Guitars RE:Electric Setup for Intermediate guitarist, now need AMP!!!!! UPDATES!!!!!

TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:15 PM, updated 17y ago

91 posts

i've no idea i was gonna get back myself into electric guitars.
i've sold most of my equipment and focused on acoustic for a long time now.
nvr went guitar shopping since then, so i dunno how is the market like right now.

wat i was adviced was to go for starter packs, e.g guitar, gig bag, amp etc.
or maybe buy a combo which is to similiar budget. well, i dunno.
my style of playing really a lil of everything. i mean i have an acoustic for those slow ballads, finger style kinda music.
now need electric more or less versatile, but leaning towards slow rock,rock...

guys, pls help me choose and tell me wats appropriate for my low low budget. ps:i had an SX fender strat copy before, was wandering to be the benchmark.
THANKS

amp now!!!!! tested the microcube. looking forward to test vox vt15, recommended by a fren. wat else to look for? im looking at below rm 800 lar.
maybe might just settle for cube rx rm99X.
any lyn dealers mind to explain/market their amps here pls do so. give me reviews thanks again lyn guitarists.....

This post has been edited by jameschee: May 5 2009, 03:41 PM
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:34 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 16 2008, 12:27 PM)
What IS your budget actually?
rm1k lor...max also would be in rm1300 range...surely below rm1300...

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 16 2008, 12:29 PM)
yeah ?
or u just get basick yamaha package with amp lor
which yamaha wor?
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 12:39 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 16 2008, 12:36 PM)
Yamaha Pacifica + Roland Microcube + gig bag + tuner + Cable + D'addario Strings  = Win.
which pacifica?
compare this to a same level ibanez/epiphone/sx etc?wats the diff?
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 03:30 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(klrk @ Oct 16 2008, 03:21 PM)
This thread reflects my problem too wink.gif
still headache on which to take, yes I havent got my guitar yet
can tumpang thread if u want to...i've yet to decide...lol rclxub.gif

Added on October 16, 2008, 5:39 pmokay...i've seen the votes are high on the ibanez...
can anyone tell me issit the jumpstarter? wat does it consist?
i was thinkin, if get an ibanez, might as well dont get the starter pack.

guys who voted, pls do explain why ibanez..

This post has been edited by jameschee: Oct 16 2008, 05:39 PM
TSjameschee
post Oct 16 2008, 07:48 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wreckens15 @ Oct 16 2008, 07:40 PM)
low end ibanez usually bad
u might wan to uprade for a better guitar later
so get urself an sx stratocaster with micro cube
dats enuf
u wont get much of a difference with other low end's brand
just my 1cent
lets compare SX with the other low ends...craftsman?santa cruz?thunder x? etc?
and also with those stated above, yamaha erg121, eg112, ltd f10

how will SX go against these?
btw, I had a strat before, so i don't fancy getting another
TSjameschee
post Oct 17 2008, 05:54 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 16 2008, 07:57 PM)
SX used to be very good.
Lately their newer issues haven't been that great, guess due to the word of mouth they begun pushing the output of the factory.

If you're sure you'll be taking it seriously, I would suggest a slightly larger amp, the extra headroom would be really nice.

CK Music has their sales on year ends you might wanna check Vox Valvetronix amps there, see which would fit your budget best.

As for guitars, SX Strats should do a pretty well, just you have to pick them out properly, you know, since the QC isn't all that tight. I'd also suggest you stay away from the maple fingerboards with ash body SX strats, by word I heard the "maple" fretboards are actually plastic =|

But if you'd opt for a better guitar instead, I would say a Pacifica would have a more consistent result, pairing it with a microcube would fit the 1k budget I guess.

If you'd push your budget a little, you can probably have both a Pacifica and a Vox valvetronix, but keep in mind of the models of the Valvetronix, on of them caters to more vintage sounding amps, the other one (XL-model) for gain hungry people.
The newest model should be able to cater everyone with 32 amp models, but of course, it has a much heavier price tag.

Hope that helps. Cheers.
QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Oct 17 2008, 12:07 AM)
hee... im a samick user but dun wanna advertise much bout it. not good for me to advertising the thing i used rite? like (masuk bakul angkat sendiri)  laugh.gif
okay since u point that out..

SAMICK were a good choice, but carefully pick the one u like.. i simply point out on Avion3 based on your budget it should be no problem =)
with a mahogany neck, flamed solid mahogany body and rosewood fretboard. i strongly recommend you check this guitar out b4 making your choices  drool.gif

a very good choice within the budget if not.. THE BESTwhistling.gif
thank u so much guys...appreciate the honest replies.
i have tried a pacifica112, sounds mild to me..maybe becos of the SSH setup it has.
which samick is this? avion av3? or other avions? from the description, i think its bang for buck cos of the wood.

now i know wat to eliminate, starterpacks...hahalol...
TSjameschee
post Oct 17 2008, 06:14 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wreckens15 @ Oct 17 2008, 08:17 AM)
wat music u play anyway?
slow rock,rock, bluesy crap ...i think im gonna go SSH or HSH setup
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Oct 17 2008, 09:03 AM)
boring songs la tongue.gif

like eric clapton n all i think!
somebody's gonna get a hurt real bad... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 17, 2008, 6:20 pmuser posted image

this would be awesome...

