Health Sugar Glider Diet & Nutrition 101, What do you feed your gliders and why

TSjtl
post Sep 24 2008, 10:06 PM, updated 17y ago

788 posts

The gliders diet has been debated in many foreign forums and I thought I would like to get everyone's input here on LYN. I personally feel that a glider's diet is rather complicated and there are many things that we can still learn from each other.

The reason I have opened a new thread for this is because sometimes when forumers ask about a glider's diet in the main thread, it gets lost in all the spamming. There is a thread on dogs' diet, so I thought we could have one on gliders.

Also, it would make it easier for newbies to learn about the gliders' diet.

This thread is meant purely for healthy serious discussions and feedback. Please do not flame anyone or spam this thread.

For a start, I'd like to share what I have read up on the many recommended diets in the market. Personally, I have only tried two of them but if you have tried others, please do share here.

HPW Diet

BML Diet

BML - Judie's Version

Darcy's Diet

PML Diet

There is also the SunCoast diet but I decided to omit that as the ingredients used is non-halal.

Currently, all these diets are not independent, meaning you would still need to feed fruits, veges and insects.

I have tried the BML and all three of my gliders have been on trial with the HPW Diet for over a month now as I have read great reviews about it. The odour has certainly lessened! But at the end of the day, we each have our preferred diets.

There are so many glider owners here and it would be great if we could all share the pros and cons of each diet. Also, does everyone here feed according to the correct Ca:P ratio? If so, it would be nice if you could share the combination of fruits to make the right ratio, taking into account oxalates, of course smile.gif Or do you feed according to what your gliders like? tongue.gif

Thanks to empty_reg:
Some Common Diet and the No-No's

A few websites that show the Ca:P ratios:
http://www.swanimalhospital.net/html/veggie_info.html
http://www.repticzone.com/articles/Ca-P_ratios.html
http://www.beautifuldragons.503xtreme.com/Nutrition.html

This post has been edited by jtl: Feb 12 2009, 12:05 PM
nezumitaro
post Sep 24 2008, 10:14 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

good to have this thread. so we have a more serious talk and discussions on diet. as diet do play a very important role for the animals. cos what we feed, is that they eat. their health in on our hand.

i used to feed BML too. now my 2 babies are on HPW. and i can see the grow of kiro is significant.

as i don't hv male suggie. i not sure about the orodr things.

The Ca : P ratio is very important to suggie. If there is not enough Calcium they will draw calcium from their bones and that will cause them paralysis.

also i found our local suggie owner feed ALOT of mealworms.. we really need to understand their diet, phosphrous can be over dose anytime.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 24 2008, 10:19 PM
^MochI^
post Sep 24 2008, 10:22 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

Woah, good thread for me to learn!
sangterap
post Sep 24 2008, 10:33 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Although I am irrelevant to this thread, just wonder if Wombaroo Powder can be obtained in Msia? Or mostly need to import? I believe that HPW mix is almost similar to BML and there is quite a number versions for BML too...
TSjtl
post Sep 24 2008, 10:40 PM

788 posts

Some may ask : What are Oxalates?

Oxalates bind with iron and calcium in foods so the body is not able to utilise all of the calcium and iron in that food. You should however note that Oxalate does not stop the synthesis of iron or calcium in the other foods in a diet, but only the food containing Oxalate. It is not recommended to feed foods high in oxalate every day and is wise to rotate the fruits and vegetables enough to account for this.

For example, let's say you feed Parsley every day because it is high in calcium. You need to consider that a lot of the calcium is not being absorbed because of the Oxalates. So it is best not to feed Parsley everyday.

Amongst the vegetables and fruits that are high in Oxalates are:

Beans (baked, green, dried, kidney)
Blackberries
Beets
Blueberries
Celery
Carrots
Figs
Collards
Kiwi
Eggplant
Lemon peel
Kale
Lime peel
Okra
Orange peel
Parsley
Raspberries
Rhubarb
Spinach
Strawberries
Tangerines
Sweet potato
Zucchini

I will need to do more research on local fruits and vegetables though. If anyone else here has any information on local fruits, it would be great. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jtl: Sep 24 2008, 11:23 PM
nezumitaro
post Sep 24 2008, 10:41 PM

4,711 posts

HPW contain wombaroo high protein powder, while BML not. and its big difference between the both.

wombaroo need to be import... wombaroo included the calcium needed, so suggie who is on this diet, they do not need extra calcium supplement.

while BML added calcium are needed and its a MUST.

Oxalates:

so it means even parsely contain high calcium, but it bind 'its own' calcium or others intake with Oxalates, then it will = to no calcium. right? cos the animal canot absorb.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 24 2008, 10:46 PM
sharil_routh
post Sep 24 2008, 10:41 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

Good thread for glider owners and gliders... thumbup.gif
^MochI^
post Sep 24 2008, 10:44 PM

4,565 posts

wombaroo milk replacer can be found @ petshack. Its imported.
nezumitaro
post Sep 24 2008, 10:48 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 24 2008, 10:44 PM)
wombaroo milk replacer can be found @ petshack. Its imported.
HPW do not contain wombaroo replacement milk smile.gif its a difference thing. its call wombaroo high protein powder. smile.gif

Please do read the links provided.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 24 2008, 10:48 PM
TSjtl
post Sep 24 2008, 10:55 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 24 2008, 10:41 PM)
Oxalates:

so it means even parsely contain  high calcium, but it bind 'its own' calcium or others intake with Oxalates, then it will = to no calcium. right? cos the animal canot absorb.
Yes, that is right. But I am not a qualified nutritionist so I am just sharing what I have learnt.

But we need to remember that apart from Calcium, the glider needs other vitamins and minerals as well. One cup of parsley contains:
Vitamin A 5055 IU, Vitamin C, 79.8 mg, Niacin 0.8 mg, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol) 0.4 mg, Gamma Tocopherol 0.3 mg,
Pantothenic Acid 0.2 mg, Thiamin 0.1 mg, Riboflavin 0.1 mg, Vitamin B6 0.1 mg, Lutein+Zeaxanthin 3337 mcg, Beta Carotene 3032 mcg, Vitamin K 984 mcg, Retinol Activity Equivalent 253 mcg, Folate 91.2 mcg, Food Folate 91.2 mcg, Dietary Folate Equivalents 91.2 mcg.

Whilst I readily admit that I do not know the benefits of each and every vitamin stated, I do know some of them like Vitamin A and C are essential.

That's the main purpose of this thread. So that all of us can contribute what we each know.
nezumitaro
post Sep 24 2008, 11:13 PM

4,711 posts

hmmmmm it looks like i need to do my homework tomorrow.. i will get my office nutritionist to answer all my question.. lol..

ok these are what i know.. i not pro also ya.. just sharing what i know:

B6: improve the absorption of protein and fat. prevents nerve and skin related diseases.

Thiamine/ B1: to produce energy and support nervous system.

Riboflavin/B2: also for energy and support the growth of healthy skin, fur and nail.

B3/ Niacin: help promote a feeling of calm, and also produce energy.
^MochI^
post Sep 25 2008, 01:33 AM

4,565 posts

nezu.. then which 1 u ask me to buy a?
electroyid
post Sep 25 2008, 05:53 AM

292 posts

wow.. wat a thread... good...
read all bout the diet alrdy...
HPW..?? wat is that..???
sangterap
post Sep 25 2008, 09:49 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I think deriving the glider mix is pretty simple. I think you can even use Wombaroo with BML. There is no fixed diet and all these diets that was listed by JTL also created by glider enthusiast in other countries. As long we take as a guideline I believe our gliders can have the best diet.

Sometimes I see different variations of BML also.

Maybe I starting to talk rubbish. Better hop back to where I belong first....

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sangterap: Sep 25 2008, 09:58 AM
TSjtl
post Sep 25 2008, 10:16 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 25 2008, 05:53 AM)
wow.. wat a thread... good...
read all bout the diet alrdy...
HPW..?? wat is that..???
I have given the link for HPW smile.gif It's a different diet, just like BML. Some people believe in BML, some believe in other diets. So, would like to know all the diets that people here have tried and compare the outcome.

QUOTE(sangterap @ Sep 25 2008, 09:49 AM)
I think deriving the glider mix is pretty simple. I think you can even use Wombaroo with BML. There is no fixed diet and all these diets that was listed by JTL also created by glider enthusiast in other countries. As long we take as a guideline I believe our gliders can have the best diet.

Yup, you are right that deriving the mix is simple but to get an actual ratio is not so simple. If you use Wombaroo High Protein powder with BML, it tends to unbalance the ratio as the protein levels in WHP is way higher than baby cereal. I have noticed that glider enthusiast in other countries have actually worked out the ratios and I find that a good thing.

Yes, there are different variations but we need to be constantly aware of the ratios. That's why I asked what everyone else here is feeding.

This post has been edited by jtl: Sep 25 2008, 10:16 AM
De LoNelY
post Sep 25 2008, 10:18 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 24 2008, 11:13 PM)
hmmmmm it looks like i need to do my homework tomorrow.. i will get my office nutritionist to answer all my question.. lol..

ok these are what i know.. i not pro also ya.. just sharing what i know:

B6: improve the absorption of protein and fat. prevents nerve and skin related diseases.

Thiamine/ B1: to produce energy and support nervous system.

Riboflavin/B2: also for energy and support the growth of healthy skin, fur and nail.

B3/ Niacin: help promote a feeling of calm, and also produce energy.
wah so clever wor flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif .
this really help smile.gif thx nezu thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kikiz
post Sep 25 2008, 05:54 PM

84 posts

Whoa good information !!~~

Nezu:

Those are very very good information !!~~ ^^
nezumitaro
post Sep 25 2008, 08:06 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 25 2008, 01:33 AM)
nezu.. then which 1 u ask me to buy a?
joey use replacement milk. anyway WHP not available in market here yet.

QUOTE(sangterap @ Sep 25 2008, 09:49 AM)

Maybe I starting to talk rubbish. Better hop back to where I belong first....

tongue.gif
don't say like that.. we are here to learn smile.gif as long as there is question, there will hv something to learn. of cos i hope we do not hv noob questions like if my suggie can eat KFC etc..

wombaroo is very high in protein n it contain required calcium for suggie, HPW mainly is about wombaroo + bee pollen, which bee pollen contain a very wide range of animo acid. which is very good for growth. as for BML. it also contain baby high protein powder and calcium supplement. if we add WHP into BML, protein n mineral will be over dose. that will cos health problem.

but we do can double up the dosage of WHP or double up the BML protein n calcium for a nursing mum, while they need alot protein n calcium to process good milk.

also it is important that when we making BML with the right cup. as all the recipe in net is by CUP. don't use the cup we drink ya..smile.gif

by the way.. mealworm ca: p is about 0.06: 1.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 25 2008, 08:08 PM
electroyid
post Sep 26 2008, 01:22 AM

292 posts

thanks jtl n nezu... knw alrdy bout the diet...
=)
juz receive a new joey...
like my other 2 suggies.. i juz offer fruits, wormy...and some smoothieessss....
izit enough..??
do i need any other supplement..??

nezumitaro
post Sep 26 2008, 01:33 AM

4,711 posts

yes , its enoguh for the time being. of cos if affortable.. those necter and gum thingy is good for them as supplement smile.gif

also try to reserch some fruits. not to feed all high phosphrous fruits same time..
electroyid
post Sep 26 2008, 01:48 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 26 2008, 01:33 AM)
yes , its enoguh for the time being. of cos if affortable.. those necter and gum thingy is good for them as supplement smile.gif

also try to reserch some fruits. not to feed all high phosphrous fruits same time..
thanks.. n i will... jtl alrdy show me the list...
icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
saramic
post Sep 26 2008, 05:52 PM

236 posts

hi...
just a couple of questions...
anyone can answer tis....

#1) will the measurements for the BML/HPW be the same as here?
as i know 1 teaspoon in US is not the same as in Australia or here.

#2) is it ok to use blackstrap molasses?
i've read that it's a better alternative to honey & nectar. (it is more costly)

This post has been edited by saramic: Sep 26 2008, 05:56 PM
TSjtl
post Sep 26 2008, 06:18 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(saramic @ Sep 26 2008, 05:52 PM)
hi...
just a couple of questions...
anyone can answer tis....

I use the teaspoon as in the cooking measuring spoons. I thought that is the same all over the world but I do not know for sure. As for cups, I use the standard 8oz cooking cup

Yes, I too heard that. They say its best to get organic blackstrap molasses. But nectar has few different types. Agave Nectar is used as a sweetener whilst Glider nectar or gliderade have different functions as the latter are used to provide carbohydrate.

This post has been edited by jtl: Sep 26 2008, 06:19 PM
pink_baby
post Sep 26 2008, 07:22 PM

178 posts

ytd i fed minnie egg...but i duno how much shud give so i just put bout 1 tablespoon for her each day & night...is there any effect??cuz she seems no poo from then... icon_question.gif
sharil_routh
post Sep 26 2008, 07:43 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Sep 26 2008, 07:22 PM)
ytd i fed minnie egg...but i duno how much shud give so i just put bout 1 tablespoon for her each day & night...is there any effect??cuz she seems no poo from then... icon_question.gif
You mean you are giving her 2 tablespoons a day? Wow, that's a lot.

If she is still not pooing, steam a little pumpkin for her to eat. Just a little bit, yah

-wrote by jtl-
saramic
post Sep 26 2008, 08:41 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 26 2008, 06:18 PM)
I use the teaspoon as in the cooking measuring spoons. I thought that is the same all over the world but I do not know for sure. As for cups, I use the standard 8oz cooking cup

Yes, I too heard that. They say its best to get organic blackstrap molasses. But nectar has few different types. Agave Nectar is used as a sweetener whilst Glider nectar or gliderade have different functions as the latter are used to provide carbohydrate.
as i know & double checked....
1 teaspoon in UK = 2 teaspoon in US
1 tablespoon in US = 3 teaspoon US
but in malaysia 1 tablespoon = 4 teaspoon....

i know i've just confused everyone but just wanna find out....

electroyid
post Sep 26 2008, 09:24 PM

292 posts

jtl... pls gime the website for the food ratio...
cant find it.. thanks...
nezumitaro
post Sep 26 2008, 11:01 PM

4,711 posts

Hi Sara,

that day i saw alot of these measuring cups n spoon in giant. go get it lah.. i think few $ only.

so as long as u use the same SET. then will no hv problem smile.gif
saramic
post Sep 26 2008, 11:56 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 26 2008, 11:01 PM)
Hi Sara,

that day i saw alot of these measuring cups n spoon in giant. go get it lah.. i think few $ only.

so as long as u use the same SET. then will no hv problem smile.gif
hi....
i've already got the measuring cups & spoons as i bake but i think i better get a separate set...
don't wanna mix some floor/baking powder by accident...
thanks nezu...
TSjtl
post Sep 27 2008, 12:00 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
jtl... pls gime the website for the food ratio...
cant find it.. thanks...
There are many websites but you can try these few as starters:
http://www.swanimalhospital.net/html/veggie_info.html
http://www.repticzone.com/articles/Ca-P_ratios.html
http://www.beautifuldragons.503xtreme.com/Nutrition.html

This post has been edited by jtl: Sep 27 2008, 12:04 PM
electroyid
post Sep 27 2008, 05:03 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 27 2008, 12:00 PM)
thank u...
notworthy.gif
bonai
post Sep 29 2008, 03:50 AM

1,254 posts

man this thread is very informative and awesome!

very crucial info and need to be spread out to ALL suggie owners..
empty_reg
post Sep 29 2008, 11:34 AM

249 posts

Hi there I'm new to SG.. All this slurp, smoothies, fruitciles and those things (That forumers here make) they all require freezer for storage.. Is there any other products similar to these which doesn't requires freezers at the same time provides as much nutrients??

