Merdeka Cup Tournament 2008 (40th Merdeka Cup), in Malaysia from October 15 - 25

TSjohnjenin
post Oct 15 2008, 07:16 PM, updated 18y ago

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

GROUP A
Malaysia, Afganistan, Nepal and Sierra Leone

GROUP B
Myanmar, Vietnam, Bangladesh and Mozambique.

1st GROUP MATCHES:

Oct 15 (Wednesday): Group A: MALAYSIA vs Nepal, 8.45pm, MBPJ Stadium, Kelana Jaya

Oct 16 (Thursday): Group B: Myanmar vs Vietnam, 6.30pm, Mozambique vs Bangladesh, 8.45pm (Both matches at Shah Alam Stadium)

2nd GROUP MATCHES:

Oct 17 (Friday): Group A: Nepal vs Afghanistan, 6.30pm; MALAYSIA vs Sierra Leone, 8.45pm (Both matches at MBPJ Stadium).

Oct 18 (Saturday)
Bangladesh v Myanmar
Mozambique v Vietnam U-23

Oct 19 (Sunday)
Sierra Leone v Afghanistan

Oct 20 (Monday)
Bangladesh v Vietnam U-23 - 6.30PM
Mozambique v Myanmar - 6.30PM

Malaysia v Afghanistan - 8.30PM
Sierra Leone v Nepal - 8.30PM

Oct 23 (Thursday)
Vietnam vs Sierra Leone(5.45pm) - National Stadium, Bukit Jalil.
Malaysia vs Myanmar (8.45pm) - National Stadium, Bukit Jalil.

Oct 25 (Saturday)
Final

FIFA World Ranking

Mozambique - 100
Sierra Leone - 133
Myanmar - 157
Malaysia - 160
Vietnam - 165
Nepal - 175
Bangladesh - 179
Afghanistan - 182

Malaysia squad
Goalkeepers: Mohd Helmi Eliza, Badrulzaman Abdul Halim, Syed Adney Syed Hussein;

Defenders: S. Subramaniam, Mohd Asraruddin Putra, Norhafiz Zamani Misbah, Mohd Aidil Zafuan Abdul Radzak, Mohd Daudsu Jamaluddin, Irwan Fadzli Idrus;

Midfielders; Mohd Ashaari Shamsuddin, Muhammad Shukor Adan, Mohd Khyril Muhymeen Zambri, Mohammad Hardi Jaafar, Azi Shahril Azmi, Mohd Amirul Hadi Zainal, Faderin Kadir;

Strikers: Mohd Zaquan Adha Abdul Radzak, Mohd Safee Mohd Sali, Mohd Nizaruddin Yusof, Indra Putra Mahayuddin, Hairuddin Omar.

Added on October 15, 2008, 7:28 pmAll group match ticket will cost RM10. While knockout match will cost RM20.

Malaysia having three mission this year to improve our football standard.

1. Win the Merdeka Cup
2. Win the AFF Suzuki Cup (formerly know as Tiger Cup)
3. Improve our FIFA world ranking and AFC ranking

This post has been edited by johnjenin: Oct 23 2008, 12:31 AM
couldplay
post Oct 15 2008, 08:05 PM

143 posts

Got live?
Blackened
post Oct 15 2008, 08:33 PM

1,068 posts

lol now they've brought in more noobier teams sweat.gif
Well the priority in my opinion is the Tiger Cup. Pesta Bola Merdeka is like... not much of a competition.
Unless of course got teams like Korea etc joining like they used to.
MariMo
post Oct 15 2008, 08:43 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

Wat the, where did Thailand , Singapore and Indon went?

this seriously shows a downfall of Malaysia's football .
Sack the president and vice president la please.
beck_ken
post Oct 15 2008, 08:45 PM

4,716 posts

Malaysia football is part-timer...no...even part-timer can beat them
nazman
post Oct 15 2008, 10:09 PM

1,200 posts

Mozambique - 100
Sierra Leone - 133
Myanmar - 157

Vietnam - 165
Nepal - 175
Bangladesh - 179
Afghanistan - 182

which immigrant country will come and support their team the most??....myanmar?? whistling.gif bangla?? whistling.gif FAM are making money here... tongue.gif
Aztec
post Oct 15 2008, 10:16 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

nepal,myanmar,bangla semua banyak..whtas the score malaysia-nepal?anybody knows?

edited:malaysia 4-0 nepal..damn lame la..bully noob team

This post has been edited by Aztec: Oct 15 2008, 10:19 PM
MariMo
post Oct 15 2008, 10:24 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Oct 15 2008, 10:16 PM)
nepal,myanmar,bangla semua banyak..whtas the score malaysia-nepal?anybody knows?

edited:malaysia 4-0 nepal..damn lame la..bully noob team
Malaysia 's national team love to self comfort
miketee
post Oct 15 2008, 10:55 PM

483 posts

Wah looks like the standard of the Merdeka tournament is getting worse and worse... last time it was the premier competition in Asia but now it looks like nothing more than a friendly cum training session with bottom-ranked teams!
skystrike
post Oct 16 2008, 12:56 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

play with weak team???later if malaysia win this cup...the fam says that football in malaysia was improved...lol...
MariMo
post Oct 16 2008, 12:57 AM

- El Nino -
706 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Oct 16 2008, 12:56 AM)
play with weak team???later if malaysia win this cup...the fam says that football in malaysia was improved...lol...
can't even win the tiger cup biggrin.gif
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 16 2008, 02:47 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

Malaysia 4 - Nepal 0
Indra Putra- min 21
Safee Saali- min 29
Safee Saali- min 50
Khyril Muhaimeen - min 54

Match Goal

Check out Safee Saali first goal.. rclxms.gif
aiyish
post Oct 16 2008, 03:17 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(johnjenin @ Oct 16 2008, 02:47 AM)
Malaysia 4 - Nepal 0
Indra Putra- min 21
Safee Saali- min 29
Safee Saali- min 50
Khyril Muhaimeen - min 54

Match Goal

Check out Safee Saali first goal..  rclxms.gif
wow!! he is either the Henry of M'sia or he is just plain lucky...
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 16 2008, 04:49 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

first.. congrats to our team for beating nepal..

What a goal by Safee Salee.. a confidence + skill + LUCK!!.. ehehe

Khyril Muhymeen as calm as he used to.. great goal by him.. has been his admire for some time oledi..
enemyofgod
post Oct 16 2008, 09:03 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Malaysia have to play far better than the 4-0 score. We have to see broader more...
Rocko
post Oct 16 2008, 10:49 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Oct 16 2008, 12:56 AM)
lol vr true. happened the last time msia won the merdeka cup. after that (in sea games or tiger cup i cant remember) they still dont deliver.

lawan nepal bole ler. jd champion tiger cup dlu la br bole bangga sikit
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 16 2008, 11:04 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

bro.. asyik nak mengutuk je tak guna gak.. memang la kite dah lama tak puas hati dgn dorang ni.. tapi time menang, bagi la moral support sikit.. dah kalah kene, menang pon kene.. aduss.. main la sedikit peranan sebagai rakyat malaysia tu..
Rocko
post Oct 16 2008, 11:16 AM

709 posts

aih apsal yg hang terasa? aku duk kutuk fam.. my comment should b looked as a challenge rather than viewed as putting down the team. the only way to proof we are achieving sumthing is winning the tiger cup. am i not rite? aku xde duk kata xmo support team ni n aku rs aku kut plg vocal to support the team. but sometimes a harsh words work wonders to improve ppl. renung2kan!
faris21
post Oct 16 2008, 12:42 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

Safee`s goal just brilliant,i think this guys also can plat sepak takraw as well
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 16 2008, 02:38 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

play sepak takraw?? confirm.. sure he can..

