4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Asus Eee PC Thread V3

Maximp
post Mar 4 2009, 01:22 AM

656 posts

anyone running backtrack3 on their eeepc? it seems that 1002ha wifi driver not supported
Maximp
post Mar 4 2009, 08:42 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Mar 4 2009, 03:38 PM)

On this I for one beg to differ. Once the price difference is not that far Battery Life plays a MAJOR IMPORTANT
role, well at least for me who's always on the move, if youre always one to be able to find a Power Source then its not a big problem, but in airports, trains and buses and sometimes even while travelling not having power is an issue no matter how slim or pretty the other laptop looks like.

Even if you always find power and always run with battery and power plugged in at the same time youre just going to ruin the battery life so no, if the battery life is longer, its cheaper, even though comparing them side by side one looks much slimmer and prettier, I'd personally still go for the cheaper longer battery.

i wonder is it because i always use my 1002ha in power saving mode or its because the battery were different than 1000h model...i heard they said different battery type

mine can lasted at least 4++ hours for documentation usage, like running Microsoft office and online msn (but im using low brightness, turn off camera and blue tooth)

lasted about 3+ hours when playing movie files with medium brightness with wifi on for online and msn (i often use my netbook to watch movie, and my dramas)
Maximp
post Mar 6 2009, 12:20 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Mar 5 2009, 03:18 PM)

Actually battery type, usage and brightness would play a major role. But then again the contention here is that perhaps for only RM100-200 difference, youd already by default have a very good battery.

Batteries as we know cost a bit, of course one could get a higher end nicer model but then to later need a longer battery may be an issue. Not firing anyone here nor saying im all the correct source happy.gif

I like your option for the 3+ hours though on that usage, personally for me though, id rather go with at least 5 hours on that one. Ie for having all these running (  playing movie files with medium brightness with wifi on for online and msn ) smile.gif

dont think could lasted 5 hours for movies, 2 cell battery only in 1002ha,

i wonder if 1000ha could lasted 5 hours with 6cell battery for movies entertainment

Maximp
post Mar 23 2009, 03:50 PM

656 posts

i need a higher capacity battery for my 1002ha but too bad this model no one selling 6 cell battery, anyone got news when this model will be selling 6 cell?

4 hours of battery life not enuf for me, some places just very hard to find power plugs
Maximp
post Mar 25 2009, 08:37 AM

656 posts

aiyoyo i thought 4 hours enuff for me but now not enough so sad so sad
Maximp
post Mar 25 2009, 09:28 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Mar 25 2009, 07:24 PM)
Now now, you can always get a replacement aftermarket batteries which would kick more life into your machine buddy. There's already many compatible batteries with 12 cells batteries which would bring 9 - 10 hours battery more of a possibility for ya biggrin.gif
anywhere to suggest? cannot find it over the internet le
Maximp
post Mar 26 2009, 12:34 PM

656 posts

sigh sigh argh~ gotta find some solution la if like this
Maximp
post Mar 26 2009, 05:07 PM

656 posts

hopefully hehe
i now bringing
Maximp
post Mar 26 2009, 10:56 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Mar 26 2009, 05:38 PM)

Hmm thats unclear.
You're now bringing ? Youre bulking them in you mean ?
If yes then its cool, maybe ill then consider the 1002's haha.

And oh, on that note, try installing some of Asus's homebrewed software where it then increases the lifespan of the battery by a little bit more. Those new EEEPC's 901 thats sold runs with same 6 cell batts same processor but now theyve advertised them as lasting *8 hours ( flight from New York to London ) so im sure some tuning on how the processor works might help. Im gonna test out the software from Asus and see how well the claim goes.

sigh no luck..they never tested the battery for 1002ha it seems

i read that about the thing making 901 lasting 8 hours but it doesnt support for 1002ha and solely for 901

on the 1002ha they got a S.H.E button where by they tweaking the cpu speed at lower rate and higher rate but after using for months, doesnt save battery nor use any extra power, the only big differences that noticeable that is when playing some hi-res flash video become smoother, other stuff doesnt seen any changes

btw..it seems that 1000 and 1002 model updated their bios often, i already updated for the 3rd time now (oh wait just check..got another newer version)

updating bios seems increasing performance a bit because on one of the previous two bios it turns out that making my 1002ha sucking battery alot faster , and certain parts of the netbook felt warmer than usual, after updating to another newer bios after few week, the problem gone and it seems to run without getting warmer than usual

for those who are using 1002ha the latest bios update version 0701 fix two function
1. update ec firmware
2. improve thermal protection function
[SIZE=7][cool.gif

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 27 2009, 12:19 AM
Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 10:41 AM

656 posts

i search for lowyat last month, not many shops selling s101 that comes with SSD..some doesn't even know what is a SSD
Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 10:57 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Mar 27 2009, 10:47 AM)

Not many ? Or none ?
See..dont fall into the same trap.
S101 - Comes with SSD
S101H - Comes with HDD.
So if its a a S101 without a SSD, its not S101 its S101H.
There's a difference  notworthy.gif  Until we educate ourselves better, we wont know better.

got 1 shop but need to wait them get new stock over here , i guess need deposit also la, EverNew the shop name, end up buying my 1002ha from them also.

one of the misleading shop i encounter.

that i know diffrence between s101 and s101h but in their catalog written as "s101" 6-cell then with a picture of s101 model there
quite misleading shop i think, but cannot remember what shop name is it, one of those shop that located at those back alley

they says its a 6-cell, comes with ssd, and price rm2399 (last month), for that pricing when i wanted to buy that time they give me a s101h instead..i ask them they said no more selling s101 that comes with ssd and price still same, wah if i paid already that time sure got conned

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 27 2009, 11:03 AM
Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 11:29 AM

656 posts

hahah EverNew their staff know what they are selling, know well about their product stuff.

oh..so big difference for 1002ha vs 1000h battery size? i thought they just got extra bigger at the end

haha the power chart, can see that hp mini note struggle with numbers tongue.gif

Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 08:40 PM

656 posts

oh that hp mininote really look cool, but too much complaint from user.
i probably wont bang my ssd like emino does lol

i not sure about u guys, i constantly backup my files into dvd, so 160gb is over big for me already in my 1002ha, even my desktop also 160gb saje

review for the 0701 for 1002ha bios update.

