8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

True spec comparison for the 4 cheapest 22" LCD, benQ, Samsung, LG All priced below RM700

blindbox
post Oct 22 2008, 08:51 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 22 2008, 08:26 PM)
^ Definitely 16:10.

Most games also have widescreen mode, which means you can see a bit more on the sides compared to 4:3.
Or you can see less of the top and bottom. Depends on the game (bioshock does vertical minus). 4:3 for maximum compatibility. Then again, you can do 4:3 for 16:10 screens, with black bars. 16:9 is a no-no, black bars would be bigger, and you would see less of the top and bottom if the game does it that way. Google widescreengamingforum.

You don't see 4:3 30" monitors these days. 16:10 has become the norm. 16:9 is quite reserved for movies, not to mention that I think it's better to go 16:10 for the reasons stated above. Plus, the black bars by watching 16:9 movies on 16:10 isn't that big. At least it makes it look like I'm watching a damn dvd and won't make me look like I'm watching a ripoff or something like that for 4:3 vids.
plankton
post Oct 23 2008, 12:53 AM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

talking about 4:3, the w2252TQ has a function to shrink the screen to 4.3 aspect. not sure if ill be using that function though
shinzhizu
post Oct 23 2008, 09:10 AM

1,298 posts

I got one pc seller..he told me get the acer brand which cost around RM700 ..say it got crystal bright feature. In previous, he got few customers which isnt well with their eyes, some even wear spectacle want buy Lcd..thehn, he display the lcd to them.. Those customer which is not good with their eye, and those wear spectacle taken off their spectacle to see which lcd is most clear and pretty, and all vote for acer.. hmm.gif One funny things is tat those wear spectacle take off their glass, still can see so clear.. rclxub.gif any ppl using acer?
iXora.ix
post Oct 23 2008, 12:39 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

yah.. acer already bring their crystal bright feature in their monitory parts.. so maybe is a good move from acer to promote their product in LCD market
qwerty79
post Oct 23 2008, 07:36 PM

1,907 posts

If not taken off, they still think acer clear or not? smile.gif
kaiserreich
post Oct 23 2008, 07:53 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Oct 23 2008, 09:10 AM)
I got one pc seller..he told me get the acer brand which cost around RM700 ..say it got crystal bright feature. In previous, he got  few customers which isnt well with their eyes, some even wear spectacle want buy Lcd..thehn, he display the lcd to them.. Those customer which is not good with their eye, and those wear spectacle taken off their spectacle to see which lcd is most clear and pretty, and all vote for acer.. hmm.gif One funny things is tat those wear spectacle take off their glass, still can see so clear.. rclxub.gif any ppl using acer?
The way you talk is like people with specs have poor eyesight. True in a way, but the way you talk like...well, they still can't see with specs on.

Gosh. Don't you have friends with specs

Anyways, people with specs, to look closer, take off specs sure can look better, close up of course, FYi.

IMHO, for the LG's, w552tq, Look at the typical contrast and you'd realise they have 700:1 ratio, which is alright if you are on a budget, but there are those with 1000:1 ratio, although I have never seen any of these, generally, more ratio is better. This is the real ratio, as opposed to the fancy Dynamic Contrast Ratio which says little.
2ms vs 5ms, meh, if you could differentiate, I'll call you god. Most people who moved from 5ms to 2ms and then say the response is better are mostly under the placebo effect anyways. Give them 2ms and 5ms to view without telling them which is which and most of not all can't tell the difference.

That's my take on the cheap LG 22"s. Well, you pay for what you get at the end of the day.
LittleLinnet
post Oct 24 2008, 10:07 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Oct 20 2008, 04:01 PM)
Sure will. Unless you want to watch 1080p stuff on 1920x1080 @ 22", get a 1680x1050. Because the pics wouldn't look as sharp as it would on native res.

You could make it look better by running 1680x1050 using 1:1 mapping or use the driver to map, but there will be black bars around and it will look smaller. What's the point in doing this when you could get 1680xx1050 on 22" easily? If can afford to get Blu-ray stuff, you'd probably be able to afford something better anyways.
i doubt that there are significance drop in picture quality running 1680x1650 on 1080p 22", just the different ratio. 16:9 = 1680x945
and he said gaming wise, not 1080P media playback
i myself gaming using native res 1440x900 compared with 1280x800 and I didn't notice significance picture quality drop

dfcloud
post Oct 24 2008, 10:43 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Oct 24 2008, 10:07 PM)
i doubt that there are significance drop in picture quality running 1680x1650 on 1080p 22", just the different ratio. 16:9 = 1680x945
and he said gaming wise, not 1080P media playback
i myself gaming using native res 1440x900 compared with 1280x800 and I didn't notice significance picture quality drop

hmm.gif
im asking coz, i play stalker clearsky b4
with native res 1440*900 the wordings and evrything looks perfect..
but when i lower the res, i can barely read them
fyi the game is using quite small font sweat.gif

