How Much Does Musicians earn?, can share your experiences?

gapnap
post Oct 21 2008, 01:19 AM

1,782 posts

hmmm...

as for teaching..best bet is to try out anything to do with Grades ..Rock school for example ..

Grade 3 - RM140 per month
Grade 4 - RM160 per month
Grade 5 - RM180 per month..

your salary increases based on how far a student progress ..

if you are not qualified , your student forever paying you RM100 per month ..

anyway , just don't get too carried away to "wanna make loads of money" ....just have fun and have passion ..it will pay , short tem loss , long term gain wink.gif

okay ..besides the pay ..

another thing to consider is ..."the next promotion" ..

such as , you canot be a guitar teacher forever , one day ..you gotta open your own school..take it to the next level
you canot be a pub/live musician forever , one day ...you gotta be a big time producer , or a pub owner ...take it to the next level.
you cannot be a salesman forever , one day..you gotta open your own bentley music ..take it to the next level..

so ..
pick an industry that suits you..and
go for industries that have a very possible and positive long term effect for you

something that you can actually learn something besides "how to teach" , "how to sell" ..
see how others manage their companies , their systems ...

so that one day you can expand and take it to the next level ..

few more things to consider or you can improve on that could potentially increase your income :
1.returning customer
2.word of mouth
3.networking or customer base (follow up)

This post has been edited by gapnap: Oct 21 2008, 01:25 AM
gapnap
post Oct 21 2008, 10:19 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Oct 21 2008, 08:34 AM)
im not really into the earning load of money thing,its just that its hard to convince my parents why i want to change field,i like to go into the music field,i just dont wanna jump into a blind conclusion 1st,so i decided to ask you guyz,i just hope that my parents wouldn't worry bout me when i switch field smile.gif but what you guyz shared is really important for me,at least i get an idea what im jumping into,thanks guyz!!!hope there are more input on everybodys experience thumbup.gif
well , if being in the music line is your passion , then by all means go for it ...

if not , 10 years down the road , you sure feel life very meaningless ..

i guess you are old enough , your parents should be able to understand ..

i switch field banyak kali already..from science stream , to accounting to music ..but of course make sure you don't switch because you are failing your subjects lah .. sweat.gif switch because you want to ..
gapnap
post Oct 21 2008, 12:13 PM

1,782 posts

icyfawkes : hey , its not too bad lah..what type of business doesn't require accounting ? hehe..i can keep track on my band's expenditure , claims and stuff ...smile.gif

aaron5829 : wah bro , you pay is seriously fvcking high ...250 per night ? OMG ...my band only gets RM150 max , per night ..perhaps you are in the Jazz / RNB pub scene ?

the most i got was RM200 , but that was in a club as a solo guitarist with a DJ ..not as a band ..
gapnap
post Oct 22 2008, 02:57 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Oct 21 2008, 12:56 PM)
omg..tats a high price ahh??
my first ever got paid performance is rm200 per night wif another 5 ppl and.. playing 3 songs only.. and plus we r juz students..
i am guessing it was an event right ?

event and pubs are different

pubs , your job is more stable , usually go by contract ...like aaron5829 ...he plays every friday ..
most pub bands gets paid between RM110-RM140 per night , 6 days a week , 9pm-1am ..

as for events ..
it is not a stable job , it is only a one off , so your pay varies ..could be as low as RM50 per person , to RM8000 per person per night
gapnap
post Oct 22 2008, 10:15 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Oct 22 2008, 08:10 AM)
wow...i think im gonna die young if i do this for at least 10 years... sweat.gif 9 till 1am for 6 days a week...omg...no offence guyz...juz think that you guyz are tough man... nod.gif
drool.gif
huh..work for 4 hours a day only worrr...

much better than 9-5pm job ..

0.3881sec    1.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:10 AM