[FAQ] Which Distro?, Fedora, Mandrake, Gentoo, SUSE, etc.
Aug 31 2009, 12:34 PM
2,930 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kolej Universiti Agrosains Malaysia, Melaka |
Tested Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora and Red Hat 9 , Mepis... all are good. But still stick to openSUSE since it's predecessor Suse Linux Pro 9.1, 9.2, 9.3 hinggalah ke current 11.1, I love this Suse
Sep 15 2009, 08:44 AM
2,930 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kolej Universiti Agrosains Malaysia, Melaka |
wow, so many remastered version of ubuntu nowadays. Heard about Mint, new distro that has many followers and one of the tops in distrowatch.
Apr 13 2010, 02:01 PM
I am still at 32bit, ok lah tu
Aug 20 2010, 07:03 PM
Aug 28 2010, 11:38 AM
True here, VLC has no problem paying with mkv.
Sep 11 2010, 10:40 PM
I am thinking to try out Linux Mint, side by side with my current opensuse. Many reviews just too good for me to resist it.
Sep 18 2010, 12:22 AM
When we always read the top most distros like ubunto, fedora, mint or opensuse, once the great mandrake a.k.a mandriva is now dying due to financial crisis
QUOTE The cooker community is hot these days. A lot of Mandriva employees have announced their resignation from the Mandriva company. This is occuring as following to the death of Edge-IT (subsidary of the Mandriva firm) which was employing lots of employees working around the core of the Mandriva distribution. The rest of the stories can be read here. Same similar articles published in distrowatch as well. The funny thing is someone has post a bug no 60936 to mandriva's bugzilla which is rated under severity critical QUOTE Description of problem: After I installed the most recent version of Mandriva Linux, staff started to leave the company. THe better the release and the more I use it, the more people leave. How reproducible: Install Mandriva Linux ans wait for people to leave the company. (I'd like to see this colsed as FIXED...) The rest of humorous replies can be read here. |
Sep 19 2010, 09:53 PM
An interview with one of the Gnome 3 developers, a new word created that Gnome Shell is not sort of terminal emulator as what I thought earlier
QUOTE You keep talking about gnome shell and given that you have a nice vision we would like to know more about it. Whats gnome shell? Another terminal emulator? Gnome Shell with Multiple Workspaces (Laughs) The shell in a desktop environment is the part of the desktop that deals with some core functions: launching applications, switching between windows, shutting down the computer, etc. This is obviously a term that end-users shouldn’t care much about. We’ve redesigned this part of the GNOME desktop for GNOME 3, and the name of this project is GNOME Shell. That’s why we often talk about it :-) So what old-timers call a windowmanager and a panel? Kind of, yes. The rest of the contents can be read here. btw, from the facebook I just 'unlike' the Gnome group, mana dia punya admin, tido ka? opps! This post has been edited by powerwoot: Sep 19 2010, 09:55 PM |
Sep 22 2010, 02:41 PM
Since there are no spesel thread about opensource news in general, lemme me put some highlight about the next fate of Mandriva. Welcome Mageia, good bye Mandriva?
QUOTE Mageia – A New Linux Distribution The news can be read here at www.mageia.orgParis, September 18th 2010 As you may have heard, the future of the Mandriva Linux distribution is unclear. Most employees working on the distribution were laid off when Edge-IT was liquidated. We do not trust the plans of Mandriva SA anymore and we don't think the company (or any company) is a safe host for such a project. Many things have happened in the past 12 years. Some were very nice: the Mandriva Linux community is quite large, motivated and experienced, the distribution remains one of the most popular and an award-winning product, easy to use and innovative. Some other events did have some really bad consequences that made people not so confident in the viability of their favourite distribution. People working on it just do not want to be dependent on the economic fluctuations and erratic, unexplained strategic moves of the company. This post has been edited by powerwoot: Sep 22 2010, 02:42 PM |
Oct 19 2010, 12:55 PM
Apart from my currently running opensuse 11.3, I am in the mid of downloading the ubuntu 10.10 derivative, Linux Mint 10 rc 64bit. Got another 80gb sata spare hdd to be intall into it. Just wandering if rc can be easily updated to stable release which will be out any near time.
