Mitsubishi Pajero 4D56 Turbo Modification?

TSPajero 4D56
post Nov 5 2008, 12:30 PM, updated 17y ago

Hi,iam a Newbie to this Forum!I have few question to ask about Pajero 4D56 Engine!

I am now owned a 2nd pajero with a 4D56 N/A Diesel Engine,but now i feel it is not enought power sad.gif so i want to upgrade it to a Intercooled Turbo System just like my 1st pajero,give me more power,when acclerate it is most same but once the Turbo Kick in it will let you sit deeper in the seat! brows.gif

I compare to my Turbo 4D56 engine,it is a same engine but only diffrent at Intake,Exhaust Manifold,a Turbo Pressure Sensor on Fuel Pump,and of course the Turbo itself,these thing can be bolt-On even hole for mount these Kit are already threaded!

My problem is where to get the Kit,and how to do it?

Any Advice?
SUSthelulz
post Nov 5 2008, 01:09 PM

96 posts

dont bother with stock engine

u need this

detomaso
post Nov 5 2008, 04:11 PM

1,896 posts

hari hari ada noobies baru register bukak thread ka?
the_catacombs
post Nov 5 2008, 07:43 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Pajero 4D56 @ Nov 5 2008, 12:30 PM)
Hi,iam a Newbie to this Forum!I have few question to ask about Pajero 4D56 Engine!

I am now owned a 2nd pajero with a 4D56 N/A Diesel Engine,but now i feel it is not enought power  sad.gif so i want to upgrade it to a Intercooled Turbo System just like my 1st pajero,give me more power,when acclerate it is most same but once the Turbo Kick in it will let you sit deeper in the seat! brows.gif

I compare to my Turbo 4D56 engine,it is a same engine but only diffrent at Intake,Exhaust Manifold,a Turbo Pressure Sensor on Fuel Pump,and of course the Turbo itself,these thing can be bolt-On even hole for mount these Kit are already threaded!

My problem is where to get the Kit,and how to do it?

Any Advice?
start with basics.... if ur engine dont have intercooler, add one... it makes a difference... consider installing boost controller to increase the boost pressure.... and of coz, the most direct, upgrading bigger turbine....

remember install turbo timer as well coz pajero dont have one.... turbo timer is important for forced induction engines....
ryan_hustler
post Nov 6 2008, 03:43 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 5 2008, 07:43 PM)
start with basics.... if ur engine dont have intercooler, add one... it makes a difference... consider installing boost controller to increase the boost pressure.... and of coz, the most direct, upgrading bigger turbine....

remember install turbo timer as well coz pajero dont have one.... turbo timer is important for forced induction engines....
turbo timers are just a simple programmed countdown clock..you can skip that if you dont run on boost before you decide to stop,example if you know youre nearing your destination,dont run on boost, and let the engine idle for a minute or so before you turn it off.

The best way i can suggest for you is go have a look at turbo diesel 4x4's,find out what you need and how they run.After that make a list of what you need,the overall cost and talk to mechanics who have done similar conversions..Know what yore getting into before you decide to put in in your ride.
Esky
post Nov 6 2008, 11:00 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(thelulz @ Nov 5 2008, 01:09 PM)

u need this

What's with the complex plumbing work near the exhaust area?
the_catacombs
post Nov 6 2008, 06:54 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Nov 6 2008, 11:00 AM)
6 primary pipes of headers or exhaust manifold.... smile.gif
ryan_hustler
post Nov 7 2008, 01:04 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Nov 5 2008, 04:11 PM)
hari hari ada noobies baru register bukak thread ka?
Ada juga newbies yang cakap kosong! lol

QUOTE(thelulz @ Nov 5 2008, 01:09 PM)

u need this

siksa
post Nov 7 2008, 02:33 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Nov 6 2008, 11:00 AM)
Manifold,Twin Turbo And Air Intake.

Added on November 7, 2008, 2:43 pmTS You Dont Want To Play With Petrol Engine,If You Do Ill Suggest You Look For Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 (1996-2003) - EC5A - 6G13TT - 4WD 2.5l Twin Turbo Petrol Engine.

P/S
Petrol And Diesel Price Almost The Same These Day Why Not Give It A Try?, After All Good Luck Finding 4D56 Separated Turbo Kit Usually They Will Sell It Complete With Engine.

This post has been edited by siksa: Nov 7 2008, 02:43 PM
the_catacombs
post Nov 8 2008, 06:02 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

vr4 engine abit underpower for such a heavyweight car such as pajero, wouldnt u think so??...
cloudstrife07
post Nov 8 2008, 09:40 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 7 2008, 02:33 PM)
Manifold,Twin Turbo And Air Intake.