Rocko.. bukan terasa.. tapi mungkin msg tu sbnrnya bukan kat org cam kau.. khusus utk org yang hanya pandai menghentam.. singgah2 thread hentam2 just nak banyak kan post.. sigh
Duke Red
post Oct 16 2008, 04:13 PM

6,112 posts

Moral support? Please lah. Knowing our bunch that'll only make them complacent. It was after all mighty Nepal, who have an enormous population of about 30,000 people! Look at the teams that are competing. Is there a cause to criticise Malaysian football? Of course! Don't just look to this one game, look at the state of our football as a whole. The Merdeka tournament used to have some prestige with European sides like Hamburg and Austria Vienna taking part. Now teams are sending their under-23 sides.
berzerk
post Oct 16 2008, 07:34 PM

706 posts

What a joke. not even one team from FIFA top 100

AskarPerang
post Oct 16 2008, 07:43 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

this is the best way to improve our ranking!!!
MariMo
post Oct 16 2008, 07:54 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

ADD-ON: Did u guys watched the highlights from ESPN ? Darn the field sure sucks to max . with puddles of water everywhere.
aiyish
post Oct 16 2008, 08:06 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 16 2008, 04:13 PM)
Moral support? Please lah. Knowing our bunch that'll only make them complacent. It was after all mighty Nepal, who have an enormous population of about 30,000 people! Look at the teams that are competing. Is there a cause to criticise Malaysian football? Of course! Don't just look to this one game, look at the state of our football as a whole. The Merdeka tournament used to have some prestige with European sides like Hamburg and Austria Vienna taking part. Now teams are sending their under-23 sides.
maybe they should pull in:

Indonesia
Singapore
Thailand
New Zealand

..and a few more gulf countries in

TSjohnjenin
post Oct 16 2008, 08:53 PM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

if they put indonesia, thailand and singapore. what the difference between Merdeka cup and AFF Suzuki Cup?

This is the first step in improving our football ranking. We are now at 160, who are we demanding to compete against top 100 team?

Improving the ranking to 120 at least then only talk about it..First step
aiyish
post Oct 16 2008, 10:22 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Just swap those three countries with Afghan, Nepal and Bangladesh.

If we just improve our rankings by beating lower tier countries it doesn't meant anything. Picture this, we are ranked 110th, but still struggle to beat the likes of Singapore, Thailand and even Vietnam. Ranking means nothing if we still can't improve our standard.
Aztec
post Oct 16 2008, 11:56 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

the nepal keeper damn noob wei..he did nuts for all the goals..tengok bola melayang saja.. doh.gif doh.gif
popeye3rd
post Oct 17 2008, 12:26 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Oct 16 2008, 11:56 PM)
the nepal keeper damn noob wei..he did nuts for all the goals..tengok bola melayang saja.. doh.gif  doh.gif
ha a..mcm takde tgn je keeper tongue.gif

gi stadium smlm,pdg mcm sawah padi.

btw,great goal by safee.. rclxms.gif
bit unlucky not to get his hat-trik
arjenayai
post Oct 17 2008, 12:39 AM

Hai. Bai.
627 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Oct 16 2008, 08:06 PM)
maybe they should pull in:

Indonesia
Singapore
Thailand
New Zealand

..and a few more gulf countries in
Indo, Singapore n Thailand cannot come becoz the tournament clashes with their local league schedule.

I think the team is OK la. I'm sure their trying hard to improve their game after all the criticisms. Well.. Let see how they'll fair against Sierra Leone (a better team i hope) tomorrow.
popeye3rd
post Oct 17 2008, 12:45 AM

361 posts

surely boost their confident after thrashing nepal yesterday...
enemyofgod
post Oct 17 2008, 08:40 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

But will it last long..??
Rocko
post Oct 17 2008, 10:36 AM

709 posts

it's depressing to think that we need teams like nepal, afghanistan to beat in order to lift up the msian morale. but the reality is that our rankings have already sunk vr low that the word embarassment is not enuff to describe it. it is vital that we try to stop it from getting it even lower. like johnjenin said, it is baby steps. take our ranking higher step by step. by that way we cud attract more better opponents every year. we have to stop living in the past and look forward. indeed the situation surrounding the football scene aint helpful (and fam is certainly not the only problem or the solution), but i'm still behind the team anyways. hopefully i get to see a better malaysian team in my life biggrin.gif
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 17 2008, 11:08 AM

265 posts

Day two matches were held yesterday

Group B Result and table position
Duke Red
post Oct 17 2008, 11:14 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Oct 16 2008, 10:22 PM)
Just swap those three countries with Afghan, Nepal and Bangladesh.

If we just improve our rankings by beating lower tier countries it doesn't meant anything. Picture this, we are ranked 110th, but still struggle to beat the likes of Singapore, Thailand and even Vietnam. Ranking means nothing if we still can't improve our standard.
This is my exact thought. Rankings matter not and it's just a number. What is more important is that we play better sides to improve ourselves. If the players get demoralised after a defeat and play even worse, then they aren't fit to put on their nations colours. Get a bunch of players with the right mentality in, not sons of important people who are too pampered to stick with strict diets and tough training sessions.
Vagine
post Oct 17 2008, 11:29 AM

472 posts

baby step surely d best way. we cant just go and compete with higher ranks teams to 'improve' i think this is a good way to start over.
popeye3rd
post Oct 17 2008, 12:28 PM

361 posts

boleh makan ka mlm ni?
Duke Red
post Oct 17 2008, 01:07 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Oct 17 2008, 11:29 AM)
baby step surely d best way. we cant just go and compete with higher ranks teams to 'improve' i think this is a good way to start over.
The thing is we're on such a steep downward spiral that we're losing to smaller sides. It isn't as though we've been playing friendlies against sides we used to pummel in the past like South Korea, Iran or Japan who have since qualified for multiple World Cups. We've moved down a rung and are playing sides like Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand and struggle to beat them. We have also managed to lose to the likes of Laos and Philippines. The point I'm trying to make it that as teams like Thailand improve, we'll be going further down the FIFA World Ranking order to look for opponents which over the years has not improved our team. If this progresses, we will soon be running out of teams to play. Currently we are ranked 160 in the world just ahead of countries like St. Lucia, Turks and Calcos Islands, Guinea-Bisau, Seychelles and Belize, some who have a total population of Alor Setar! St.Kitts and Nevis who are ranked 4 places above us have a population of just over 40,000 which is 10 times less than the total population of Seremban!

I don't know about you mate but these are alarming statistics to me. It is in my opinion that in order to improve, we need to keep playing quality opposition. We've already been taking baby steps, backwards in fact by playing opposition lower and lower down the World Ranking order with no positive results. We'll beat the likes of Nepal and grow complacent. If the players are not mentally strong enough to lose against teams like China and come back, then they aren't fit to put on the national jersey.

Back to the topic, the Merdeka tournament has lost it's appeal and quality teams aren't even remotely interested in participating. The condition of the pitch leaves a lot to be desired and which team would want to risk injury to their players for peanuts? Everything is in shambles and instead of being in denial, we should perhaps suck up some of our pride and look to other countries for assistance or guidance.
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 17 2008, 01:45 PM

265 posts

berminat untuk menang satu tiket grandstand untuk game malaysia lwn sierra leone malam ini?

sila ke sportsmalaysia.net pada jam 3 petang untuk maklumat lanjut
Duke Red
post Oct 17 2008, 03:09 PM

6,112 posts

Let me have a think. Sierre Leone are ranked 133 in the world. Mohammad Kallon (formerly of Inter Milan) plays for them but I doubt he's down in KL since Sierra Leone are fielding their U20 side. Even Mozambique who are ranked 100 in the world have only sent their U23 side for the tournament. Yeah, not exactly enticing.