Day 1 : so far so good, bootup time no difference (but the previous 2 does make boot up faster a bit), but programs load faster, noticeable when opening firefox in many tabs. (not sure how reliable is this news, some forumer in Chinese forum says that this bios fix some problem in windows 7)

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 27 2009, 08:49 PM
Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 08:51 PM

656 posts

...i went to bed with my desktop lol lol..kidding just never turn off only la haha

...wah never know eeepc so durable! haha i did spill some water onto my laptop before...cannot be saved..even though i dried the whole thing after that my keys and everything become crazy.

-----------
emino too much porn no wonder la lol i know why u put ur netbook beside bed liow!

----

live news update: McDonald bandar tun hussien onn got netbook wars, 80% of ppl sitting there using netbook..can see eeepc, hpmini, ah benq(eh eh this one look damn cool the color) , msi!

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 27 2009, 08:54 PM
Maximp
post Mar 27 2009, 08:57 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 27 2009, 08:54 PM)
Thank God for this invention called keyboard protector.

One tip though, if you ever spilled anything on any electric/electronic device, quickly turn it off, wipe it out, then blowdry it. And dont turn it on again till a day passed. Learned that from experience.

My PC never been turned off, except for some restarts for windows updates and during holidays where I balik kampong.
er cannot found any keyboard portector for my 10" le
yeah this one i know, i blow dry it but useless also i guess too serious already

netbook turn off before?..longest i use probably 48 hours...doing assignment

----------
live news update: McDonald bandar tun hussien onn got netbook wars, 80% of ppl sitting there using netbook..can see eeepc, hpmini, ah benq(eh eh this one look damn cool the color and many ppl using) , msi!

i just realize how popular is benq~ many ppl actually buying them le
Maximp
post Mar 28 2009, 02:05 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(lily_butterfly @ Mar 28 2009, 09:46 AM)
Been to Low Yat today and have a look at the 1002 HA. One of the sales man told me that the battery is 6 cells. He show me the battery and I noticed that it is 7.4V and 4800mAH.

So
7.4v divided by 3.6 is 2.05 which round  up to 2
4800mAH divided by 2200mAH is 2.18 which round up to 2

2x2 is 4 ......?!?!?! so the battery is a 4 cells battery not 6????
the lowyat person got trick you? some shop very dishonest to tell the truth, some say 6 cell some say 4 cell, but the fact is 1002ha is a 2cell li-poly

its a +7.3V 4200Mah, 2 cell battery only, but this 2 cell actually quite strong..can lasted 3-4hours depending how u use it.

======
btw...he probably take s101 battery for you to see, which is a 4cell, actually not compatible to 1002ha

Added on March 30, 2009, 11:47 ami just realize this thread during weekend = holiday heheh no one posting on sat and sunday

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 30 2009, 11:47 AM
Maximp
post Mar 31 2009, 12:24 AM

656 posts

some freebies for you guys~ i have been using this apps for several years and its quite good to replace your current task bar to maximize our small 9 and 10 inch screen

i added some screen shot below

its actually very useful thing that replaces the vista sidebar (not sure what its called) and also an open source addon like google gadget with adding many useful funtional

get this must have apps from rocketdock.com brows.gif

This post has been edited by Maximp: Mar 31 2009, 12:30 AM

Maximp
post Apr 3 2009, 04:29 PM

656 posts

program that running i think yes but impact wont be that great, i tested several method, the best way to suck up all ur battery is running at full brightness and loudest volume and using at hot places haha

i tested a laptop playing movie with wifi and msn and webcam on = 3hours max

and comparing with just playing same long hours of movie, turning off my wifi and webcam, = 3 hours + 10-15min extra

but when at full brightness....same movie , turning off wifi and everything = 2 hours ++ at max~

oh yeah memory intensive programs might suckup battery a lot, but i think netbook dont have those power to run those anyway.

Added on April 3, 2009, 8:24 pmGOOD NEWS TO ALL EEEPC user

to all user that had awkward key placement especially their right shift, i using a software solution to modify the keys mapping using keytweak ~ smile.gif its free, and fast and easy to use finally my keyboard in 1002ha easy to use like it should be! smile.gif

link here
http://webpages.charter.net/krumsick/
credit to the creator smile.gif

now my right shift is up arrow
and up arrow become right shift~
i wonder if i should take the physical keys out and switch position

This post has been edited by Maximp: Apr 3 2009, 08:29 PM
Maximp
post Apr 14 2009, 06:49 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Apr 14 2009, 02:26 PM)
now getting 3.5 hours after second charge

do anybody here know how to switch on the webcam after enabled it in bios, i can't find the software or did i miss something
it just at ur eetray~ just enable it
Maximp
post May 26 2009, 07:49 PM

656 posts

1002ha till today still got no extended battery sigh~~~
5 hours juice tak cukup la

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0448sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:35 AM