KNM (7164), KNM GROUP BHD

TSbeginner
post Oct 17 2008, 02:42 PM, updated 18y ago

374 posts

good day everybody.

anyone's been watching this blue chip counter with market cap of more than 2billion ringgit free falling from RM2.20-2.30 a couple of months back to RM0.4x yesterday?

from maybank database, it shows that

latest quarter(2Q) earning is at 9.07 cents while,
first half(1H) earning is at 14.18 cents

if we take the 1H multiple by two to get estimated full year EPS of 28cents. this counter is barely trading at 2.x EPS.

at the current price of 60cents, its a real steal isn't it?
morpheuzneo
post Oct 17 2008, 03:03 PM

238 posts

yeah.. very cheap!

my friend.. scald this counter yesterday.. bought in at .39 and sell at around .55

now waiting to swoop in again.

me to wanna follow.. !

i think knm has a good fundamental and order book.. to go through all this recession.. (4.3 billion already in order book - considered a good revenue for 1-2 years to come)

what say other sifu?

TSbeginner
post Oct 18 2008, 02:43 PM

374 posts

Today's Bizweek article in TheStar about KNM
http://biz.thestar.com.my/bizweek/story.as...732&sec=bizweek

most parties are so positive about the company but the share price is showing otherwise.

htt
post Oct 18 2008, 02:55 PM

4,305 posts

Although the fundamental of the company a bit shaky, but seems like injustice to have such free fall, maybe should buy some. Stock buy back, director increase holding all cannot match the foreign sell off... brows.gif
georgechang79
post Oct 18 2008, 03:04 PM

289 posts

I also got burned by this counter and my opinion is to wait for Najib's Announcements first and see how market performs.

No one can be certain of the best time to enter but enter we must to reap the rewards.

This post has been edited by georgechang79: Oct 18 2008, 03:08 PM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 18 2008, 04:17 PM

52,874 posts

Finally we have dedicated thraed of KNM. I wanted to create it but I'm a noob in shares.

Today's The Star has a full page article on KNM.
cherroy
post Oct 18 2008, 04:18 PM

25,802 posts

Quoted from Thestar,

WITH its share price falling below fair market value, it won’t be surprising if KNM Group Bhd may be taken private.

An industry observer says there are such indications as the company’s management is rather upset with the free-fall of its share price.

I don't think management should be upset with the share price.

Share price won't alter company business or company profitability. If a company can prove they are generating good profit to the shareholders, with good earning translate into good dividend yield then soon and later investors will be lured into it. Management doesn't need to do anything, what they have to do is to deliver good financial result and good return to the shareholders, eventually share price will follow suit.

I reckon recent of share price plunging is more due to

1. Oil price dropping significantly which might affect significantly future profitability outlook
2. Foreign investors have to sell due to downgrading of O&G sector, as well as redeemption and deleveraging issue.
3. Poor market sentiment.

Deliver good result and good dividend to shareholders then all doubt will be cleared then. If not, just like market share price suggested, profitability issue will be severely affected, then it is justified to see a share plunge because of lower profitability issue.

Do remember this share has been jumped triple or more in just a few year time because of O&G sector frenzy due to sky-rocketing oil price which is in pace of earning improvement.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 18 2008, 04:20 PM

52,874 posts

What I'm afraid of is bringing the company to private ... hmm.gif
my1ststep
post Oct 18 2008, 09:06 PM

47 posts

Hey, all the sifu, i'm newbie here. I'm very interested to this stock and i have been watching it for a year. I think it is very potential. Even it's price is on down trend and i believe it will rebound one day. The only problem i can see from its history was the cash flow which is not that stable. I hope it will not privatize because there are not much potential stock in Malaysia nowaday.
darkknight81
post Oct 18 2008, 09:09 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

<< Even it's price is on down trend and i believe it will rebound one day. >>

There are numbers of counter which will never recover. tongue.gif Eg. TRANSMILE, AXIS
my1ststep
post Oct 18 2008, 09:27 PM

47 posts

I agreed also. There are risk to buy in down trend stock. But i think it is really depends on the fundamental/achievement of the counter. The market will correct the price eventually if it is a good stock. The current price of KNM is very attractive. Do you it will go lower again?
ndgoh
post Oct 19 2008, 01:05 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:20 PM)
What I'm afraid of is bringing the company to private ... hmm.gif
40sen a piece is a good bet... I'm waiting for a 20sen a piece before picking up some... Patience... patience...
Crossbone
post Oct 19 2008, 01:45 PM

275 posts

their oil futures contract kena margin call?
zamans98
post Oct 19 2008, 10:05 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Oct 18 2008, 09:09 PM)
<<  Even it's price is on down trend and i believe it will rebound one day. >>

There are numbers of counter which will never recover.  tongue.gif Eg. TRANSMILE, AXIS
Transmile is a rubbish stock, Axis is speculative counter. You cannot compare apple with durian.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 20 2008, 10:16 AM

52,874 posts

Seems like the volume has been declined significantly; roughly 30k for the morning session.
Singh_Kalan
post Oct 20 2008, 10:18 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 19 2008, 10:05 PM)
Transmile is a rubbish stock, Axis is speculative counter. You cannot compare apple with durian.
the general investing public won't know whether its an apple or a durian until its too late. laugh.gif Before the revelation of the transmile saga, it was a darling stock

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Oct 20 2008, 10:19 AM
darkknight81
post Oct 20 2008, 10:22 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Oct 20 2008, 11:18 AM)
the general investing public won't know whether its an apple or a durian until its too late.  laugh.gif  Before the revelation of the transmile saga, it was a darling stock
Yup thats what i mean laugh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 20 2008, 04:09 PM

52,874 posts

KNM price doesn't swing much today.
sueway
post Oct 20 2008, 04:16 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:20 PM)