Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

Faith+1
post Feb 17 2010, 10:24 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Feb 17 2010, 10:11 PM)
CNY holiday ma...come KL buy lo... laugh.gif

Colour not so sure....kena ask Sifu Sifu jor. Mine both is dark brown de laugh.gif
If both grow up will have the same color, then I don't want to buy it.

Else, I'll get a dark brown and yellowish together.
budblely
post Feb 17 2010, 10:43 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Feb 17 2010, 10:24 PM)
If both grow up will have the same color, then I don't want to buy it.

Else, I'll get a dark brown and yellowish together.
Faster Faster..waiting for your AST. U looking for it long ago lo... icon_rolleyes.gif
Faith+1
post Feb 17 2010, 10:52 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Feb 17 2010, 10:43 PM)
Faster Faster..waiting for your AST. U looking for it long ago lo... icon_rolleyes.gif
Depends la, so limited stock in Penang.
deathpion
post Feb 18 2010, 05:55 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Feb 17 2010, 02:07 PM)
aiks aready back from CNY ka, bro?
Got sapu anything poweeeer ma?  laugh.gif
Haha, just online for a while. Nope nothing yet, apparently my father's friend has a chitra chitra, 5 feet woh, see also scared. Hehe, have to think further.

Added on February 18, 2010, 6:04 amPrices is subjective as it depends on whether you are willing to pay or not. 20 cents coin size for RM 250 market price by the time they reach 4-5inch just imagine what feeding cost it has incured minus the probability of it dying of disease to reach that stage, then you consider it worth it or not. Rm 600+ is norm, In JB 10+ is selling for 2800 - 4800. Then again all AST might have slight different colour unless it's classified as albino or leucistic which I don't think you'll be able to get. So all and all it's up to the individual.

Added on February 18, 2010, 6:17 amAll the fuss about what category of turtle to rear is also up to individual, just make sure you know what you are getting into by doing enough survey as well as asking existing keepers. I have in my possesion most of the turtles listed as advance or expert but I don't think it's that hard to rear when you know what you are doing. And another thing I've kept snakehead, mata-mata, ast and common all in the same tank with no problem, of course they are about the same size. As long as ample food is available and frequent change of water which is a must for any turtle there shouln't be any problem. People's definition of level worldwide refers to for example ast, will grow up to a certain stage which will require more space which people don't foresee in advance whereby socall experts has considered all factors before venturing into it. Most people will buy what interest them in the beginning and lose the interest later on. To get it is easy but to commit to the responsibility which comes with it is another matter, so consider wisely as most likely they will outlive us, haha so make sure you make a will to force the next generation to take care of it.

Enough babble, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR TO ALL CHINESE AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO THE REST.

This post has been edited by deathpion: Feb 18 2010, 06:21 AM
budblely
post Feb 18 2010, 10:35 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(deathpion @ Feb 18 2010, 05:55 AM)
Haha, just online for a while. Nope nothing yet, apparently my father's friend has a chitra chitra, 5 feet woh, see also scared. Hehe, have to think further.
shocking.gif shocking.gif 5 feet wo...banyak over ni, bro shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by budblely: Feb 18 2010, 10:36 AM
Faith+1
post Feb 18 2010, 02:16 PM

1,420 posts

I've been offered a Australian Long-necked Turtle. He said his one is different than the normal one. He said got flower-ish patterns on the face.

Anyone have the picture of it? Thanks.
SAMPERTH
post Feb 18 2010, 07:31 PM

517 posts

All the fuss about what category of turtle to rear is also up to individual, just make sure you know what you are getting into by doing enough survey as well as asking existing keepers. I have in my possesion most of the turtles listed as advance or expert but I don't think it's that hard to rear when you know what you are doing. And another thing I've kept snakehead, mata-mata, ast and common all in the same tank with no problem, of course they are about the same size. As long as ample food is available and frequent change of water which is a must for any turtle there shouln't be any problem. People's definition of level worldwide refers to for example ast, will grow up to a certain stage which will require more space which people don't foresee in advance whereby socall experts has considered all factors before venturing into it. Most people will buy what interest them in the beginning and lose the interest later on. To get it is easy but to commit to the responsibility which comes with it is another matter, so consider wisely as most likely they will outlive us, haha so make sure you make a will to force the next generation to take care of it.
Would love to see that !!

I also want no fight especially during CNY !!!

Chinchillas
post Feb 19 2010, 08:59 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Feb 17 2010, 10:52 PM)
Depends la, so limited stock in Penang.
Do you try ask Toby pet?
deathpion
post Feb 19 2010, 12:03 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 18 2010, 07:31 PM)
Would love to see that !!
I also want no fight especially during CNY !!!
Here you go
budblely
post Feb 19 2010, 01:18 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(deathpion @ Feb 19 2010, 12:03 PM)
Nice one bro notworthy.gif
SAMPERTH
post Feb 19 2010, 06:12 PM

517 posts

All have slightly different water requirement - Mata especially will suffer the most I think !! How long you had them togather for ??

--------------------------------

But I know many just in this hobby for the short term - one moment say how much love for this pet but another that pet up for sale after they finished studies or going aboard , move houses ..........etc

angel9362
post Feb 20 2010, 03:36 AM

28 posts

Dear all, where can i get burmese star tortoise??
deathpion
post Feb 20 2010, 04:37 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 19 2010, 06:12 PM)
All have slightly different water requirement - Mata especially will suffer the most I think !! How long you had them togather for ??