I'm staying at a hostel, freezer is out of the question, only can get normal mini fridge to chill stuffs..

Thanks alot.
nezumitaro
post Sep 29 2008, 11:58 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 29 2008, 11:34 AM)
Hi there I'm new to SG.. All this slurp, smoothies, fruitciles and those things (That forumers here make) they all require freezer for storage.. Is there any other products similar to these which doesn't requires freezers at the same time provides as much nutrients??

I'm staying at a hostel, freezer is out of the question, only can get normal mini fridge to chill stuffs..

Thanks alot.
then all u can do is supplement them with rep-cal(not sure if still anyone bring in) or glider-cal(Pet shack got) and.. hmmm ....can u cook in hostel?
[cipan]
post Sep 29 2008, 06:08 PM

120 posts

hye..
diet pros..
nid advise here..
im going to kampung for hari raya..
i had to leave my WC adult at home..12(breeding)
here is the ingredient that i have:

4 low fat yogurt
4 carrots
4 tomatoes
4 honey dew slices..
lots of mealworms

im leaving them tommorw morning and will be back here on thursday..
how shud i feed them??or shud i go n get more food??no apple for them..they had many dy...

help me!!
thank you
empty_reg
post Sep 29 2008, 07:46 PM

249 posts

Ok ok.. Cook in hostel? Erm.. I have a heater which I don't use, if it involves boiling, steaming.. Maybe I can work something out with what I have.. Frying can't..

By the way, now there's a new issue in slurp (posted in gliver v8).. I'm really confused with all these things.. So many kinds of diet debates..

So what important is fruits and vege should be 2:1 Cal:P ratio.. 3 fruits + 1 vege + a few insects + some kibbles = fix meal.. Others are just supplements? Is small dose of raw honey recommended? Search for glider-cal, is it in powder form? What about glider-booster? Do you carry this product?
bonai
post Sep 29 2008, 08:04 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE([cipan�)
,Sep 29 2008, 06:08 PM]
hye..
diet pros..
nid advise here..

4 low fat yogurt
4 carrots
4 tomatoes
4 honey dew slices..
lots of mealworms

how shud i feed them??or shud i go n get more food??no apple for them..they had many dy...

help me!!
thank you
err, who is it going to feed them daily or are you leaving all the food inside the cage? erghh..

nezumitaro
post Sep 29 2008, 08:09 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE([cipan?)
,Sep 29 2008, 06:08 PM]
hye..
diet pros..
nid advise here..

4 low fat yogurt
4 carrots
4 tomatoes
4 honey dew slices..
lots of mealworms

help me!!
thank you
i check for u tonight or tomorrow morning ok. now hv to go settle all my babies 1st smile.gif

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 29 2008, 07:46 PM)
Ok ok.. Cook in hostel? Erm.. I have a heater which I don't use, if it involves boiling, steaming.. Maybe I can work something out with what I have.. Frying can't..

By the way, now there's a new issue in slurp (posted in gliver v8).. I'm really confused with all these things.. So many kinds of diet debates..

So what important is fruits and vege should be 2:1 Cal:P ratio.. 3 fruits + 1 vege + a few insects + some kibbles = fix meal.. Others are just supplements? Is small dose of raw honey recommended? Search for glider-cal, is it in powder form? What about glider-booster? Do you carry this product?
of cos not fried. non fried food for animals smile.gif n sorry anything about product sale do in pm smile.gif don't make the thread like a sale place, we purely wanna learn about diet.

NO RAW HONEY... if u really want to give. give those normal we eat will do. or u want a better one will be those in organic shop necter..

later i come back with more info ok smile.gif
[cipan]
post Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM

120 posts

thats the prob..
no one is around for 2 whole day..
no option dy..
everyone hari raya ing..
2 days without pple..not even neighbours..
how a??

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:12 pmthx nezu..
hope fully tonite..so that i can prepare for them..

This post has been edited by [cipan]: Sep 29 2008, 08:12 PM
empty_reg
post Sep 29 2008, 08:32 PM

249 posts

Thanks Nezu, hope to hear from you soon. = )

Wah Cipan, like that also can ar? Can't get anyone to come over to help you feed them? The food will rot oh..

This post has been edited by empty_reg: Sep 29 2008, 08:35 PM
nezumitaro
post Sep 29 2008, 10:31 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE([cipan?)
,Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM]
thats the prob..
no one is around for 2 whole day..
no option dy..
everyone hari raya ing..
2 days without pple..not even neighbours..
how a??

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:12 pmthx nezu..
hope fully tonite..so that i can prepare for them..
so u mean no one feed them.. canot put fresh for days wor.. u will need dry staple food.. if u r not supplement them with calcium powder. don't feed too much mealworms.. 3 - 5 per day will do. very high in phouphrous...will pm u..

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 29 2008, 08:32 PM)
Thanks Nezu, hope to hear from you soon. = )

Wah Cipan, like that also can ar? Can't get anyone to come over to help you feed them? The food will rot oh..
basically calcium n protein is very importand for them, try to use egg ask protein cos kibbles is abit high contain in phosphrous. then supplement with the suitable calcium don't simply get calcium from outside ok. if u do supplement them the right potion of calcium.. then u will no need to worries about wha fruits to feed. but still try to skip those hi oxalede fresh.cos it will bind their calcium.
electroyid
post Sep 30 2008, 01:29 AM

292 posts

wat will actualy hapen IF we give to much of calsium...??
JonYeap
post Sep 30 2008, 01:46 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 30 2008, 01:29 AM)
wat will actualy hapen IF we give to much of calsium...??
too much of anything isnt a good thing also.
wat happens if human too much calcium.
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 11:36 AM

249 posts

Electroyid: Too much calcium will cause kidney stone, residue calcium in other organs, and or joints and some other things similiar, I guess.. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Nezu thanks alot for the info.. I was wondering, many of you feed SG with yogurt as treats and calcium source.. Just wandering can they take cheese? Cheese are milk products that is process too right?

You say no raw honey, give normal processed honey.. But why? Isn't more nutrient contained in raw honey as to processed?
nezumitaro
post Sep 30 2008, 11:47 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 30 2008, 11:36 AM)
Electroyid: Too much calcium will cause kidney stone, residue calcium in other organs, and or joints and some other things similiar, I guess..  Correct me if I'm wrong.

Nezu thanks alot for the info.. I was wondering, many of you feed SG with yogurt as treats and calcium source.. Just wandering can they take cheese? Cheese are milk products that is process too right?

You say no raw honey, give normal processed honey.. But why? Isn't more nutrient contained in raw honey as to processed?
yup u r right.. stone problem.

Cheese is salty abit but u can give very very tiny pcs say like 5mm X 5mm..

about the honey.. sorry i didn't really read in it. its something about digestion. u can google it. smile.gif also those BML n HPW diet stated no RAW honey smile.gif

go study then come back teach me lah.. today iam very lazy ..LOL...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 30 2008, 11:48 AM
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 12:45 PM

249 posts

How to teach you? You must be kidding.. You're like been keeping these gliders for so long... More over, production and distribution of smoothies requires lots of research ma.. Some more you have your own nutritionist..

I thought raw honey is better cause human take raw honey is better.. That's just my assumption.. Besides I take it when ever they are available... Haha..

But anywhere, google it.. Basically they say too much honey is not good. Cause they contained botulinum endospores . Too much of these stuff causes diarrhea (Especially joeys before 4 mth OOP).. These applies to some diet mix as well (HPW and BML mix - contain 1/2 cup honey <According to the article, 150ml is very high>) [I'm not an expert I found them at google].. This is because their digestive system isn't strong enough.. And no RAW honey because they contain more botulinum endospores than processed.. Further detail study I leave it to the expert to comment...

I found the resource Here and Here.
nezumitaro
post Sep 30 2008, 01:20 PM

4,711 posts

of cos u can teach me.. i am still learner smile.gif i cut down the postion of Honey in BML n HPW, and the more i concern is Ca: P which is a direct harmful thing to them. as for honey. its stated everyway no RAW honey. so i just keep in mind NO RAW HONEY tongue.gif cos as long as not RAW n don't feed much honey. they are safe in it.

i am more into calcium: ph and oxalade. smile.gif , oxalade also basically about calcium hehe..
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 01:38 PM

249 posts

Ok ok.. Saw in the first post those vege and fruits with high oxalde.. Building a list of fruits that I can feed them.. Haha.. Thanks alot for your help..
lilmissmuppet
post Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM

58 posts

hie, is there any food that contain cal naturally?
or, we have to add cal in it?
NewbieBetta
post Sep 30 2008, 06:09 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(lilmissmuppet @ Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM)
From the few site posted by JTL on Cal:P,its obvious most of them have higher P over Cal.So we cant depend on the food itself to provide Cal.Therefore,we have calcium powder,multivitamin..bla..bla..bla..to add on their diet..
nezumitaro
post Oct 1 2008, 10:27 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(lilmissmuppet @ Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM)
yes u ccan, if are very strict to their diet. and also do ur homework well tongue.gif

but some fruits n vege we not possible to get here also.. sometime i just canot help to give them a little bit of this n that fruits.. so to play it saft, add calcium supplement. again NEVER over dose calcium smile.gif
bonai
post Oct 1 2008, 10:51 AM

1,254 posts

I tell you ah, soon empty_reg will become a pro on glider diet too...

I see him doing loads of studies here...
-melber-
post Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM

Lol.. Thank bonai, still got many to learn from veterans like you and nezu... I just want the best for my glider..

Keeping pets, diet and habitat most important ma.. but gliders need companion ship also so I believe this is not easy like keeping any other pets..

By the way, need advice from experts.. I know ppl don't normally do this..

I got lots and lots of this human Calcium tablets.. It says here on the box, each tablets contains 600mg calcium and 400iu Vitamin D-3.. So when I'm drinking this thingy, can I like give the gliders like a few drops? Every morning when I'm taking it, I'll give them some... (If can means I save money in calcium supplements lo. haha) This thing is called Cal-D-Vita.

What I'm concern with is the overdose only.. Any idea what's the normal calcium intake for SGs?
Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone. laugh.gif
electroyid
post Oct 1 2008, 04:34 PM

292 posts

thanks 4 da info...
=)
NewbieBetta
post Oct 1 2008, 08:13 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(-melber- @ Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM)
Lol.. Thank bonai, still got many to learn from veterans like you and nezu... I just want the best for my glider..

Keeping pets, diet and habitat most important ma.. but gliders need companion ship also so I believe this is not easy like keeping any other pets..

I got lots and lots of this human Calcium tablets.. It says here on the box, each tablets contains 600mg calcium and 400iu Vitamin D-3.. So when I'm drinking this thingy, can I like give the gliders like a few drops? Every morning when I'm taking it, I'll give them some... (If can means I save money in calcium supplements lo. haha) This thing is called Cal-D-Vita.

What I'm concern with is the overdose only.. Any idea what's the normal calcium intake for SGs?
Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone.  laugh.gif
yeah..does human calcium supplements are the same as gliders? where >95% of the ingredient is calcium carbonate
iluv2zzz
post Oct 1 2008, 08:40 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

post wrong side sorry.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Oct 1 2008, 08:40 PM
sharil_routh
post Oct 1 2008, 08:56 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(-melber- @ Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM)

Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone.  laugh.gif
wow u great..empty_reg.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 1 2008, 08:56 PM
^MochI^
post Oct 2 2008, 01:19 AM

4,565 posts

very confused a.. rclxub.gif
NewbieBetta
post Oct 2 2008, 01:24 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 2 2008, 01:19 AM)
very confused a.. rclxub.gif
nothing to be confused about..just make sure phosphorus dont get higher than calcium & make sure not to overdose calcium..

conclusion, make it calcium : phosphorus ; 1.5:1 or 2:1

correct me if wrong thumbup.gif
^MochI^
post Oct 2 2008, 01:26 AM

4,565 posts

the wombaroo now i giv glitter twice a day, and let her drink as much as she wants. BUT the packet says add 50g of powder to make 200ml milk. I do not need so much. So i just estimate the powder and water.

Is there anything i need to be precaution of?

About the cheese, is it recommanded to feed a small small piece everyday?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:28 amcalcium : P = 2:1 .

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:29 amwad u feed daily?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:38 ami find that PML is the simplest to make. without the gm , ml all that makes me confusing.

THE PML any1 tired before? I got the wombaroo milk maybe i can try making it.. anyway the honey use processed 1 right?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 2 2008, 01:38 AM
saramic
post Oct 2 2008, 02:11 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 2 2008, 01:26 AM)
the wombaroo now i giv glitter twice a day, and let her drink as much as she wants. BUT the packet says add 50g of powder to make 200ml milk. I do not need so much. So i just estimate the powder and water.

Is there anything i need to be precaution of?

About the cheese, is it recommanded to feed a small small piece everyday?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:28 amcalcium : P = 2:1 .

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:29 amwad u feed daily?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:38 ami find that PML is the simplest to make. without the gm , ml all that makes me confusing.

THE PML any1 tired before? I got the wombaroo milk maybe i can try making it.. anyway the honey use processed 1 right?
milk is important for a growing suggie so the measurement must be correct.

cheese has alot of salt. try yogurt.

yes. only use processed honey.

if it is too confusing for you then just feed smoothies/slurp (which ever u still trust) & fruits alternately....

every suggie is different with different preferences for fruits....

example my gadget & qiqi hates apples while timon & pumbaa loves them...

so it's up to us to find out what fruits they like & refer to the chart to see that you are giving them the right cal : p ratio....

try not to feed the same fruits every time... be imaginative....

you don't like to eat the same thing all the time too right?

icon_rolleyes.gif

bonai
post Oct 2 2008, 02:15 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(saramic @ Oct 2 2008, 02:11 AM)
milk is important for a growing suggie so the measurement must be correct.

cheese has alot of salt. try yogurt.

yes. only use processed honey.

if it is too confusing for you then just feed smoothies/slurp (which ever u still trust) & fruits alternately....

every suggie is different with different preferences for fruits....

example my gadget & qiqi hates apples while timon & pumbaa loves them...

so it's up to us to find out what fruits they like & refer to the chart to see that you are giving them the right cal : p ratio....

try not to feed the same fruits every time... be imaginative....

you don't like to eat the same thing all the time too right?
icon_rolleyes.gif
i can eat nasi goreng USA everyday...

anyway mochi, just a little advice:

make sure the milk is not too thick later your joey cannot digest...
TSjtl
post Oct 2 2008, 02:33 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Oct 2 2008, 01:24 AM)
nothing to be confused about..just make sure phosphorus dont get higher than calcium & make sure not to overdose calcium..

conclusion, make it calcium : phosphorus ; 1.5:1 or 2:1

correct me if wrong  thumbup.gif
It has to be 2:1.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 2 2008, 01:26 AM)
i find that PML is the simplest to make. without the gm , ml all that makes me confusing.

Mochi, what you have is Wombaroo Milk Powder. PML uses WOMBAROO HIGH PROTEIN POWDER. Please do not get confused between the two. I think Nezu also mentioned this earlier on to you.

This post has been edited by jtl: Oct 2 2008, 02:34 AM
empty_reg
post Oct 2 2008, 09:23 AM

249 posts

Thanks for the info NewbieBetta. Thanks for the comment sharil_routh, Happy festive season. Thanks bonai for the help yesterday. notworthy.gif

By the way, regarding cheese, what seramic and nezu say is right, is not advisable, but can give them once in a blue moon (small small piece). Reason is cheese is internal binding - it causes constipation, and another guy claims that it prevents your glider from growing.
Resources:
Some Common Diet and the No-No's

Regarding processed honey, don't overdose can already. One more thing safe about using processed honey (I assume those with proper label) is that they don't contain refined sugar. If raw honey (usually sold in glass bottles), is very hard to differentiate (the pureness), unless the seller is reputable. Cause raw honey is expensive, and many of those sold in night market are raw honey mixed with large quantity refined sugar. Consumers will have serious health problems taking this substance.

