4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Wanting to get new x360. How's the new system?

TSAesthete
post Oct 5 2008, 04:03 PM, updated 18y ago

i just realized i cant live without xbox now that star wars is out, fable, fallout, gears of war and saints row all on the way.. i was wondering whats the price like nowdays without the controllers, hardisk, cables?, thats the arcade package right? but i read it comes with a controller..i tak mau...whats the most minimum i can get and the price of that?

Also, hows the new system like was it jasper or falcon? the trauma that damn 3rod has caused me i tell you..is it like 30% chance of getting 3rod or something now? i wud still buy if the price is right.. im so deprived..any help wud be great..thanks..
Gsharpmajor
post Oct 5 2008, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(Aesthete @ Oct 5 2008, 04:03 PM)
i just realized i cant live without xbox now that star wars is out, fable, fallout, gears of war and saints row all on the way.. i was wondering whats the price like nowdays without the controllers, hardisk, cables?, thats the arcade package right? but i read it comes with a controller..i tak mau...whats the most minimum i can get and the price of that?

Also, hows the new system like was it jasper or falcon? the trauma that damn 3rod has caused me i tell you..is it like 30% chance of getting 3rod or something now? i wud still buy if the price is right.. im so deprived..any help wud be great..thanks..
you should cheak out wat most gamers are talking about on the new falcon chip at gamespot.com/xbox360forum. I'd say most newly income of xbox360 comes with it and has no 3rrod...YET.
revived_irfan
post Oct 5 2008, 08:17 PM

71 posts

The barest package would be Xbox 360 Arcade, which essentially a package with one controller (wireless if i'm not mistaken), a normal AV cable (without component output), a memory card instead of harddrive, and some arcade games packaged with it. It is based Falcon chipset though, just like other 360s right now.
odan
post Oct 6 2008, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(Gsharpmajor @ Oct 5 2008, 05:10 PM)
you should cheak out wat most gamers are talking about on the new falcon chip at gamespot.com/xbox360forum. I'd say most newly income of xbox360 comes with it and has no 3rrod...YET.
Even Falcon set may hit 3rod. At least mine did after 8 months of usage and I am not even a heavy gamer. I read that some others had it too.
ericpires
post Oct 6 2008, 03:31 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Xbox 360 really problematic huh? Don't know why Microsoft even release it when its faulty. tongue.gif
technophile
post Oct 6 2008, 05:09 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Oct 6 2008, 03:31 PM)
Xbox 360 really problematic huh? Don't know why Microsoft even release it when its faulty. tongue.gif
it's called a "software company's mentality", i.e : fix it after release.
i hope they already learnt their lesson for the next xbox.

but quite good la they are willing to fork out money to back up their mistakes, unlike some other company (cough : sony)
nazseha
post Oct 6 2008, 05:28 PM

Ownez with DualShock 3.
2,231 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Oct 6 2008, 05:09 PM)
it's called a "software company's mentality", i.e : fix it after release.
i hope they already learnt their lesson for the next xbox.

but quite good la they are willing to fork out money to back up their mistakes, unlike some other company (cough : sony)
erm..like wat?got any example? hehe... smile.gif
technophile
post Oct 6 2008, 06:09 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ Oct 6 2008, 05:28 PM)
erm..like wat?got any example? hehe... smile.gif
from the era of ps1 till now, have you not heard about their machine's lens problem?
thing is, sony will never admit that mistake.

TSAesthete
post Oct 6 2008, 06:28 PM

i checked out the forum at gamespot most of the people with falcon seemed to be fine..tho most of them only had it a few of months..when did falcon release i thought there was one being released end of august or early sept? which is that? how much do u guys think the minimum set of the falcon will cost ah? i think that will have to do..its not like their making another new system which is 3rod free right? or are they?

btw, i thought Microsoft didnt admit the mistake?

Odan, did u manage to fix your 3rod problem? 8 months is messed up wei.. i bought my 1st one when it 1st came out and it lasted more than a year..
technophile
post Oct 6 2008, 06:30 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(Aesthete @ Oct 6 2008, 06:28 PM)
i checked out the forum at gamespot most of the people with falcon seemed to be fine..tho most of them only had it a few of months..when did falcon release i thought there was one being released end of august or early sept? which is that? how much do u guys think the minimum set of the falcon will cost ah? i think that will have to do..its not like their making another new system which is 3rod free right? or are they?

btw, i thought Microsoft didnt admit the mistake?

