21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V7<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Feb 13 2009, 02:57 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@colinwong89
Haha.. Uncle google told me about that. In need, WD are running their HDD in few different line stream for different usuage. Pay a visit on WD side u will noticed there were Blue, Green and Black series. Blue are the standard type, where green is for storage purpose while and black is for performance.

Forgot where I read the article already.. It was months ago I read it before i make my purchase. tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 13 2009, 03:36 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Bro Highest ATI x19 series for AGP is 1950PRO if im not mistaken. Even P4 been OC to 3.8Gh i think the bottleneck gap still big. sweat.gif Somebody tried before with pairing P4 3.2/3.0 with 8800GT/S.. The score is like shit! tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 14 2009, 12:17 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Feb 13 2009, 11:07 PM)
thats cheap,bro....  drool.gif
btw, 640GB is Sata or IDE?  hmm.gif
now day IDE HDD gettin more expensive than b4.  doh.gif
Bro, its a SATA II drive. brows.gif Will post the performance chart 2mrw when i done "RENOVATE" my rigs. laugh.gif
fylon
post Feb 14 2009, 10:02 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ray
Haha.. That is our local Sarawakian BM. tongue.gif Sik = dont!

@dlwl
I aim for storage rather then performance. Am using the WD 640GB Green. laugh.gif Still setting up my rigs, only can post the benchmark after I finish my renovating.

@Jcsy
Haha.. Ur Presscott easy to OC la.. Pump FSB nia. tongue.gif Btw, ur proc atleast can do FSB230 on default vcore. But i think need to up vdimm.

This post has been edited by fylon: Feb 14 2009, 10:07 AM
fylon
post Feb 14 2009, 05:39 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin

Bila ur i7 reached ur hand?? brows.gif
fylon
post Feb 15 2009, 09:01 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
Eh? Hahah.. I thought u dont really care about the temperature thing? tongue.gif Anyways, if dont have good cooling.. Better stick to stock lo. Else ... brows.gif
fylon
post Feb 15 2009, 01:44 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
Probably not ur mobo, Presscott atleast can do FSB230 with slidely abit of vcore & loosen the ram timing. Probably ur proc kenot tahan the heat. sweat.gif
fylon
post Feb 16 2009, 12:00 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Reduced ur ram timing to the loosen one. 3-3-3-8 /3-4-4-8 and try. Guess ur mobo should be clockable type. laugh.gif Unless ur the "lucky" one which picked a Prescott that cannot be clock. tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 16 2009, 09:21 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
Haha.. Are u going for super P1i bench? 3Dmark bench? Or wadeva bench it is? If no then just lower down the ram timing. Would effect much. The tighten the timing was, the more responsive the PC was. But draw back is, it will hold ur back from OC to high speed.

FYI, Intel chip platform prefer high bandwidth rather then tighten timing (but is vice versa for AMD).

P/s: I bet ur proc can go even higher then ur current OC result. At least at 3.6Ghz. My previous 3.0 can goes as high as 3.8xGh.. with 3-3-3-6 paired with TCCD. brows.gif But the other 3.2 slightly a abit low, mange dig out max 4.xGh.
fylon
post Feb 16 2009, 05:22 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Feb 16 2009, 01:38 PM)
tightening of RAM should be the problem as this RAM has always been with me , since 2.4C and my 3.0E biggrin.gif
tightening RAM timing would mean that i would need to increase or decrease the number?
my concern is - any side effects, i dont want 2 spoil my rig actually since its fine tongue.gif
my current timings >
A-512 - 3.0, 3, 3, 8, 2.5V
B-1024 - 3.0, 3, 3, 8, 2.5V
C-512 - 2.5, 4, 4, 8, 2.5V
D-1024 - 3.0, 3, 3, 8, 2.5V
lol RAM C alien abit
so i have 2 tighten all the RAMs, right ?
Haha.. Nothing is weird as ur using mixtured value ram. If me, i would just set all the setting to 3-3-3-8 for the ease of ram crash with timing durning OC.

Tighten = smaller number
Loosen = bigger number
fylon
post Feb 17 2009, 12:20 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Yea. Of cause it is bios based man. Time to play around with it. laugh.gif

P/s: Playing Gears of War with my current spec, the feeling is just like "WOW"! Haha.. Setting are all on maximum.. lust.gif
fylon
post Feb 17 2009, 09:38 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
O/T: Feel like to grab an used Xbox controller eh! The game is good but the control part suck as if ur using keyboard & mouse. LOL.

FYI, I move for quite a long long time liao.. But P4 still one of the best platform that I ever had.
fylon
post Feb 17 2009, 10:53 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin
Didnt manage to finish the game? Its a nice game dont it.. tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 17 2009, 11:06 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy

M & KB is always good for FPS game man.. The accuracy & precision of shooting can be adjusted. But nevertheless, controller still good in some games like racing. Haha.. At least all the button are near to each other, easy to press and no ghosting like what KB have.

P/s: Wah.. OT liao! laugh.gif
fylon
post Feb 18 2009, 09:00 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Klemann C
Sounds serious bro.. Hot flash is risky eh. Have u found the other mobo which is compatible with urs? Btw, what u had done? sweat.gif
fylon
post Feb 18 2009, 01:07 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@dlwl
FYI.. Hot flash is the last resort of saving the corrupted bios chip / wrongly flashed bios chip. A super risky task. laugh.gif

Usually works for older version of mobo which the bios chip is not soldered on the board. For how it works, google it. tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 18 2009, 10:28 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@dlwl
What had u found out bro? brows.gif

@colinwong89
Waoh.. Are both of ur mobo running the same bios & chip? I do read about 1 article before where it comes with a compatible chart of certain mobo can match with other mobo. laugh.gif

@Jcsy
That is strange bro. What timing are u running of before u set all to 3-3-3-8? It should not have any problem as Intel platform prefer loosen timing.
fylon
post Feb 18 2009, 10:44 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
I mean the default one on ur bios, are u set it to AUTO all the way? Haha.. Btw, is quite odd. And ur pc only can have 1 set of timing @ a time. Its quite impossible as it can run on 2 diff timing like what u had post. tongue.gif
fylon
post Feb 18 2009, 11:49 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@dlwl
Hahaha.. Found something which is no computer related? laugh.gif

@Jcsy
If the setting is AUTO, usually the bios will follow the loosen timing eh. From ur spec, it should be ok to run at 3-3-3-8 as that is the loosen that u have. Strange.

@Klemann C
Friend, do u really know how to do hot flash? I need 2 mobo to do that. Provided is better to have the same chipset, same voltage (as told by colin) and using the same bios.
fylon
post Feb 19 2009, 09:32 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy
Theoretical if ur timing is on auto, meaning that ur mobo will follow the ram that has the loosen timing in among the all. So, by ur system now should be running on 3-3-3-8 as 3/4 of ur ram is running on that timing. laugh.gif

But is odd since u mentioned once u manually change it to 3-3-3-8 and it will cause ur system cannot boot up. Try a quick test by remove all ur 3-3-3-8 ram and left the 2.5-4-4-8 one on the board and manually change its timing it to 3-3-3-8. See how was it. icon_rolleyes.gif

21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:48 PM