Collectibles World of Diecast Car Models V3, where diecasts meet passion

REALCollector
post Oct 24 2008, 03:09 PM

Congratulation to V3....

Jason, nice overall collection you have there... rclxms.gif

Post the photo to celebrate recent win (3 win in 8 races) for Xanavi GTR in GT500 round 8. biggrin.gif
REALCollector
post Oct 24 2008, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Oct 24 2008, 03:12 PM)
good news guys,
my money is now focusing at here brows.gif
no longer hotwheels....
Great Cham! you have make a wise choice.... thumbup.gif

REALCollector
post Oct 24 2008, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Oct 24 2008, 03:20 PM)
i just order hotworks limited edition twin pack BLITZ skyline (1/64)
really burn a big hole in my pocket sweat.gif
RM 89 for two mini cars
Worth it Cham! I paid about RM65 a piece for Kyosho 1/64 (inc shipping cost from Japan)... definately worth it....
But now I'm fully focus on 1/43 only.... tongue.gif

Tai Ko tkt always selling cool stuff to fellow forumer here... you own a toy shop or diecast business???

Jason, yeah! will consider 1/18 scaled when I bought/ build my own house in next year or two.... now I'm running out of space to house my collection... planning to let go all my hotwheels 1/64 soon.... feel silly to buy these minis... unrealistic..... the lucky buyer might get a special gift from me laugh.gif

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Oct 24 2008, 05:47 PM
REALCollector
post Oct 24 2008, 09:49 PM

Jason, great AA SC430 test car.... I'm waiting for Ebbro next production of 2008 Zent SC430. Should released early in 2009.
Therefore my shopping list for 1/43 models (2009) are:

1. Ebbro 2008 Zent #38 Lexus SC430 - RM140
2. Ebbro 2008 Wedsport Lexus IS350 - RM140
3. Kyosho 1/43 R35 GT-R - Black - RM130
4. Minichamps 2008 Timo Scheider Audi A4 - approx: RM200 (Super Detail)

Meanwhile planning to get in these models: -
1. Toyota MR-S SuperGT 2007 Sepang round winner
2. 2007 Cusco Subaru Impreza

My current 2006 Zent #1 SC430:

The GT500 2007 overall Winner - Arta NSX

This is my fav model - very lucky to get it below RM150 (inc. Shipping) from Germany...
user posted imageuser posted image

Added on October 24, 2008, 10:01 pmWell,

I won't be posting my new collection here so often... pls visit mydc for photo updates... I try to help spikey to promote his forum.... so guys need your support...

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Oct 24 2008, 10:01 PM
REALCollector
post Oct 25 2008, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Oct 25 2008, 08:27 AM)
wah, scalper call ppl scalper .. you got a thick skin hoh? i recently heard lots of great stories about you.. you really tak tahu malu  rclxms.gif
Real_collector
if buy from hlj, tell me i wan tumpang ..hehe..
No problem mate! Just let me know the model you want. But I won't be getting any models from them so soon, unless releasing of ZENT SC430 or IS350 (which I don't foresee ebbro to produce them this year)....

REALCollector
post Oct 25 2008, 11:38 PM

You need paypal!

To avoid being cheated from online stores... go shop in ebay....

as far as cheap items... well, no much difference out there.... it's matter of foreign currency exchange....
REALCollector
post Oct 26 2008, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(myke @ Oct 26 2008, 05:39 PM)
leather seats abit plasticky... abit disappointed  sad.gif but overall love his every angle  wub.gif

REVEALED

for more pics, visit MyDC
Bro,

A masterpiece from AA rclxms.gif ... looks good at every angle! I totally agree, all recent models from Merc are good looking.... I'm worrying to poison by your collection to spend big in 1:18 scaled soon.... sweat.gif
REALCollector
post Oct 26 2008, 09:25 PM

Need advice...

I noticed that some model car tyres (rubber) starting to melt after you keep it for years.. anything I can do to prevent this from happening?

REALCollector
post Oct 27 2008, 05:52 PM

Yeah! I agree, caused our high humidity climate is the main chanllenge to keep our precious collections in tip top condidition... as a rule of tumb, avoid direct contact with sun light, try to rub off any moisture on the surface of the models... the inner parts cleaning? well? use the ear buds to clean the dust??

