PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!

maxizanc
post Oct 29 2008, 08:26 PM

5,909 posts

Just came back from Lowyat, auditioned the S530D, S730D and S550 at 3 places: Edifier shop @ Level 4, All IT & Sri Computer.

S530D: I don't have any bad comment about this speaker, definitely a speaker that i want to replace my 'missing' C3. The satellites produce a very very good mids and highs. Crystal clear sound, very detail. The subwoofer produce thigh bass which is far better than my C3.

S730D: This speaker is very huge and the subwoofer produce very very good bass suitable for those who have a big/medium room. This one is not for me considering my room is small room i think will be a waste of such good speaker performance to be used in a small room. And i auditioned this speaker at All IT & Sri Computer. Donno why when i test this speaker at SrI Computer, i feel that the clarity lose out to S530D when playing the same sound.. Actually if S750 is arround i will definitely buy that speaker just because the 5.1 surround channel. But i think twice, better slowly upgrade.
maxizanc
post Oct 30 2008, 10:16 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(samsoong @ Oct 29 2008, 09:02 PM)
what's the difference of 2.1 & 5.1?
i dont quite catch though smile.gif

Added on October 29, 2008, 9:03 pmi mean.. what is it about? ^^
Bro, 2.1 speaker has 2 satelites speaker and 1 subwoofer.

5.1 speaker has 5 sattelites. 2 front. 2 rear and 1 center. And 1 subwoofer.

Consider the 0.1 as subwoofer. the rest are sattelites.
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 02:45 AM

5,909 posts

Yeeha! I'm currently listening to my S530D now rclxm9.gif

Still in the process of burning in and finding the perfect placement of the speakers. But the sound is just great. drool.gif The Tracy Chapman song - Baby Can I Hold You sound is very clear crystal. Next song i wanna test out is some of the Fourplay songs and Acoustic Alchemy songs :

Will try out some of BD movies tomorrow, now i can't boom boom my baby. People wanna sleep. tongue.gif

edit: But my new Creative X-Fi USB 5.1 surround is giving me problem. The sound is out of sync when watching movies. Will update the driver now, see what'll happen.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Nov 6 2008, 02:47 AM
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 12:11 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 6 2008, 04:33 AM)
you bought for how much? drool.gif
RM670.. my friend's staff purchase wink.gif now the issue is solved already. No more out of sync after upgraded the driver.. icon_rolleyes.gif
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 01:30 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(tommysasuke @ Nov 6 2008, 12:32 PM)
Hello all...i am a new member here
i have been using my m3300 since 3 years ago...
recently i wanna upgrade to a better edifier
can anyone compare s330 and r1900tIII for me pls ??
100% usage for music ONLY...haha...

or any other better suggestion
bugget around rm400...thx all!! icon_rolleyes.gif
and i don't want c3 it seems more suitable for movie and gamers right?
p/s:im looking for 2nd hand s330 or r1900tIII or even aego m.do kindly pm me thx~ smile.gif
Bro, i was using C3 for around half a year already. And i listen to music mostly. C3 is capable to produce sharp and clear sound from the sats, The sub also not bad, just that not enough power (RMS) that's all..
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 04:06 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(tommysasuke @ Nov 6 2008, 01:45 PM)
do u ever try out s330 and r1900tIII? whats the different with ur c3?
I never compared them together but i kow r=that the C3 is good. But r1900tIII is a bookshelf speaker right? I think it's good for music.. Try ask Edifier..
maxizanc
post Nov 7 2008, 03:00 PM

5,909 posts

S530D RM759 @ All IT
maxizanc
post Nov 8 2008, 06:18 PM

5,909 posts

Guys, i have a question. If i use the optical digital cable, can my speaker produce better sound compared to the normal jack cable?
maxizanc
post Nov 8 2008, 07:32 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(JustCallMeBob @ Nov 8 2008, 07:28 PM)
If you use an optical digital cable (or coax) you will be using the DAC (digital to analogue converter) in your speakers (as I'm currently doing now with my S730's from my motherboard). If you use the normal jack cable, you will be using the DAC from either your sound card/motherboard/mp3 player or whatever and sending the analogue signal to the speakers.

The DAC converts digital signals (1's and 0's) into an analogue signal (waves). Mind you, you can easily spend thousands of $USD on quality DAC's.

Try both, let your ears decide.
If i use the optical cable means, my X-Fi USB will be useless then? icon_question.gif

So which one is better actually in your opinion? The DAC in my speaker or in my X-FI?

And which one is producing better sound for your speaker?
maxizanc
post Nov 9 2008, 09:47 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(JustCallMeBob @ Nov 9 2008, 09:30 PM)
maxizanc, I'm currently using onboard audio to my S730's. I've got a used Audigy 2 ZS coming to me in the mail. I'll also be testing the coaxial (digital) and the analogue outputs and just seeing for myself which one is better. I 'believe' there was minimal difference between my motherboard's analogue and digital. It sounded 'cleaner' to me via digital.

