New nintendo DS Rumour, End of this year (Japan only)

TSFyonne
post Sep 29 2008, 10:16 AM, updated 18y ago

904 posts

not sure if this is posted b4.

According to a Nikkei newspaper article that was translated on Neogaf, Nintendo plans to release a new DS handheld game console at the end of this year. This console will come equipped with a camera and double as a portable music player. The new version will also have improved wireless capabilities for accessing the internet. Pictures taken with the new DS's internal camera will be usable by games, opening up new game play possibilities.

It is expected to be priced below 20,000 yen ($188 USD), which is comparable to the price of the current version 16,800 yen ($158 USD). Nintendo plans to offer several hundred thousand units in Japan before considering overseas sales.

According to a PC World article Nintendo is scheduled to present an unnamed "new product" at a Tokyo news conference on Thursday. There is speculation that the new version of the DS will be officially announced then.

Slowing sales of the Nintendo DS may be why a new version is on the verge of being released. Statistics published in the PC World article point out in the April to June quarter Nintendo sold 580,000 units in Japan versus 2.1 million in the same period of 2007. In Japan, a total of 23 million of the devices have been sold in the country

The Nintendo DS first went on sale in 2004 and a second version, called the Nintendo DS Lite, went on sale in 2006. Worldwide the Nintendo DS has sold 77.5 million units as of the end of June this year.

source - http://www.dailytech.com/Report+Nintendo+t...ticle13073c.htm

greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 10:28 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

anyway... Miyamoto will be laughing all the way to the bank again

Voxdei
post Sep 29 2008, 10:34 AM

108 posts

camera eh, reminds me of that camera/printer attachment for the gameboy. and you can print yourself a lousy certificate claiming that you caught all 150 Pokemon in the American version. At least the japs got Mew.

No news of a graphical/processing power upgrade? God knows the DS needs better sound.
gundamalpha
post Sep 29 2008, 12:15 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Voxdei @ Sep 29 2008, 10:34 AM)
camera eh, reminds me of that camera/printer attachment for the gameboy. and you can print yourself a lousy certificate claiming that you caught all 150 Pokemon in the American version. At least the japs got Mew.

No news of a graphical/processing power upgrade? God knows the DS needs better sound.
Anyone read Game Weekly? Either issue 451 or 452 (can't remember which) got a rumored picture of the new NDS, very sleek and stylish.
5zal06
post Sep 29 2008, 01:10 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 29 2008, 12:15 PM)
Anyone read Game Weekly? Either issue 451 or 452 (can't remember which) got a rumored picture of the new NDS, very sleek and stylish.
i want to buy a ds later this year,now come the new one,
when its gonna release??

do u have those new pic of nds?

gundamalpha..
hows the pic like?
any of this?

i like the first pic,but when the ds close(i mean,bila ds tu tutup),looks ugly
2nd pic looks like fake
the 3rd pic was a good idea
the 4th..looks like fake.

the 1st and 3rd i think are most likely

This post has been edited by 5zal06: Sep 29 2008, 01:51 PM
greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 02:54 PM

1,844 posts

all r fake
ashchia
post Sep 29 2008, 03:00 PM

105 posts

yup, as grey said, all is fake
greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 03:05 PM

1,844 posts

yalor... all r fake

this is the real new NDS

ashchia
post Sep 29 2008, 03:10 PM

105 posts

^ that one can go die liao doh.gif
Kyoyagami
post Sep 29 2008, 03:25 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

nice key chain.

But on the real news, i think we're close to getting something on thursday. SO lets wait for that.
greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 03:30 PM

1,844 posts

then better save up all ur duit raya for the new toy from ninty tongue.gif
LYNsucks
post Sep 29 2008, 03:35 PM

188 posts

I dont care the camera and mp3 functionality since ds is meant for gaming so there is no necessasity to cramp in those hardware! All I can see is the crappy hinge needs urgent improvement since the hinge design is flawed anyway! Also a better hardware quality is demanded since we dont hear a lot of cases like button stop functioning for gameboy etc!
bidfordun
post Sep 29 2008, 03:54 PM

2,234 posts

I am confused actually. Is this a redesigned nds or the next nds?
greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 04:51 PM

1,844 posts

i think it's just new version of ndsl with added functionality

improved Wifi connectivity is welcome tho... really hated the WEP only connection, hopes the new one will have support for at least WPA

just like the psp-1000 psp-2000 and the latest psp-3000
psp still looks like n plays like psp, just with additional functionality

as for the hinge problem, I believe it's only happen on the early batch of NDSL, Ninty has already improve on the latter batch.
Mine no problem so far either with the hinge or the bottons, after coming to 3rd year playing the NDSL daily wink.gif

bidfordun
post Sep 29 2008, 05:01 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 29 2008, 04:51 PM)
i think it's just new version of ndsl with added functionality

improved Wifi connectivity is welcome tho... really hated the WEP only connection, hopes the new one will have support for at least WPA

just like the psp-1000 psp-2000 and the latest psp-3000
psp still looks like n plays like psp, just with additional functionality

as for the hinge problem, I believe it's only happen on the early batch of NDSL, Ninty has already improve on the latter batch.
Mine no problem so far either with the hinge or the bottons, after coming to 3rd year playing the NDSL daily wink.gif
if like tat i may hold back from getting it. wouldnt really get it unless there are some AAA games that utilize the added features.

greyshadow
post Sep 29 2008, 05:15 PM

1,844 posts

well.... there's rumors flying around regarding the dual touchscreen

if it's real then in the future there will be games supporting dual touchscreen

but won't it render the old NDSL useless?

So I doubt there will be dual touchscreen anyway

extra SD slot is possible thou... for mp3 playing, and yet it also will open up the possibility of hacking it easily
evilhomura89
post Sep 29 2008, 05:18 PM

5,886 posts

i don't think dual touch screen is practical...
with the current ndsl...sometimes we are to busy to handle the d-pad and buttons n din use the touchscreen

5zal06
post Sep 29 2008, 05:29 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 29 2008, 03:05 PM)
yalor... all r fake

this is the real new NDS

lol.this one surely a fake

then,where's the real pic??

i thought ds already have mp3 and mp4 ??

camera,if like psp chotto shot no need la,
ashchia
post Sep 29 2008, 05:34 PM

105 posts

^ Ds mp3 and mp4 is homebrew la, not official
5zal06
post Sep 29 2008, 06:02 PM

195 posts

i see..ds is almost the same as psp.

Added on September 29, 2008, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 29 2008, 06:02 PM)
i see..ds is almost the same as psp.
is it confirm only at japan
coz i wanna buy nds lite end of this year,if a new one come,i think i wait
and if this new ds does not support rom..surely im not gonna buy it,
u know at my area,there are not much selling ds games,i saw just a few old games and the price is 200++..more than psp

but maybe this one come to malaysia too,like the chotto shot,they say only at japan,lastly at u.s,malaysia

This post has been edited by 5zal06: Sep 29 2008, 06:14 PM

0.0202sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:42 AM