I'm planning to buy imac 27" from amazon. If i use 3rd party ship service and will i get tax by kastam ? it's 2000 usd for the imac.
Malaysia Import Duties
| Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Malaysia Import Duties
Sep 8 2012, 09:46 AM
117 posts Joined: May 2009 From: KL,Cheras |
I'm planning to buy imac 27" from amazon. If i use 3rd party ship service and will i get tax by kastam ? it's 2000 usd for the imac. |
Sep 12 2012, 01:56 PM
2,243 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Sep 18 2012, 09:22 PM
3,294 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
I'm planning to buy a kitchen stand mixer from USA, does it need to go through SIRIM approval and custom tax?
Sep 19 2012, 02:00 AM
711 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Will rucksack bags and caps be taxed?
Sep 29 2012, 05:46 PM
100 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
hi guys...
thanks so much for the above info. i have few question to ask. currently i am buying iphone 5 32g from ebay. the sales amount is USD900. and its shipped using fedex. apparently its already reach sepang. and its status in fedex website turn into clearance delay - import. so i am guessing i might get taxed. may i know the tarrif code for cell phone in the tariff website? or need to enter what word to search? cuz i with phone it didnt show cellphone or mobile phone. how much will i be tax? 10%? the seller didnt declare any amount on the package. so it will be tax how much? tax upon the retail price? |
Oct 1 2012, 03:18 PM
219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MMU, Cyber+Malacca |
Guys, recently I just found out all my ebays purchase (economy mail) was went missing. But air mail having no problem. I was like buy 3 to 6 items per month. So custom detained my stuff?
Added on October 1, 2012, 3:24 pm QUOTE(whtan2000 @ Sep 29 2012, 05:46 PM) hi guys... Just wait first , they will call u or FedEx guy will ask you pay on the same time they deliver the phone to u. But it is suck, lastime I get 2 pens from Moscow, it took 2 months stuck in custom. Deliver just 1 week.thanks so much for the above info. i have few question to ask. currently i am buying iphone 5 32g from ebay. the sales amount is USD900. and its shipped using fedex. apparently its already reach sepang. and its status in fedex website turn into clearance delay - import. so i am guessing i might get taxed. may i know the tarrif code for cell phone in the tariff website? or need to enter what word to search? cuz i with phone it didnt show cellphone or mobile phone. how much will i be tax? 10%? the seller didnt declare any amount on the package. so it will be tax how much? tax upon the retail price? This post has been edited by willer: Oct 1 2012, 03:24 PM |
Oct 16 2012, 06:47 AM
24 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
buying watch, total value 550, will be tax? as so far i know, watches are non taxable item, is it right?
Oct 16 2012, 09:35 AM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(echoesian @ Sep 18 2012, 09:22 PM) I'm planning to buy a kitchen stand mixer from USA, does it need to go through SIRIM approval and custom tax? Will be held by Pusat Merinyu Elektrik. There's some process to it which you can DIY instead of getting the agent to do it for you ($$$). A kind customs officer will tell you what to do. Did you check your voltage? Malaysian voltage is 230-240v, common US voltage is 120v.Added on October 16, 2012, 9:37 am QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Sep 8 2012, 09:46 AM) Hi, If you buy from Amazon, it's easier. They will already calculate the import tax for you, and bill you beforehand. You'll get the figure during the checkout process.I'm planning to buy imac 27" from amazon. If i use 3rd party ship service and will i get tax by kastam ? it's 2000 usd for the imac. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Oops sorry, just saw that you mentioned you'll be using 3rd party shipping service. For 2000USD, your shipment will definitely be held. Am not sure about the tax, but you can always call your local Customs office for more clarification. I usually do that before purchasing. This post has been edited by fionafan79: Oct 16 2012, 09:41 AM |
Oct 16 2012, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(fionafan79 @ Oct 16 2012, 09:35 AM) Will be held by Pusat Merinyu Elektrik. There's some process to it which you can DIY instead of getting the agent to do it for you ($$$). A kind customs officer will tell you what to do. Did you check your voltage? Malaysian voltage is 230-240v, common US voltage is 120v. True, try to avoid electronic stuff.Added on October 16, 2012, 9:37 am If you buy from Amazon, it's easier. They will already calculate the import tax for you, and bill you beforehand. You'll get the figure during the checkout process. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Oops sorry, just saw that you mentioned you'll be using 3rd party shipping service. For 2000USD, your shipment will definitely be held. Am not sure about the tax, but you can always call your local Customs office for more clarification. I usually do that before purchasing. |