Just a suggestions: we have many list of what SGs can eat, won't it be great if we too have a list of what SGs can't eat? If jtl decides to put them in first page for reference, some of the No's are included in the link about.
^MochI^
post Oct 2 2008, 12:37 PM

4,565 posts

oh ookok .. actually the instruction behind stated add 50g to 200ml, but glitter cant drink up to 200ml ma.. so i have to mix myself. i juz make sure its not too thick and not too scarce. CAn right?
empty_reg
post Oct 2 2008, 01:32 PM

249 posts

Is okay de ^MochI^. The milk you buy is for additional nutrients for your Glitter.. My personal opinion is that a bit scarce is alright, but since too thick is not good, then I definitely don't want to make it thick.. Don't worry too much, Glitter will be happy and healthy even if they just get 70% nutrient out of the milk.
TSjtl
post Oct 2 2008, 10:47 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 2 2008, 12:37 PM)
oh ookok .. actually the instruction behind stated add 50g to 200ml, but glitter cant drink up to 200ml ma.. so i have to mix myself. i juz make sure its not too thick and not too scarce. CAn right?
Mochi, I thought I explained this to you when you came that day.

You need to adjust accordingly to the measurements. If 50g makes 200ml, then 25g makes 100ml, 12.5g makes 50ml and so forth. You just need measure it.
^MochI^
post Oct 3 2008, 02:12 AM

4,565 posts

u did? my memory is very bad.. and bad maths too.. use wad to measure g ?

empty- thanks.. smile.gif

er.. can i feed glitter just feed papaya and wombaroo milk since she doesnt knw how to eat harder fruits and veges wor..
empty_reg
post Oct 3 2008, 03:44 AM

249 posts

g = grams. erm, you bake anything at home? you can use a mini scale..
Luna_star
post Oct 3 2008, 05:02 PM

28 posts

hi all~ would like to seek some advise. i have a baby gal which is 4 months old. which is more suitable for her.

1. The pet glider complete multivitamin ( from krynzpeaches )

OR

2. Repcal (Green Label) Phosphorous Free & No vitamin D3

thanks alot!
empty_reg
post Oct 3 2008, 05:30 PM

249 posts

Erm, the two products are different. So is a bit tough to say which is better.

The multivitamins as the name suggest, contains, calcium, nectar, bee pollen, and other things, while the Repcal contains only calcium.

Maybe you can take a look at the multivitamin nutrient facts before you make your decision. But overall if you're feeding your gliders with food that has sufficient calcium, then multivitamin may be your preferred choice. Besides, since your glider is still young, then multivitamin will help boost the immune system as well.

If the gliders has insufficient calcium, then Repcal might be more suitable, for instance, gliders show signs of lack in calcium, then Repcal will help boost their calcium intake.

But I'm just giving my opinion, jtl, nezu and the other experts will be able to better aid you in making your selection.
^MochI^
post Oct 4 2008, 03:02 AM

4,565 posts

err.. no baking wor.. so i need get something like a mini scale to weight isit.. can weight grams a.. since so little amount only like 1g.. lol.. accurate anot de
empty_reg
post Oct 4 2008, 09:34 AM

249 posts

Erm, usually small analog scale will be sufficient. Kitchen scales are made to measure small items de ma (3 kg scale will be good enough). If you doubt the accuracy, maybe you can op for digital scales. These are much more accurate, very easy to read and more expensive. You can purchase scales at stores that sell baking stuffs.

But if you want to measure 1g to 5 g. Then maybe digital is better, cause some can measure 0.000 grams. Anyway, search for 'kitchen scale' under garagesales and you will find a guy selling this item. You can ask him more, but the items is out of stock.
nezumitaro
post Oct 4 2008, 11:30 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(Luna_star @ Oct 3 2008, 05:02 PM)
hi all~ would like to seek some advise. i have a baby gal which is 4 months old. which is more suitable for her.

1. The pet glider complete multivitamin ( from krynzpeaches )

OR

2. Repcal (Green Label) Phosphorous Free & No vitamin D3

thanks alot!
calcium is more important, if u have budget, then get the calcium 1st, then next is the multi vit. if u can affort of cos getting both is the best. repcal is seashell base n there is an other better one which is stone base. glider-cal. also cheaper smile.gif

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 4 2008, 03:02 AM)
err.. no baking wor.. so i need get something like a mini scale to weight isit.. can weight grams a.. since so little amount only like 1g.. lol.. accurate anot de
i am sure there is something in ur house which u can measure gram. dig ur 4 yrs old boy stuff n see.. i am sure when he is baby sure u hv something for him. if u want to measure 5g in scale, u will need a digital one..
^MochI^
post Oct 4 2008, 11:45 AM

4,565 posts

err.. i think i rem i post here? but cant find where my question..
err i ask again double confirm..

becoz glitter still small or she picky, she doesnt like to eat veggies even i chop into small small pieces for her. Im afraid she doesnt get enough nutrients.. Is it ok to feed her just the smoothie+milk+papaya for the time being as i slowly introduce more veggies and fruits which are harder for her?
TSjtl
post Oct 4 2008, 12:02 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 4 2008, 11:45 AM)
err.. i think i rem i post here? but cant find where my question..
err i ask again double confirm..

becoz glitter still small or she picky, she doesnt like to eat veggies even i chop into small small pieces for her. Im afraid she doesnt get enough nutrients.. Is it ok to feed her just the smoothie+milk+papaya for the time being as i slowly introduce more veggies and fruits which are harder for her?
It's best if you can give her a variety of fruits and veggies. If you are concerned about her being picky, then what you can do is blend the fruits and veggies together so that she can't pick and choose. You will need to experiment which combination works best for Glitter.

^MochI^
post Oct 4 2008, 12:13 PM

4,565 posts

ok thanks.
Luna_star
post Oct 5 2008, 03:59 PM

28 posts

thanks for the suggestions! ive read from some pages which calcium needs to be given everyday, some says just twice a week.

which should i follow?

if im feeding her twice a day, does that mean i have to sprinkle the calcium per meal?
empty_reg
post Oct 5 2008, 06:11 PM

249 posts

Giving calcium supplements varies. If the food you're feeding are already high in calcium then calcium supplements that you purchased can be given twice a week. For those that fed calcium supplements everyday, is either the food they are feeding does not have high calcium content, or they are just giving the gliders light dose of calcium.

Recommended is 1.5 : 1 to 2 : 1. If you're somewhere between that range then your glider will be healthy. I won't try feeding twice a day. But still it depends on the food the glider is eating. Be careful not to overdose. Good luck
nezumitaro
post Oct 6 2008, 11:31 AM

4,711 posts

maxi supplement once a day....

go get a measure spoon those use for baking.

1 teaspoon of Calcium Supplement - 50days consumption for 1 glider. don't over dose.

scope 1 teaspoon out. then pinch it.. make it 50 pinch.. so u know the amount to pinch per day.
jcmf
post Oct 7 2008, 12:03 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 6 2008, 11:31 AM)
maxi supplement once a day....

go get a measure spoon those use for baking.

1 teaspoon of Calcium Supplement - 50days consumption for 1 glider.  don't over dose.

scope 1 teaspoon out. then pinch it.. make it 50 pinch.. so u know the amount to pinch per day.
lol. so cumbersome... use scale much easier. or make 50 days food easier. haha. jz put everything into a blender. den later on oni divide into equal ice cubes den count how many cubes and calculate d amount should be fed. haha

sorry... im a com science and com math student. so calculations is apart of my life.... means i gt no life sweat.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 12:39 AM

4,711 posts

of cos if he can make some food is always better smile.gif
scale canot weight pinch loh bro.. tooo little to weight..
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 01:07 AM

4,565 posts

err.. if the smoothie contains calcium already. i still need to add calcium supplement?

Added on October 7, 2008, 1:09 amwad if my mixture is .. brocolli,celery,apple,pear,smoothie,eggs. Is it ok ?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 7 2008, 01:09 AM
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 09:21 AM

4,711 posts

never over dose calcium supplement.

celery will be biter after oxidize. replace it with other fresh. if u want to give celery cut n feed.

eggs are ok to feed.
suiteng
post Oct 7 2008, 09:52 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Great info thumbup.gif

As for me, I dun think that it's compulsory to feed supplements to your glider. Some people tend to overdose their glider if it's not done right. IMHO, gutloading mealworms is a complete waste of time. What goes into the mealie is digested there, you don't store food in your stomach.

Geez.. checking back on the diet, my glider is getting a lot of carbs sweat.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 10:14 AM

4,711 posts

lol we don't eat the stomach of meal worms mah.. suggie eat their fresh smile.gif just like we feed chicken n we eat chicken meat. we don't eat chicken stomach..smile.gif

calcium supplement is not a must, IF we realy can count the Ca : P intake of our suggie.. it not will end like my suggie boy...sad.gif
suiteng
post Oct 7 2008, 10:33 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Duh doh.gif I didn't say eat mealie stomach.
sharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 10:43 AM

1,356 posts

Maybe i can correcting a bit of her word... sweat.gif

Its mean, like us la...when we eat , fruit, chicken, etc... all the vit , carbohydrate, etc will being process in our body, same like mealworms, when we gutload mealworms we need the nutrition from the food into the mealworm. Hmm..am i correct? smile.gif
ekazakaria
post Oct 7 2008, 10:46 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Oct 7 2008, 09:52 AM)
Great info thumbup.gif

As for me, I dun think that it's compulsory to feed supplements to your glider. Some people tend to overdose their glider if it's not done right. IMHO, gutloading mealworms is a complete waste of time. What goes into the mealie is digested there, you don't store food in your stomach.

Geez.. checking back on the diet, my glider is getting a lot of carbs sweat.gif
Hi Suiteng...

anyway i don't think gutloading mealworms is a complete waste of time..look at it this way, you don't know what they feed mealies in the shop..and probably the mealies eat their own poo/dead mealies coz usually shop people didn't care to separate it...

by gutloading, the mealies will eat all the good stuff you provide and all the stuff they it before will be out from the mealies in the form of poo..so this assure that your suggies not only got protein from the mealies but also nutrition from stuff that the mealies eat...its common sense i guess...
suiteng
post Oct 7 2008, 11:29 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Gutloading is good~! = a misconception that the pet which ate this gutloaded mealie will get vitamis and other calcium eaten by the mealie. Well, it doesn't.

Gutloading is not needed if your pet is given balanced. Mealies are fed as treats, not as a main course.

For source of protein and calcium, crickets are good too~

crickets crickets good good~
sharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 11:48 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Oct 7 2008, 11:29 AM)
Gutloading is good~! = a misconception that the pet which ate this gutloaded mealie will get vitamis and other calcium eaten by the mealie. Well, it doesn't.

Gutloading is not needed if your pet is given balanced. Mealies are fed as treats, not as a main course.

wahh.. crickets... wub.gif

dats mean TS and crazymouse at glider thread should explain more clearly about the concept la... nod.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 11:57 AM

4,711 posts

crickets ca : p is better than mealworm ratio actually.. but i just personally don't like crickets haha cos i gerli tongue.gif

suiteng, this photo i see b4 last time u post.. always like this photo.. sooo cute..

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Oct 7 2008, 11:57 AM
onezkatana
post Oct 7 2008, 12:12 PM

170 posts

problem with criket is a to maintain they life...
coz normally rm 1=25 criket..so normally i feed for 1 week
3-4 criket for each SG per day..i have 2 SG..

but almost 7-8 criket may b more will die within 1 week...n so stingky
so i choose superworm & mealworm.

De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 12:22 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(onezkatana @ Oct 7 2008, 12:12 PM)
problem with criket is a to maintain they life...
coz normally rm 1=25 criket..so normally i feed for 1 week
3-4 criket for each SG per day..i have 2 SG..

but almost 7-8 criket may b more will die within 1 week...n so stingky
so i choose superworm & mealworm.
i feed my baby wit Superworm .. .. ..
the 1st day i got her she only take 1 superworm.. yesterday she finish around 7superworms tongue.gif hehehehe

bout the criket do we need to pull of the leg??? so that wont jump here and there ??

Added on October 7, 2008, 12:23 pm

walalala awesome .. nice posting
like a bat tongue.gif but cute lil bat tongue.gif

This post has been edited by De LoNelY: Oct 7 2008, 12:23 PM
suiteng
post Oct 7 2008, 02:02 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

The cricket I lepas and let my suggies go catch. tongue.gif Exercise ma.. Very geli meh? tongue.gif

Super mealworms also good, it's like drumsticks to them.
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 02:24 PM

4,711 posts

De Lonely,
cut down abit ur superworm.. make it 4-5 a day smile.gif

Suiteng,
i very gerli all these things tongue.gif i only start to hold mealworms after i hv BB smile.gif me very lousy one hahah
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 02:26 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 02:24 PM)
De Lonely,
cut down abit ur superworm.. make it 4-5 a day smile.gif

Suiteng,
i very gerli all these things tongue.gif i only start to hold mealworms after i hv BB smile.gif  me very lousy one hahah
HI Nezu this is Money pic .. i start feed her 7 yesterday becoz some of the superworm is be white..
so i feed her 7 white superworm .. on ur experiance how old is Money now ??

Suiteng .. Cricket i still dare to catch them tongue.gif coz always feed my bird wit cricket..
but superworm i still very geli.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by De LoNelY: Oct 7 2008, 02:30 PM
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 02:30 PM

4,565 posts

all these insects gives me the creep.. sad.gif
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 02:33 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 7 2008, 02:30 PM)
Mochi u given ur cheetah and glitter superworm before?? i mean LIVE wan
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 02:36 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(De LoNelY @ Oct 7 2008, 02:26 PM)
HI Nezu this is Money pic .. i start feed her 7 yesterday becoz some of the superworm is be white..
so i feed her 7 white superworm .. on ur experiance how old is Money now ?? 

Suiteng .. Cricket i still dare to catch them tongue.gif coz always feed my bird wit cricket..
but superworm i still very geli..  blush.gif
i worries she eat too much worms don't eat her fruits, also too high in phophoros. better cut it back, mealworms only feed 10 - 15, compare to super worms, guess 7 is alot.

about the age.. we talk in suggie thread smile.gif

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 7 2008, 02:30 PM)
but we need to learn how to over come n feed them.. no choice if we decide to keep them..

last sunday i bough a mango plum for BB n Kiro. very sweet smile.gif

anyone feed necter here?
onezkatana
post Oct 7 2008, 02:42 PM

170 posts

[quote=De LoNelY,Oct 7 2008, 12:22 PM]
i feed my baby wit Superworm .. .. ..
the 1st day i got her she only take 1 superworm.. yesterday she finish around 7superworms tongue.gif hehehehe

7 superworm..i think shoot be alot..
i just give 2 per day
n extra to mamy SG coz have a joey to feed.(need extra protien)
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 02:51 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 02:36 PM)
i worries she eat too much worms don't eat her fruits, also too high in phophoros. better cut it back, mealworms only feed 10 - 15, compare to super worms, guess 7 is alot.

about the age.. we talk in suggie thread smile.gif
but we need to learn how to over come n feed them.. no choice if we decide to keep them..

last sunday i bough a mango plum for BB n Kiro. very sweet smile.gif

anyone feed necter here?
nezu is mealworms better or superworms better??
then i cut down some superworms will give them min3 max 4 smile.gif hahahaha

tonight get some nice sweet mango for money smile.gif hehehe ..

nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 03:02 PM

4,711 posts

mealworm n super worm should be the same smile.gif

^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 03:16 PM

4,565 posts

wads a mango plum? Necter where to get?

lonely- no la.. mealies already make me faint, superworm OMG I READ THE WORDS ALSO MAKE GIVES ME THE CREEP!