As for the rubber wheels?? Jason, your idea is perfect, try to jack the models up, avoid the tyre from contacting any surface... thumbup.gif
Like my Samsung HP, those rubber covers were all gone in just two years (lose shape and cracked eventually)... despite taking good care on my mobile... it's just unavoidable.... scary!!!

I think there most be some protection agent (something like an sunblock oil or something) we can apply to preserve the rubber...

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Oct 27 2008, 05:56 PM
REALCollector
post Nov 2 2008, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Nov 1 2008, 11:45 PM)
well no problem man... juz to exchange and share experience here lor... smile.gif as cham said, no models are in perfect condition, no matter how good we take care of the car models, they will wear off in the test of time, weather and temperature, especially here in malaysia where temperature is amazingly hot yet humid... i think its considered to be a huge achievement for us as we are still able to maintain the cars in good shape till now... biggrin.gif so far my collection is still ok, its juz only wat i encountered last night bout the liquidized tyres... doh.gif

talking bout my case, heres an update... im currently storing the 350z back to its box now coz i fear for the tyres to continue liquidize and would affect other models in the cabinet... but for now, the tyres have stopped "bleeding" le...

back to the box

the glossy rubber tyre

hope u guys do take good care of the tyres too, besides the blistering problem on the body paint... especially if the temperature is hot and humid, then u gotta pay more attention to the tyres, check them frequently to avoid any problems like wat i faced last night...
Jason... melting rubber... In fact couple years back I'd three pair of basketball shoe Nike & Reebok... each cost around RM300 - RM450... the rubber seem to decompose after you keep it in shoe rack for few years... I'd disposed them last years.... mad.gif (Honesty, I only wear those shoe for less than 20 times..... so sayang cause they expensive stuff.... ) now I never invest in shoe already... I think the shoe rubber wear out can be related to the model car... The question is how to prevent it???

I wonder if this work, try to clean the tyres with clean water periodically... say once a month.... ??? any comment??? of course rub off the moisture to prevent any metal parts from getting rusty tongue.gif

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Nov 2 2008, 02:30 PM
REALCollector
post Nov 3 2008, 08:37 AM

QUOTE(dinie90 @ Nov 3 2008, 12:14 AM)
hai guys,i want to ask where can i get evo x?
Jason, yeah, try to blow the moitsure with the fan.... I remember, about 11 years back, I used to own those Tamiya 4WD race car... the one with motor and race on a track... I found that good quality tyres made by tamiya last till today... no sight of melting... on the other hand, I also bought few the China brand "Audrey"... guest what! those tyres already torn.... it's quality issue!!!

Looking for mitsubishi car, of course go to Mitsubishi dealer... ha! ha! ha! just joking...
You need to be specific... there are few Evo X models out there.... namely HW 1/64 2008 series, tomica 1/64, & Kyosho 1/43...
Well, the later is the hot item.... most of the online stores already sold out.... you may still find it on ebay.... hope will not cost you a bomb!!! good luck!!!
REALCollector
post Nov 7 2008, 09:31 AM

Pepperboy!

Kyosho 1:43 @ RM169
Kyosho 1:64 @ RM65

It's pretty close to HLJ price. go to http://www.hlj.com. Man! the yen has gain momentum in last three months... all models cost 10% more... so spend wisely....

I personally think Kyosho quality is better than Ebbro... if given a choice to choose between 1/43 GT-R (R35) Ebbro and Kyosho.... I'll go for Kyosho.... do doubt about that!!!

REALCollector
post Nov 7 2008, 08:19 PM

Jason: you may find this interesting http://www.diecastxchange.com/forum1/index...opic=30534&st=0

REALCollector
post Nov 9 2008, 08:42 PM

rclxms.gif Walau! you guys are damn serious about preserving your collections thumbup.gif

As you can see, in the west, collectors only keep it in display cabinet, of course avoid from direct sunlight.... That's mean... zero maintenance cost....
There are lots of photos over diecastxchange.... go have a look... see how they keep their collection in tip top condition... biggrin.gif
REALCollector
post Nov 10 2008, 01:30 PM

I've create a blog for sharing my collection as well as to update the latest happening in Motor racing.... I welcoming you all to my blog http://realcollector.blogspot.com/
REALCollector
post Nov 12 2008, 01:41 PM

Let's see Kyosho Vs Ebbro in precision... you be the judge...

