Credit Card - will probably stop the card when my 1st year is due and shift to an Amex Gold Card. The only benefit I probably will lose is the 10x points at Platinum Partner merchants. Also, I hold both Visa & MasterCard with Citibank. I originally applied for the MasterCard and a year later, Visa was offered to me; both on separate credit limits. The last few months, my spending's been on the Visa and in the last update [card was expiring so bank sent me a replacement], the bank did increase my CL by about RM10-15k on that card. I got a measly RM2.5k (or was it RM1k) increase on the MasterCard. @tishaban, Yeah, I figured that one out too and decided it was just too troublesome to get a CL increase so I got another card, just in case  The only thing is I'm really 'kiasu' so I rather accumulate all my points onto 1 account than have it separated everywhere. Speaking of which, got ur Christmas pressie oredi?!
tinkerbel
Dec 23 2008, 01:26 PM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, I guess Amex just doesn't consider me a big spender even though I've exceeded my available CL 3 months in a row. I did call for a temporary increase in CL and they did extend my credit line by an additional RM20k but that was well, temporary! @tishaban, I don't usually use up my entire credit limit - only on very special ocassions *grins* And yes.. did the giver knock u on the head the last time U met him?!  How's my beloved anyways?  @jack2, Any scheduler or task organiser should do the trick.
tinkerbel
Dec 23 2008, 04:29 PM
Fanaddict!
@hye, hEHeheh Ur post has nothing to do with the thread  Rainlender huh? *grins* Does it give Birthday Alerts and is it Mac compatible?!
tinkerbel
Dec 23 2008, 04:53 PM
Fanaddict!
@darkdevilrey, If U can't fulfill the minimum transaction required for waiver then U just don't get the waiver lor, simple!
tinkerbel
Dec 24 2008, 11:55 AM
Fanaddict!
@RockIron, Er.. I usually don't exceed more than 50% of my available CL but I made some rather heavy purchases the last few months hence I used up my total available CL on Amex.
On another note, I just checked.. Citibank gave me an additional RM20k credit line with my renewed CC - weird and crazy bank. When I wanted it they don't give it to me, when I don't need it, they give it to me !
tinkerbel
Dec 24 2008, 12:07 PM
Fanaddict!
@tgeoklin, I'll be mad if I actually used up all my CL on my CCs. It's just that I only have 1 Amex card and rather accumulate my points on that one account than have it split across Amex & Citibank