4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Guitars RE:Electric Setup for Intermediate guitarist, now need AMP!!!!! UPDATES!!!!!

TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:15 PM, updated 17y ago

91 posts

i've no idea i was gonna get back myself into electric guitars.
i've sold most of my equipment and focused on acoustic for a long time now.
nvr went guitar shopping since then, so i dunno how is the market like right now.

wat i was adviced was to go for starter packs, e.g guitar, gig bag, amp etc.
or maybe buy a combo which is to similiar budget. well, i dunno.
my style of playing really a lil of everything. i mean i have an acoustic for those slow ballads, finger style kinda music.
now need electric more or less versatile, but leaning towards slow rock,rock...

guys, pls help me choose and tell me wats appropriate for my low low budget. ps:i had an SX fender strat copy before, was wandering to be the benchmark.
THANKS

amp now!!!!! tested the microcube. looking forward to test vox vt15, recommended by a fren. wat else to look for? im looking at below rm 800 lar.
maybe might just settle for cube rx rm99X.
any lyn dealers mind to explain/market their amps here pls do so. give me reviews thanks again lyn guitarists.....

This post has been edited by jameschee: May 5 2009, 03:41 PM
blacktrix
post Oct 16 2008, 12:27 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

What IS your budget actually?
megadisc
post Oct 16 2008, 12:29 PM

4,349 posts

yeah ?
or u just get basick yamaha package with amp lor
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:34 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 16 2008, 12:27 PM)
What IS your budget actually?
rm1k lor...max also would be in rm1300 range...surely below rm1300...

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 16 2008, 12:29 PM)
yeah ?
or u just get basick yamaha package with amp lor
which yamaha wor?
blacktrix
post Oct 16 2008, 12:36 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Yamaha Pacifica + Roland Microcube + gig bag + tuner + Cable + D'addario Strings = Win.
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:39 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 16 2008, 12:36 PM)
Yamaha Pacifica + Roland Microcube + gig bag + tuner + Cable + D'addario Strings  = Win.
which pacifica?
compare this to a same level ibanez/epiphone/sx etc?wats the diff?
nimrod2
post Oct 16 2008, 02:48 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

i dont like starter packs doh.gif
klrk
post Oct 16 2008, 03:21 PM

26 posts

This thread reflects my problem too wink.gif
still headache on which to take, yes I havent got my guitar yet
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 03:30 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(klrk @ Oct 16 2008, 03:21 PM)
This thread reflects my problem too wink.gif
still headache on which to take, yes I havent got my guitar yet
can tumpang thread if u want to...i've yet to decide...lol rclxub.gif

Added on October 16, 2008, 5:39 pmokay...i've seen the votes are high on the ibanez...
can anyone tell me issit the jumpstarter? wat does it consist?
i was thinkin, if get an ibanez, might as well dont get the starter pack.

guys who voted, pls do explain why ibanez..

This post has been edited by jameschee: Oct 16 2008, 05:39 PM
wreckens15
post Oct 16 2008, 07:40 PM

874 posts

low end ibanez usually bad
u might wan to uprade for a better guitar later
so get urself an sx stratocaster with micro cube
dats enuf
u wont get much of a difference with other low end's brand
just my 1cent
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 07:48 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wreckens15 @ Oct 16 2008, 07:40 PM)
low end ibanez usually bad
u might wan to uprade for a better guitar later
so get urself an sx stratocaster with micro cube
dats enuf
u wont get much of a difference with other low end's brand
just my 1cent
lets compare SX with the other low ends...craftsman?santa cruz?thunder x? etc?
and also with those stated above, yamaha erg121, eg112, ltd f10

how will SX go against these?
btw, I had a strat before, so i don't fancy getting another
sean392
post Oct 16 2008, 07:57 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

SX used to be very good.
Lately their newer issues haven't been that great, guess due to the word of mouth they begun pushing the output of the factory.

If you're sure you'll be taking it seriously, I would suggest a slightly larger amp, the extra headroom would be really nice.

CK Music has their sales on year ends you might wanna check Vox Valvetronix amps there, see which would fit your budget best.

As for guitars, SX Strats should do a pretty well, just you have to pick them out properly, you know, since the QC isn't all that tight. I'd also suggest you stay away from the maple fingerboards with ash body SX strats, by word I heard the "maple" fretboards are actually plastic =|

But if you'd opt for a better guitar instead, I would say a Pacifica would have a more consistent result, pairing it with a microcube would fit the 1k budget I guess.