Oct 19 2010, 03:08 PM
Oct 20 2010, 10:50 AM
I am in a sensed too eager trying out another distro, yesterday I managed to install linux mint 10 rc 64bit, but due to unknown reason the pc restarted whenever it tries to boot
And today, I am downloading Ultimate Edition 2.8 64bit, it is the latest stable release based on ubuntu 10.10. Hopefully the download can be complete before I am off to home at 6 this evening |
Oct 21 2010, 10:37 AM
ohh syith! grub2 used by mint overrule the legacy grub used by opensuse, after removing the hdd used by mint, I am unable to boot to opensuse. Reinstalling the opensuse grub doesn't work.
Oct 22 2010, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(pcbase @ Oct 22 2010, 02:13 AM) Thanks, managed to repair the grub using parted magic boot cd http://partedmagic.com/ , someone gave me the wrong version which does not have the grub command... or the newer version they already stripped the grub function? hmmAnyway, are using the Ultimate as your siggy says it? just got my Ultimate Edition 2.8 64bit, I am going to try it this evening. From the reviews this distro sounds so good |
Oct 23 2010, 12:59 PM
I don't have much time to install the ultimate, hopefully tomorrow I am able to do it. yup I do think Ultimate is perfect out of the box from what most of the reviews say.
Mint 10 RC, I had several tough time in trying to make the X come out. Sort of Nvidia gc does not so friendly I think. Already set sort of advices to put the parameter nomodeset, nvidia nomodeset, vesa... etc etc still x can't find my monitor, but I know the system is running at background. Maybe I need to wait for their stable release. Added on October 24, 2010, 11:42 amJust to update the preview of Ultimate Edition 2.8 from the bootable cd, yup I agree they do bundled it with lotsa applications, which the most we no longer need to search and download again from the internet. Hassle free to find restricted codecs, it just works out of the box which will be great for linux newbies. The default theme, omg! so striking blue and it hurts my eyes haha, but they include together with tons of themes to choose with. However they too much under the shadow of ubuntu 10.10 except they add more apps and themes as a make up. This post has been edited by powerwoot: Oct 24 2010, 11:42 AM |
Nov 2 2010, 08:17 PM
Just installed Linux Mint 10 RC into the hdd. Quite tricky to turn the x on. Just to share my initial findings, this distro not so friendly into certain nvidia gc. After the grub, no x.. screen at the saving mode. Workaround, in grub hit 'tab' and 'e', between the row of kernel parameters insert 'nomodeset' just before the 'quiet splash' and ctrl+x to reboot. In opensuse, nvidia gc by default nouveau driver will be loaded. 'nomodeset' only to be use whenever the proprietary nvidia driver to be install. The best about this distro, tons of apps is waiting for us as the repos already there compare to opensuse the repos need to be create manually. Linux mint and ubuntu are sharing the same repos.
Nov 3 2010, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(scorps @ Nov 3 2010, 10:53 AM) did follow the suggestions by some of them either nouveau.modeset=0 (or1), nvidia.modeset=0 (or1)... neither worked. Googled further about mint and nvidia 9400gt problem, the only working solution I am getting is by insert the nomodeset just before quiet splash. With proper nvidia driver now everything just fine with correct reso 1440x900.#fat16, noted to that. Thanks. |
Nov 4 2010, 08:21 AM
Nov 8 2010, 02:06 PM
Nov 9 2010, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 9 2010, 01:31 PM) OpenSUSE is really nice Linux, their interface also awesome~ Used it since from my old skool pentium 4, for several brand of mobos, few laptops, and currently running on my socket 775 + hp mini 110 netbook. At most, all drivers are included. How bout hardware support compare to Ubuntu? Added on November 12, 2010, 10:03 pmwokey, just to update the latest Linux Mint Gnome 10 "Julia" final has been released, get your copy today! This post has been edited by powerwoot: Nov 12 2010, 10:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:36 AM |