Odan, did u manage to fix your 3rod problem? 8 months is messed up wei.. i bought my 1st one when it 1st came out and it lasted more than a year..
when a company publicly came out with a statement that they are plunking 3 million USD for repairs, that shows that they are admitting to their mistakes.
_skeevs
post Oct 6 2008, 10:12 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(odan @ Oct 6 2008, 12:45 PM)
Even Falcon set may hit 3rod. At least mine did after 8 months of usage and I am not even a heavy gamer. I read that some others had it too.
You were sure u had a falcon unit ? And which error code was it ? GPU error, or something else ?
odan
post Oct 7 2008, 10:20 AM

yeah, it's a falcon set. i did the xclamp replacement so i am sure of this.

it was 3rod at first.. can't remember the secondary error code but it's gpu related. it's e74 now but still playable. i am running it "open" box now, with the dvd drive moved outside the case and a usb fan blowing at the gpu. the heat doesn't seems so bad so maybe it's due to a manufacturing defect.

in any case, i would still get an xbox360 over a ps3.
ZZR-Pilot
post Oct 7 2008, 10:36 AM

1,057 posts

I refuse to buy a defective product that was intentionally rolled out with a known design flaw, just to spite Sony and beat it to the punch.

Waiting until they release the real Xbox360, which is Jasper.

But does anybody know what the hell happened to Jasper?

It was supposed to be out late August.

Now already freakin' October, still not a pip squeak whatsoever.

Microsoft's vapourware, ah?

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Oct 7 2008, 10:39 AM
deodorant
post Oct 7 2008, 03:34 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 7 2008, 10:36 AM)
I refuse to buy a defective product that was intentionally rolled out with a known design flaw,
Meh, there's a 3-year warranty so it's not really that big a deal ... for countries which M$ supports the 'Box of course. For us we get shafted cos we gotta go SG to claim =\
odan
post Oct 7 2008, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 7 2008, 10:36 AM)
I refuse to buy a defective product that was intentionally rolled out with a known design flaw, just to spite Sony and beat it to the punch.

Waiting until they release the real Xbox360, which is Jasper.
But does anybody know what the hell happened to Jasper?

It was supposed to be out late August.

Now already freakin' October, still not a pip squeak whatsoever.
Microsoft's vapourware, ah?
The main difference between falcon and jasper is the 65nm cpu. the heat problem is primarily caused by the gpu so not sure how much it will help.
TSAesthete
post Oct 7 2008, 03:46 PM

yeah i was aiming to get jasper too..isnt it out yet? i guess just check the manufactured date lah...any xbox manufactured from september onwards should be jasper..no?
gundamalpha
post Oct 7 2008, 03:48 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(odan @ Oct 7 2008, 03:36 PM)
The main difference between falcon and jasper is the 65nm cpu. the heat problem is primarily caused by the gpu so not sure how much it will help.
Err no, Falcon comes with 65nm CPU and 90nm GPU, Jasper supposed to have both GPU & CPU at 65nm
ffrulz
post Oct 7 2008, 03:52 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

QUOTE(Aesthete @ Oct 7 2008, 03:46 PM)
yeah i was aiming to get jasper too..isnt it out yet? i guess just check the manufactured date lah...any xbox manufactured from september onwards should be jasper..no?
No, the latest ones are around LOT# 837 and they are still falcons.
odan
post Oct 7 2008, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 7 2008, 03:48 PM)
Err no, Falcon comes with 65nm CPU and 90nm GPU, Jasper supposed to have both GPU & CPU at 65nm
oh yeah. my mistake. in that case jasper is worth waiting for. thanks for pointing this out.

This post has been edited by odan: Oct 7 2008, 04:27 PM
TSAesthete
post Oct 7 2008, 06:16 PM

oh man..its already october..how long must thy children wait for jasper...but can anyone tell me the arcade price atleast i'll know if my budget is enough and ease my mind...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:13 PM