Oh another note, I was pleasantly surprised to hear that former Selangor and Czech World Cup goalkeeper, Karel Stromsik may return to the country in a coaching capacity. I use to love watching him play for the Red Giants when Malaysian football was still at the very least, in a respectable state.
mrjeff
post Oct 17 2008, 03:32 PM

emm... for me.. the prestigeous pestabola merdeka is on the downfall... it a good way for FAM to give some morale boost for the malaysians before the AFF suzuki cup but sacrificing the prestige is too heavy for me as a malaysian football scene fan..

but anyhow... malaysia have to win this tournament for us fan give back our faith to our national team.
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 17 2008, 08:23 PM

265 posts

result game pertama hari ini

nepal 2-2 afghanistan

pemain malaysia dan sierra leone sedang warm-up

senarai pemain malaysia vs sierra leone
jeff_v2
post Oct 18 2008, 12:09 AM

965 posts

what the final result in M'sia game???
SUSAzurues
post Oct 18 2008, 12:18 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Malaysia 4-0 Sierra Leone
Indraputra, Safee Sali, Aidil Zafuan, Zakuan Adha

Teams P W D L F A +/- Pts
- Malaysia 2 2 0 0 8 0 +8 6
- Nepal 2 0 1 1 2 6 -4 1
- Afghanistan 1 0 1 0 2 2 0 1
- Sierra Leone 1 0 0 1 0 4 -4 0

Malaysia leading for teh LULZ
jeff_v2
post Oct 18 2008, 12:25 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 18 2008, 12:18 AM)
Malaysia 4-0 Sierra Leone
Indraputra, Safee Sali, Aidil Zafuan, Zakuan Adha

Teams  P  W  D  L  F  A  +/-  Pts
-  Malaysia  2  2  0  0  8  0  +8  6
-  Nepal  2  0  1  1  2  6  -4  1
-  Afghanistan  1  0  1  0  2  2  0  1
-  Sierra Leone  1  0  0  1  0  4  -4  0

Malaysia leading for teh  LULZ
rclxm9.gif
hope for 8 or more againts afghanistan
Blackened
post Oct 18 2008, 12:35 AM

1,068 posts

Congratz malaysia for the win icon_rolleyes.gif

kualiti padang sweat.gif

in Malaysia we trust! thumbup.gif

Lawan afghan lepas ni kalau kalah jugak tak tau la nak cakap apa sweat.gif
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 18 2008, 12:39 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

kau jangan main2.. karang osama laden yg keluar karang.. haw haw..
faris21
post Oct 18 2008, 01:08 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

win 4-0 again,what a surprise according to Sierra Leone`s rank more higher than us

Added on October 18, 2008, 1:10 am
QUOTE(Blackened @ Oct 18 2008, 12:35 AM)
Congratz malaysia for the win icon_rolleyes.gif

kualiti padang sweat.gif
kualiti padang is one problem,another problem is quantity fan sweat.gif

This post has been edited by faris21: Oct 18 2008, 01:10 AM
popeye3rd
post Oct 18 2008, 01:31 AM

361 posts

lagi rmai ni dr game nepal.

ok laa.
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 18 2008, 01:32 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

i guess.. with such a weather.. we cannot expect more.. maybe we can see more supporters in the final.. if we did it. btw, faris21, u got there huh? hehehe

sierra leone is 100th on the list rite? if so, this is consider great performance then..
miketee
post Oct 18 2008, 01:44 AM

483 posts

I think the Sierra Leone team that they sent was under-23... not the senior team. Correct me if I'm wrong! But in any event, it was a good result. Congrats to the boys!
faris21
post Oct 18 2008, 02:33 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 18 2008, 01:32 AM)
i guess.. with such a weather.. we cannot expect more.. maybe we can see more supporters in the final.. if we did it. btw, faris21, u got there huh? hehehe

sierra leone is 100th on the list rite? if so, this is consider great performance then..
not there,i stay at JB so only watch the goal from youtube biggrin.gif
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 18 2008, 02:39 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

i see.. jb huh.. maybe u can turun kl if our national team make it to the final.. heh
SUSAzurues
post Oct 18 2008, 02:50 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

The quality of padang has no much difference from padang sekolah sia
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 18 2008, 02:54 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

padang sekolah can be far more better lah bro.. such a shame..
Rocko
post Oct 18 2008, 06:45 AM

709 posts

move to another stadium please... kamonla xkan nak mng gune stadium camni kut. it maybe an advantage to us, but its a real embarassment if we keep continuing to use this field. xkan semer stadium around klang valley teruk macam tu kut?

SL brought the u-23 team. well at least msia manage to beat that team. congrats..

request to johnjenin, any highlights? thx
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 18 2008, 08:18 AM

265 posts

Sierra Leone fielded under 21 players
matyrze
post Oct 18 2008, 08:20 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(popeye3rd @ Oct 18 2008, 01:31 AM)
lagi rmai ni dr game nepal.

ok laa.
i think that is because the time of the game was played..the nepal game was on the evening right?

QUOTE(Rocko @ Oct 18 2008, 06:45 AM)
move to another stadium please... kamonla xkan nak mng gune stadium camni kut. it maybe an advantage to us, but its a real embarassment if we keep continuing to use this field. xkan semer stadium around klang valley teruk macam tu kut?

SL brought the u-23 team. well at least msia manage to beat that team. congrats..

request to johnjenin, any highlights? thx
Dont know if this is true, but according to mr. wiki, SL is actually playing with their U-20! shocking.gif shocking.gif

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 18 2008, 02:54 AM)
padang sekolah can be far more better lah bro.. such a shame..
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif SO AGREE BRO!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

honestly my school field is better..no dirt or muds at all even after a very heavy downpour..but of course la still got "ponds"..school field mana ada drain system..
Duke Red
post Oct 18 2008, 08:57 AM

6,112 posts

Yes Sierra Leone did field a bunch of kids which is why we didn't get to see Mohammad Kallon. As I have mentioned earlier, most of the teams in the tournament are fielding their youth sides including Mozambique, the highest ranked team in the tournament at no.100 on the FIFA list. They brought their U20 team with them. This is a tournament we should win considering we have so many seasoned full internationals in the squad.

The state of the pitch is abysmal. Here we are trying to raise the quality of football in the country by hosting an international tournament and we don't even bother looking after the surface on which the whole tournament is played on? Doesn't it suggest that the FAM don't even take this tournament seriously? What's going to happen the next time round? The prestige (if there is any left) of the tournament will continue to slide and teams will start sending their school teams next.
adeas
post Oct 18 2008, 10:59 AM

460 posts

yeah field like sawah padi
Jonno
post Oct 18 2008, 11:13 AM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 18 2008, 08:57 AM)
Yes Sierra Leone did field a bunch of kids which is why we didn't get to see Mohammad Kallon. As I have mentioned earlier, most of the teams in the tournament are fielding their youth sides including Mozambique, the highest ranked team in the tournament at no.100 on the FIFA list. They brought their U20 team with them. This is a tournament we should win considering we have so many seasoned full internationals in the squad.

The state of the pitch is abysmal. Here we are trying to raise the quality of football in the country by hosting an international tournament and we don't even bother looking after the surface on which the whole tournament is played on? Doesn't it suggest that the FAM don't even take this tournament seriously? What's going to happen the next time round? The prestige (if there is any left) of the tournament will continue to slide and teams will start sending their school teams next.
Talking about using that term loosely...
The thing is that the Pestabola Merdeka as it was known as was one of the most prestigious football tournament in Asia, the fact that it has descend to this is not a good thing at all. I am not sure what is the problem, the players? The administration? Or the foreign football leagues which has dominated TV. The thing is that It is a bit of everything.

I've read that the super league will ban club sides from entering it, even if they have qualify for it through promotion, the reason? The state sides do not wished to be whipped by club sides who are more professional in their set up and receive less fundings. HOw many times have we read that the state sides owe salary to the players? It's almost a yearly thing, at least a couple of state side will make the papers with this. It is saddening that in a country that loves football and proud of our football tradition and great players such as Dollah Salleh, Supermokh, Zainal Abidin Hassan, Lim Teong Kim and others, we have descend to this state.

I think that a total revamp of the league and administration is required, and have a 10 to 15 year plan to develop the game in the country, state sides must learn to find their own sponsors, on getting an income to ensure the survival of the team or even make a profit. If successful sides such as Selangor can do it, doesn't mean sides from smaller state such as Perlis or Kedah can't do it. It takes some planning and bold decision making to make it work. I look forward to the day where we can all trot to the stadium to watch our beloved state side or national playing again, this time, with better quality.

