Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900 V2, Official Rom=DZIA5, Leaked ROM=DZIA2
DrWho
Nov 15 2008, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(shawnlst @ Nov 15 2008, 01:09 PM) Hey guys!! I have been looking through the posts and it seems that alot of people have been using the cooked ROM (??). Actually, I have no idea about it at all. Currently, I am on official firmware DZHJ1 and I feel that my phone is getting less responsive with the free storage/program memory averages around 30MB+. I am kinda reluctant to flash it as it may invalidate the warranty. So, is it advisable to flash the ROM? Thanks for the advices  I am having the same firmware with about 50 Mb free RAM. No such problem. Could it be that you are running too many programs at the same time. One of the setback of WM is that when you close the program, it does not actually close, it just minimize. By end of each day the device would have accumulated many minimized programs thus most probably causing the lag. With the Task Manager one should be able to quit the program rather than minimized.
DrWho
Nov 15 2008, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(shawnlst @ Nov 15 2008, 06:55 PM) I see... I did try end-tasking using the Task Manager and managed to free up my program memory up to 50MB but not for storage memory. Any idea? Install either SKTools or MemoryMaid. Both are useful programs for freeing up RAM and can tweak for faster performance.
DrWho
Nov 16 2008, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(shawnlst @ Nov 16 2008, 05:05 PM) I am just wondering, how do I actually clear up the storage memory (other than removing the programs permanently)? Thanks!! When you uninstall programs, there is a good chance that not all folders will be deleted. Most programs use temp folders and cache and are left there without being removed when the program is exited. Cookies as well. You cannot easily clear all these with stock WM6.1. Programs like SKTools or MemMaid can. This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 16 2008, 09:13 PM
DrWho
Nov 21 2008, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(dRLurve @ Nov 20 2008, 06:31 PM) this thread getting s**k.... like pasar borong... all just discuss price only. Why nobody at least say how their customize their omnia? I will start. Below are the screen shoots of my Omnia. Totally stylus free. I don't carry a stylus with me. This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 21 2008, 07:32 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
DrWho
Nov 21 2008, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(sharpman @ Nov 21 2008, 07:26 PM) I believe you are on M2D03 rom.. Nice theme you have there.. care to tell what's the name of the theme and where to download it? I am using HJ1 ROM. The application software is Spb Mobile Shell and the plugin is from Greatbal XDA, here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=402021
DrWho
Nov 22 2008, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(keeekeee @ Nov 22 2008, 01:12 PM) wow the xda developer cooked rom really cool. have u tried already? how's it? stable? fast? HJ1 is Samsung stock ROM, not cooked. Added on November 22, 2008, 10:52 pmQUOTE(pupp82 @ Nov 22 2008, 07:03 PM) So basically i can use that theme with HJ1 ROM? Sweet~ But i cant find just which IS the app. software & plugin You don't need any special ROM to run my theme. My LG KS20 running on WM6.0 also runs on this theme. You need to install Spb Mobile Shell first. Once running you just change the skin by applying the plugins. There are countless themes or plugins out there. Just use the one you fancy, pick and mix, just like ROJAK  . For a start you can get your first plugin from Post#2, here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=407487You need a bit of skill to create your own theme but it is worth the while to have your own exclusive Home screen. Another useful site to start with: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=389106Enjoy! This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 22 2008, 10:52 PM
DrWho
Nov 23 2008, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(lynxs @ Nov 23 2008, 01:34 PM) dont really know about that.......few things u need to know about spb mobile shell is that it drains your battery faster. And it has some problems with the keylock feature. It makes the screen a little less responsive and has some lag. And the samsung interface although not 'cool' is actually easier to use. The only thing i miss about not having spb shell is the battery meter. Anyway, this is just from my experience using spb shell. not using it anymore and i'm happier. I have used Spb MS with customized skins for at least 6 months (LG KS20 and later Omnia) and have not encountered any keylock problem. What you mentioned about faster battery drainage and slower performance makes sense. When you introduce additional program and plugin to any application, it is bound to take up additional resources thus causing some lag and eating up power supply. It is a matter of convenience versus performance. My customization enable me to have a total stylus free application with 60 speed dials, making in almost unnecessary to refer to to the address book. It is a matter of preference between convenience and performance.
