Runnerz... #2

d3vilzzzz
post Jun 24 2009, 08:37 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jun 24 2009, 06:53 AM)
just take it easy man...dont take it too seriously, when the race starts go with the flow...rely on your own pace it'll carry you through the distance sure can finish!!
Seriously forget about carboloading if your doing 5 or 10KM, there are even races in Penang where they dont provide water for 10km runs, which im sure there will be for SCKLM, and i personally dont even carbo load for 21km's just take a sip of water and banana before the start my long run,

as for your PowerBar yes, definitely it helps as it replenishes energy to your muscles, there's not only Powerbar infact some of us here take other brands as well like Weider IN but to put it simple terms yes it all works depends on individual which one give's them that extra energy to go longer ...
So without carbo loading..wat is ur pb for a half or full?

n sorry ppl.. 10km is nt a marathon.. a marathon is 42.2km icon_idea.gif
more abt the history, stories and definition of a marathon here icon_rolleyes.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 24 2009, 12:12 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(marvinct @ Jun 24 2009, 09:53 AM)
10km is a quarter marathon.
anyway ppl who finish an ironman are called ironman, but techinically and based on history only the winner is called ironman. so guess no harm calling a 10km finisher a marathoner? or maybe a quarter marathoner?
Only the winner is the ironman? Realli hmm.gif me tots all finishers are ironman..
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 25 2009, 12:18 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jun 24 2009, 05:05 PM)
Collect it & go sell to that guy who wanted to pay RM160 for a bib...

Parking wise, I think I'ma park at Masjid Negara la, c how la. I hope I won't be late again, I was late for Larian Bomba & Setia Alam....

Target for this race (10K) : break 1 hour...  thumbup.gif
I am sure you will break the 1hr barrier laugh.gif

QUOTE(kenken @ Jun 24 2009, 05:53 PM)
thanks for the info guys as i m new to the running scene smile.gif a quarter marathoner sounds odd haha. i guess i shall call myself a runner/jogger then!  peace out! biggrin.gif have fun training people!
Work towards becoming a full fledged marathoner thumbup.gif
thats what i m doing tongue.gif
as of nw i m a half marathoner icon_idea.gif

O btw, keep the buying and selling bare minimal in the thread as this isn't exactly the place to do it.. there is the Garage Sale section..
We want be in the good books of the moderators here tongue.gif

Discussions are fine and besides you can use your "private messaging" feature rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jun 25 2009, 12:20 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 25 2009, 09:14 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Heys,

me planning to do just that laugh.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 25 2009, 03:14 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 25 2009, 10:14 AM)
any runner using polar F series HRM?..need to know whether you are on the wearlink 31 transmitter..and how long your battery can last...
hmm.gif me dun tink so..nt here.. lotsa Garmin, Suunto, Timex though tongue.gif

Heys,

Gt a real stupid ques.. what are the starting times again for the full and halves?

d3vilzzzz
post Jun 25 2009, 03:50 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

oOo..

4am latest muz b there edi even though me running half tongue.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 26 2009, 09:52 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(shahwan86 @ Jun 25 2009, 04:00 PM)
What's your target time??? Are you aiming for any top 10 finishes?  drool.gif
Bro,
I just started running and considering the n0. of pros in my category sad.gif
i aim for top 100? haha
Target time? hmm.gif may just be running slowly with some mates laugh.gif

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 25 2009, 04:10 PM)
I'm seriously worried man

I'm trying to leave my house bt 3.15am or so coz i'm picking 2 friends from kelana jaya

hopefully can reach there before 4.

Added on June 25, 2009, 4:11 pmoh btw, I REALLY REALLY hope the cramps dont come

tongue.gif ok la.I TRY to be faster than my 1st 21KM LOL 3 hours 52 sec tongue.gif
KJ to LG/ Pdg Merbok, DM shud be okies mer..

I am sure u will clock a better time! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(marvinct @ Jun 25 2009, 08:14 PM)
wah why so early???
Come and support you all la..
As you knw byk me kaki including u, all running full ma tongue.gif

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 26 2009, 09:41 AM)
OH MY GOD

This is not part of  my plan!!!!!!

My sister is in labour now, my parents are coming back later by afternoon/evening! Hopefully my dad will be occupied when the baby is out!.

He doesn't know I'm running a half marathon on Sunday. He told me not to run before this because of Swine flu. Shit. This is not good.

icon_question.gif  Argh Hope for the best! AKU NAK LARI!!!!!
Chill Chill cool.gif hang in there !!
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 26 2009, 01:40 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Nvm you good boy.. filial piety is lacking in the Gen y kids haha laugh.gif

@shahwan86
shudn't b a prb brows.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 27 2009, 06:19 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(marvinct @ Jun 26 2009, 04:14 PM)
Devlizzz: thanks for coming to support hahaha.