A bit off topic I know, but I would want nothing than see our football improve and go back to the glory days. Then we could probably talking about big teams coming for the Pestabola Merdeka, REAL big teams, not Indonesia & Thailand or Singapore (no offence), but the likes of Japan, Korea or even African nations such as Nigeria or Senegal. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

sportsmalaysia
post Oct 18 2008, 01:28 PM

265 posts

gambar2 game malaysia lwn sierra leone semalam

lebih banyak di sini: Pestabola Merdeka 2008
Duke Red
post Oct 18 2008, 03:44 PM

6,112 posts

Hmm a fantastic turnout I see.
Jonno
post Oct 18 2008, 03:59 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 18 2008, 03:44 PM)
Hmm a fantastic turnout I see.
Yeah, heard that the mamak stalls around the area is packed with fans who can't get a ticket to the game... whistling.gif
Rocko
post Oct 18 2008, 06:28 PM

709 posts

they've changed the venue for the 3rd game against afghanistan to the national stadium in bukit jalil. let's hope for an improvement. at least the quality of the pitch. 1 look at the previous stadium looks similar to the ss3 field where the lyn boys used to play in their previous stint as a football club tongue.gif.

1 thing they shud consider is doing it at 2 stadiums at least. maybe the field aren't supposed to get hammered on (played on daily, twice!) which makes it even worse.
faris21
post Oct 18 2008, 06:58 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

media didn't mention that a team which lost to Malaysia is team U20
just watch the highlight in the TV3 this afternoon,dengan bangganya they said our boys beat team with which the ranking higher than us with big win 4-0
the FAM and the TV3 really want make all of us feel and believe our quality improved doh.gif
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 19 2008, 03:40 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Oct 18 2008, 06:58 PM)
media didn't mention that a team which lost to Malaysia is team U20
just watch the highlight in the TV3 this afternoon,dengan bangganya they said our boys beat team with which the ranking higher than us  with big win 4-0
the FAM and the TV3 really want make all of us feel and believe our quality improved doh.gif
faris21,
tv3 did mentioned that Sierra Leone fielding their Under20. same goes with RTM. Please get your fact correct.

Malaysia 4 - Sierra Leone 0
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 19 2008, 03:52 AM

265 posts

minat untuk menang dua tiket grandstand untuk perlawanan malaysia vs afghanistan jam 8.45mlm isnin ini di std nasional bukit jalil?

sila ke sportsmalaysia.net selepas jam 12tgh, Ahad 19 oktober 08
Duke Red
post Oct 19 2008, 11:42 AM

6,112 posts

I reckon they should allow for free entrance given the lack of fans.
Blackened
post Oct 19 2008, 01:23 PM

1,068 posts

They all also want to cari makan la. Give those guys a break.
Wanna come.. you come. RM10 is not a big deal doh.gif
Duke Red
post Oct 19 2008, 09:37 PM

6,112 posts

You have to give a little to get a little. It's not always about making money upfront, unlike running a new trendy club in town. Interest is waning amongst the public and many like me won't even go if it were free, what more when you are charging?

You want to charge people, ensure that you give them something to see like some quality opposition, not a bunch of kids.
enemyofgod
post Oct 20 2008, 10:03 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

What's the next match on?
mrjeff
post Oct 20 2008, 11:48 AM

the semis for malaysia will be held at? on?
maybe will travel to kl to watch it... anyone wanna go with me? from jhr
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 20 2008, 03:12 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

ask faris21.. huhu
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 20 2008, 03:20 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(enemyofgod @ Oct 20 2008, 10:03 AM)
What's the next match on?
today,

more details here: http://www.sportsmalaysia.net/2008/10/20/p...ct-08-schedule/
faris21
post Oct 20 2008, 04:41 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(mrjeff @ Oct 20 2008, 11:48 AM)
the semis for malaysia will be held at? on?
maybe will travel to kl to watch it... anyone wanna go with me? from jhr
QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 20 2008, 03:12 PM)
ask faris21.. huhu
cant join,i in last semester now,really busy this month with final project presentation and final exam blush.gif
mrjeff
post Oct 20 2008, 04:47 PM

hey.. xm is just around the corner la fren... better do ur revision.. hehe.. and get ur psm ready... all the best rite...
couldplay
post Oct 21 2008, 02:14 AM

143 posts

Malaysia won 6-0 again Afghanistan last night and will face Myanmar on semifinal as a group winner.Goal from winger Ashaari Shamsuddin (22 & 64min),Nizaruddin Yusof (42min),Zaquan Adha (45min),Safee Sali (84min) and Hairuddin Omar (87min).Congrate to our boys..
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 21 2008, 02:19 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

6-0.. quite interesting.. more and more ppl will turun stadium this semis.. myanmar fans could ruin the stadium as well.
Blackened
post Oct 21 2008, 11:00 AM

1,068 posts

Anyone knows where will M'sia vs Myanmar semi final match gonna hold?
if its Shah Alam me and the boys will go again icon_rolleyes.gif
enemyofgod
post Oct 21 2008, 11:38 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Well, our boys are high flying..lets see the outcome on Semi's
couldplay
post Oct 21 2008, 03:15 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Blackened @ Oct 21 2008, 11:00 AM)
Anyone knows where will M'sia vs Myanmar semi final match gonna hold?
if its Shah Alam me and the boys will go again icon_rolleyes.gif
From the schedule,all semifinal game will be hold at Bkt Jalil Stadium..dunno if they change it.
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 22 2008, 02:38 PM

265 posts

jadual perlawanan semi-final esok

Jadual semi

minat untuk menang 2 tiket grandstand semi berharga RM20 satu?

sila klik link ini: malaysia vs myanmar competition
MariMo
post Oct 22 2008, 02:47 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

omg they thrashed everyone in the group stage . What a miracle ?!?!?!?!
lame i shud say
SPASTICZ
post Oct 22 2008, 02:54 PM

889 posts

tak sangka m'sia boleh sebat sierra lone.. not bad.
Rocko
post Oct 22 2008, 03:36 PM

709 posts

at least the field at bukit jalil was better than the previous one. vr different
SPASTICZ
post Oct 22 2008, 03:56 PM

889 posts

still ok la the KJ stadium. but now a day every evening rain. wanna to go and watch live also susah.. bassah kuyup..
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 22 2008, 07:14 PM

265 posts

more photos here: Malaysia vs Afghanistan
SPASTICZ
post Oct 23 2008, 11:08 AM

889 posts

ha. y sepak takraw? just because he bicycle kick..
Duke Red
post Oct 23 2008, 11:49 AM

6,112 posts

Just out of curiosity, how tall are our centrebacks?
SPASTICZ
post Oct 23 2008, 05:15 PM

889 posts

i think the tallest is K Nanthakumar in the whole team.
Blackened
post Oct 23 2008, 06:35 PM

1,068 posts

So whos going tonight lol. I know I am.
Will post some pics when I'm back.
MaGNiFiCo
post Oct 23 2008, 09:06 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

man i've got presentation...definitely gonna go for final if they get through tonite

i really miss the surrounding when we won it last year!! the best atmosphere i've ever been in malaysian football match biggrin.gif

-bLiZZarD-
post Oct 23 2008, 09:48 PM

208 posts

cmne skunk??
da brape da??

rEDs
post Oct 23 2008, 10:18 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

QUOTE(SPASTICZ @ Oct 22 2008, 09:54 AM)
tak sangka m'sia boleh sebat sierra lone.. not bad.
this sierra leone 1st team or youth?
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 23 2008, 10:33 PM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

Merdeka Cup semi final :

Vietnam beat Sierra Leon 3-2 on penalty kick after drew 2-2

Malaysia currently lead with 3-0 against Myanmar. Malaysia goals scored by Indra 2, and Safee Sali

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:35 pmMalaysia just added another goal through Selangor midfielder, Amirul Hadi Zainal...

This post has been edited by johnjenin: Oct 23 2008, 10:35 PM
SUSAzurues
post Oct 23 2008, 10:38 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Improvement by Malaysia or Myanmmar send youth team?lol
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 23 2008, 10:42 PM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

Final score 4-0. Malaysia will meet Vietnam on Saturday.