DrWho
Nov 23 2008, 09:44 PM
2D Games using Gyro Sensor for OmniaIf you have not got it already, here are two games using the Omnia Sensor, ie like the iPhone game. 1. Extract the Sensor dll.zip files and copy any paste the 2 dll files on the \windows directory 2. Install the Caver_0.8.1.cab at your device. Before you install rename it from Caver_0.8.1.zip to Caver_0.8.1.cab If you cannot see the full extension name in your PC, you must goto File Explorer>Tools>Folder Options>View> uncheck Hide Extensions for known file types 3. Extract and install the BouncingBall.zip at your device and execute program at the location of installation. Caution You need to disable automatic sensor first before you start playing with any of this two games, or else your device will hang. To disable the sensor, goto Settings>System>MotionSensor, Select Manual. Enjoy This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 23 2008, 09:45 PM Attached File(s)
Sensor_dll.zip ( 3.81k )
Number of downloads: 466
BouncingBall.zip ( 9.44k )
Number of downloads: 237
Caver_0.8.1.zip ( 1.67mb )
Number of downloads: 400
DrWho
Nov 24 2008, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(pupp82 @ Nov 24 2008, 02:04 AM) 1. Couldnt find \windows directory 2. Install to my storage will do? From File Explorer goto My Device\Windows You can install those two games at My Storage or Storage Card
DrWho
Nov 26 2008, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(kaerb @ Nov 26 2008, 02:01 PM) hi everyone.. I got a memory problem on my OMNIA. As a result, the phone refuse to launch the camera, it keeps saying, "memory low" smtg like tat.... But when I checked My storage (Total Memory = 8GB, Free = 7826.46 MB) and My storage card (Total Memory = 8GB, Free = 7395.66MB). On the Main Memory tab, there are 2 sections. First one is Storage: (Total = 82.52 MB, Free = 30.41MB) --> I dun understand why the free memory is so low... Second on is Program: (Total = 96.71 MB, Free = 44.30 MB) -- > My programs take up almost half of my memory, wondering if I can delete any programs not.. Sorry to sound so idiotic.. but I really tried to google the answer and read the online manual... Nothing seems to solve the problem. Really appreciate if someone could shed some light on it. Brand new, your Omnia will only have about 50 MB Storage and 55MB Program free memory. These figure will vary slightly depending on your firmware version. Have you tried executing the Task Manager to remove those programs running on minimized status?. When you closed a program the device does not actually closes the program, it just minimizes it. If you do not soft reset or use Task Manager to close the unused programs, you would accumulate many minimized programs thus taking up a lot of resources from your device. This may be the cause of your problem. Just soft reset and see.
DrWho
Nov 26 2008, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(kaerb @ Nov 26 2008, 02:53 PM) Hi Dr Who, I always go to task manager to close all the programs.. but still, my storage and program memory is running at half capacity. 30MB and 44MB free memory looks normal to me unless you did not install any program. Try to install a freeware, SKTools Lite to clean and optimize your device.
DrWho
Nov 26 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(kaerb @ Nov 26 2008, 04:33 PM) I'll SKTools Lite but, still my camera application refused to launch... sigh... I hate this phone.. its just too high tech for me. Another problem i faced is the poor battery life. I use my phone very minimally but my battery is flat at the end of the day. WM phone needs getting use to. Once you get the hang of it you will never want to go back to a normal phone. I forgot to mention earlier. Try soft reset, it usually solve problems.
DrWho
Nov 27 2008, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Nov 27 2008, 07:11 PM) Maybe not to shout! Do you have sufficient storage at your Device? Not at My Storage or Storage Card Added on November 27, 2008, 7:34 pmQUOTE(ckf8829 @ Nov 27 2008, 07:20 PM) Dude, Cannot found the file ne? Do you have another link? Thanks Here:http://lucifer-doom.blogspot.com/2008/11/download-samsung-omnia-i900dxhk1-part-2.html You need the given password to unrarThis post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 27 2008, 07:40 PM
DrWho
Nov 27 2008, 09:01 PM
If you are storing the mp3 songs at My Device/My Documents, you are going to end up with the same problem later. These should be stored at My Storage/ My Documents or Storage Card/ My Documents. Keep the storage at the Device free.
DrWho
Nov 28 2008, 09:28 PM
Another G Game for Omnia Accelerometer. GInvader is similar to the Classic Space Invader. Please note that you need to install the sensor.dll before you can play this game. You also need to rename .zip to .cab Enjoy This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 28 2008, 09:43 PM Attached File(s)
GInvaders_0.7.zip ( 309.16k )
Number of downloads: 40
DrWho
Nov 29 2008, 12:18 PM
Just flashed ROM from HJ1 to HK1. HK1 frees Storage Memory by about 7 MB.
S=Storage P=Program HJ1 In Use S 41.84 P 39.90 HJ1 Free S 46.83 P 56.80 HK1 In Use S 33.12 P 38.27 HK1 Free S 53.59 P 58.43
Response seems faster.
This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 29 2008, 12:21 PM
DrWho
Nov 29 2008, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(Sh1n0l3i @ Nov 29 2008, 12:18 PM) hey i just got the omnia but i tried to update the ROM from page 1 but when i tried to install it, it fails when it reaches the 4th file. anyone know y? I believe the current Official Omnia ROM HH3 requires you to install the Modem Driver first.
DrWho
Nov 29 2008, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(Sh1n0l3i @ Nov 29 2008, 12:39 PM) A few weeks ago it was at Samsung site together with the HH3 ROM. When the HJ1 ROM was made available at their site the Modem Driver was no longer required. When they suddenly withdrew the HJ1 ROM and replaced it with the HH3 ROM, they did not include the Modem Driver. I have the driver but am not sure if I am allowed to post it here. Try googling for it. Name of file: SamsungModem_xp.zip This post has been edited by DrWho: Nov 29 2008, 12:57 PM
DrWho
Nov 30 2008, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(koj @ Nov 30 2008, 11:38 AM) I have flashed to HJ1 but found that the word completion in messaging does not work anymore. Anyone with this problem and is there a way to correct this? Have you tried configuring it at Settings>Personal>Input>Word Completion, tick Suggest Word ?
DrWho
Dec 5 2008, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(mosh @ Dec 5 2008, 07:02 PM) guys i need help on my omnia.. i installed spb mobile shell on it, after a few try, i decided that im not very keen with the interface and decided to uninstall it.. the problem is, after uninstall, i still get the spbmenu on my today screen and it replace the main menu. i have no direct access on omnia main menu except i have to go by start>file>program.. need help on how to get rid of the spbmenu and restore my original omnia main menu. thanks Try this, goto Start>Settings>Personal>Today>Items and uncheck Spb Mobile Shell Hope this will work