This post has been edited by jameschee: Oct 17 2008, 06:20 PM
TSjameschee
post Oct 17 2008, 06:41 PM

91 posts

think guitar alone la...no amp...
i pretty like the SA series, and also the true duo buckers...very usefull
TSjameschee
post Oct 20 2008, 09:08 AM

91 posts

over the weekend and visiting various shops...think i'm gonna settle for a Ibanez. really love the true duo humbucker versatility.
however i'm stuck at few choices which fit my budget and go a little over. roland cube would be christmas budget, now just guitar alone.
i'm not so fussy about the pu tone..maybe much later on would go Dimarzio's for it. biggrin.gif

so aight, guys, how to tell where is it made from? i know ibanez is made in japan,korea and indonesia. also, being made from diff places, is there huge difference in the price? and besides Bentley, where else can get ibanez?

i have resulted to get either SV5470F or SAS36FM or SA160. i still cannot make up my mind here, but i know i took care of alot of factors already mentioned by previous posts.
TSjameschee
post Oct 20 2008, 02:29 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 20 2008, 12:13 PM)
Yup. Those SA series is going to eclipse your 1.3k budget for sure..... and that's WITHOUT an amplifier.

DA5 costs double of the Roland Microcube, so I wouldn't really recommend that. Just go to Bents (the Mutiara Damansara one has more choices), try out some of the cheaper models and see what you feel like. Heck, for all you know, you might end up with a Squire Telecaster tongue.gif

FYI: The SA160 is already discontinued...... but maybe you can find some old stock or second hand.....
yea...i checked all out dy. but now it still blurs me

so aight, guys, how to tell where is it made from? i know ibanez is made in japan,korea and indonesia. also, being made from diff places, is there huge difference in the price? and besides Bentley, where else can get ibanez?

i asked earlier, still no answer....
TSjameschee
post Oct 20 2008, 04:14 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 20 2008, 03:42 PM)
how about a good LTD? it might be a bit pricier but its definitely built to last smile.gif dead eye gives good prices icon_idea.gif
thanks, but i've made up my mind now

QUOTE(rockalt1292 @ Oct 20 2008, 04:06 PM)
hi james, for low end guitar, nowadays not much different on quality. just stick to ur budget first at least get a guitar with amp so that u can practice at home. After that only go for better 1 when u hav identified wat kind of sound u want, wat music direction u wish to develope and play. based on ur budget, if i was u i will go for Craftsman + 10 or 15watt practice amp.
hey, thanks for ur say. i'll just get the guitar now...i know wat sound i want.
i know having the budget low, i would sound like a beginner...lol...
TSjameschee
post Oct 21 2008, 02:06 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Oct 20 2008, 07:40 PM)
So which one you getting?
QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Oct 20 2008, 08:51 PM)
get the.. err.. what?

xD
SAS36FM most likely...i love the zounds it makes...perfect for the style i play...
today i itchified after work try out my frens steve vai. racun dy hahaha, maybe next yr cny for the steve vai.

Added on October 22, 2008, 3:47 pmaduh...updates,
bentley no stock for sas32fm(rm1950) and sa08ltd2(rm1050).
who else carries ibanez? or any similiar guitar?

Added on October 27, 2008, 9:33 pmuser posted image

just bought brand new last sunday. freakin awesome.
was gonna choose between the artcore or this, but when think about versatility, then SA it is!!

This post has been edited by jameschee: Oct 27 2008, 09:33 PM
TSjameschee
post Oct 30 2008, 01:24 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(oxalato @ Oct 30 2008, 10:34 AM)
sweet axe
comes with hardcase?
how much everything cost u?
just barely rm15xx...hardcase is el cheapo gator(usa brand, made in china).
others thing i got meself was new strings, 0.011 ernie's, strap also ernie's and cables.
didnt like the cable that comes wif it.

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Oct 30 2008, 12:16 PM)
awesome! naw.. get some amp! xD
yesh...very interested in roland microcube rx...

QUOTE(gapnap @ Oct 30 2008, 12:21 PM)
jameschee : i have ibanez SAS32FM ...you got a PM ..

i think all of us can agree..

starter pack sucks ..mainly because..
the amp sucks

epiphone , behringer , SX , squier , ibanez , yamaha..all of it ..the amp really tak boleh lah..

if you point a gun at me , and ask me to choose which is the best of the worse..
i think i would go for behringer..
erm, fyi if u have read my previous posts, i have gotten myself the guitar already. and anyways 32fm aint my style cos double humbuckers.
thanks anyways
TSjameschee
post May 5 2009, 03:30 PM

91 posts

now to bother everyone again...
now looking for amp. i had a lame laney amp, but already sold it to a fren of mine.
its either the cube/cube rx or da15 or vt15.....which 1?
any dealers here selling any of these?
TSjameschee
post May 8 2009, 01:19 PM

91 posts

so erm. VOX VT15 vs. Roland Cube RX...?? got any differences aside from vox having a tube, cube rx having 4 stereo speakers, etc?

im just looking for an amp which has damn alot of effects.
btw, has anyone been to damansara utama music shop? the one same row as the ship?
TSjameschee
post May 8 2009, 03:56 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(nkphnx @ May 8 2009, 01:53 PM)
What you are actually looking for here is dynamic headroom in these small practise amps... Most of them like the original microcube, breaks up very easily at medium volume. What this means is that the small speaker found in these amps can't really handle the power and starts distorting badly.. This ruins the tone of the amp.. The original microcube can only sound good with the volume below halfway..

Unless you are planning to play at very low volumes or through a headphone, you need a bigger amp with at least an 8 inch speaker. Btw, the microcube rx however, sounds a lot better, punchier and louder.. But at double the price of the original cube, not really worth it if you ask me.. Modeling amps rated at 15 watts above like Cube15, Vox VT and Line6 Spider series should do the trick..
thanks for the heads up...
i prefer to have an amp with alot of effects/amp models.
so far everyone is saying go vox vt15...
i dun really need it to be portable like the microcube though...i have enuff sockets in my studio.

0.0473sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:48 AM