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 23 2008, 10:38 PM)
Improvement by Malaysia or Myanmmar send youth team?lol
Myanmar sending their senior team. Majority of their players come from the same squad that went to final last year Merdeka Cup.

This post has been edited by johnjenin: Oct 23 2008, 10:47 PM
SUSAzurues
post Oct 23 2008, 10:52 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

wow thats improvement then..malaysia have yet to leak a goal and safee sali scored every game lol

Looks certain malaysia to winning route
Great.CR7
post Oct 23 2008, 11:06 PM

209 posts

i lost my voice...haha...great atmosphere in the stadium rclxm9.gif ...4-0..

This post has been edited by Great.CR7: Oct 23 2008, 11:07 PM
Blackened
post Oct 24 2008, 12:11 AM

1,068 posts

4-0 icon_idea.gif

sakit tekak lak asyik maki si amirul tu.
score gak dia last² sweat.gif
had_hc
post Oct 24 2008, 12:18 AM

26 posts

wut time da final man? looking forward for the game!
ni smangat ni malaysia da kuat!

SUSAzurues
post Oct 24 2008, 12:29 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Wa malaysia can score from free kick amazing LOL

rtm1 got replay now haha
Blackened
post Oct 24 2008, 12:40 AM

1,068 posts

Yeah they mentioned got delay telecast at the scoreboard.

the rest of the geng. I was sitting at the middle.

close up to those guys who never get tired of giving their full support thumbup.gif

The field look so much better than the one at kelana jaya.
But honestly I think Shah Alam is the best cause of their seatings...for me at least...
Cause up there, you don't know what is happening downstairs laugh.gif unless you really wanna watch the game all the time.

edel
post Oct 24 2008, 01:02 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Blackened @ Oct 24 2008, 12:40 AM)
Yeah they mentioned got delay telecast at the scoreboard.

the rest of the geng. I was sitting at the middle.

close up to those guys who never get tired of giving their full support thumbup.gif

The field look so much better than the one at kelana jaya.
But honestly I think Shah Alam is the best cause of their seatings...for me at least...
Cause up there, you don't know what is happening downstairs laugh.gif unless you really wanna watch the game all the time.
x sampai 5 ribu org neh..
tiket brape ek??
nk g tg final...
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 24 2008, 01:30 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

congratulations buat rakan2 yang telah meluang masa untuk ke bukit jalil untuk menyokong pasukan negara...

you guys are the best..looking forward to meet vietnam and win the Merdeka cup.
Blackened
post Oct 24 2008, 01:35 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(edel @ Oct 24 2008, 01:02 AM)
x sampai 5 ribu org neh..
tiket brape ek??
nk g tg final...
tiket RM10.
final will be on this saturday if im not mistaken.
edel
post Oct 24 2008, 01:43 AM

50 posts

final at bukit jalil or shah alam??
bleh g tgk ler klu rm10.. hope ramai la yg dtg...
sabmeen
post Oct 24 2008, 01:48 AM

192 posts

i hope in the final other supporters can chant with the HM(Harimau Malaya) team.... lets do it together
sg552
post Oct 24 2008, 01:55 AM

88 posts

play very beautiful. passing the ball around stadium and many through pass. vietnam will know this tactic already. amirul 1v 1 also cannot score, sakit jiwa betul tengok dia. finally he score 1 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sg552: Oct 24 2008, 01:57 AM
sabmeen
post Oct 24 2008, 01:57 AM

192 posts

waaa passing around the stadium aaa.. perghh i thought passing around the field onli
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 24 2008, 02:10 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

Malaysia 4 - Myanmar 0 Goal
Mie
post Oct 24 2008, 02:14 AM

GOONER
1,718 posts

why they sang "Balik Kampung" ?
i think i heard it when i watch the delay at tv1.
anyway congrats to M'sia nod.gif
sabmeen
post Oct 24 2008, 02:15 AM

192 posts

we sing balik kampung with the lyrics.. balik kampung oo ooo balik kampung ooo balik kampung.. balik myanmar....

This post has been edited by sabmeen: Oct 24 2008, 02:16 AM
couldplay
post Oct 24 2008, 02:28 AM

143 posts

So,anyone won the free ticket from sportmalaysia? biggrin.gif
Great.CR7
post Oct 24 2008, 02:38 AM

209 posts

bro..i think kita sama row tadi tak pun dekat2 je... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Great.CR7: Oct 24 2008, 02:40 AM
Blackened
post Oct 24 2008, 03:15 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(sg552 @ Oct 24 2008, 01:55 AM)
play very beautiful. passing the ball around stadium and many through pass. vietnam will know this tactic already. amirul 1v 1 also cannot score, sakit jiwa betul tengok dia. finally he score 1 tongue.gif
1v1 TWICE.. still couldn't score. the guys at my area were b1tching like theres no tomorrow weh..
poor amirul.. damn funny though doh.gif laugh.gif
this is actually one of the reasons I go to stadium. can hear all kinds of maki hamun laugh.gif release your stress lolz..
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 03:30 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

u got the point blackened.. kat stadium takde sape nak marah kita nak maki hamun.. jerit la sepuas hati.. biasanya lepas tgk bola kat stadium.. suara aku takde dlm 2-3 hari.. haha

sure final sabtu ni lagi ramai nih.. tiket pun 10 je.. jangan naik udah le.
Duke Red
post Oct 24 2008, 09:04 AM

6,112 posts

Good result but we did beat Myanmar 3-1 in last years final so you could say that we were favourites.
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 09:35 AM

889 posts

it's still early to predict because vietnam can consider a strong team to upset malaysia. well, i still believe m'sia can overcome it.
vutsi
post Oct 24 2008, 09:35 AM

-+#***#[OO]#***#+-
747 posts

jom tgk final....smile.gif
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 10:43 AM

889 posts

mesti la tengok..
rozaini_aimar
post Oct 24 2008, 11:03 AM

95 posts

tiker berapa final? RM20?
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 11:06 AM

889 posts

tak salah 20 kot..
3AngLeCake
post Oct 24 2008, 11:20 AM

43 posts

jom2..jom pi ramai2..venue mane bro? bukit jalil?
enemyofgod
post Oct 24 2008, 11:21 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Come on Malaysia!
rozaini_aimar
post Oct 24 2008, 11:22 AM

95 posts

kasi tiket free je la
konpom penuh nnt
ahhahahaha
3AngLeCake
post Oct 24 2008, 11:26 AM

43 posts

bertuah nak bagi tiket free...dah masuk semi final pon tv xde live..gomen pon xsupport national team..hampeh!hahaha..
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 11:28 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(3AngLeCake @ Oct 24 2008, 12:20 PM)
jom2..jom pi ramai2..venue mane bro? bukit jalil?
bkt jalil.

Added on October 24, 2008, 11:29 amkalau pree, konpom banjir giler dgn org. ha

This post has been edited by SPASTICZ: Oct 24 2008, 11:29 AM
rozaini_aimar
post Oct 24 2008, 11:31 AM

95 posts

dh final xkn xde live kn?
hahahahahaha
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 11:33 AM

889 posts

live tak syok la. kalau nak kutuk player... kasi kutuk-kutuk sikit, baru ada form..
3AngLeCake
post Oct 24 2008, 11:47 AM

43 posts

yap..tgok kat tv kurang sket feel die bro!!hahahaha...semangat tu laen!!
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 11:48 AM

889 posts

pergi sana, siap boleh marah and kutuk the players. kasi mereka pressure...
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 12:34 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 24 2008, 09:04 AM)
Good result but we did beat Myanmar 3-1 in last years final so you could say that we were favourites.
On papers.. yer we are the favourite.. we beat Sierra Leone 6-0 and vietnam struggle to beat them 3-2 by penalty shoot out..