Added on October 7, 2008, 3:17 pmdoes all sg eat papaya or mangO ? even those picky ones

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 7 2008, 03:17 PM
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 03:26 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 03:02 PM)
thn ill will continue will big mama ( superworms )

Added on October 7, 2008, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 7 2008, 03:02 PM)
thn ill will continue will big mama ( superworms )

Added on October 7, 2008, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 7 2008, 03:16 PM)
wads a mango plum? Necter where to get?

lonely- no la.. mealies already make me faint, superworm OMG I READ THE WORDS ALSO MAKE GIVES ME THE CREEP!

Added on October 7, 2008, 3:17 pmdoes all sg eat papaya or mangO ? even those picky ones
mango plum the share look like abit round round shape de smile.gif very sweet mango..

ohya wat is Necter??? izzi Nectar or Necter?? if is Nectar i do google it izzit a flower or honey??

^MochI^ u should try the BigmAmA for cheetah and glitter .. they sure like it de wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by De LoNelY: Oct 7 2008, 03:31 PM
abesabraham
post Oct 7 2008, 03:30 PM

OH. ok.
717 posts

They are not the same. Superworms have a higher meat ratio to mealworms and the chitin content in the shell is a lot more compared to mealworms.
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 03:32 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(abesabraham @ Oct 7 2008, 03:30 PM)
They are not the same. Superworms have a higher meat ratio to mealworms and the chitin content in the shell is a lot more compared to mealworms.
awesome smile.gif thx abesabraham . . .
sound BIgMaMa will do the Job smile.gif
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 03:45 PM

4,565 posts

bigmama=.=

u feed for me lo LOL!

got pic of the mango plum. sounds delicious i also wan to eat.lol
De LoNelY
post Oct 7 2008, 04:48 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 7 2008, 03:45 PM)
bigmama=.=

u feed for me lo LOL!

got pic of the mango plum. sounds delicious i also wan to eat.lol

teach u how to feed it ..
take a chop stick and pick the superworms up put in a bowl ... let them eat..
easy and clean tongue.gif ( dont ever use the same chopstick for dinner )

this is mango plum
this is mango .. this type u can get anywhere smile.gif

corect me if im wrong tongue.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 05:08 PM

4,711 posts

its plum not mango lah... no pic, feed them oledi..tongue.gif get in taipan fruits store..
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 05:20 PM

4,565 posts

??? That is mango plum Or PLUM ? rclxub.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 5:24 pmcan sg eat bean sprout or french bean anot?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 7 2008, 05:24 PM
sharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 07:04 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(abesabraham @ Oct 7 2008, 03:30 PM)
Superworm seriously.. awesome!!! but do they need a lot of time too gut load?
abesabraham
post Oct 7 2008, 07:13 PM

OH. ok.
717 posts

Nope! they eat a lot though.
huiyin_hsu
post Oct 7 2008, 08:43 PM

169 posts

Hi.. i dunno if im posting this at the right place, i just read about the GliderSLURP incident and when i went to get my glider's food this afternoon, she gave me Uncle Taro's Glider Smoothie. Is it safe for my sugar's consumption ? (!) I got so worried after i read the post because in my old container of SLURP it had black spots as well and i thought it was normal.
What are the contents in Uncle Taro's ?

sharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 08:54 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Oct 7 2008, 08:43 PM)
Hi.. i dunno if im posting this at the right place, i just read about the GliderSLURP incident and when i went to get my glider's food this afternoon, she gave me Uncle Taro's Glider Smoothie. Is it safe for my sugar's consumption ? (!) I got so worried after i read the post because in my old container of SLURP it had black spots as well and i thought it was normal.
What are the contents in Uncle Taro's ?
U can go here.. nod.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/738070

and ask GODMOTHER NEZU... thumbup.gif
empty_reg
post Oct 7 2008, 09:54 PM

249 posts

Eee yeap. Nezu also says her is modified version of BML. Many people from overseas has been feeding BML, highly recommended by many breeders and hobbyist alike.
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 10:26 PM

4,711 posts

my superworm gutload or not also same size one sad.gif they wouldn't get fat fat like mealworms?

what is the function of chitin?
abesabraham
post Oct 7 2008, 10:46 PM

OH. ok.
717 posts

Chitin is like their shell. What the shell is made up of. Chitin is also found in our nails.

Chitin is hard to digest.
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 11:08 PM

4,565 posts

can i feed lecithin granule to SG?
nezumitaro
post Oct 7 2008, 11:40 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 7 2008, 11:08 PM)
can i feed lecithin granule to SG?
dont simply feed supplement.
^MochI^
post Oct 7 2008, 11:42 PM

4,565 posts

so its a No .. okok
i did ask first just in case.
Luna_star
post Oct 8 2008, 03:03 PM

28 posts

ok, coz my gal doesnt like to eat vegetables. i blend fruits+ veges + eggs or boiled chicken . so it's best i calculate and blend the calcium together or sprinkle it into her food on daily basis?

where can i get wheatgerms and the nutrients of it? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Luna_star: Oct 8 2008, 03:08 PM
De LoNelY
post Oct 8 2008, 04:29 PM

401 posts

Nuze yesterday i feed money apple/pear/papaya/smoothie and 3 Superworm.. she only take 3 superworm that all
dowan to eat other food sad.gif

and she only take some Smoothie..

blush.gif blush.gif
^MochI^
post Oct 8 2008, 05:26 PM

4,565 posts

dun feed superworms today.
De LoNelY
post Oct 8 2008, 06:01 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 8 2008, 05:26 PM)
dun feed superworms today.
oH .. try to give Money WO TER ME LEN!! hehe hope she like it tongue.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 9 2008, 12:29 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(Luna_star @ Oct 8 2008, 03:03 PM)
ok, coz my gal doesnt like to eat vegetables. i blend fruits+ veges + eggs or boiled chicken . so it's best i calculate and blend the calcium together or sprinkle it into her food on daily basis?

where can i get wheatgerms and the nutrients of it?  thumbup.gif
wheatgerm can get in organic shop.
yes 1st post by jtp got those diet u can try it smile.gif

QUOTE(De LoNelY @ Oct 8 2008, 04:29 PM)
Nuze yesterday i feed money apple/pear/papaya/smoothie and 3 Superworm.. she only take 3 superworm that all
dowan to eat other food sad.gif

and she only take some Smoothie..

blush.gif  blush.gif
if like that reduce the worms.. heart pain abit. they hungry few days they sure will eat. just make sure fruits n mix is always available for them.

my adopt suggies both in wrong diet. 90% worms.. end up 1 die after come my place 1 mth.. his hind leg is paralysis, n lucky the female is still here. but i can see she is not as strong as kiro.

70% fresh, 30% worms n others.
De LoNelY
post Oct 9 2008, 09:30 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 9 2008, 12:29 AM)
if like that reduce the worms.. heart pain abit. they hungry few days they sure will eat. just make sure fruits n mix is always available for them.

my adopt suggies both in wrong diet. 90% worms.. end up 1 die after come my place 1 mth.. his hind leg is paralysis, n lucky the female is still here. but i can see she is not as strong as kiro.

HI nezu .. yesterday night i dint even give any superworms at all . . and u play wit her for fews hours..
until she hungry i feed her wit watermelon/small pcs of carrot/apple/smoothie ... she finish the smoothie half of watermelon half or apple.. carrot just few bits..

OMG.. 90% worms?? sweat.gif sweat.gif only worms for him/her. . .

izzit 4-5 superworms... to much for her ar?? hahahah
i wan her more on fruits.. coz Money really look like she love superworms..
nezumitaro
post Oct 9 2008, 11:25 AM

4,711 posts

actually superworms i give maxi 3 smile.gif hehhe..

yes better force them back to fruits n veges, they will stave themself a few days until they comfirm there will not hv worms for them.. then they will eat more frutis n veges smile.gif

De LoNelY
post Oct 9 2008, 11:28 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 9 2008, 11:25 AM)
actually superworms i give maxi 3 smile.gif hehhe..

yes better force them back to fruits n veges, they will stave themself a few days until they comfirm there will not hv worms for them.. then they will eat more frutis n veges smile.gif
yeah then i just give 1 be4 dinner after dinner 1 give 1 more.. be4 i sleep ill give 1 more smile.gif

make it 3 superworms.. hehehehe

yes i will force Money back to eat fruits . . . if not i scare she wont take fruits in future.. hehehe

kikiz
post Oct 9 2008, 12:06 PM

84 posts

Mine hate superworms. =(

She'll take a bite at it and throw it away.

lol. I also find crickets geli. If let them go, I'll be very very stressed if my glider can catch them or not, if not, I'll have to go running after them myself. My glider just sit there and wait for her worms to come. If she drops her worm......she'll just look at me expectedly.
NewbieBetta
post Oct 10 2008, 09:37 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

can we replace wheat germ with wheat bran?
saramic
post Oct 11 2008, 12:31 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Oct 10 2008, 09:37 AM)
can we replace wheat germ with wheat bran?
i don't think it's wise to replace wheat germ with wheat bran.
wheat bran is high in oxalates & oxalates interfere with calcium absorption.
Luna_star
post Oct 11 2008, 02:50 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 9 2008, 12:29 AM)

thanks! but do we need to wash the wheat germs 1st? erm....just pour it in and blend together? have no idea doh.gif
nezumitaro
post Oct 12 2008, 12:20 AM

4,711 posts

no need what wheat germ. its just like we eat oat, we never wash oat ya smile.gif
mikelim2020
post Oct 12 2008, 03:26 AM

497 posts

my glider slps extra early today.. i m very worried.. she dont seems to eat much other than her smoothie... what should i do?

This post has been edited by mikelim2020: Oct 12 2008, 03:26 AM
Meis
post Oct 12 2008, 03:38 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

my brother just bought a suggie recently... dunno where he get it, i didn't ask him that but he said he bought it for rm200... is that cheap or expensive?

when i ask him what to feed to the suggie... he said apple and that's all... really just apple doh.gif

but now after reading this thread i have a bit of a doubt...

sometime i just hope that the seller could at least give out more advise to the newbie pet owner...

This post has been edited by Meis: Oct 12 2008, 03:42 AM
empty_reg
post Oct 12 2008, 10:01 AM

249 posts

^
Then I guess after reading this thread you should tell your brothr what to do with it's diet.
Basically, is good to give it calcium supplements now. (I assume the seller won't waste additional doughs to feed it calcium, that's why he is telling your bro an apple a day is enough.)
If you can't get all the items right away, rotate the food that is recommended.
1 - 2 fruit + 1 vege + protein (meat / insects) + calcium supplements(yogurts)
change the items daily until you can get other kinds of food for it.
For recommended food, just stick to those available in the first post to get a brief idea what it can eat.

If the glider is young and tame, 200 is cheap. Usually reputated breeders are selling each for 300 - 350 depending on sex.
I can find cheaper than 200 as well. But it will never be as healthy as those sold by reputated breeders. So is the responsibility of the buyers to take care of it once it reaches the buyers hand.

Good luck Meis

This post has been edited by empty_reg: Oct 12 2008, 10:08 AM
De LoNelY
post Oct 16 2008, 09:31 AM

401 posts

anywan can let me know y my glider(MONEY) dowan to eat superworm??? she use to like it ..

already 2 days she dowan to eat superworms...

and she dont eat apple at all in between 2-3days sad.gif sweat.gif

i chop watermelon/honeydew/pear/apple/carrot all in to small pcs..

he trow away the apple and finish everything off....

p/s : wat i feed my mealworm?? roti or fruits?

This post has been edited by De LoNelY: Oct 16 2008, 09:33 AM
mattemily_85
post Oct 16 2008, 10:36 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(De LoNelY @ Oct 16 2008, 09:31 AM)
anywan can let me know y my glider(MONEY) dowan to eat superworm??? she use to like it ..
wat i feed my mealworm?? roti or fruits?
feed your worm with fruits and vege and possible also sprinkle calcium powder on the live insect before serve to suggie.
Dark Twilight
post Oct 18 2008, 08:33 PM

38 posts

if we make mix ar de onez i see on internet muz blend wan.... muz ar or can juz mix it???
babymina
post Oct 18 2008, 09:07 PM

301 posts

mattemily_85 has a supa dupa cute suggiees !
TSjtl
post Nov 7 2008, 09:59 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(Dark Twilight @ Oct 18 2008, 08:33 PM)
if we make mix ar de onez i see on internet muz blend wan.... muz ar or can juz mix it???
Most of them need to be blended. Which mix are you talking about?
nezumitaro
post Nov 7 2008, 10:44 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(Dark Twilight @ Oct 18 2008, 08:33 PM)
u need to blend your mix to very fine, if ur blender canot do it 1 time. then try to blend n wait, blend n wait. don't heat the bleder n the mix. nutritions will gone.
sharil_routh
post Nov 17 2008, 07:39 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Nov 7 2008, 10:44 AM)
u need to blend your mix to very fine, if ur blender canot do it 1 time. then try to blend n wait, blend n wait. don't heat the bleder n the mix. nutritions will gone.
owhh... dat way...
TSjtl
post Nov 17 2008, 11:31 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Nov 17 2008, 07:39 PM)
owhh... dat way...
Sharil, are you going to start blending your own mixes?
sharil_routh
post Nov 18 2008, 07:16 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Nov 17 2008, 11:31 PM)
Sharil, are you going to start blending your own mixes?
I will.. if sumone buy me a blender... so its easy for me to make it myself...

exoduskeira
post Nov 23 2008, 01:44 PM

141 posts

hey can someone tell me wut items are needed for a specific mix and where can i find the items pls? i badly need to noe.. and wut else can i feed my gliders when they show signs of dehydration??
TSjtl
post Nov 23 2008, 02:34 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(exoduskeira @ Nov 23 2008, 01:44 PM)
hey can someone tell me wut items are needed for a specific mix and where can i find the items pls? i badly need to noe.. and wut else can i feed my gliders when they show signs of dehydration??
Which specific mix?

As for dehydration, gliderade works wonders.
Paradox+-
post Jan 17 2009, 12:31 PM

I just got Glider Complete Diet by Exotic Nutrition. It is a dry staple food, which I intend to place in the cage all the time. Has anyone come across this product or been using this diet? I would really appreciate the feedback.

nezumitaro
post Jan 18 2009, 02:18 AM

4,711 posts

u just serve like that? or u serve with juice?
TSjtl
post Feb 12 2009, 01:15 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(Paradox+- @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 PM)
I just got Glider Complete Diet by Exotic Nutrition.  It is a dry staple food, which I intend to place in the cage all the time.  Has anyone come across this product or been using this diet? I would really appreciate the feedback.
Paradox, did your glider eat the Glider Complete?
cblam99
post Feb 12 2009, 10:23 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Paradox+- @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 PM)
I just got Glider Complete Diet by Exotic Nutrition.  It is a dry staple food, which I intend to place in the cage all the time.  Has anyone come across this product or been using this diet? I would really appreciate the feedback.
where u buy d dry staple food? can give me d product brand n name? how much u brought?
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 12 2009, 10:45 AM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Feb 12 2009, 10:23 AM)
where u buy d dry staple food? can give me d product brand n name? how much u brought?
All i know Exo nutrition online lol XD http://www.exoticnutrition.com

Btw jtl.. all the links on the first post, the website no more ler.. maybe you might want to update the links cry.gif
TSjtl
post Feb 12 2009, 11:53 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Feb 12 2009, 10:23 AM)
You can get the Glider Complete here

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 12 2009, 10:45 AM)
Btw jtl.. all the links on the first post, the website no more ler.. maybe you might want to update the links  cry.gif
Wah, so fast no more already ah? Ok ok, I've updated them. Thanks.