Just collected my bibs, will be running in 888.... haha nice number?
No prbs bro!! laugh.gif
Jumpa u ALL esok!

Lucky n0. = good timing for first marathon!

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 26 2009, 04:42 PM)
Yeah man! My run will be dedicated to my niece tongue.gif

Last year my 1st half marathon was dedicated to my late Godfather.

Now, its the arrival of my niece !  rclxms.gif  flex.gif
Cham ler...collecting bib tomorrow. hopefully it will go on smoothly. My transformer movie is at 2pm
Great to hear you be able to run!
I do hope u hv a good run!

QUOTE(jack208 @ Jun 26 2009, 06:40 PM)
haha.. u are lucky also. I've four runners who are without bibs. Two of them have their race pack (ie bag + vest) but no tag/bib. Waiting for SCKLM ppl to revert.

The other two of them were not even given their race pack coz the guy there said if there's no tag number, you come back to collect your full set tomolo!!! And they waited 4 hrs plus the sys down around 4pm!!!  rclxub.gif
Just wondering, would by any chance be jack tan?

QUOTE(wyyew @ Jun 26 2009, 10:29 PM)
hi all , during that day . does it need any registration again or just wait for the call from them?? first timer , hope wont miss anythings..
Nt too sure my self..
whatever it is jz arrive early and u b safe!

QUOTE(iceiscool @ Jun 27 2009, 10:15 AM)
iDear runnerz...need some advice here. I do not get confirmation email and when I check my status at website, cant trace my ic number!!I pay at Stan Chard bank last time. What should i do? i still keep the receipt
What is your situation nw?
Did you speak to the running authorities?

BIB COLLECTION

Hi all!

My experience!

I went to DM to collect my stuff oni today at around 12pm++ tongue.gif
The place was so so EMPTY!! I expected more of a crowd..

Just like you all I encountered prbs..
I was informed that a "Jack Tan" collected my bib on my behalf with an AUTHORIZATION letter!!

The issue was resolved with me given a diff bib no. laugh.gif
My initial bib no. was actually for the "ELITE" category..
I had a dude then with "access to all runner records" ammend the initial bib no. I was given..

Apparently there was MAJOR CHAOS yest according to one of the volunteers there..
eg wrong vest size, com sys crashing, mix up records

Till the next time i m seen here, G LUCK ALL RUNNERS thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jun 29 2009, 08:00 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 08:12 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

MY EXPERIENCE

I ran the half marathon..
I arrived at DM around 3++ though as i was afraid i may nt be able to find a good parking spot..
And the nite before I slept only around 12.30pm sad.gif nt bcoz i was partying or nt bcoz i din respect the run but coz a very close relative held his wedding dinner..

I slept in me car for abt an hr and then went to see the full marathoners take off laugh.gif
I managed oni to spot pm1 and nt marvin, ccube and the rest, I hwever managed to see SAMUEL WANJIRU!! starstruck.jpg
It was raining at that point in time..
Me then went bk to me car to sleep another hr, and hv me power bar before MY START!

I started the race at the bk of the pack which was nt so good for me timing as according to the RUNNERZ GUIDE BOOK given, timing is recorded base on gun off time!!
I have nvr seen so many ppl run a half before
It was close to 3 minutes before me turn to reach the start line..
Having cross the start line, I ran at a real delicious pace..I overtook many by running on the pavements where ever possible..
My pace was great (Just a gut feeling as though I was wearing a watch me forgot to start it blush.gif ) as those I overtook didn't overtake me bk..
I saw 10km twice! the first for the marathoners and the on the road in spray 10/21 -no big markers
My pace hwever had to REALLI REALLI slow dwn when the route merged with the 10k runners route!
There were just so many ppl!! I can safely say all of them were practically walking tongue.gif Don't talk abt weaving in and out as it was close to impossible..
The good thing though LOTSA EYE CANDY

However around the 16/17 km i could feel pains in me pain like under me lungs and in me tummy (nt the stich kind though).. i had to result to cadence running till the finish line and open my stride again only in the last 200m, couldn't take advantage of the dwnhills..No power gels taken and oni 1 cup of water along the way..