I'll let you know sometime next week if you like.

One other thing is that the quality of your analogue cable could also be a determining factor. A digital cable will either work or not work (ie. on or off) whereas an analogue cable has the potential to 'lose' information. So don't ever get conned into spending more money on a 'brand name' digital cable over another one. Analogue cables... there is a difference between crap and quality.

Which speakers do you have maxizanc?
I have S530D. Still new (4 days). And i really satisfy with the sound. That's why i wanna try using the optical cable, to test which one can provide better sound quality.. Thanks so much for the info and i really appreciate your simple and understandable answer.. My new optical cable will be coming tonight! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Nov 9 2008, 09:48 PM
maxizanc
post Nov 10 2008, 12:24 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Reve @ Nov 10 2008, 11:40 AM)
how much u buy the cable ?
I ask my friend to buy. RM28? Is sit ok? Don't mind if it is a cap ayam one biggrin.gif . Just for a beginner like me.. Is there any difference anyway?
maxizanc
post Nov 10 2008, 02:30 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(zeguy @ Nov 10 2008, 02:16 PM)
Hii, just join here.
Was i has Edi C2 and now S330D. It is worth or not if i change it with C3.

And how about S530/D
Just wait for the seniors to answer your question bro. I never compared the C2 with C3 before but i know C3 is very good considering its price is only RM300++

S530D is far better. S530D is the mama of the 2.1 speakers. S730D is the papa tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Nov 10 2008, 02:31 PM
maxizanc
post Nov 10 2008, 06:14 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Nov 10 2008, 06:10 PM)
i still prefer those custom made cable over the optical cable...i had try on the philips optical cable on my S530D b4, what i feel is the sound become louder only but the details is not there...but this just mainly my opinion only la, maybe u will like the performance of the optical cable.... smile.gif

anyway, wait til u fully burn in the speaker and u wil be more surprise of it's performance... smile.gif
Where can i got those?

Ya lor, my speaker is only 5 days breaking in.. biggrin.gif
maxizanc
post Nov 10 2008, 06:31 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Nov 10 2008, 06:23 PM)
u can get it at garage sale there...but the price not cheap la...1m cost RM95...but believe me, u get what u paid for... smile.gif
Oooh! sweat.gif No. Let me get the basic one. sweat.gif Suitable for a beginner like me.

But am planning to buy S750D in the future. Slowly building my HTPC.. biggrin.gif

@JustCallMeBob - Thanks again for the answer!

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Nov 10 2008, 06:50 PM
maxizanc
post Nov 10 2008, 10:33 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Nov 10 2008, 07:33 PM)
Just tested my fren's S530D few miniutes ago,the sounds obviously improved if compare to the time when he jus bought it ,which is 3 months ago. biggrin.gif  keep burn in guys thumbup.gif
Nice advice. BTW anyone knows who selling the digital optical cable here? Can give me the link? Than you! biggrin.gif
maxizanc
post Nov 12 2008, 12:57 AM

5,909 posts

There are some differences when i'm using the Toslink for my S530D. The sound is louder and wider. Good, now i learnt something from my own experience. Pardon me for my noobiness, LOL.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Nov 12 2008, 12:58 AM
maxizanc
post Nov 12 2008, 01:19 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Nov 12 2008, 01:10 AM)
How about Edifier DA5000 5.1 speaker? is it classified as home theater speaker?
Just wait for the arrival of 5.1 digital speaker, S750D. Papa of 5.1 speaker. It has digital input, so u can use it with DVD or BD player.
maxizanc
post Nov 12 2008, 11:04 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Nov 12 2008, 10:44 PM)
The s730 using CS8416 chip, a 192 kHz Digital Audio Receiver
Bro, how about S530D & S750D? Any idea?
maxizanc
post Nov 16 2008, 12:19 AM

5,909 posts

I donno whether to be happy or to be bothered. Seems like after i manages the cable (including my laptop cable and all) unplugged and plugged back all of the cable involving my S530D, the sound is not the same like it was. Lots of treble which is pleasable really by me. When listens to musics, i don't need to max up the treble to +6. Even +4 treble level is good enough is enough. But the problem is, the bass is not that strong compared to previously. I donno what's wrong. The bass is like my previous C3's bass.

Did i misplugged the cable or something? But i did recheck and everything, it seems ok though. For your information, i unplugged my X-FI USB sound card as well, the settings was back to normal when i did that. Or is it because my speaker is already successfully fully break in? But why the heck the bass is so weak even if i maxed them up?

Anyone has any idea? Is my S530D spoilt already?
maxizanc
post Nov 16 2008, 12:26 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Nov 16 2008, 12:24 AM)
have u change the position of woofer?
I did which was a bit nearer to the wall. But seeing it was something wrong, i put it back to the original position. Nothing changes.

0.0405sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:47 PM