This post has been edited by jtl: Feb 12 2009, 12:04 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 12 2009, 05:47 PM

1,434 posts

Thanks jtl... urm can anyone recommend me the brand that i can easily buy @ supermarket for these items:

- honey
- baby food
- low fat yogurt (no flavor rite?)

need brand XD

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 12 2009, 06:12 PM
TSjtl
post Feb 12 2009, 09:44 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 12 2009, 05:47 PM)
Thanks jtl... urm can anyone recommend me the brand that i can easily buy @ supermarket for these items:

- honey
- baby food
- low fat yogurt (no flavor rite?)

need brand XD
I use Capilano honey.

As for baby food, do you mean the ones in the jar or the high protein cereal?

Yogurt - I am partial to Dutch Lady
vincent09
post Feb 12 2009, 10:03 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

QUOTE(De LoNelY @ Oct 16 2008, 09:31 AM)
p/s : wat i feed my mealworm?? roti or fruits?
Haha De LoNelY, you want make your mealworm as pet biggrin.gif, easy way is feed Rolled Oat, not instant 1. I always do like that if buy those thinny mealworm...

Paradox+-
Your SG like to eat those complete diet ? When I see it.... I try won't feed first biggrin.gif Em not the complete diet not good, just thinking of my rabbit case lol.
If very nice tell us about it Paradox+-

Oh yea, is it ok that feed 1 yogurt drop per day like that ?

SugarCoatedCandy, baby food if for high protein cereal powder, try HEINZ brand with yellow box biggrin.gif thumbup.gif But don't blend with hot water.... the result not so fine.

SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 12 2009, 10:22 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Feb 12 2009, 09:44 PM)
I use Capilano honey.

As for baby food, do you mean the ones in the jar or the high protein cereal?

Yogurt -  I am partial to Dutch Lady
The ones in the jar and protein cereal pls rclxms.gif coz im bringing my bella to work nowdays.. packing up some treats for her in case she get hungry ><

Added on February 12, 2009, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Feb 12 2009, 10:03 PM)
Haha De LoNelY, you want make your mealworm as pet biggrin.gif, easy way is feed Rolled Oat, not instant 1. I always do like that if buy those thinny mealworm...

Paradox+-
Your SG like to eat those complete diet ? When I see it.... I try won't feed first biggrin.gif  Em not the complete diet not good,  just thinking of my rabbit case lol.
If very nice tell us about it Paradox+-

Oh yea, is it ok that feed 1 yogurt drop per day like that ?

SugarCoatedCandy, baby food if for high protein cereal powder, try HEINZ brand with yellow box biggrin.gif thumbup.gif But don't blend with hot water.... the result not so fine.
Oh just saw your reply vincent blush.gif ty biggrin.gif if... feed just from the jar kenot arh blink.gif coz.. now i pokai edi cant buy her treats yet... cut cost sikit XD next month la buy from jtl blush.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 12 2009, 10:25 PM
nezumitaro
post Feb 12 2009, 10:57 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 12 2009, 10:22 PM)
The ones in the jar and protein cereal pls rclxms.gif coz im bringing my bella to work nowdays.. packing up some treats for her in case she get hungry ><

Oh just saw your reply vincent blush.gif ty biggrin.gif if... feed just from the jar kenot arh  blink.gif coz.. now i pokai edi cant buy her treats yet... cut cost sikit XD next month la buy from jtl blush.gif
if u feeding hpw. don't feed the baby high protein powder smile.gif. but u can get those baby jar fruits. but make sure no artificial flavouring. actually uc an blend fruits puree urself also
vincent09
post Feb 12 2009, 11:01 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Oh just saw your reply vincent blush.gif ty biggrin.gif if... feed just from the jar kenot arh  blink.gif coz.. now i pokai edi cant buy her treats yet... cut cost sikit XD next month la buy from jtl blush.gif
Haha not can't feed from the jar la, just not sure what u want to mix with, as nezumitaro say if with HPW then no need the baby cereal, because too many protein already, later getting fatty biggrin.gif
shakeera
post Feb 12 2009, 11:03 PM

22 posts

nezu...can i ask about the carnivore food here??? unsure.gif

i forgot to ask u how often can i give the carnivore food to my gliders n hammie??
coz they seem to like it so much

This post has been edited by shakeera: Feb 12 2009, 11:05 PM
TSjtl
post Feb 13 2009, 12:44 AM

788 posts

SCC, if you can afford it, it's better to get the Wombaroo High Protein Powder coz it's formulated specially for gliders by the real experts in Australia.

As for the jar baby food, Heinz is not bad but just make sure the ingredients has no garlic or onions.

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Feb 12 2009, 10:57 PM)
if u feeding hpw. don't feed the baby high protein powder smile.gif. but u can get those baby jar fruits. but make sure no artificial flavouring.  actually uc an blend fruits puree urself also
I don't think she's feeding HPW.

Here are some glider recipes (fruit and vege purees) for those who are rajin. tongue.gif

If anyone else has any other recipes, please do share smile.gif

This post has been edited by jtl: Feb 13 2009, 12:45 AM
nezumitaro
post Feb 13 2009, 12:44 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(shakeera @ Feb 12 2009, 11:03 PM)
nezu...can i ask about the carnivore food here??? unsure.gif

i forgot to ask u how often can i give the carnivore food to my gliders n hammie??
coz they seem to like it so much
sure Shakeera,

u can give everyday for both pets, but only 20% of their diet. i replace it with mealworms.
here we do not feed flies pupa, grasshopper n others insects. but overseas, people feeding a few type of insects. but the problem is. insects contain difference level of fat n protein in their differance life state. if we wrongly feed it on the high FAT low PROTEIN stage. its not healthy to the animal, especially glider. the carnivore food i give you is contain of insects which if from High Protein stage. also it container a few type of insects. if we want to feed live insects, it is actually advise to feed difference type of insects rather only mealworms. only mealworms is not balance.

my bb n kiro also like ti very much. once i put in all the plates, they will 1st go to the carnivore food. eat until making ciap ciap sound.

Added on February 13, 2009, 12:49 amthese are my few purees

1) red dragon fruits, golden kiwi, orange ( abit only) and mango.
2) Mango, apple and pear
3) french bean, broccoli (soak long long time pls), tomato & abit honey

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Feb 13 2009, 12:49 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 13 2009, 01:19 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Feb 13 2009, 12:44 AM)
SCC, if you can afford it, it's better to get the Wombaroo High Protein Powder coz it's formulated specially for gliders by the real experts in Australia.

As for the jar baby food, Heinz is not bad but just make sure the ingredients has no garlic or onions.
I don't think she's feeding HPW.

Here are some glider recipes (fruit and vege purees) for those who are rajin. tongue.gif

If anyone else has any other recipes, please do share smile.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif Yes im not on HPW yet... slow slow k XD this month i dunno how much i spent edi cry.gif will get proper nutrition for my bella next month >< thanks jtl for the info biggrin.gif

Edit~ Nezu.. if i scrape your suggie smoothie in the morning before i go to work (still frozen lah around 830am) evening still ok to feed her the smoothie or not? sweat.gif coz im finding ways to like bring food for her to the office.. my office very cheapskate.. no fridge XD im just afraid if she gets hungry..... sad.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 13 2009, 01:30 AM
nezumitaro
post Feb 13 2009, 01:31 AM

4,711 posts

SCC,
if u got budget, i suggess you don't spend one too many toys 1st. get the hpw 1st smile.gif cos diet is very important. once their pass the growing age. it effect the animals health in future smile.gif

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Feb 13 2009, 01:32 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 13 2009, 01:35 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Feb 13 2009, 01:31 AM)
SCC,
if u got budget, i suggess you don't spend one too many toys 1st. get the hpw 1st smile.gif cos diet is very important. once their pass the growing age. it effect the animals health in future smile.gif
Yes yes sweat.gif next month confirm buy! XD its just that this month got "ter over budget" when my kids wanted guinea pigs >< btw nezu.. my bella adult edi.. nezu u got msn? XD pm me pm me brows.gif
nezumitaro
post Feb 13 2009, 01:41 AM

4,711 posts

hahahhahaha so bad like i forcing u get hpw. but its really good.. i can see my babies is so much difference smile.gif
shakeera
post Feb 13 2009, 12:55 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Feb 13 2009, 12:44 AM)
sure Shakeera,

u can give everyday for both pets, but only 20% of their diet.  i replace it with mealworms.
here we do not feed flies pupa, grasshopper n others insects.  but overseas, people feeding a few type of insects.  but the problem is. insects contain difference level of fat n protein in their differance life state.  if we wrongly feed it on the high FAT low PROTEIN stage. its not healthy to the animal, especially glider.  the carnivore food i give you is contain of insects which if from High Protein stage.  also it container a few type of insects.  if we want to feed live insects, it is actually advise to feed difference type of insects rather only mealworms.  only mealworms is not balance.

my bb n kiro also like ti very much. once i put in all the plates, they will 1st go to the carnivore food. eat until making ciap ciap sound.

Added on February 13, 2009, 12:49 amthese are my few purees

1) red dragon fruits, golden kiwi, orange ( abit only) and mango.
2) Mango, apple and pear
3) french bean, broccoli (soak long long time pls), tomato & abit honey
ooo...great then...coz my shino is so hyper one...for her play play first then only eat (but she's not fussy)...
different with my sachi (the eating machine)..
now the only foods that can stop shino from jumping here n there is HPW diet and carnivore food...
she stick to the bowl like glue... nod.gif
so i'm kinda excited if i can give the carnivore food everyday so that my shino can pause for awhile and eats something like that she really likes... wub.gif

thanx nezu... notworthy.gif

SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 14 2009, 02:09 PM

1,434 posts

Is my recipe safe ><

2 eggs hard boiled
1/2 cup yogurt
3 tablespoon honey
Some brocolli, mango, apple & cucumber

can arr? >< coz all these things i have now in my kitchen.. thought of doing the cube thingy XD
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 16 2009, 01:54 AM

1,434 posts

Found more recipes here - http://worldwidesugarglidernetwork.com/recipes.htm brows.gif
nezumitaro
post Feb 16 2009, 10:50 AM

4,711 posts

this also depance on what u feeding other than this.
if its not calcium supplement, maybe u can add abit papaya in smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 16 2009, 01:21 PM

1,434 posts

Urmmmm i just notice that my bella she doesnt even touch any of the veggies i give.. Should i blend veges with the fruits so she cant be choosy? ><
nezumitaro
post Feb 16 2009, 01:33 PM

4,711 posts

yes u can. but don't put too much vege. start with abit. then increase slowly. so she wouldn't realise it heehhe
TSjtl
post Feb 28 2009, 12:12 AM

788 posts

I found more glider recipes here.

Looks interesting. If anyone has tried them, please do share. smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 28 2009, 02:39 AM

1,434 posts

Thanks Joan.. Im making a glider recipe book LOL~ All compiled recipes in one book.. I seriously nothing better to do rite >< sweat.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 28 2009, 02:40 AM
White Palace
post Feb 28 2009, 02:51 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

SugarCoatedCandy,

Finish compile liao, pass to me. tongue.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 28 2009, 02:54 AM

1,434 posts

LOL~ don't worry will compile as much as possible... Will make a web version so everyone can have a look at it ^^
TSjtl
post Mar 2 2009, 12:14 PM

788 posts

SCC, have you tried any of the recipes?
shakeera
post Mar 2 2009, 04:32 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Feb 28 2009, 12:12 AM)
I found more glider recipes here.

Looks interesting. If anyone has tried them, please do share. smile.gif
joan,i tried d the veggie relish...
but i replaced the baby white grape juice with apple juice...
and i took out the corn from the mix veggie...

put 1 tablespoon..
half only finished... sad.gif
the smell of the peas so strong..

nezumitaro
post Mar 2 2009, 05:24 PM

4,711 posts

you can mix french bean with pea smile.gif
shakeera
post Mar 2 2009, 05:36 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 2 2009, 05:24 PM)
you can mix french bean with pea smile.gif
oho..okie dokie...thx nezu
going to try another recipe later... rclxms.gif

TSjtl
post Mar 2 2009, 05:51 PM

788 posts

Mintak sikit. tongue.gif Two spoons enuf. Just wanna try. Can?

Lazy to blend myself tongue.gif
shakeera
post Mar 2 2009, 06:07 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 2 2009, 05:51 PM)
Mintak sikit. tongue.gif Two spoons enuf. Just wanna try. Can?

Lazy to blend myself tongue.gif
boleh boleh...
i made one small tupperware...
byk lagi tuh since x laku... tongue.gif
this sat i bring... biggrin.gif
kelvin_faye
post Mar 2 2009, 07:56 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Why u also want to go on Saturday?? I also going la!

CANCEL la, coz shakeera is going. BOSAN! sweat.gif
shakeera
post Mar 2 2009, 07:59 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Mar 2 2009, 07:56 PM)
Why u also want to go on Saturday?? I also going la!

CANCEL la, coz shakeera is going. BOSAN! sweat.gif
weekkkkkkk...
u don't come ar...
i nmpk u i trus kunci pintu... tongue.gif

UPDATE:joan, i datang sunday...silap tgk tarikh wedding td.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by shakeera: Mar 2 2009, 08:41 PM
kelvin_faye
post Mar 2 2009, 08:42 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

I SEPAK!!! U igt u sampai dulu ker? Kot kot i yang sampai dulu, KUNCI plak u kat luaq!!!! H A H A H A.. Nak i bawak baby gliders tak?

HPW diet! Now i wana make it more n more! Who wants to help me blend? I give free small container! wub.gif
shakeera
post Mar 2 2009, 08:44 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Mar 2 2009, 08:42 PM)
I SEPAK!!! U igt u sampai dulu ker? Kot kot i yang sampai dulu, KUNCI plak u kat luaq!!!! H A H A H A.. Nak i bawak baby gliders tak?

HPW diet! Now i wana make it more n more! Who wants to help me blend? I give free small container! wub.gif
xpe2...ko kunci la...
ak dtg sunday...
silap tgk date wedding td...
hahaha...
TSjtl
post Mar 3 2009, 11:12 PM

788 posts

Shake, I made some fruit smoothie last night. I will put some in a small container for your babies to try. I will ask babydugong to pass to you on Sunday. You remind him, ok?
nezumitaro
post Mar 3 2009, 11:29 PM

4,711 posts

i also may go on sat oh hahahha

Shake u go on sunday? maybe i scope something for u.. hehe
shakeera
post Mar 3 2009, 11:30 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 3 2009, 11:12 PM)
Shake, I made some fruit smoothie last night. I will put some in a small container for your babies to try. I will ask babydugong to pass to you on Sunday. You remind him, ok?
waa...nice nice...tq...
2morrow i'm making chicken pop...long time didn't make for them...
hv u tried b4???
TSjtl
post Mar 3 2009, 11:33 PM

788 posts

Nope, never tried before. No time to cook much sad.gif
shakeera
post Mar 3 2009, 11:36 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 3 2009, 11:33 PM)
Nope, never tried before. No time to cook much sad.gif
ehehe...okie dokie...i'll bring some of that too...
see ur babies suka x... icon_idea.gif
TSjtl
post Mar 4 2009, 11:42 PM

788 posts

How did the chicken pop go?
shakeera
post Mar 5 2009, 12:13 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 3 2009, 11:29 PM)

how come i missed this post...hehehe...
yayy nezu want to scope something for me...
master piece from nezu....
yahuuuuuuu... rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 4 2009, 11:42 PM)
How did the chicken pop go?
heee....2morrow bru buat... blush.gif
2day i woke up chicken sudah jadi curry...forgot to ask her to put aside a bit...
hahaha...
so fast my mum cooked (or i yg bangun lambat)... sweat.gif
haha..