--------------------------------

But I know many just in this hobby for the short term - one moment say how much love for this pet but another that pet up for sale after they finished studies or going aboard , move houses ..........etc
AST and Common has been together for 14 months while the matamata and snakehead has been with them for about 6 months. Don't worry they are monitored closely and they are currently being housed in a 6 feet by 3 feet aquarium. They will be moved to my outdoor pond once they are too big, so I have to clear my carps by then, hahaha thumbup.gif

budblely
post Feb 20 2010, 11:15 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(deathpion @ Feb 20 2010, 04:37 AM)
AST and Common has been together for 14 months while the matamata and snakehead has been with them for about 6 months. Don't worry they are monitored closely and they are currently being housed in a 6 feet by 3 feet aquarium. They will be moved to my outdoor pond once they are too big, so I have to clear my carps by then, hahaha thumbup.gif
wtf..6 feet? shocking.gif

i tot is 4feet u r using...hahahah. got Pond somemore...how big is ur house? got extra room ah? next time i come JB, no need rent hotel jor. biggrin.gif
Faith+1
post Feb 20 2010, 09:49 PM

1,420 posts

Guys, I'm going to set a new aquarium first while hunting for AST at the same time. I want to ask few opinions/suggestions regarding the tank setup.

Going to get a 4-5 inches of AST.

I planned to put the water higher (around 1/4 depth of 3 to 4 feet aquarium), so that the filter can work. Driftwood will be provided so that AST can climb up to get some air.

Is this kind of setup is recommended for AST? This kind of setup will caused AST to have breathing difficulties as the turtle have to climb for air frequently?

I need some inputs and enlightenment from turtle hobbyist here.

Thank you very much.
budblely
post Feb 20 2010, 11:17 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Feb 20 2010, 09:49 PM)
Guys, I'm going to set a new aquarium first while hunting for AST at the same time. I want to ask few opinions/suggestions regarding the tank setup.

I planned to put the water higher (around 1/4 depth of 3 to 4 feet aquarium), so that the filter can work. Driftwood will be provided so that AST can climb up to get some air.

Is this kind of setup is recommended for AST? This kind of setup will caused AST to have breathing difficulties as the turtle have to climb for air frequently?

I need some inputs and enlightenment from turtle hobbyist here.

Thank you very much.
For me is setting the water level 2inch+ over the AST shell. My AST (3inch+ & 4inch+) on the ground, they still can breath when pull long their neck. Since u got times, look for the filter which can use in 2 direction. Im using 1 China Brand de laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by budblely: Feb 20 2010, 11:23 PM
deathpion
post Feb 21 2010, 06:46 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Feb 20 2010, 11:15 AM)
wtf..6 feet?  shocking.gif

i tot is 4feet u r using...hahahah. got Pond somemore...how big is ur house? got extra room ah? next time i come JB, no need rent hotel jor.  biggrin.gif
Bro you forgot my dad's one mah, one of the 16 - 6 feet aquarium he's using for his Arowana. However free room all occupied by Fish tank liao, Hahaha but you are welcome to contact me in JB yumcha anytime biggrin.gif .

Added on February 21, 2010, 6:52 amFaith+1, your setup is fine. I have seen people rearing them in much more deeper setup with no problem. They are great swimmers, furthermore you have the driftwood for it to climb. To me the ratio or more water means cleaner water as the pollutants are dispersed more if the same frequency of water change is the same. Cheers. Enjoy they are great pets.

This post has been edited by deathpion: Feb 21 2010, 06:52 AM
pisang
post Feb 21 2010, 11:15 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Feb 20 2010, 09:49 PM)

just a friendly reminder.. 4-5 inch AST is quite fierce. pls take note.

This post has been edited by pisang: Feb 21 2010, 11:18 AM
Faith+1
post Feb 21 2010, 11:40 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Feb 20 2010, 11:17 PM)
For me is setting the water level 2inch+ over the AST shell. My AST (3inch+ & 4inch+) on the ground, they still can breath when pull long their neck. Since u got times, look for the filter which can use in 2 direction. Im using 1 China Brand de  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
2 ways direction filter? Any specific name for it? Can show me your tank setup ma? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deathpion @ Feb 21 2010, 06:46 AM)
Bro you forgot my dad's one mah, one of the 16 - 6 feet aquarium he's using for his Arowana. However free room all occupied by Fish tank liao, Hahaha but you are welcome to contact me in JB yumcha anytime biggrin.gif .

Added on February 21, 2010, 6:52 amFaith+1, your setup is fine. I have seen people rearing them in much more deeper setup with no problem. They are great swimmers, furthermore you have the driftwood for it to climb. To me the ratio or more water means cleaner water as the pollutants are dispersed more if the same frequency of water change is the same. Cheers. Enjoy they are great pets.
Thanks for your feedback. Any extra suggestions and opinions will be truly appreciated. smile.gif

QUOTE(pisang @ Feb 21 2010, 11:15 AM)
just a friendly reminder..  4-5 inch AST is quite fierce. pls take note.
Thanks for your reminder, I prefer fierce and active turtles. Haha.

budblely
post Feb 21 2010, 01:04 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Feb 21 2010, 11:40 AM)
2 ways direction filter? Any specific name for it? Can show me your tank setup ma?  biggrin.gif
Thanks for your feedback. Any extra suggestions and opinions will be truly appreciated.  smile.gif
Thanks for your reminder, I prefer fierce and active turtles. Haha.
Sorry poor english...wat i means is the filter can put Horizontal & Vertical way. Currently im using this SunSun China Brand.. Rm30+ for Large, Rm20+ for Medium....But only can use for Max 1week, then must clean the filter.

124 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:37 AM