AMDAthlon
post Oct 24 2008, 11:39 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Samsung 2253LW OR LG W2242T?
In terms of picture quality in movies and gaming..
qwerty79
post Oct 24 2008, 11:59 PM

1,907 posts

Native resolution is the best resolution for a monitor. I try to play DMC4 under lower resolution with my 17" LCD but the picture is not nice, not as good as native resolution. So, for hardcore gamer (PC game) you need to compare your computer spec to match with lcd monitor native resolution before buying. May be 19" is enough.

This post has been edited by qwerty79: Oct 25 2008, 12:00 AM
AMDAthlon
post Oct 25 2008, 12:02 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

oo
Both 1680x1050 Native Resolution..so??
uraki
post Oct 31 2008, 05:07 PM

182 posts

hi guys, i m planning to get samsung 2253LW.
wish to noe how's the graphic performance of diz monitor when use to play ps3/xbox360?

thx in advance
chanws8
post Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Oct 31 2008, 05:07 PM)
hi guys, i m planning to get samsung 2253LW.
wish to noe how's the graphic performance of diz monitor when use to play ps3/xbox360?

thx in advance
I think 22' lcd is quite good for ps3 and xbox360 gaming..But if you are connected ps3,i recommended you get the HDMI surported lcd..It will perform better... icon_idea.gif
uraki
post Oct 31 2008, 06:36 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(chanws8 @ Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM)
I think 22' lcd is quite good for ps3 and xbox360 gaming..But if you are connected ps3,i recommended you get the HDMI surported lcd..It will perform better... icon_idea.gif
oicic, accually i prefer Xbox 360 more than ps3 tongue.gif
so, anyone here hook Xbox 360 with 2253LW? looks good? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by uraki: Oct 31 2008, 06:51 PM
TSg5sim
post Nov 11 2008, 03:25 PM

5,750 posts

hehe .. E2200HD and T2200HD officially available at Lowyat Plaza smile.gif
SUSMatrix
post Nov 11 2008, 04:02 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Oct 22 2008, 08:51 PM)
Or you can see less of the top and bottom. Depends on the game (bioshock does vertical minus). 4:3 for maximum compatibility. Then again, you can do 4:3 for 16:10 screens, with black bars. 16:9 is a no-no, black bars would be bigger, and you would see less of the top and bottom if the game does it that way. Google widescreengamingforum.

You don't see 4:3 30" monitors these days. 16:10 has become the norm. 16:9 is quite reserved for movies, not to mention that I think it's better to go 16:10 for the reasons stated above. Plus, the black bars by watching 16:9 movies on 16:10 isn't that big. At least it makes it look like I'm watching a damn dvd and won't make me look like I'm watching a ripoff or something like that for 4:3 vids.
IMO, 16:9 monitor is a waste of time. The black bars aren't very obvious. Furthermore, most movies are 1:85 or worst. 2:35:1 (or something like that) which can't fit into 16:9 anyway. No matter how, black bars is inevitable for watching movies. It is only HDTV standard that is 16:9, meaning u can watch ur favorite DOWNLOADED(note the word downloaded...Malaysia is not gonna have HDTV broadcast anytime soon) TV shows like Heroes and Termintor TSCC without the black bars for16:9 (and a small black bar for 16:10).

I would personally prefer 16:10 for monitor...bigger is better for gaming.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 11 2008, 04:04 PM
syazone
post Nov 11 2008, 04:03 PM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 11 2008, 03:25 PM)
hehe .. E2200HD and T2200HD officially available at Lowyat Plaza smile.gif
which shop bro?? price?? rclxms.gif
TSg5sim
post Nov 11 2008, 04:13 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(syazone @ Nov 11 2008, 04:03 PM)
which shop bro?? price??  rclxms.gif
you can check thundermatch and startec's website. E2200HD below RM720 where as the cheaper T2200HD is selling below RM700.

syazone
post Nov 11 2008, 04:35 PM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 11 2008, 04:13 PM)
you can check thundermatch and startec's website. E2200HD below RM720 where as the cheaper T2200HD is selling below RM700.
T2200HD is rm595...
e2200hd rm719 hmm.gif
TSg5sim
post Nov 18 2008, 04:04 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(syazone @ Nov 11 2008, 04:35 PM)
T2200HD is rm595...
e2200hd rm719  hmm.gif
hehe rumour has it, a girl got E below RM700 tongue.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top