KNM (7164), KNM GROUP BHD

kb2005
post Mar 1 2009, 09:06 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Mar 1 2009, 07:56 PM)
I believe you should get it.. as long as you buy it before the ex-date and hold it until the ex-date.
When is the ex-date ? If i hold 200 lots, how much will i get ? rolleyes.gif
Brotherjoe
post Mar 1 2009, 09:23 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 1 2009, 09:06 PM)
When is the ex-date ? If i hold 200 lots, how much will i get ?  rolleyes.gif
Subject : KNM - NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE

Contents : Interim dividend of 1 sen less income tax of 25% and 0.5 sen tax exempt per ordinary share of RM0.25 each.

Kindly be advised of the following :

1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted [ "Ex - Dividend" ]
as from : [ 11 March 2009 ]

2) The last date of lodgement : [ 13 March 2009 ]

3) Date Payable : [ 18 March 2009 ]

200x100x((1x0.75)+(0.5)) == RM 250??
Correct??
john123x
post Mar 1 2009, 10:17 PM

3,021 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Mar 1 2009, 09:23 PM)
Subject : KNM - NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE

Contents : Interim dividend of 1 sen less income tax of 25% and 0.5 sen tax exempt per ordinary share of RM0.25 each.

Kindly be advised of the following :

3) Date Payable : [ 18 March 2009 ]

200x100x((1x0.75)+(0.5)) == RM 250??
Correct??
correct, its rm250
200x100 x (0.0075 + 0.005)=rm250

This post has been edited by john123x: Mar 1 2009, 10:17 PM
chilaxis
post Mar 1 2009, 10:44 PM

248 posts

Hi, need some clarification from the sifus using KNM's announcement above:

1. For a dividend to be given to a KNM investor, does the investor have to hold on to the shares until
a) the end of 11 March 2009? Or is it
b) until the end of 10 March 2009? Or is it
c) until any point during 11 March 2009 (e.g. holding until noon then sold off) ?

2. What is the significance of the 'last date of lodgement'?

Not planning to offload my current KNM holdings, but just want to be clear so I know what kind of price movement to expect so I know when to time my buying this month.

My take is when the traders leave after taking the dividend, the stock price goes down, and that's when investors will buy in. So would be great if any seasoned investors can help me answer the above 2 questions smile.gif
burp110
post Mar 1 2009, 11:14 PM

Let's say you knm closes at 0.40 on 10 march.

then, 11 march is the ex-div date. since the div is 1+0.5sen, total is 1.5sen.

hence, the reference price for 11 march will be 0.40 - 1.5 = 38.5sen.

Let's talk about lodgement date.

T is when you buy.

At T+1, buyer's broker pays seller's broker.

T+2, seller's broker receives money and initiates transfer of shares.

T+3, buyer receives shares, ie MCD records are reflected.

Hence, although the buyer is only registered with mcd as a s/h on T+3, he is entitled to all rights to the share at T. that's why the lodgement date is always 2 mkt days later. nothing to worry about. just make sure you hold the share on date before the ex date. you will be entitled to the div even if you sell it on the exdate itself. cause your entitlement is based on the closing of the day you buy ie T.

kb2005
post Mar 2 2009, 06:58 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

Thanks guys for the calculation. biggrin.gif
chilaxis
post Mar 2 2009, 07:22 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(burp110 @ Mar 1 2009, 11:14 PM)
Let's say you knm closes at 0.40 on 10 march.

then, 11 march is the ex-div date. since the div is 1+0.5sen, total is 1.5sen.

hence, the reference price for 11 march will be 0.40 - 1.5 = 38.5sen.

Let's talk about lodgement date.

T is when you buy.

At T+1, buyer's broker pays seller's broker.

T+2, seller's broker receives money and initiates transfer of shares.

T+3, buyer receives shares, ie MCD records are reflected.

Hence, although the buyer is only registered with mcd as a s/h on T+3, he is entitled to all rights to the share at T. that's why the lodgement date is always 2 mkt days later. nothing to worry about. just make sure you hold the share on date before the ex date. you will be entitled to the div even if you sell it on the exdate itself. cause your entitlement is based on the closing of the day you buy ie T.
Awesome answer, very clear. Thanks smile.gif
cute_boboi
post Mar 2 2009, 09:05 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Matched @ 0.370 sweat.gif
john123x
post Mar 2 2009, 09:19 AM

3,021 posts

it will took ages to match mine at 0.37, maybe i enter at .375
kb2005
post Mar 2 2009, 11:23 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

I got abother 20lots at 0.37

sbsoo111
post Mar 2 2009, 04:39 PM

64 posts

seems like the market extremely bad now, i sell off all my KNM to stop lost.
Freelancer
post Mar 2 2009, 05:30 PM

Risky Business
1,217 posts

KNM ended red at 0.365 today. Who knows it might go lower tomorrow. hmm.gif
sbsoo111
post Mar 2 2009, 05:40 PM

64 posts

too many share jump below the support line, i believe the index will not able to sustain too long. + Negeri Perak politic issue and GDP falled 6 years downline.

and look carefully on the big volume sold on today, that bugger still got alot of stock to throw... the way they sell the stock is same like friday one....
kb2005
post Mar 2 2009, 08:36 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(sbsoo111 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:39 PM)
seems like the market extremely bad now, i sell off all my KNM to stop lost.
What is your average price before selling ?
sbsoo111
post Mar 2 2009, 08:52 PM

64 posts

average around 0.420, sold at 0.370, big lost but better than keep lose. will go in again at 0.300
siewphang
post Mar 2 2009, 10:21 PM

14 posts

Wow, thats a huge loss.. -11%.. how many lots do u have sbsoo111?
kb2005
post Mar 2 2009, 10:53 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

Ya. A big loss. I rather keep it.
htt
post Mar 2 2009, 10:57 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 2 2009, 10:53 PM)
Ya. A big loss. I rather keep it.
Sometime I admire those who can cut loss, I seldom have courage to do that blush.gif
kb2005
post Mar 2 2009, 10:58 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Mar 2 2009, 10:57 PM)
Sometime I admire those who can cut loss, I seldom have courage to do that blush.gif
Me too. I will keep and wait for the price to go up!
SUSDavid83
post Mar 2 2009, 11:08 PM

52,874 posts

Seems like KNM is on the downward path.

126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:04 PM