I completed the run according to gun off time in 1'50 but I would guess it should be a 1'47 run but the again if the route didn't merge with the 10k route I could hv ran a 1'45 and 1'44..
Mebbe i shudn't start at the bk anymore sad.gif

A few things bummed me out:
1. Merging of routes
2. Lack of distance markers despite the guide book saying markers being available every KM
3. Being unable to depend on available markers as color codes were diff -markers seem to be oni for the marathoners
5. Seeing reebok the main sponsor packing up around 4hrs into the marathon
5. Lack of water stations for the full marathoners
6. Insufficient support for marathoners after 6hrs

Well, another race completed thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jun 29 2009, 08:33 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 10:09 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jun 29 2009, 09:16 AM)
Ishh... betul ke devilzzz ? No paper said that he'll be here, they gave publicity to somebody else...
hmm.gif the elite runners were given names instead of bib no.
I defnitely the words "WANJIRU"

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Jun 29 2009, 09:55 AM)
KLCC @ 22.5k and KLCCC @ 25k - Emptied bottles. If it was a tad earlier, I would have drank from the Convention Centre's fountain.

20k, 27.5k, 30k, 32.5k, 35k, 39.5k - Stations gone. Go figure!

Why I am so bising? Well.. I am not a serious runner like most members in this thread. You guys are fast and furious. I was in it just for fun and to challenge myself. Therefore, I was hoping for fun and excitement. You know, like doing "it" for the first time. But I didn't get that.
Many runnerz sought for their water source.
Eg. buy frm mamak and 7 -11

Don't let this dampen ur spirits..
It is of no doubt that the organizers were terrible in this race/ event..
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 10:26 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 29 2009, 10:15 AM)
I guess it was lack of training. Although cramps hit me slightly, I manage to utilize my quads more for running..Could have done a better timing if I had trained harder and earlier.

but really kena super cramp right before the finishing line. Aih. myself to blame. I guess I should have read more about running stuff.

Thank God for the senior runners here. Really know how to help me with my cramps wei. He pressed my right leg where it was swollen...near above the knee cap.. $%^#$%#@$@# farking painful.

Like I said tongue.gif I would finish it even though i have to limp. I walked with my left leg and dragged my right leg side ways. damn malu sial.

Seriously wonder how the last picture is gonna turn out LOL
Most important is the FINISH.. U FINISHED! laugh.gif thumbup.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 10:32 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 29 2009, 10:26 AM)
@hanjo55
I was actually tempted to drink from the sponge pail but that would be too gross - picked up leftover bottles intead.. whatever that I can find by the roadside left by previous runners. Hopefully you didnt have to run @ Jalan Istana / Mahameru without the cones - that would be a disaster.

@d3vilzzzz
Most of them didnt bring money. I even had to take donation from another runner. I finally found her on FB - gonna have to belanja her makan or something biggrin.gif
Wow..
Guys you defnitely are nt the only ones dissapointed..

Source:here -NST online
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 10:36 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 29 2009, 10:32 AM)
well from what i heard from my colleague who went to SG run before, SG t-shirt collection is DAMM efficient than this...

and the medal collection totally sucks big time.. writing down ur name manually?! WTF where's the technology???
Which indirectly translates too.. hw do they knw if one has finished the run?
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 12:27 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

@ccube

You could also copy and paste -the feedbacks frm here smile.gif

@rukawa
How long is later? More then 6 hrs?
They cud hv been more discrete..they actually said they lost the medals?
wow

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jun 29 2009, 12:33 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 29 2009, 12:50 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jun 29 2009, 12:48 PM)
devil, better for u all to do the cut n paste from the contributor themselves, otherwise i may be seen as instigating it or trying to sabo.
I see, i understand wokies..

OKIES ppl u heard the man, please voice ur opnions out! ccube has provided you with the space!!
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 1 2009, 09:51 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Harlo all!

Congrats to all laugh.gif

Bad news for me though as my bib no. was change because of a series of events and I vaguely remember my bib no. tongue.gif but when i checked for 0091, my name came up.. informing me i completed the race in 2hrs 45mins sad.gif

@ccube
whereabouts do i go complain?

d3vilzzzz
post Jul 1 2009, 11:07 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

DaMN!

Great to hear thumbup.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 1 2009, 01:08 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Jul 1 2009, 12:12 PM)
Net Start: 06:58:05 Category: 10k Run 10km
Net Time: 01:24:32 Position: 1497
Finish Timing: 01:24:32.00

first time doing 10K
want to aim below 1hr by end of this year.. possible?
i ran with jazz 12.. knee couldn't take the impact and was hurting towards the end.
what's the problem actually? not enough training kah?
Hey,

do u run regularly?
hw long hv u been running?

knee pains realli are a contribution of many factors; nt enough training is one of them
rest assured though the Jazz12 is a shoe with GREAT cushioning..

WOW tongue.gif lotsa 10km runners here
If u ppl train on a regular basis i m sure u all will go below the 1hr mark
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 1 2009, 02:28 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Harlo..

hmm.gif i dunno la.. imagine if my cert says i completed me race in 2'45 sad.gif shy liao tongue.gif

btw.. running dis sat? reverse dh as per ccube wishes laugh.gif

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0513sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:44 PM