Kalau kita tak menang... siap la korang.. tongue.gif
Blackened
post Oct 24 2008, 12:54 PM

1,068 posts

Malaysia ganyang Myanmar

KUALA LUMPUR - Harimau Malaya mengamuk sakan dengan bertemankan 20,000 penyokong untuk menghampiri kejuaraan bola sepak Pestabola Merdeka apabila mengganyang Myanmar 4-0 pada perlawanan separuh akhir di Stadium Nasional, Bukit Jalil, semalam, lapor ABDUL HAFIZ AHMAD dan FERZALFIE FAUZI.

Dua jaringan Indra Putra Mahayuddin pada minit ke-25 dan 75, Safee Sali (m-61) dan Amirulhadi Zainal (m-83) berjaya menempah tiket perlawanan akhir menentang Vietnam termasuk untuk mempertahankan gelaran 2007 di gelanggang sama, esok.

Terdahulu, dalam satu lagi perlawanan separuh akhir, menyaksikan Vietnam mengatasi Sierra Leone dengan semangat kebangkitan menerusi kemenangan penentuan penalti 3-2 selepas terikat 2-2 termasuk dalam masa tambahan.

Gol pertama skuad negara tiba juga daripada rembatan deras sepakan percuma Indra Putra sepakan sejauh 25 meter di luar kotak penalti untuk merobek sudut kiri gawang lawan tanpa mampu digapai penjaga gawang Myanmar, Lwin pada minit ke-25.

Menerusi satu umpanan lambung Hardi pada minit ke-61, Safee yang mengutipnya tidak menghampakan Malaysia lagi apabila memperdayakan penjaga gol lawan dengan gelecek dan tolakan masuk untuk gol kedua negara.

Sentuhan Indra terus menjadi untuk gol ketiga Malaysia menerusi sepakan penalti pada minit ke-75 setelah Safee dijatuhkan dalam kotak penalti Myanmar.

Kegagalan terdahulu Amirulhadi pula lupus dengan jaringan keempat untuk Malaysia pada minit ke-83 setelah dia menolak masuk umpanan Indra.

Dalam pada itu, Safee berkata: "Jaringan saya datang daripada kerjasama padu barisan serangan dan tengah serta semangat berpasukan yang ada pada skuad negara.

"Tidak dilupa, kepada penyokong negara yang membanjiri stadium dengan sorakan padu yang memberikan kami semangat yang begitu membara," katanya.

Source: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...an&pg=su_01.htm

Funny cause theStar mentioned only 5000 fans turned up laugh.gif
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 01:33 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

maybe the star means 5000 myanmar fans.. haha
vutsi
post Oct 24 2008, 01:54 PM

-+#***#[OO]#***#+-
747 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 24 2008, 01:33 PM)
maybe the star means 5000 myanmar fans.. haha
balik kg la myanmar haha....
SUSAzurues
post Oct 24 2008, 02:17 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Wonder will final be stadium packed tongue.gif
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 02:35 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

u wonder? then jom datang stadium dan realisasikannya.. haha
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 02:40 PM

889 posts

tkt pd hari itu hujan lebat saja.. tak syok la..
SUSAzurues
post Oct 24 2008, 02:43 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

what stadium is it now?
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 02:44 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

kalau ckp macam tu, semua benda tak leh jalan bro.. pakat tido je la kat umah..

Added on October 24, 2008, 2:44 pm
QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 24 2008, 02:43 PM)
what stadium is it now?
Surely bukit jalil la bro..

This post has been edited by Apis_LuaLua: Oct 24 2008, 02:44 PM
shah_ho_nam
post Oct 24 2008, 02:49 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

good luck malaysian team.. please don't make fun of yourself
sabmeen
post Oct 24 2008, 02:56 PM

192 posts

final is i not mistaken ticket still rm10..
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 24 2008, 03:04 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

tehn, that will be a good news.. btw, hope fully Kementerian Penerangan (RTM1) will play their role utk memartabatkan sukan kita.. sejak2menjak ni susah sangat la nak tgk siaran langsung.. org tgk bpl kat astro marah pulak.. bukan kata bola je.. badminton pun dah susah skrg ni.. hampeh!!
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 03:06 PM

889 posts

really ar? i tot is RM20..
Rocko
post Oct 24 2008, 03:21 PM

709 posts

i would appreciate if any1 of you could confirm b4 the game if there would be any live telecast from tv1, pls post it here ya. i wanna go stream the game if there is 1.

and i really hope msia wins the game. for 1, its just that i dont wanna see this thread becoming a msia bashing thread afterward if we lose
SPASTICZ
post Oct 24 2008, 03:22 PM

889 posts

go internet and check out the price

sportsmalaysia
post Oct 24 2008, 05:07 PM

265 posts

jika anda berminat untuk memenangi 2 tiket perlawanan akhir pestabola merdeka antara malaysia dgn vietnam, sila ke sini: Malaysia vs Vietnam Competition

tiket2 ini adalah tiket terbuka, boleh duduk di mana2 sahaja
Great.CR7
post Oct 24 2008, 06:26 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(sportsmalaysia @ Oct 24 2008, 05:07 PM)
jika anda berminat untuk memenangi 2 tiket perlawanan akhir pestabola merdeka antara malaysia dgn vietnam, sila ke sini:  Malaysia vs Vietnam Competition

tiket2 ini adalah tiket terbuka, boleh duduk di mana2 sahaja
why i can't register?
there is no pssword send to my email
sportsmalaysia
post Oct 25 2008, 01:16 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Great.CR7 @ Oct 24 2008, 06:26 PM)
why i can't register?
there is no pssword send to my email
pls pm us the username and email address used for registration. TQ
had_hc
post Oct 25 2008, 01:22 AM

26 posts

yeah.. rm10.. 845 pm in bukit jalil... atlesat wut's stated in sportsmalaysia.net.. neway, i saw in vietnam's football site sayin that the vietnam team is under 22..
wuteva r... bile lg nak dpt tgk msia maen dgn byk gol (from msia r).. haha!
Jom Gegar Bukit Jalil!!
adeas
post Oct 25 2008, 11:39 AM

460 posts

confirm rm 10...i see it at tv3(1/4) news
s3liparjepon
post Oct 25 2008, 11:44 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 24 2008, 04:04 PM)
tehn, that will be a good news.. btw, hope fully Kementerian Penerangan (RTM1) will play their role utk memartabatkan sukan kita.. sejak2menjak ni susah sangat la nak tgk siaran langsung.. org tgk bpl kat astro marah pulak.. bukan kata bola je.. badminton pun dah susah skrg ni.. hampeh!!
Serius beb. Dekat Malaysia ini lagi mudah menonton siaran langsung Liga Inggeris, Sepanyol dan Itali jika hendak dibandingkan dengan Liga Malaysia ataupun perlawanan yang melibatkan squad kebangsaan. Macam mana nak martabatkan bola kita jika media massa pun memainkan peranan mereka mempublisitikan pasukan asing? Mana FAM? Mana penaja penaja yang sanggup menaja pasukan asing? Mana mereka?
Blackened
post Oct 25 2008, 12:23 PM

1,068 posts

See you guys there tonight.

Today got open houses to attend to. Then I'm off to Bukit Jalil biggrin.gif
mamet
post Oct 25 2008, 12:52 PM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

there will be live telecast on RTM1..
but hey watch live is better than watch TV la of coz.. tongue.gif
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...TV&pg=rt_01.htm

sportsmalaysia
post Oct 25 2008, 01:22 PM

265 posts

hi all,

no matter what you follow be it EPL, La Liga, Serie A, sportsmalaysia.net hope that all who love sports/football will come to std nasional bukit jalil tonight to support our national players.

no matter if our world ranking is 50 or 200, it is our national team. we should support unconditionally.

play/support for pride, play/support for honor, play/support for Malaysia!

C U all at the stadium.

This post has been edited by sportsmalaysia: Oct 25 2008, 01:26 PM
3AngLeCake
post Oct 25 2008, 02:36 PM

43 posts

see all of u guy at bukit jalil tonight!!! support our local team!!
TSjohnjenin
post Oct 25 2008, 03:57 PM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

i am hoping that at least 20k crowd will be in bukit jalil. Averagely only around 5k supporters for every Malaysia game in Merdeka Cup tournament. With FAM slashing the ticket price from RM20 to RM10, Malaysian in KL and Selangor should take the opportunity.