Oct 16 2012, 11:13 AM
44 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 16 2012, 11:32 AM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(r4g3 @ Oct 16 2012, 11:13 AM) What if I buy electronic stuff with value around $100-$150 USD (less than RM500), any possibilities to escape tax? Anything with power outlet will be held for inspection. Unless of course your purchase from China, which strangely they are not even bothered to stop you. By the way, less than RM 500 limit means price of item PLUS international shipping cost ya... |
Oct 16 2012, 01:35 PM
44 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(fionafan79 @ Oct 16 2012, 11:32 AM) Anything with power outlet will be held for inspection. Unless of course your purchase from China, which strangely they are not even bothered to stop you. Last time I bought Kindle Fire for $169 USD, was taxed nearly RM100. I think kinda pointless if I bought sub $150 USD phone then need to pay tax for nearly RM100.By the way, less than RM 500 limit means price of item PLUS international shipping cost ya... |
Oct 25 2012, 04:15 PM
680 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(r4g3 @ Oct 16 2012, 01:35 PM) Last time I bought Kindle Fire for $169 USD, was taxed nearly RM100. I think kinda pointless if I bought sub $150 USD phone then need to pay tax for nearly RM100. Things like ipad,kindle fire, galaxy tab, nexus 7, transformer asus, are all considered to be tablet computer and tax free right? what is the correct tariff code to declare it under? |
Oct 25 2012, 05:43 PM
Oct 29 2012, 02:03 PM
1,138 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 25 2012, 04:15 PM) Things like ipad,kindle fire, galaxy tab, nexus 7, transformer asus, are all considered to be tablet computer and tax free right? what is the correct tariff code to declare it under? you have to paid the import tax first... then you can claim it back when you declare for your income tax |
Oct 29 2012, 10:20 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
If i buy car amplifiers from USA to Malaysia, <RM1300 including shipping cost,
what is the correct tariff code to choose? 8518 or 8540 or 8542 will i kena the import tax(15%) or sales tax(10%) or both tax(15% & 10%)? |
Nov 7 2012, 11:07 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(ksl33 @ Oct 29 2012, 10:20 PM) If i buy car amplifiers from USA to Malaysia, <RM1300 including shipping cost, If you buy an used amplifier, i think you won't be taxed.what is the correct tariff code to choose? 8518 or 8540 or 8542 will i kena the import tax(15%) or sales tax(10%) or both tax(15% & 10%)? For a new one, you should prepare the 15% import tax. I bought an use amplifier from US, around RM1200 including shipping cost but no tax at all. |
Nov 17 2012, 07:14 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
How about branded watches like Casio, Seiko, Suunto?
Included sales Tax also? |
Nov 18 2012, 05:00 PM
193 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Ra|n ToWn |
Hi, I would like to import Cute USB Drives from China, is it categorized under Computer components & parts [14]?
The cost of the stock is roughly around RM10l The sample may as below:- Sample 1 Sample 2 Added on November 22, 2012, 12:50 amhalo halo.. no one reply? This post has been edited by BlazingFrosty: Nov 22 2012, 12:50 AM |
Jan 15 2013, 12:17 PM
28 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Hi guys,
just to share with you on how the duty/tax is calculated. Assuming you have in mind that RM500 and below can avoid duty/tax. It is based on your CIF value. Meaning: C = cost of product, as declared in invoice I = Insurance, which usually is 2% of your product value F = Freight cost, which is a cost which is fixed and used by customs. You can get the table from them. So for example, you are buying a USD100 value item and kena tax. You might be wondering, isn't it no duty/tax if items are below RM500? Well, depending on the weight of your shipment, it translate into the value of the freight cost. So lets say your freight cost comes up to RM300, from customs table. Plus RM320 from your product value. (USD100 conversion). Total is RM620. and remember that little 2% value. So definitely more than RM500, which means your items are taxable. How much tax/duty? well, refer back to the customs tariff webpage. Also guys, remember apart from duty/tax, there are other requirements such as permits/import license, SIRIM permit, AP permit, health ministry permit, filem permit, etc etc..also remember, if M'sia is able to produce the item locally, and you import those things in, you will get a high duty/tax. For instance, you are importing rubber products. get it? Hope this helps. |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:17 PM |