This post has been edited by shakeera: Mar 5 2009, 12:14 AM
kelvin_faye
post Mar 5 2009, 02:54 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 3 2009, 11:12 PM)
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 3 2009, 11:29 PM)

QUOTE(shakeera @ Mar 3 2009, 11:36 PM)
ehehe...okie dokie...i'll bring some of that too...
see ur babies suka x... icon_idea.gif
EHEM EHEM, please dont forget my share yeah.. I also coming la. HAHA wub.gif

REALLY WAN. Wana see the so call goodlooking-but-not-sure-what-race new fella working at PS. Hmmmm. blink.gif

Shakeera, please bring some chicken pop, Joan is fruit smoothie, and Nezu is scoop sumting.. Hehe..

I bring some DIY stuffs. Normal nia, i do it tomoro. Haha.
TSjtl
post Mar 5 2009, 03:36 PM

788 posts

Kelvin, you are confirm coming? I need to check if I have anymore fruit smoothie for you. smile.gif
shakeera
post Mar 5 2009, 05:04 PM

22 posts

yahooooo...chicken pop is done....

mixture of chicken,dragon fruit,fragrance pear,lai,mango and papaya low fat yogurt....

gave my babies 1 teaspoon just now...licin...heeee..puas hati.. biggrin.gif
babydugong
post Mar 5 2009, 06:27 PM

115 posts

Sounds delicious. Can't wait for my gliders to try it.
eric138
post Mar 6 2009, 07:40 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(babydugong @ Mar 5 2009, 06:27 PM)
Sounds delicious. Can't wait for my gliders to try it.
ya..sound delicious until i feel like trying it ler...
nezumitaro
post Mar 6 2009, 09:50 AM

4,711 posts

i feel KFC hahah chicken pop hahahhaha..

ignore kelvin... don't want read his post... tongue.gif run..
eric138
post Mar 6 2009, 10:48 AM

227 posts

haha..nezu sunday coming or not ah..bring ur taro...and bibi and kiro.. i wan see bibi fly on fan...

haha..watever chicken pop ke, smoothies ke...watever that can eat i also wan...hahhaha...

This post has been edited by eric138: Mar 6 2009, 10:49 AM
White Palace
post Mar 6 2009, 10:59 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

Tapao a bit for me tongue.gif
babydugong
post Mar 6 2009, 11:13 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Mar 6 2009, 10:48 AM)
haha..nezu sunday coming or not ah..bring ur taro...and bibi and kiro.. i wan see bibi fly on fan...

haha..watever chicken pop ke, smoothies ke...watever that can eat i also wan...hahhaha...
Taro should be coming tomorrow, if he come on Sunday we all have no food left. sweat.gif
eric138
post Mar 6 2009, 11:23 AM

227 posts

haha..u mean taro eat alot or nezu eat a lot?
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 9 2009, 01:36 AM

1,434 posts

I not sure whether shud ask at this thread or petshack suggie item thread >< But here goes:

I feed bella the carnivore.. first day.. dint touch at all. 2nd day.. a bit gone oni.. 3rd day got eat.. but dint finish all.. I dunno i mixing it correctly or not @@ or she dont like it? I dont give her mealies or silkworm when i serve the carnivore. Or she kenyang edi? Coz... HPW finito XD

Then...... the glider complete.. i put this in the cage in the morning before i leave for work. If i bring her, i wont put lah. She eats the pellets, but wont finish. But those that she bites (the pellets) become dust.. Throw or still can be eaten >< the dried fruits from the glider complete will usually confirm finish. Coz i dont give her fresh fruits daily already. Only once in 2 or 3 days. Coz she got like so much to eat edi @@

Help me pls xD
nezumitaro
post Mar 9 2009, 02:04 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Mar 6 2009, 11:23 AM)
haha..u mean taro eat alot or nezu eat a lot?
both hhahah

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Mar 9 2009, 01:36 AM)
I not sure whether shud ask at this thread or petshack suggie item thread >< But here goes:

I feed bella the carnivore.. first day.. dint touch at all. 2nd day.. a bit gone oni.. 3rd day got eat.. but dint finish all.. I dunno i mixing it correctly or not @@ or she dont like it? I dont give her mealies or silkworm when i serve the carnivore. Or she kenyang edi? Coz... HPW finito XD

Then...... the glider complete.. i put this in the cage in the morning before i leave for work. If i bring her, i wont put lah. She eats the pellets, but wont finish. But those that she bites (the pellets) become dust.. Throw or still can be eaten >< the dried fruits from the glider complete will usually confirm finish. Coz i dont give her fresh fruits daily already. Only once in 2 or 3 days. Coz she got like so much to eat edi @@

Help me pls xD
give her sometime. also some glider maybe small eater some is big eater. so u adjust to her potion. if she always finished all. then u add abit..
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 9 2009, 02:38 AM

1,434 posts

Hmmm okie thx nezu... should i add a bit more HPW sweat.gif coz hers always licin.. But i know jack got say... max is 1 and half teaspoon ><

The glider complete leh? Can i leave the bitten pellets? Coz after she eat like half of it.. the pellet will be like cookie crumbs like that.
nezumitaro
post Mar 9 2009, 09:44 AM

4,711 posts

HPW just stick to 1.5 teaspoon. so she will eat other food if she still hungry.

the glider complate, if u didn't add any juice or water. if only eat half, guess u still can leave it in the bowl. then next day u put in less or don't add, let her finished it. keeping in air too long also no good.
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 9 2009, 11:16 AM

1,434 posts

Thanks nezu!! Sounds good but now i a bit bengang.. got stupid ants in her coop cups! arghh dunno come from where also. Her cage feet all got vaseline.. still got come =.=
hanin_schum
post Mar 21 2009, 11:43 PM

hello, im getting a pair of joeys soon and im planning to give them the HPW diet.
Im very geli with mealworms and crickets, (only berani with those canned ones),
if i feed my suggies with the wombaroo small carnivore food,
do i still need to give them live insects?

This post has been edited by hanin_schum: Mar 21 2009, 11:43 PM
babydugong
post Mar 22 2009, 12:10 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(hanin_schum @ Mar 21 2009, 11:43 PM)
hello, im getting a pair of joeys soon and im planning to give them the HPW diet.
Im very geli with mealworms and crickets, (only berani with those canned ones),
if i feed my suggies with the wombaroo small carnivore food,
do i still need to give them live insects?
small carnivore food can replace insects. rclxms.gif
kelvin_faye
post Mar 22 2009, 12:19 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Hanin : Wow! U din tell me also u r getting gliders! NOW thats a surprise!! Welcome on board!

The small carnivore food right, u make it to 20% of the total food u gonna serve everyday. Ask nezu bout it! She's the expert in callculating these things!

U make a right decision on HPW Diet! The diet is awesome!

Wana see my Cairo not? The big chunky male glider! Sponge-like according to Shakeera! And a weight machine according to Chika!

So proud of my Papa glider! Way to go Cairo!

And one more, if u have extra $ $ $, u may want to try on the canned insects too. So that ur soon-to-be gliders have more variations of food. U wouldnt want to eat only nasi lemak rite everyday? Same goes to the babies! wub.gif

This post has been edited by kelvin_faye: Mar 22 2009, 12:20 AM
hanin_schum
post Mar 22 2009, 12:41 AM

kelvin: i aso terkejut so fast i can get them. cannot tahan poison, im still reading up abt them..will get them mid of april..biggrin.gif

thanks! good to know that it can substitute live insects..cannot tahan geli. if canned ones, okay abit la..

nezumitaro
post Mar 22 2009, 01:19 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Mar 9 2009, 11:16 AM)
Thanks nezu!! Sounds good but now i a bit bengang.. got stupid ants in her coop cups! arghh dunno come from where also. Her cage feet all got vaseline.. still got come =.=
hows ur ants problem? better?

QUOTE(hanin_schum @ Mar 22 2009, 12:41 AM)
kelvin: i aso terkejut so fast i can get them. cannot tahan poison, im still reading up abt them..will get them mid of april..biggrin.gif

thanks! good to know that it can substitute live insects..cannot tahan geli. if canned ones, okay abit la..
yes u can use carnivore food as a balance inserct protein, canned inects for additinal. if not life is too boring smile.gif

once u see ur gliders so happy with the insect, slowly u will get use of the insects smile.gif
faerieC
post Mar 25 2009, 02:18 AM

148 posts

i just start to feed instant HPW mix with manuka honey & glider complete diet to my Milly, but she seems to ignore both of it.
other than tht, she also ignore the insectivore lately.

how come ya?
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 25 2009, 10:36 AM

1,434 posts

I feed bella the glider complete only during the morning when i go to work if i dont bring her with me.

Sometimes when there is just so much to eat, they wont eat >< try serving like one by one and take away the rest? Bella ignores her carnivore food sometimes too, coz she's full with HPW..

Im just guessing maybe your glider is full =x
nezumitaro
post Mar 25 2009, 01:04 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(faerieC @ Mar 25 2009, 02:18 AM)
i just start to feed instant HPW mix with manuka honey & glider complete diet to my Milly, but she seems to ignore both of it.
other than tht, she also ignore the insectivore lately.

how come ya?
then what ur glider eating?
faerieC
post Mar 26 2009, 01:32 AM

148 posts

erm... normally her menu for nite time will be fruit & vege(+ acacia gum/gliderade/glider-cal), chic meat/ egg(2/3days once), yogurt(2/3days once), mealies & insectivore.

den i just intro her the HPW + honey, glider complete diet, canned cricket & yogurt drop
nezumitaro
post Mar 26 2009, 09:16 AM

4,711 posts

so she will eat the fruits & vege, Chicken meat n eggs everyday eh?

if she is eating the over. then u cut the amount of the above item. so she wouldn't be full, then she will look for others to eat.

again. if your think ur glider is not eating the amount she should have, then go for a check up with Dr Jenny. that will sure help.
faerieC
post Mar 26 2009, 05:47 PM

148 posts

ya...yester-nite i only feed her with fruit & vege + mealies + insectivore & glider complete diet & yogurt drops.
she finish those only left some fruit.

TSjtl
post Mar 26 2009, 06:15 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(faerieC @ Mar 26 2009, 05:47 PM)
ya...yester-nite i only feed her with fruit & vege + mealies + insectivore & glider complete diet & yogurt drops.
Wow, that seems like a lot of food at one time. What are your portions like?
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 26 2009, 08:20 PM

1,434 posts

Wow! all that for 1 glider?
nezumitaro
post Mar 27 2009, 12:00 AM

4,711 posts

all the above food u put the potion abit down. then add in the hpw, or u can try press n melt ur yogurt drop in the hpw.
faerieC
post Mar 28 2009, 03:25 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 26 2009, 06:15 PM)
Wow, that seems like a lot of food at one time. What are your portions like?
erm..consider variety choices only but not much portions la laugh.gif
will try to upload pics of those food tht usually i'm ready for her...tonite

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Mar 26 2009, 08:20 PM)
Wow! all that for 1 glider?
yup..i only hv 1 glider

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 27 2009, 12:00 AM)
all the above food u put the potion abit down. then add in the hpw, or u can try press n melt ur yogurt drop in the hpw.
now only i know can add in yogurt drop into HPW. btw, usually after mix HPW + manuka honey it will become something like yogurt (sticky) or watery type? i'm scared i mix wrongly.

This post has been edited by faerieC: Mar 28 2009, 03:26 PM
skyhush
post Mar 28 2009, 09:51 PM

41 posts

do i need to feed SG wif silkworms daily?

nezumitaro
post Mar 28 2009, 11:05 PM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(faerieC @ Mar 28 2009, 03:25 PM)
erm..consider variety choices only but not much portions la laugh.gif
will try to upload pics of those food tht usually i'm ready for her...tonite
yup..i only hv 1 glider
now only i know can add in yogurt drop into HPW. btw, usually after mix HPW + manuka honey it will become something like yogurt (sticky) or watery type? i'm scared i mix wrongly.
should be watery, of cos not watery until like plain water though. but the thickness of hpw shouldn't cos not eating problem. just need some time to intro.

last time my BB also don't like HPW, but she will die for her yogurt drop. so i press n melt it in the hpw. then she will go eat, u try n see. if work for u.

QUOTE(skyhush @ Mar 28 2009, 09:51 PM)
do i need to feed SG wif silkworms daily?
IMHO, I would say 1 or 2 each day will do, can be daily wor just 3 times a weeks.

what i give is carnivore food daily as the main insect protein intake (20% of their diet), those canned insect i give as treats. 1 ech daily for them
skyhush
post Mar 29 2009, 01:19 AM

41 posts

wat happen if i feed them more silkworms
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 29 2009, 01:24 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(skyhush @ Mar 29 2009, 01:19 AM)
wat happen if i feed them more silkworms
Too much fat and phosphorus intake.. altho silkworms have the lowest phosphorus ratio.. still the fat isnt good sad.gif
skyhush
post Mar 29 2009, 01:40 AM

41 posts

owh...thx...im new wif SG...how many time should we feed them per day... and wat the menu
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 29 2009, 02:35 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(skyhush @ Mar 29 2009, 01:40 AM)
owh...thx...im new wif SG...how many time should we feed them per day... and wat the menu
I feed my girl once a day when she wakes up around 12am. But different gliders different timing. I recommend HPW diet and fruits on a daily basis. Mealies/silkworms & yogurt drops as treats. Did you do any research on gliders before?
skyhush
post Mar 29 2009, 07:04 AM

41 posts

yup..i do my research for SG.just to confirmation..btw..thx a lot
faerieC
post Mar 29 2009, 02:01 PM

148 posts

that's de food i've feed my Milly yester-nite. not much portion rite?

there's papaya, mealies, low fat yogurt, insectivore + glider complete diet

by dis morning...only left some papaya. others finish but she still ignore de insectivore. in de pics i only offer her 1pc (small) insectivore. previously i will give her bout 3pc of those size.

at 1st i tot she boring with it tht's y i bought more variety choice for her.

This post has been edited by faerieC: Mar 29 2009, 03:24 PM

Luna_star
post Mar 29 2009, 06:18 PM

28 posts

need help, what is the amount of glider cal, gliderade if sprinkled onto fruits?

Is it a pinch or a teaspoon amount?
kelvin_faye
post Mar 29 2009, 08:37 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

The Glider-Cal and Gliderade shud be 1/2 teaspoon per pound of food.

So it's actually aBIT only.

But then, it also depends on the STAPLE diet u use.
nezumitaro
post Mar 30 2009, 01:08 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(faerieC @ Mar 29 2009, 02:01 PM)
that's de food i've feed my Milly yester-nite. not much portion rite?

there's papaya, mealies, low fat yogurt, insectivore + glider complete diet

by dis morning...only left some papaya. others finish but she still ignore de insectivore. in de pics i only offer her 1pc (small) insectivore. previously i will give her bout 3pc of those size.

at 1st i tot she boring with it tht's y i bought more variety choice for her.
the papaya potion u can cut down abit, the mealworms put 2 will do. continue like this for a few days. see if ur baby will touch others food.

QUOTE(Luna_star @ Mar 29 2009, 06:18 PM)
need help, what is the amount of glider cal, gliderade if sprinkled onto fruits?

Is it a pinch or a teaspoon amount?
it depance on ur glider diet.

1) if you make ur own BML, then i guess u don't need to supplement extra calcium, as BML contain enough Cal to cover the Phosphorous in glider diet. as someone test on Gl****-Sm******, which is BML, show the cal level is enough to cover it.

2) if u make other mixed diet from net which contain calcium supplement. i believe u do not need extra cal too.