Lots of respect goes to Selangor Football Fan Club (SSFC) and Harimau Malaya for the continuous support.
adeas
post Oct 25 2008, 05:13 PM

460 posts

get ready for final

billneedme
post Oct 25 2008, 06:03 PM

413 posts

do we hav holiday if won?? haha...
plokoon
post Oct 25 2008, 06:38 PM

Baek
753 posts

No holiday. But we might have one if we won the AFF Suzuki Cup in December.
HangPC2
post Oct 25 2008, 06:38 PM

408 posts

Please Join

http://www.harimaumalaya.com
alpha_mid
post Oct 25 2008, 06:44 PM

417 posts

haih, nak tgk tak dpt.. final exam da dekat.... huhuhu..

GD LUCK MALAYSIA !!!

Rocko
post Oct 25 2008, 09:35 PM

709 posts

so what's the score? any1 watching this? i cant stream for some odd reason
Chee
post Oct 25 2008, 10:19 PM

1,998 posts

is malaysian's player killing ppl or playing football? malaysia player is too violent....
Rocko
post Oct 25 2008, 11:17 PM

709 posts

so what's the final score?
gerrardinho
post Oct 25 2008, 11:37 PM

walk on with hope in your heart
1,119 posts

QUOTE(Rocko @ Oct 26 2008, 12:17 AM)
so what's the final score?
malaysia lost on penalties... blush.gif
faris21
post Oct 25 2008, 11:41 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

very frustrated,our man cant beat Vietnamese boys at home
gerrardinho
post Oct 25 2008, 11:42 PM

walk on with hope in your heart
1,119 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Oct 26 2008, 12:41 AM)
very frustrated,our man cant beat Vietnamese boys at home
we really should have won.. doh.gif
cipan2001
post Oct 25 2008, 11:42 PM

W.D -> Lecroy
611 posts

ish..ish.. so much on attack.. but lost penalty..malaysia malaysia

This post has been edited by cipan2001: Oct 25 2008, 11:43 PM
nazman
post Oct 25 2008, 11:44 PM

1,200 posts

nice pelnaty..i mean the fifth kick...
THE ZUL
post Oct 25 2008, 11:47 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

yea....we totally cant get thru viet def within 120 minutes...

nice penalty Daudsoo
sickx
post Oct 25 2008, 11:51 PM

:)
1,232 posts

mind u guys,it was vietnam B team.pathetic.really pathetic.
miccy
post Oct 25 2008, 11:51 PM

292 posts

nice penalty and great perfomance from daudsu, kudos to him.btw, vietnam shouldnt have played negatively just to won the match shakehead.gif
THE ZUL
post Oct 25 2008, 11:55 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

viet guys play like pondan..sentuh skit ..jatuh

we conquer almost 90% ball posession ....but it totally pointless....
faris21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:01 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Oct 25 2008, 11:44 PM)
nice penalty..i mean the fifth kick...
yeah,i also like that kick,it from Daudsu
but Hafiz`s kick doh.gif

AskarPerang
post Oct 26 2008, 12:02 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

A win is a win regardless whether you win it sportingly, cleanly or adventurously.
rEDs
post Oct 26 2008, 12:04 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

I was never proud with malaysian soccer team. Cheers for losing. Its normal.
Its not normal to win.

After all this is just a low grade tourney with low rank teams full of youth squad majorly.
Its normal to lose.

faris21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:04 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

~deleted~

This post has been edited by faris21: Oct 26 2008, 12:20 AM
rEDs
post Oct 26 2008, 12:10 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

our national player should take low salary and play for vietnam league for experience.
get to mix with other nationality. M-league next season so useless....just see how Kedah got whipped 7-1 in AFC
without Marlon & Co.

This post has been edited by rEDs: Oct 26 2008, 12:11 AM
v i n c
post Oct 26 2008, 01:57 AM

496 posts

MERDEKA!!!! KITA KALAH!!!!YEAH!!!
mizivincible
post Oct 26 2008, 02:36 AM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(v i n c @ Oct 26 2008, 01:57 AM)
MERDEKA!!!! KITA KALAH!!!!YEAH!!!
vincent, u watched the match ke ? Ahaha. But, disappointing too, dont you think, after few attacks yet couldnt find the net, and lost to Vietnam, AT HOME blush.gif
mamet
post Oct 26 2008, 05:14 AM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

Vietnames player = CR7 wannabe..
love to dive but good in penalty... tongue.gif
no offense... haha
vutsi
post Oct 26 2008, 08:58 AM

-+#***#[OO]#***#+-
747 posts

viet = divers...
knape khairyl muhaimin lambat masuk....
Duke Red
post Oct 26 2008, 09:19 AM

6,112 posts

Forget about ability. If you can train a monkey to dance, you can train a footballer to play. The root of our problem has always been about mentality. It's not limited to just football mind you. Take Hafiz Hisham for example. Once an All-England champion he is now ranked a lowly 34th in the world and has not passed the 2nd round of most tournaments since. Have you seen his body language on court? He lacks mental toughness and even Misbun admitted this.

Our footballers are spoilt brats that cannot take tough training regiments. Foreign coaches have pointed this out and maybe this is why we only have local coaches now. Even Rexy Mainaky in badminton said this of our national players. We don't even have a strict diet which affects fitness levels. Mental strength is key.

In my opinion, going all local again is the wrong way to move forward. We clearly do not have the expertise to nurture top class talent and when we do, we have no idea how to build a well drilled football team. Only because of pride do we not want to admit this.
jeff_v2
post Oct 26 2008, 11:04 AM

965 posts

typical M'sian sports...
lost in the last hurdle...
Blackened
post Oct 26 2008, 01:18 PM

1,068 posts

WTF was the coach thinking bringing out Hardi.
and who the feck is no 30. MAIN MACAM NAK TAK NAK JE.

feel like wanna falcon punch him mad.gif
Rocko
post Oct 27 2008, 03:35 PM

709 posts

shame to lose.. and as expected the malaysia bashing part i predicted did occur. well they've got their chances to show us something, but that never happened. still long way to go for a better malaysian team. i hope with the no import rules, things are not going for much worse. it's sad coz just when the league is starting to generate back some interest among the local fans to the local league and this decision occurs (albeit with the kedah's dominance)

some clips from the tournament.
http://au.youtube.com/Pakcumie

btw, it's vr clear the instruction the viet's coach to his players were. waste time whenever u have the opportunity. i'm just wondering what's ref's power to curb this sorta things. it's really embarassing to think u nid to resort to this kinda tactics to win. idc if u say, a win is a win dun matter how u do it, but personally i dun wanna win using this short-hand tactics. and this is a final match. doh.gif
SPASTICZ
post Oct 28 2008, 12:25 PM

889 posts

ha. msian lost in the penalty. smile.gif
Duke Red
post Oct 28 2008, 03:51 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rocko @ Oct 27 2008, 03:35 PM)
shame to lose.. and as expected the malaysia bashing part i predicted did occur.
The bashing began way before this tournament and rightly so. Respect is earned, not given.
koolspyda
post Oct 28 2008, 04:18 PM

222 posts

i watched the game on telly at bangsar. (surprise??!!) many friends wanted to watched BPL instead but we gave in to 2 local chaps. (to them BPL is huh??)

we were expected to have a goal feast with vietnam (judging by comments on telly & the thrashing of the other team(s) that graced the merdeka tournament.

i miss the ole merdeka tournaments (singapore, indonesia, korea etc)

Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 28 2008, 04:20 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 26 2008, 09:19 AM)
Forget about ability. If you can train a monkey to dance, you can train a footballer to play. The root of our problem has always been about mentality. It's not limited to just football mind you. Take Hafiz Hisham for example. Once an All-England champion he is now ranked a lowly 34th in the world and has not passed the 2nd round of most tournaments since. Have you seen his body language on court? He lacks mental toughness and even Misbun admitted this.

