Water pressure
TSKronenZerg
Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM, updated 18y ago
Single story house .. do you think the water pressure would be strong? My plumber recommended me to install a pressure pump, ard RM1200 .. name is Grundfos. This from Denmark But the place where i bought my basins/ etc, recommend another brand cost ard Rm900 .. name is Davey, from Aust.
Any idea which is better cos this is the first time i heard both names.
aaronpang
Oct 16 2008, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM) Single story house .. do you think the water pressure would be strong? My plumber recommended me to install a pressure pump, ard RM1200 .. name is Grundfos. This from Denmark But the place where i bought my basins/ etc, recommend another brand cost ard Rm900 .. name is Davey, from Aust. Any idea which is better cos this is the first time i heard both names. Grundfos is an established reliable brand for such pumps... btw why ask here is your water pressure strong? Better you check the taps for yourself This post has been edited by aaronpang: Oct 16 2008, 04:26 PM
No1n$anE
Oct 16 2008, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM) Single story house .. do you think the water pressure would be strong? My plumber recommended me to install a pressure pump, ard RM1200 .. name is Grundfos. This from Denmark But the place where i bought my basins/ etc, recommend another brand cost ard Rm900 .. name is Davey, from Aust. Any idea which is better cos this is the first time i heard both names. your house is located up a hill? B4 u Install a pump why dont you check the pressure 1st?
TSKronenZerg
Oct 16 2008, 05:27 PM
Not hit but the tank is 10ft from the ground only. Therefore, the pressure would be lot. So, Grundfos is the most reliable one lah? I guessed the cost speaks for itself.
hanif444
Oct 16 2008, 06:02 PM
normally water from tank for sure pressure abit low...if u want high pressure water taip,then use the main water pipe from the meter to ur taip...for sure is enough already
aaronpang
Oct 16 2008, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Oct 16 2008, 05:27 PM) Not hit but the tank is 10ft from the ground only. Therefore, the pressure would be lot. So, Grundfos is the most reliable one lah? I guessed the cost speaks for itself. IMHO a friend has a Grundfos pump installed in his house... what I like is it's quiet Pumps have a noticeable whirring sound  when they're working but his has minimal noise, fan noise is louder than the pump
gkl83
Oct 16 2008, 06:19 PM
is it need the water pressure for ur water heater while u bath?
myhat
Oct 17 2008, 08:58 AM
look for water heater with built-in pump....
single storey i dun think would be a problem with water pressure... normally double storey would have such thing...especially the top floor....
sordanny
Oct 17 2008, 11:01 AM
Actually that will depend on the external water reticulation plan for the area also. If the pressure is low in the whole area it is no use installing whatever pump because the situation will just be improved just slightly only. THERE WILL STILL BE NOT ENUF WATER IF THE WATER FROM THE MAIN PIPES REACH YOUR HOME SLOWLY.
For me I think forget about the pump. Better use the money to install a solar heater.
hanif444
Oct 21 2008, 09:10 AM
How much for the Solar heater nowaday?
aaronpang
Oct 21 2008, 10:31 AM
The last time someone quoted me for a big name solar water heater was RM14k... Piping installation RM6 to RM8k  I think I need a cold shower  I googled for a cheaper alternative and came to this site... http://solarlightsmalaysia.com/solar_water_heater.phpDo remember that if your house doesn't have the necessary hot water piping you'll need to rip it all out
hanif444
Oct 22 2008, 09:40 AM
Ecosolar Water Heater
EcoSolar Water Heater does just that. It will provide you with hot water for very many years, at minimal energy costs, because the free sun’s energy will supply most of the energy needed.
It will reduce your utilities bill, and will also avoid the production of many tonnes of greenhouse gasses. Grenidea’s EcoSolar Water Heater is simple, economical, and efficient.
* No electrical supply needed * No controller or pump needed * Easy to install, may be installed on the roof or at ground level * Reliable and durable; no moving parts, stainless steel tank and frame * Efficient; as high as 55% annual efficiency - far superior than flat plate
Price : 130 Liter - RM 3,000.00 USD 790.00 200 Liter - RM 4,200.00 USD 1105.00 300 Liter - RM 5,000.00 USD 1300.00
manda
Oct 24 2008, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(hanif444 @ Oct 21 2008, 09:10 AM) How much for the Solar heater nowaday? Well if your looking for good water heater i think u should go for alpha brand, its a bit costly but its recommended.my plumber said its also one of the best.
am_eniey
Oct 24 2008, 01:26 PM
My laundry uses a water pump but if you shower with the water pump switched on, you might die out of the water pressure !
myhat
Oct 28 2008, 09:05 AM
any suggestion on good water pump for budget less than RM1k (without installation), please?
mleong
Oct 29 2008, 10:33 AM
Get the Grundfos. They are good and quiet. I had 1. Install the pump at the outlet from the water tank, before going into the house. There are many different pump size, the installer should recommend the correct capacity for the house.
Make sure you build a enclosure to house the pump and the electric supply. I can recommend someone if you want.
Note: you will need to do a bypass valve, just in case when there is no electricity, can still get water direct from tank or main. You will need to close the valve when you use the pump so that the pressure from the pump won't cause the water to back-flow.
This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 29 2008, 10:43 AM
myhat
Oct 29 2008, 10:52 AM
please recommend me then.... need to know total cost.... and also details for each part....item..installation....etc....
yours what model of grundfos?
mleong
Oct 29 2008, 11:11 AM
I have use it since I got the house renovated, gone thru 2 groundfos(approx 4 years each). Now using a different brand recommended by the installer. (Kejuruteraan Pumpfield S/B, 019-3126407 Asmi, 21 Jln Permai 3/2 Subang Jaya).
This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 29 2008, 11:14 AM
myhat
Oct 29 2008, 11:20 AM
price in total?
Added on October 29, 2008, 11:50 amanyone heard of Calgon Automatic Booster Package System? recommended by this Mr. Asmi (suggested by mleong)....
he said that the performance is similar to Grundfos.... but cheaper coz Malaysian made.... i went to their website and its recognised by Syabas
This post has been edited by myhat: Oct 29 2008, 11:50 AM
mleong
Oct 29 2008, 12:14 PM
Oh, if can, get 1 of the rocket filter (install right after the Water Meter). Should prolong the life of the pump. Added on October 31, 2008, 4:46 pmQUOTE(am_eniey @ Oct 24 2008, 02:26 PM) My laundry uses a water pump but if you shower with the water pump switched on, you might die out of the water pressure ! Reroute the water supply to the Washer direct from mains. This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 31 2008, 04:46 PM