3) if u feeding HPW, and IF you feeding more than 4 mealworms a day. a pinch of calcium supplement 3 times a weeks wouldn't be good.

reember NEVER EVER OVERDOSE calcium. it will cos stone problem.

whoever supplement their glider with calcium n worries u may overdose, you can get cramberry juice from super market , give ur gliderhalf a teaspoon everyday. that will prevent stone problem. make sure its PURE crambery juice ya.
afcmh
post Jun 3 2009, 11:32 PM

127 posts

hye all the sifus of sg
im new to sugar gliders phenomenon smile.gif
so i've questions on sg diet

let say im going to buy a female 2month old sg
what shud i feed it for the 1st month? sweat.gif
if possible,help me by giving details bout the daily food cycle & schedule

i reli nid ur expert advice regarding this
i want my sg to be healthy, STRONG & muscular
lol rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jun 3 2009, 11:33 PM
eric138
post Jun 4 2009, 12:16 AM

227 posts

what u mean by feeding what in FIRST MONTH?

2month OOP glider u can feed solid fruits & vege and daily staple diet already.

I am feeding this to 4 of my gliders.

Daily:

1) HPW with Glider Booster

2) 2-3 Mealworms

3) Mixed Fruits and Vege

Alternate Days:

1) Small Carnivore Food ( when i don feed any insects on that day0

2) Pure Acacia Gum

3) Gliderade (twice a week)

4) Glider-Cal
afcmh
post Jun 4 2009, 12:57 AM

127 posts

owwh if i learned how to feed them for the 1st month,
then it shud be no problem for the followings.aite?
but now with ur expert explanation, im clearly understand wat diet dat my suggie will have.
thanks 4 the tips eric, it's very helpful i couldn't asked more smile.gif

btw, where do u keep ur sg cage?
i wonder if i can keep it in my bedroom..

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jun 4 2009, 12:59 AM
eric138
post Jun 4 2009, 01:01 AM

227 posts

Yup. You can keep inside ur bedroom. Most of the owner keep in the room.

You can pm me for other questions. Becoz it's bit off topic coz this is Glider Diet thread. biggrin.gif
afcmh
post Jun 4 2009, 01:09 AM

127 posts

actually i've a lot question mark inside of my head
hehee
sry for offing the topic
tongue.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 4 2009, 06:39 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(afcmh @ Jun 3 2009, 11:32 PM)
hye all the sifus of sg
im new to sugar gliders phenomenon smile.gif
so i've questions on sg diet

let say im going to buy a female 2month old sg
what shud i feed it for the 1st month?  sweat.gif
if possible,help me by giving details bout the daily food cycle & schedule

i reli nid ur expert advice regarding this
i want my sg to be healthy, STRONG & muscular
lol  rclxms.gif

Im pretty sure eric has given you extensive explanation on glider diets coz he is very well versed tongue.gif I personally would recommend the HPW diet coz it did wonders for my Bella smile.gif also the variety of fruits and vege is important.. supplements.. get those too thumbup.gif then nothing can go wrong with your gliders growth rclxms.gif
afcmh
post Jun 5 2009, 01:29 AM

127 posts

lol i saw someone at mudah.com selling his glider with cage
then i ask him to email some pictures
u know wat, it's a hamster cage!
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 5 2009, 10:04 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(afcmh @ Jun 5 2009, 01:29 AM)
lol i saw someone at mudah.com selling his glider with cage
then i ask him to email some pictures
u know wat, it's a hamster cage!
Yes this is a normal scenario smile.gif People are just profiting by selling suggies. But actually they don't really care for the welfare of these poor animals. So we wouldn't want to buy suggies from these kind of people. It is best to buy from a breeder or adopt. I can tell you for sure if you ask "what kind of diet are you giving these suggies" Im pretty sure kuachi is something they would say laugh.gif
nezumitaro
post Jun 5 2009, 02:09 PM

4,711 posts

halo.. sorry to say.. but pls other than diet topic. all move back to glider main thread ya smile.gif so easy for newbie to refer smile.gif thanks
afcmh
post Jun 6 2009, 02:53 AM

127 posts

again, sory lol
huhu
RyoKenzaki
post Jun 6 2009, 06:39 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Read from page 1 till here i still kinda blur...
For now i feed my adult glider with mixture of 2fruit (of either apple, pear, papaya, mango or watermelon), some mealworm (4-7) and GliderSlurp everyday
Izit enuff? The reason i din feed vege is cause she din take it, after reading all the info i ll start blending some with the fruit 2molo
Usually i woke up at evening, i feed mealworm 1st then fruit at nite and slurp at morning
Do i need other suplement like hpw if im using slurp?
Sry i did try2 research more but i really confuse with all the nutrient stuff...
eric138
post Jun 6 2009, 10:36 AM

227 posts

You shouldnt mix feeding two diet, such as HPW and Slurp. If i am not mistaken, Slurp is modified from BML..

I think you should try mmore vege such as french bean, sweet potato, sweet pea and etc.. Try to explore which vege they are more keen..

Be creative, think of more variety of fruits...trust me, she will get bored one day...hahaha..

You can give HPW a try if you wan, since a lot people giving positive reviews after swapping from BML diet.

RyoKenzaki
post Jun 6 2009, 03:11 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Im not concerning bout the variety of vege i can offer but rather the nutrient value that matter
After reading some pages in glider thread i found papaya is good for calcium, nice, i have alot
But of cause wont over feed calcium...
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 6 2009, 09:37 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jun 6 2009, 03:11 PM)
Im not concerning bout the variety of vege i can offer but rather the nutrient value that matter
After reading some pages in glider thread i found papaya is good for calcium, nice, i have alot
But of cause wont over feed calcium...
I dint really get what you were asking but here goes... XD

Perhaps you can couple the papaya with fruits high in fiber. For example apples, apricots, berries, dates, figs, oranges (not to be fed often), oh and also sweet potatoes (boiled until its soft and edible).. I remember eric told me to offer cranberry juice also to even out on the calcium.
RyoKenzaki
post Jun 6 2009, 09:55 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Thanks for helping, every question on their diet is answered by one of my fren when i met her juz now so im clear now smile.gif
kelvin_faye
post Jun 8 2009, 11:31 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Ryo : Surplus calcium in suggie body can be flushed out by giving cranberry juice..

Try to give HPW n see how she do.. If she doesnt show any improvement in a month or so, u can always change back to the old diet..

Choy sum is high in calcium too..

And most of us here, we try to give a mixture of at least 3 fruits variety and 3 veges variety.. And we do it alternately each night, so the babies wont get bored.. sweat.gif U can always google the fruits n veges ratio on cal:phos...
afcmh
post Jun 14 2009, 11:29 PM

127 posts

hi guys nid ur help
im curious wat is the correct color of hpw?
my momo dont seems to like it much...

eric138
post Jun 14 2009, 11:59 PM

227 posts

You nid to slwly intro new food to ur glider, not all glider can pick up new food instantly, most of them are picky eater.

The color of HPW is something like tat..the one in saucer plate..color may be vary coz we are using different honey...

But it should be yellowish...
afcmh
post Jun 15 2009, 01:21 AM

127 posts

thanks eric for the picture
but mine is orange not yellow..
mybe i salah bancuh..
btw how long can i keep hpw inside the cage?
i mean the time limit

eric138
post Jun 15 2009, 01:25 AM

227 posts

If you put it at night, then discard all leftover of fruits and HPW second day morning.

Urs is more to orange mayb it's becoz of the honey.. And, u using starter kit, so mayb u blend not even enuf...

Am i Off Topic?? Erm..other question than Diet we talk in pm or msn la.

afcmh
post Jun 15 2009, 04:18 AM

127 posts

ermmm
btw im not using starter kit im using instant
i think not off topic le still related to diet
tongue.gif

SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 15 2009, 09:52 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(afcmh @ Jun 15 2009, 01:21 AM)
thanks eric for the picture
but mine is orange not yellow..
mybe i salah bancuh..
btw how long can i keep hpw inside the cage?
i mean the time limit
Did you get the HPW starter kit? Instant or mix? laugh.gif Also what kind of honey you using biggrin.gif
eric138
post Jun 15 2009, 10:36 AM

227 posts

He using instant, and Capilano Honey..

Btw, last time when i use Capilano, the honey color actually faded from tiem to time.. T-T

SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 15 2009, 11:41 AM

1,434 posts

Ok instant then don't need to worry so much. Just take it out lo in the morning. Don't leave it for too long. Can't be salah bancuh coz it got spoon rite?? Got spoon rite eric? LOL~

I dont use instant, i just use mixed HPW smile.gif also i cant afford to change anymore honey or bella start to mengamuk again until dowan to eat sleep.gif

afcmh- you can try upgrading the honey to rewa2/white clover or manuka and see which one your baby likes more smile.gif Also don't forget daily fruits and veges.. some mealworm treats also biggrin.gif Oh and Gliderade if you have ^^ twice a week~
afcmh
post Jun 16 2009, 12:22 AM

127 posts

yaya got a very very tiny spoon
i dont use it anyway i use normal spoon but using the same sukatan lo
everytime i serve hpw mmg x abes, dye mkn sket je.. cry.gif
now im using capilano
i'll try manuka or rewa2 as u said
currently my momo's daily diet are
fruits & veges - papaya,pear,apple,plum (she only mkn papaya & pear)
veges - sawi,chinese cabbage,tomato,timun (she dont like sawi)
hpw
2 mealworms

btw wat is mixed hpw??
is it starter?

will get the gliderade soon smile.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jun 16 2009, 12:23 AM
eric138
post Jun 16 2009, 08:36 AM

227 posts

wat do u mean by mixed hpw?

Don give timun la...doesnt reallly contains much nutrition for gliders. For more choices on vege u can try carrot, french bean, sweet potato, sweet peas and etc..

Do not feed carrot and sweet potato everyday as they contains high oxalates.

Ur joey is really small now, is not fully weaned joey. So her stomach is still haven fully develop yet, the 1 1/2 teaspoon is for fully 2months OOP glider portion.

Usually i would suggest you to feed with Wombaroo Milk Replacer first.. I used it before, very good and it helps a lot for underaged glider.

For the spoon, i think u better use back the small spoon given, unless u got the proper measuring spoon.. If you r using inproper spoon to mix, the amount of portion u giving might be less/more and the nutrition absord is thrown out...
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 16 2009, 10:11 AM

1,434 posts

Eric and Kelvin told me about your Joey afcmh, perhaps you want to try the Milk replacer like what eric said? Mixed HPW got 2 types. 1 you mix yourself with the blender. You provide the honey and fresh eggs and water. The other one is the already mixed HPW that jtl is also selling.

But all actually the same, they just make it convenient to your liking. For example some students dont have blender so they get the instant or the pre mixed one. I still prefer to mix my own XD

btw Make sure to gutload your mealworms nod.gif
afcmh
post Jun 17 2009, 12:36 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Jun 16 2009, 08:36 AM)
wat do u mean by mixed hpw?

Don give timun la...doesnt reallly contains much nutrition for gliders. For more choices on vege u can try carrot, french bean, sweet potato, sweet peas and etc..

Do not feed carrot and sweet potato everyday as they contains high oxalates.

Ur joey is really small now, is not fully weaned joey. So her stomach is still haven fully develop yet, the 1 1/2 teaspoon is for fully 2months OOP glider portion.

Usually i would suggest you to feed with Wombaroo Milk Replacer first.. I used it before, very good and it helps a lot for underaged glider.

For the spoon, i think u better use back the small spoon given, unless u got the proper measuring spoon.. If you r using inproper spoon to mix, the amount of portion u giving might be less/more and the nutrition absord is thrown out...
eric thanks for ur advices
will use back the spoon given but the sukatan there is for 1 time serve. aite?
but do i really need the Wombaroo Milk Replacer?
becos shes eating well
only the hpw x habes

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 16 2009, 10:11 AM)
Eric and Kelvin told me about your Joey afcmh, perhaps you want to try the Milk replacer like what eric said? Mixed HPW got 2 types. 1 you mix yourself with the blender. You provide the honey and fresh eggs and water. The other one is the already mixed HPW that jtl is also selling.

But all actually the same, they just make it convenient to your liking. For example some students dont have blender so they get the instant or the pre mixed one. I still prefer to mix my own XD

btw Make sure to gutload your mealworms nod.gif
gutload?
how?
giving them sawi & oat?
i did.kelvin & eric teach me that
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jun 17 2009, 12:36 AM
eric138
post Jun 17 2009, 12:41 AM

227 posts

Wombaroo Possum Milk Replacer is quite good, esp for those joey who detached from the mother earlier... It helps a lot in joey development. You can consider bout it.

Is ok if she cant finish the hpw now, since the portion is for adult glider. Mayb u can give 1teaspoon first...then only slow add on to 1 1/2 when u realise she finish up the hpw from time to time..
afcmh
post Jun 17 2009, 03:02 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Jun 17 2009, 12:41 AM)
Wombaroo Possum Milk Replacer is quite good, esp for those joey who detached from the mother earlier... It helps a lot in joey development. You can consider bout it.

Is ok if she cant finish the hpw now, since the portion is for adult glider. Mayb u can give 1teaspoon first...then only slow add on to 1 1/2 when u realise she finish up the hpw from time to time..
i think i'll get the milk replacer because as u said eric,mine is underage..
i dont want to risk her life shakehead.gif
btw how much is it?

lol 1 teaspoon of that small spoon?
so little..

eric138
post Jun 17 2009, 08:33 AM

227 posts

Check on the website for the price. Not to say risk her life but better for her health.

Yeah 1 teaspoon... A fully developed glider's stomach size is about our thumb size... So u imagine urself how big is ur glider stomach now..
cblam99
post Jun 18 2009, 04:26 PM

58 posts

anyone can tell me what kind of calcium i can give to my sugar glider?
eric138
post Jun 18 2009, 04:29 PM

227 posts

What diet are u feeding your glider first?

Some diet do not need to supplement extra calcium such as HPW. biggrin.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jun 18 2009, 05:46 PM

1,434 posts

I think his glider is with joey.. thats why he is asking eric. Coz i saw him asking about the cage in the main thread for his joey?
afcmh
post Jul 5 2009, 07:27 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Jul 5 2009, 06:38 PM)
anyone pakar pasal car speakers?
currently serving my momo the gliderslurp mixed fruit with chicken flavour
she seems to like it,
thumbup.gif

kelvin_faye
post Jul 5 2009, 07:47 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Ermm , we r here to discuss about the diet, and i dont see ur post having anything bout diet to be discussed here..

I tot u r feeding HPW? if so, please research whether it is recommended to feed both hpw n slurp at the same time, coz ur baby will be overload with nutrients which is not good either..

If u havent get hpw before, then u may have a try on slurp..
afcmh
post Jul 6 2009, 01:12 AM

127 posts

lol kelvin...i do think it's diet related
no im not serving both hpw & slurp at the same time
KC did inform me when i asked her about dat at petsworld
anyway thx for ur concern nod.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jul 6 2009, 01:15 AM
eric138
post Jul 6 2009, 01:19 AM

227 posts

U hav to stop feeding HPW if you are feeding slurp.

When we say feed 'at the same time', it doesnt mean tat u feed on the 'same' day or 'same' time..

Even if you Mon wed fri feeding hpw, Tue thur sat feed slurp..this is consider mix feeding 2 diet too.

And the nutrition balance will be thrown out. Make ur choice and stick with one diet. This is the basic rule of Glider Diet.
afcmh
post Jul 6 2009, 01:44 AM

127 posts

owww like dat
how bout week by week?
but specifically y the nutrition balance will be thrown out?

eric138
post Jul 6 2009, 01:49 AM

227 posts

Both diet ingredients are different~ One contains calcium supplement, one does not.. one contains high protein one does not..

That is why we r not allowed to mix feeding diet...

And, if u keep swapping the diet like tat, it's not good for ur glider's digestive systems. Both contains totally different ingredients.
kelvin_faye
post Jul 6 2009, 09:07 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

I think ur seller didnt remind u not to mix both the feeding?

Hmmm, isit just to SELL, then US here have to solve ur created problems by the SELLER?

