Official WindowsXP Professional, sp1 -> sp2

TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 10:22 AM, updated 18y ago

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

I managed to get WindowsXP pro original OEM CD from my company as my company is no longer using them. But on the CD cover it's written "Includes Service Pack 1a". that's mean it's sp1 right?
If i turn on the automatic updates, will it be updated to sp2? hmm.gif

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
ali_boulala
post Sep 27 2008, 10:26 AM

Lets put a smile on that face
764 posts

u can straight away update to sp3 i think
dreamthief
post Sep 27 2008, 10:27 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

Yes, it will update. as long as it is legal and original.

But technically OEM license is non transferable and illegal if you want to do what you said earlier. It should only be installed in the PC that the OEM license was purchased with. That's why it is called OEM.
seeseng
post Sep 27 2008, 10:28 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

SP3 only can be updated from SP2. Not SP1 not XP 2002.
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 10:30 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Sep 27 2008, 10:27 AM)

But technically OEM license is non transferable and illegal if you want to do what you said earlier. It should only be installed in the PC that the OEM license was purchased with. That's why it is called OEM.
support that... it still will update but the way u use the OEM license is illegal. U can update from SP1 to SP3, but be warn, it's around 300 to 400MB if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 27 2008, 10:35 AM
TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 10:35 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Sep 27 2008, 10:27 AM)

Previously the CPU that uses this CD-key is using Vista Business now. that means now no pc is using the CD-key. If i install this OS to my pc, will microsoft detect it as genuine windows?
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 10:36 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 27 2008, 10:28 AM)
SP3 only can be updated from SP2. Not SP1 not XP 2002.
Windows XP Service Pack 3
Release Date: May 6, 2008

Windows XP Service Pack 3 is a service pack that is cumulative back to the last currently-supported service pack. This means that Windows XP Service Pack 3 contains all the fixes that were included with Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2). If you have already installed Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3), you do not have to install Windows XP SP2.

Note : You must have either Windows XP Service Pack 1a or Windows XP Service Pack 2 installed in order to install Windows XP Service Pack 3.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322389
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 10:39 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Sep 27 2008, 10:35 AM)
Previously the CPU that uses this CD-key is using Vista Business now. that means now no pc is using the CD-key. If i install this OS to my pc, will microsoft detect it as genuine windows?
If it can be install, then it will detected as genuine. Some OEM CD can't even start the installation on other brand of machine.
super_evil_alien
post Sep 27 2008, 10:40 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I have done this before.Installed WinXP SP1 OEM in my desktop and updated it to SP3.But I update the windows by downloading the SP manually.
TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 10:47 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 27 2008, 10:39 AM)
If it can be install, then it will detected as genuine. Some OEM CD can't even start the installation on other brand of machine.
Err.... this CD is for HP. Can the installation be executed?
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 10:56 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Sep 27 2008, 10:47 AM)
Err.... this CD is for HP. Can the installation be executed?
try to install 1st, then u'll know, no harm trying. If it cannot be install, u will be inform right at the start, so no time wasted. It happened on me when I use Dell Windows XP OEM CD for notebook to install on other brand of notebook.
TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 11:05 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 27 2008, 10:56 AM)
try to install 1st, then u'll know, no harm trying. If it cannot be install, u will be inform right at the start, so no time wasted. It happened on me when I use Dell Windows XP OEM CD for notebook to install on other brand of notebook.
This is bad sad.gif

What will happen if i install it into more than 2 CPU? hmm.gif

Sorry that i ask too many question cos all this time i'm using jack sparrow edition software and i'm not exposed to genuine software >_<
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 11:11 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:05 AM)
This is bad sad.gif

What will happen if i install it into more than 2 CPU?  hmm.gif

Sorry that i ask too many question cos all this time i'm using jack sparrow edition software and i'm not exposed to genuine software >_<
don't worry, nothing bad will happen, as I said, the worst is cannot install, if can install, then it'll just like other genuine Windows, it will not detect whether it's use on 2 or more CPUs or not. OPppsss ... don't know this is allowed to be discuss or not ... sweat.gif
TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 11:22 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 27 2008, 11:11 AM)
don't worry, nothing bad will happen, as I said, the worst is cannot install, if can install, then it'll just like other genuine Windows, it will not detect whether it's use on 2 or more CPUs or not.  OPppsss ... don't know this is allowed to be discuss or not ...  sweat.gif
No worries... we're discussing about GENUINE OEM software nod.gif
acbc
post Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM

9,050 posts

I tried installing an OEM Windows XP Pro from Fujitsu to Kohjinsha and it fails miserably.

On any Fujitsu, it remained activated but on the Kohjinsha, it requires an activation in 30 days. And if you try to update or register, it fails again.
stormaker
post Sep 27 2008, 11:31 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM)
I tried installing an OEM Windows XP Pro from Fujitsu to Kohjinsha and it fails miserably.

On any Fujitsu, it remained activated but on the Kohjinsha, it requires an activation in 30 days. And if you try to update or register, it fails again.
I think different manufacturer have different control of their OEM license distribution, but if micro$oft start to scanning from WindowsUpdate ... TS having tough luck here ...

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 27 2008, 11:33 AM
super_evil_alien
post Sep 27 2008, 11:44 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

If you try using dell OEM windows xp,I think it should work.
TSac_N1
post Sep 27 2008, 11:46 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 27 2008, 11:31 AM)
I think different manufacturer have different control of their OEM license distribution, but if micro$oft start to scanning from WindowsUpdate ... TS having tough luck here ...
Scan from windows update? Do they? As for as i'm concerned they only scan for non-genuine edition of their OS hmm.gif
chiunfah
post Dec 4 2008, 09:17 PM

24 posts

i notices people selling in lelong.com.my Windows XP Pro for Malaysia. What does it mean by for Malaysia?
Will there be any conflicts if i buy XP from other countries and use in Malaysia?
dylanchan1688
post Dec 4 2008, 11:58 PM

PuLu™
125 posts

use nlite n slipstream xp sp3 into sp1 dis lah

0.0209sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:48 PM