REALCollector
post Nov 14 2008, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Nov 14 2008, 05:17 PM)
that aston martin dbs from shell
i am going to do  a little customization of rims..the rims sucks man
I agree Cham! That's why I don't splash cash for Shell J Bond collections... I only like the briefcast & plastic case sad.gif
REALCollector
post Nov 14 2008, 09:42 PM

Picked up this box today...

......more photos will follow.....

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Nov 14 2008, 09:44 PM
REALCollector
post Nov 15 2008, 01:40 PM

QUOTE(mkii @ Nov 15 2008, 11:46 AM)
Hi All,

I'm new, But have been collecting 1:18 n 1:24 from 1994 - 2001, and was reading you post on the tires.

One of the main reason I quit the hobby was alot due to the fact that alot of the die cast deteriorate after a period of time... (Like real cars, only you don't get to drive them)

Oil coming out of or stickness of tires and plastic is not an uncommon thing (after collecting cars and figures for so many years)...It's either the release agents or chemicals that are used in the plactics/rubber...Now I say it's not uncommon, because, we can't escape the fact that we live in Malaysia (hot, wet/humid and mostly hot), so heat get's into everything... after long exposures (even in dark room, just alot slower) these agents gets released...Unless you're rich and have the AC on for 24/7 ..365...

And paint, is basically a QC issue and one also has to remember these manufacturers are not gonna use 2K paint on the models, otherwise it'll be too think and the details go missing. for Hot Works, I've seen alot of the AE86 and Mazda have these issues of blistering...Paint is one issue, the metal used is also one issue...a good example would be look at our proton cars...u notice the blister's on them?

But after all that being said, new materials have been developed, technologies improve...so I guess it all boils down to one's luck.

Thirsty Hippos' do not do any damage to the cars, they just such moisture...good things to have in a cupboard...

Using wax on the car is also a factor, one that should only be attempted if you have the patience to clean up the car properly and use the proper was...please do not buy the cheapo ones...or you'll see your car change colors...Especially if it's a white car, It basically turns Yellow...

Also no smoking or nicotine near your babies...bad bad effects on paint and plastic...Why do you think the americans always prefer to buy things from smoke-free homes...

Just my two cents...Hope I didn't say too much

Cheers
I agree with you mate! Nothing last forever in this world doh.gif ... thanks for sharing.... thumbup.gif

Bro mike! show him how you keep your 10 year old Merc DTM in tip top condition whistling.gif

But let me share with you my rationale of collecting model car.... In fact I'd splashed approximately RM8K (just this year alone) for collecting diecast alone... Man! when you have cash to spare what you gonna do with it? Of course saving is priority for most family man! so some people they prefer go for vacation to splash the RM8K one go??? you only have fun for that few days??? OK! I went to Europe early this year.... I saved a lot during that trip, still lost RM12.5K for it... but then it's just few days of fun... Whereas, collecting model car that last you for sometime... my intention is, to share my collection with my children or even my grand-son one day.... Man! life is short, you got to do things you like.... what's the point to hold some much money in your saving??? Of course (you must save minimum 10% of your monthly income for retirement - must start before age of 25).... I bet you'll spend to buy other luxury items too, e.g. Car, watch, maybe a bigger house... for me, I know what I'm doing... I'm happy with the model collection also I'm planning for my family and retirement too... for all diecast collector there...no worries! be happy!! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Nov 15 2008, 02:53 PM
REALCollector
post Nov 15 2008, 03:11 PM

Cusco Subaru Impreza STi as raced in GT300 class in 2007....

The Cusco racing team is a serious challenger in the GT300 class for last few years... remember, this car won the Malaysian SuperGT in round 4 "Sepang" early this year? They finished the 2008 season on high with 71 points, ranked 6 after final round in Fuji 300km race.

Cusco Racing Team drivers:

This post has been edited by REALCollector: Nov 15 2008, 03:14 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:41 AM