If you'd push your budget a little, you can probably have both a Pacifica and a Vox valvetronix, but keep in mind of the models of the Valvetronix, on of them caters to more vintage sounding amps, the other one (XL-model) for gain hungry people.
The newest model should be able to cater everyone with 32 amp models, but of course, it has a much heavier price tag.

Hope that helps. Cheers.
wreckens15
post Oct 16 2008, 08:01 PM

874 posts

if i were u i might get 2nd hand guitar
and 2nd hand amp
u might end up with a good deal if u searched wisely
ltd would be a good choice also
but get 2nd hand
ltd is expensive in gutiar collection
mushimushi88
post Oct 16 2008, 08:07 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 16 2008, 12:36 PM)
Yamaha Pacifica + Roland Microcube + gig bag + tuner + Cable + D'addario Strings  = Win.
i tried pacifica before and dint quite like it, its nice and good looking but dint fit my budget at that time =)
u better try it and gives yourself a taste of it, who knows you would loves it brows.gif

i would suggest u buy the blacktrix recommendation thumbup.gif and with 1.3k to spend. definitely in your budget! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Oct 16 2008, 10:33 PM
SweetTooth
post Oct 16 2008, 11:53 PM

2,650 posts

how about a samick ?
i'd go with a 2nd hand guitar, good value for its price as long as there are no major problems thumbup.gif
mushimushi88
post Oct 17 2008, 12:07 AM

293 posts

hee... im a samick user but dun wanna advertise much bout it. not good for me to advertising the thing i used rite? like (masuk bakul angkat sendiri) laugh.gif
okay since u point that out..

SAMICK were a good choice, but carefully pick the one u like.. i simply point out on Avion3 based on your budget it should be no problem =)
with a mahogany neck, flamed solid mahogany body and rosewood fretboard. i strongly recommend you check this guitar out b4 making your choices drool.gif

a very good choice within the budget if not.. THE BEST! whistling.gif

TSjameschee
post Oct 17 2008, 05:54 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 16 2008, 07:57 PM)
SX used to be very good.
Lately their newer issues haven't been that great, guess due to the word of mouth they begun pushing the output of the factory.

If you're sure you'll be taking it seriously, I would suggest a slightly larger amp, the extra headroom would be really nice.

CK Music has their sales on year ends you might wanna check Vox Valvetronix amps there, see which would fit your budget best.

As for guitars, SX Strats should do a pretty well, just you have to pick them out properly, you know, since the QC isn't all that tight. I'd also suggest you stay away from the maple fingerboards with ash body SX strats, by word I heard the "maple" fretboards are actually plastic =|

But if you'd opt for a better guitar instead, I would say a Pacifica would have a more consistent result, pairing it with a microcube would fit the 1k budget I guess.

If you'd push your budget a little, you can probably have both a Pacifica and a Vox valvetronix, but keep in mind of the models of the Valvetronix, on of them caters to more vintage sounding amps, the other one (XL-model) for gain hungry people.
The newest model should be able to cater everyone with 32 amp models, but of course, it has a much heavier price tag.

Hope that helps. Cheers.
QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Oct 17 2008, 12:07 AM)
hee... im a samick user but dun wanna advertise much bout it. not good for me to advertising the thing i used rite? like (masuk bakul angkat sendiri)  laugh.gif
okay since u point that out..

SAMICK were a good choice, but carefully pick the one u like.. i simply point out on Avion3 based on your budget it should be no problem =)
with a mahogany neck, flamed solid mahogany body and rosewood fretboard. i strongly recommend you check this guitar out b4 making your choices  drool.gif

a very good choice within the budget if not.. THE BESTwhistling.gif
thank u so much guys...appreciate the honest replies.
i have tried a pacifica112, sounds mild to me..maybe becos of the SSH setup it has.
which samick is this? avion av3? or other avions? from the description, i think its bang for buck cos of the wood.

now i know wat to eliminate, starterpacks...hahalol...
wreckens15
post Oct 17 2008, 08:17 AM

874 posts

wat music u play anyway?
nimrod2
post Oct 17 2008, 09:03 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

boring songs la tongue.gif

like eric clapton n all i think!
mushimushi88