Our footballers are spoilt brats that cannot take tough training regiments. Foreign coaches have pointed this out and maybe this is why we only have local coaches now. Even Rexy Mainaky in badminton said this of our national players. We don't even have a strict diet which affects fitness levels. Mental strength is key.

In my opinion, going all local again is the wrong way to move forward. We clearly do not have the expertise to nurture top class talent and when we do, we have no idea how to build a well drilled football team. Only because of pride do we not want to admit this.
This weak mentalitity problem is becoming a never ending problem of our players.. take last beijing olympic.. heard that one of our bower is rank 2 in the world. but again weak mentality become his problem..

The only and only one sportsman/woman i ever known has strong mentality is Dato' Nicol David.. she is for sure one of a kind... at least among our sportsman.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Duke Red
post Oct 28 2008, 04:30 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 28 2008, 04:20 PM)
This weak mentalitity problem is becoming a never ending problem of our players.. take last beijing olympic.. heard that one of our bower is rank 2 in the world. but again weak mentality become his problem..

The only and only one sportsman/woman i ever known has strong mentality is Dato' Nicol David.. she is for sure one of a kind... at least among our sportsman..  icon_rolleyes.gif
So the question becomes, how can we induce discipline into our players, and how can we help them develop strong mental strength? You have to take them out of the country, I firmly believe in this. However, take those that want to and not those that are forced to. Akmal Rizal in his prime was a good player and I'll bet my last dollar it's because of this stint abroad. He like 2 of his other colleagues however could not adapt to life overseas and got homesick. Instead of following in the footsteps of Titus James (follow his progress here: http://titusjames.blogspot.com/) who is playing for FC Villenoy in the French League, they decided to come back to play for world renowned clubs like Pahang and Selangor in one of the most prestigious leagues in the world. Come on? No politics involved here? You reckon no good players want the same opportunity? There isn't someone else that wants to emulate Titus James Palani?

Nicol David herself trained overseas. It's not a big secret.
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 28 2008, 04:37 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

Yes.. have to agree on that.. even Josiah Ng, Alex Lim Keng Liat all training overseas.. Btw, i thought Titus James Palani now still finding a club to play.. he has no club atm.. thats what i have heard from the news regarding a recall from Sathianathan for him to join the National team last Merdeka Cup..

Is that u suggest that the cancellation of what we call that..some thing like Institut Latihan Sukan Berprestasi Tinggi planned to built at england was the sad news?? Maybe its can actually provide good athlete for us.. but the cost is such a bomb.. fuh
Duke Red
post Oct 28 2008, 04:53 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 28 2008, 04:37 PM)
Yes.. have to agree on that.. even Josiah Ng, Alex Lim Keng Liat all training overseas.. Btw, i thought Titus James Palani now still finding a club to play.. he has no club atm.. thats what i have heard from the news regarding a recall from Sathianathan for him to join the National team last Merdeka Cup..

He is? I didn't know that. It's really hard to find any news on him and being a Malaysian who managed to play for a French team, I would have thought that he'd be in the news more often. Are we not proud of him? Same goes for Lim Teong Kim who last I heard was the Assistant Coach of the Bayern Munich U-19 side and has been there for the past 9 years! Why hasn't be been in the news more often? Are Bayern Munich not a big enough club?

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 28 2008, 04:37 PM)
Is that u suggest that the cancellation of what we call that..some thing like Institut Latihan Sukan Berprestasi Tinggi planned to built at england was the sad news?? Maybe its can actually provide good athlete for us.. but the cost is such a bomb.. fuh
To be honest I thought the sports centre was a waste of money. It's not like we have enough people to fill up the entire academy. I think long term training stints is the way to go. Not long ago Nicol David had to pay for her own training. Karamjit Singh still has problems looking for sponsors! What the hell is the Sports Ministry doing? Why do they keep pumping funds into football especially when the standard keeps declining. Hmm pump millions into football and we've steadily descended down the world rankings. Don't fund deserving people and they make a name for themselves. Where is the logic? Doesn't take a genius to figure out that the funds are being misused.
whoopa
post Oct 28 2008, 05:01 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

lol the sports ministry need to feed their cronies no time for sports ... u know those huge sport centers dun build themselves hahahaha ...

they limit foreigners in our league because we sucked so badly lulz ...

i gave up hope watching malaysian football .. saw once a highlight of local league ... saw a striker beat the offside trap .. guess what the defenders did .. stood there watching hahhaha doh.gif
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 28 2008, 05:05 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

Yes.. i have heard that news just before merdeka cup start kicking.. Btw, i also feel weird why is that Lim Teong Kim is not appeared in our news often.. he is so excellent but yet not we all malaysian hardly notice it. I bet they will like what?? Lim Teong Kim?? Who's that? Sigh..

Maybe we dont need that sport centre, we only need a focus from Sports Ministry to pay some attention on the sports that we got much poptential.. such as badminton/squash/lawn ball/bow/cycling.. not the sports that we r for sure not success at..

I like the idea of 1 COUNTRY 1 SPORT.. i mean 1 country with one sport they have full control at.. eg South Korea (Bow)... at least lah..

Duke Red
post Oct 28 2008, 05:15 PM

6,112 posts

I just cannot help but be baffled at the new ruling to do away with foreign players (yet again mind you). We clearly need more foreign input if anything. The world is becoming a borderless place while we are putting up a wall once again, claiming that foreign influece is the root of our problems? Why are we going backward? Ok so we do away with foreign players and hope that the blind can lead the blind. If our local lads were all that good, how come no other league seems to want them? When was the last time a local coach was sought after by a foreign team?
Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 28 2008, 10:09 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

yes dude.. we are going backward indeed.. even, we actually go backward, then forward, backward.. forward and now backward.. sigh..

Just like i said last time.. as long as there is Persatuan Bola Sepak Rembau.. we cannot see any bright future from our football.
SPASTICZ
post Oct 29 2008, 09:59 AM

889 posts

i dun see they goin forward. all i saw is backward all the time.
Ichighost
post Oct 29 2008, 10:54 PM

358 posts

The best malaysian player for me at the final was...Daudsu..that all..nice overlap..and penalty..
MariMo
post Oct 30 2008, 02:43 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

hahaha this is damn funny man. we lost our cup , our bm named cup " merdeka " what the heck?
ahnien
post Oct 31 2008, 03:26 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

lol..... the game against vietnam was quite... unlucky gua...

i saw the game. we took control of the game from the starting minute till the end of extra time.

but vietnam defended nicely....
n somehow.... our offense is kinda dunno shud say unlucky or INEFFECTIVE.

the penalty is a bit bout luck la.
overall, i think our keeper dint handle the penalty well.
while the vietnam keeper kinda try harder to block all the penalties. n finally he saved 1.....
gry
post Oct 31 2008, 05:19 AM

Red Warriors
780 posts

Vietnam already showing that they want to defence and want to settle the game through penalty but i dont understand why our coach still want our player to cross the ball even though there are 6 or 7 player in penalty box.

Apis_LuaLua
post Oct 31 2008, 09:51 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

i m confused here.. i thought that is one way to break up to the opponents penalty box if they did park the bus in front of goal.. with such numbers of defenders.. u expect our player to making a pass?? they are not scholes/anderson/fletcher dude.. hehe.. sory.. biased here.
Ichighost
post Oct 31 2008, 08:52 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Oct 31 2008, 10:51 AM)
i m confused here.. i thought that is one way to break up to the opponents penalty box if they did park the bus in front of goal.. with such numbers of defenders.. u expect our player to making a pass?? they are not scholes/anderson/fletcher dude.. hehe.. sory.. biased here.
agreed...hahhaha but still for me...get a international overseas...coach and our local become the asst.coach...learn from them...then take over lah...after that...
hasique
post Nov 6 2008, 03:24 PM

88 posts

haiyaa..
xkesah maa lost penalty...
d main thing is our playing style is more offensive
than before..
we used to play defensive style before..
anyway gudluck malaysia
for d coming suzuki cup rclxm9.gif

0.0761sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:03 PM