Added on November 7, 2008, 2:43 pmTS You Dont Want To Play With Petrol Engine,If You Do Ill Suggest You Look For Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 (1996-2003) - EC5A - 6G13TT - 4WD 2.5l Twin Turbo Petrol Engine.
P/S
Petrol And Diesel Price Almost The Same These Day Why Not Give It A Try?, After All Good Luck Finding 4D56 Separated Turbo Kit Usually They Will Sell It Complete With Engine.
i guess VR4 doesnt have enough torque for a pajero lah.
siksa
post Nov 9 2008, 09:31 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 8 2008, 09:40 PM)
i guess VR4 doesnt have enough torque for a pajero lah.
Engine

Configuration — DOHC 24v V type 6 cylinder
Code — 6A13TT
Bore/stroke, capacity — 81.0 × 80.8 mm, 2498 cc
Compression ratio — 8.5:1
Fuelling — ECI-MULTI, premium unleaded fuel
Peak power — 206 kW (280 PS) @ 5500 rpm
Peak torque — 367 N·m (271 ft·lbf) @ 4000 rpm

That Is Plenty Of Torque For Me.

The Only Difference With Diesel Engine It Has Earlier Torque Something Between 1000-2500Rpm
farique
post Nov 9 2008, 11:08 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 9 2008, 09:31 AM)
Engine

Code — 6A13TT

The Only Difference With Diesel Engine It Has Earlier Torque Something Between 1000-2500Rpm
that's not a VR4 isnt? VR4 has only 4 pistons am I right? or VR4 has two version?
the_catacombs
post Nov 9 2008, 12:33 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 9 2008, 09:31 AM)
Engine

Code — 6A13TT

QUOTE(farique @ Nov 9 2008, 11:08 AM)
that's not a VR4 isnt? VR4 has only 4 pistons am I right? or VR4 has two version?
lolz... vr4 what engine he also dunno... doh.gif doh.gif
siksa
post Nov 9 2008, 01:23 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Nov 9 2008, 11:08 AM)
3 version actually

1. 4g63t 2.0l
2. 6g12tt 2.0l
3. 6g13tt 2.5l

I am recommending 6g13tt because it has plenty of torque and gearbox is already 4wd not like 1jz/2jz which is rwd. smile.gif

the_catacombs
post Nov 9 2008, 01:42 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 9 2008, 01:23 PM)
3 version actually

1. 4g63t 2.0l
2. 6g12tt 2.0l
3. 6g13tt 2.5l
I am recommending 6g13tt because it has plenty of torque and gearbox is already 4wd not like 1jz/2jz which is rwd.  smile.gif
not 6g12 ler.... v6 engines usually 6Axx....

besides, vr4 is the engine model... what u are saying is mitsubishi galant engine variants... the popular mitsubishi galant version is the vr4 engine....
siksa
post Nov 10 2008, 09:06 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 9 2008, 01:42 PM)
not 6g12 ler.... v6 engines usually 6Axx....

besides, vr4 is the engine model... what u are saying is mitsubishi galant engine variants... the popular mitsubishi galant version is the vr4 engine....
My Bad. Wrong Code,Yes I mean The V6 one 6A12TT And 6A13TT. I Thought VR4 Is The Car Model. My Bad.

detomaso
post Nov 10 2008, 03:24 PM

1,896 posts

vr4 is car model

the variant of vr4 meant for turbo charged galant. while vr-g/vr-m for normal aspirated galant.

i dont know much about mitsubishi duh..

The sixth generation was also the first to see the introduction of the VR-4 variant, which was the basis for Mitsubishi's participation in the 1988–1992 World Rally Championships. The Galant's 4G63 two litre DOHC turbocharged engine and 4WD transmission was later adopted for the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution with little modification, and would remain in production for fifteen years.
the seventh generation VR-4 became a less overtly sporting vehicle, eschewing the old four-cylinder engine in favour of a smoother two litre V6 twin turbo. The four wheel drive transmission was retained. The VR-4 version was not imported to the United States.

*Perdana based on 7th Gen

Mitsubishi opted to further develop the technology in its range-topping VR-4, which was now powered by an enlarged 2.5 L V6 twin turbo. The car featured either a conventional 5-speed manual or an advanced, self-learning 5-speed Tiptronic semi-automatic transmission known as "INVECS-II".

Mitsubishi offered a high performance sports version Galant, code named VR-M, which shared the 6A12 engine found on the MITSUBISHI FTO GPX. It featured a 2.0 L, 24 valve MIVEC variable valve timing V6 engine, which produced 200 bhp@7500 rpm. The car was capable of 0-60 mph in 6.9 secs
sos..

another sos. same site...

This post has been edited by detomaso: Nov 10 2008, 03:28 PM
siksa
post Nov 10 2008, 05:41 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Nov 10 2008, 03:24 PM)
vr4 is car model

the variant of vr4 meant for turbo charged galant. while vr-g/vr-m for normal aspirated galant.

i dont know much about mitsubishi duh..
*Perdana based on 7th Gen
sos..

another sos. same site...
TQ I Guess I was Right About The Model. smile.gif
detomaso
post Nov 10 2008, 07:06 PM

1,896 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 10 2008, 05:41 PM)
TQ I Guess I was Right About The Model.  smile.gif
Welcome . as what i recall when i do research for my daddy perdana v6. ya la. perdana gearbox problem u know.. haha. thinking off putting 2.5L V6TT with InvecsII, but end up my dad getting 7th gen civic.

can pass jpj endorsement or not for perdana putting in 25% more CC than ori spec. he he he.

0.0220sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:26 AM