In the first place, i tot u have researched well enuf for the diet, how come now u ask things like this? Not hardcore enuf ya! sweat.gif

Make some effort n go to Glider Central, no matter what ppl say, the HPW is new or so, go Glider Central to have a look, as differents ppl do use different diet for suggies, just that they dont comdemned other diet like the case in Malaysia.

If Glider-SLURP is really really the best out of 3 : HPW, Smoothie , Slurp; then i would definitely choose over this one, but as i have used all 3 before, HPW shows the most improvement. wub.gif

Would u see some improvement and wouldnt want to use the product?
afcmh
post Jul 6 2009, 10:37 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:49 AM)
Both diet ingredients are different~ One contains calcium supplement, one does not.. one contains high protein one does not..

That is why we r not allowed to mix feeding diet...

And, if u keep swapping the diet like tat, it's not good for ur glider's digestive systems. Both contains totally different ingredients.
hmmm but if the ingredients are different then i think it shud be fine isn't it?
one will provides calcium & one will provides protein
anyway it is a question..lol

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jul 6 2009, 09:07 AM)
I think ur seller didnt remind u not to mix both the feeding?

Hmmm, isit just to SELL, then US here have to solve ur created problems by the SELLER?

In the first place, i tot u have researched well enuf for the diet, how come now u ask things like this? Not hardcore enuf ya! sweat.gif

Make some effort n go to Glider Central, no matter what ppl say, the HPW is new or so, go Glider Central to have a look, as differents ppl do use different diet for suggies, just that they dont comdemned other diet like the case in Malaysia.

If Glider-SLURP is really really the best out of 3 : HPW, Smoothie , Slurp; then i would definitely choose over this one, but as i have used all 3 before, HPW shows the most improvement. wub.gif

Would u see some improvement and wouldnt want to use the product?
lol im currently still feeding hpw...and hpw always licin one everytime i served
i simpan the slurp 1st.. after my mixture of hpw finish then only i serve the slurp pulak

yaa im not hardcore AT ALL
not even softcore pon
sry la for questioning that kind of question
notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jul 6 2009, 10:38 PM
eric138
post Jul 6 2009, 11:57 PM

227 posts

Famy,

If u feed slurp and HPW at the same time, the calcium may be overdose.. And besides that, for slurp i think u nid to feed other protein source such as mealworms and eggs..

But HPW, not only provides the protein, it has calcium within the diet too.

Unless, the slurp is only fruits/vege blended smoothie..without any added supplements.. then u can use it together with HPW.
afcmh
post Jul 7 2009, 12:50 AM

127 posts

oic, i tot hpw only high in protein becoz of the name itself
unfortunately the slurp i bought got chicken inside..
yaa eric i'll stick to hpw 1st
thanks yaa for the very useful info
thumbup.gif
eric138
post Jul 7 2009, 01:14 AM

227 posts

HPW diet contains honey , bee pollen as well...
kelvin_faye
post Jul 7 2009, 09:03 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

HPW also contains eggs and water.. wub.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Jul 7 2009, 02:04 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(afcmh @ Jul 7 2009, 12:50 AM)
oic, i tot hpw only high in protein becoz of the name itself
unfortunately the slurp i bought got chicken inside..
yaa eric i'll stick to hpw 1st
thanks yaa for the very useful info
thumbup.gif
Just pick a staple diet okie~ Tapi kenot all 3 at once.. Or 2 at once.. Only satu! XD I have been on HPW, Nezu's smoothie and also Hun's Slurp.. The only one i can see difference is the HPW. But its up to your choice. It's your glider and as a owner you will make wise choices kay ^^ We are here not to 'paksa' what to feed your gliders~ nod.gif
afcmh
post Jul 8 2009, 08:47 PM

127 posts

ok i got it,
must choose 1 staple only
and i'll choose hpw..
btw..i heard that too much honey isn't good for glider
is it true....? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jul 8 2009, 08:48 PM
eric138
post Jul 8 2009, 09:13 PM

227 posts

We shouldn't feed our glider RAW honey.

MUST use processed honey for ur HPW. U use one 500g bottle of honey for one batch of HPW, which last about 4months for one glider.

You calculate, actually your glider doesnt really consume a lot honey perday.

It's not good to OVERFEED anything, no matter fruits or supplement. biggrin.gif
afcmh
post Jul 10 2009, 01:06 AM

127 posts

eric, wat is actually the glider booster that u mentioned b4 u r giving daily along with the hpw?

eric138
post Jul 10 2009, 01:44 AM

227 posts

Gliders are picky eater, sometime even if we prepare and provide them well balanced fruits and vege, they will choose those they like and eat.. and this lead to nutrition lacking if happens for long period..

Glider Booster is a supplement that actually helps to replenish the nutrition that your glider lack or short of.. To ensure they get all the nutrition they need. biggrin.gif
sillyAsh
post Jul 24 2009, 01:10 AM

15 posts

i see sum r giving smoothies as part of their diet... wut smoothies r good for?? whr to get oh??
eric138
post Jul 24 2009, 01:26 AM

227 posts

Smoothie is a term that we used for 'blended fruits and vege' ..

Glider are picky eater, so sometime they don eat those fruits/vege that we give..So you can blend some fruits and vege together, with some yogurt/honey/juices... then keep inside freezer.. so it becomes fruit smoothie~

U can use ur own imagination and create ur own recipe.

But the 'smoothie' u see here are Uncle Taro Smoothie. it's a product created by Nezumitaro. The smoothie is glider staple diet- BML Diet.

Before that, glider owner feeding BML diet becoz petshack haven bring in HPW yet.
afiqheafy
post Aug 19 2009, 10:16 AM

49 posts

Can you list me what you feed your glider for a day ?
And can you tell me the nutrition it contains.
Thanks biggrin.gif
Really appreciate it. icon_rolleyes.gif

eric138
post Aug 19 2009, 10:29 AM

227 posts

Daily
HPW n glider booster- protein, calcium
Fruits n vege- vitamin, calcium

Other supplements
Gliderade- carbohydrate
Acacia gum- complex carbohydrate
Small carnivore food- complete insect source
Monkey biscuit- protein n vitamin
LC-Vit- liasin

Treats
Yoghurt drop- calcium
Dried fruits
Blueberry dried- antioxidant
Fruit tasty- healthier teeth development
loritanah
post Aug 19 2009, 10:48 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Aug 19 2009, 10:29 AM)
Daily

Other supplements
Gliderade- carbohydrate
LC-Vit- liasin

Treats
Yoghurt drop- calcium
Dried fruits
grace!!want to put this list inside my glider's bible.. notworthy.gif
afiqheafy
post Aug 19 2009, 12:00 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Aug 19 2009, 11:29 AM)
Daily

Other supplements
Gliderade- carbohydrate
LC-Vit- liasin

Treats
Yoghurt drop- calcium
Dried fruits
Thanks for the list...
I have a few questions...
Is it ok if I give my sugar glider Heinz baby food ? blush.gif
What is your recommendation about food ? hmm.gif
What should i get for them ?
What kind of food is better that can balance their diet ?
I live in Setiawangsa and i don't have the transport to go and buy HPW,Gliderade,acacia gum n others... sad.gif
Need help... cry.gif
Really want my glider to be in the pink of health biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by afiqheafy: Aug 19 2009, 12:02 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Aug 19 2009, 12:33 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ Aug 19 2009, 12:00 PM)
Thanks for the list...
Is it ok if I give my sugar glider Heinz baby food ?  blush.gif
What is your recommendation about food ?  hmm.gif
I live in Setiawangsa and i don't have the transport to go and buy HPW,Gliderade,acacia gum n others...  sad.gif
Need help...  cry.gif
Really want my glider to be in the pink of health  biggrin.gif
Seriously your sugus looks very malnutritioned.. and underaged XD
Get a proper diet first lah.. They cannot live solely on baby food and just fruits.
Doesnt mean you live in setiawangsa you still cannot get it smile.gif Petshack can deliver via mail also. All those items senang to get. Please read up on proper things to feed your glider smile.gif I personally recommend HPW for proper diet. I have been using it for almost 7 months. Great things happen to my girl smile.gif
loritanah
post Aug 19 2009, 01:53 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ Aug 19 2009, 12:00 PM)
Thanks for the list...
Is it ok if I give my sugar glider Heinz baby food ?  blush.gif
What is your recommendation about food ?  hmm.gif
I live in Setiawangsa and i don't have the transport to go and buy HPW,Gliderade,acacia gum n others...  sad.gif
Need help...  cry.gif
Really want my glider to be in the pink of health  biggrin.gif
alooo my friend.
berkorban sedikit , boss..its worth..

i am sure from setiawangsa got train near by (lrt ?), from there can hop to klsentral then ktm to setiajaya..walk about 15 minutes..walla pet shack...
http://suggie-joey.blogspot.com/2009/07/ho...m-commuter.html

i live in klang and have a 'once a month routine to petshack'..by train..of course icon_rolleyes.gif

giving yr glider eat 'makanan tak senonoh' do not help.Get a proper diet..even yanie from JB also usaha to get the best for her glider by ordering HPW...

Added on August 19, 2009, 1:54 pm
say, sugar glider cant speak for themselves..
and seriously , yr glider look so underage,without proper diet and need a lots and lots of care...

This post has been edited by loritanah: Aug 19 2009, 01:54 PM
afiqheafy
post Aug 19 2009, 04:54 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Aug 19 2009, 02:53 PM)
alooo my friend.
berkorban sedikit , boss..its worth..

i am sure from setiawangsa got train near by (lrt ?), from there can hop to klsentral then ktm to setiajaya..walk about 15 minutes..walla pet shack...
http://suggie-joey.blogspot.com/2009/07/ho...m-commuter.html
i live in klang and have a 'once a month routine to petshack'..by train..of course  icon_rolleyes.gif
giving yr glider eat 'makanan tak senonoh' do not help.Get a proper diet..even yanie from JB also usaha to get the best for her glider by ordering HPW...

Added on August 19, 2009, 1:54 pm
say, sugar glider cant speak for themselves..
and seriously , yr glider look so underage,without proper diet and need a lots and lots of care...
Okieee dokiey...
thanks....
really appreciate it... thumbup.gif
i'll take this matter seriously and give extra care for suguss.
I can sacrifice for suguss.. biggrin.gif

Added on August 19, 2009, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Aug 19 2009, 01:33 PM)
Seriously your sugus looks very malnutritioned.. and underaged XD
Get a proper diet first lah.. They cannot live solely on baby food and just fruits.
Doesnt mean you live in setiawangsa you still cannot get it smile.gif Petshack can deliver via mail also. All those items senang to get. Please read up on proper things to feed your glider smile.gif I personally recommend HPW for proper diet. I have been using it for almost 7 months. Great things happen to my girl smile.gif
Thanks... thumbup.gif
looking foward to buy some great nutrition diet for my suguss.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by afiqheafy: Aug 19 2009, 04:56 PM
eric138
post Aug 19 2009, 05:35 PM

227 posts

Jus what SCC and loritanah mentioned, baby food and fruits is not balanced diet for glider.

Heinz baby food are meant for human baby.. not for glider.. u can feed as treats but not daily diet.

SugarCoatedCandy
post Aug 19 2009, 05:44 PM

1,434 posts

Get some milk replacer while you are at it.. Coz that suguss of yours needs to plump a bit more.. too scrawny sad.gif
malowie
post Aug 19 2009, 06:00 PM

418 posts

today i just found out my glider likes local fruits! she likes duku langsat and ciku... pretty amazing
afiqheafy
post Aug 19 2009, 06:56 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Aug 19 2009, 06:35 PM)
Jus what SCC and loritanah mentioned, baby food and fruits is not balanced diet for glider.

Heinz baby food are meant for human baby.. not for glider.. u can feed as treats but not daily diet.
Okieee..
Thanks for the info.. notworthy.gif

Added on August 19, 2009, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Aug 19 2009, 06:44 PM)
Get some milk replacer while you are at it.. Coz that suguss of yours needs to plump a bit more.. too scrawny sad.gif
Owh...
I'll be sure to give suguss a balancing diet and a milk replacer for suguss... nod.gif

This post has been edited by afiqheafy: Aug 19 2009, 06:58 PM
glidermama
post Aug 21 2009, 02:01 PM

hi everyone, i'm a noob here and my baby glider absolutely refuses vegies and the hpw unless i premix it with the papaya or other fruits...as in there's no need for separate containers for hpw and fruits vegies or dry pellets..lagi he tak mo pandang pun!! actually throws it out and this lil guy has been with me about less than 3 weeks..joan saw him already and she said he was small but not severely underaged and dr hasnul of heshmael's clinic has given him a clean bill but dang!! fella's picky picky picky..kalu i blend vegies into the mix lagi he wont eat it at all..i tried the if you dont eat this you get nuthin at all approach and he simply goes into his pouch and sleeps!! rclxub.gif pening wooii the wombaroo milk pun like that if i dont make it into a fruit shake he wont drink it...he is a lil chubbier now rclxm9.gif tho but i worry about a balanced nutritional content.. sad.gif

and he isnt very nocturnal either, he's up around 6 am like us and then melompat dgn riang ria eating his fruit shake and wombaroo milk til 8-9am pas tu baru he sleeps and he is up and about after 6pm and when we go to bed at 1130, the lil guy pun masuk pouch and sleeps...

apa cite mamat kenit nih? do i just let he be for now?

afiqheafy
post Sep 1 2009, 10:00 PM

49 posts

Can we sprinkle glider-cal and acacia gum together on the same fruit ? hmm.gif
eric138
post Sep 1 2009, 10:04 PM

227 posts

Yes you can.
takashishinohara
post Sep 26 2009, 09:26 AM

Swimming Coach, Japanese Language Teacher
524 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ Sep 1 2009, 11:00 PM)
Can we sprinkle glider-cal and acacia gum together on the same fruit ?  hmm.gif
Lol, you can mix together due to is good for them. icon_rolleyes.gif
babyvey
post Oct 15 2009, 03:23 PM

25 posts

Guys, I just found a horrible article on BML diet.
http://www.glideruniversity.org/?p=18

I think that GU is reputable and does, in fact, know what they are doing and saying.. However, BML is one of the most common diets, I don't understand why people are still feeding their gliders BML. Is it because they do not know or because GU is wrong?
princessworldz
post Dec 6 2009, 02:46 PM

28 posts

hi wanna know.. anyone of u feeding your sg pellets?
if they're having pellets is HPW diet still essential?
n basically we have to provide either HPW diet or slurps. jus either one is it? cos they're providing the same nutrition needed?
sorry cos totally new n noob here

Added on December 6, 2009, 2:52 pmn addition is it a must to provide them with allll the supplement? which is

1) gliderade
2) glider booster
3) acacia gum
4) wombaroo protein
5) bee pollen
6) glider cal

which of them is a must. n how often to feed them. thanks a lot for helpin

This post has been edited by princessworldz: Dec 6 2009, 02:52 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Dec 6 2009, 07:17 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(princessworldz @ Dec 6 2009, 02:46 PM)
hi wanna know.. anyone of u feeding your sg pellets?
if they're having pellets is HPW diet still essential?
n basically we have to provide either HPW diet or slurps. jus either one is it? cos they're providing the same nutrition needed?
sorry cos totally new n noob here

Added on December 6, 2009, 2:52 pmn addition is it a must to provide them with allll the supplement? which is

1) gliderade
2) glider booster
3) acacia gum
4) wombaroo protein
5) bee pollen
6) glider cal

which of them is a must. n how often to feed them. thanks a lot for helpin
I feed the glider pellets, but only during the day and that is if i dont bring my gliders to work.

You can only choose 1 essential diet.. u cant have both.. So its either HPW or slurp. Most of us here are on HPW coupled with their fruits and veges daily.

You can buy all the supplements in addition to the diet. But not the wombaroo protein and bee pollen, cuz its already mixed inside the HPW.

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Dec 6 2009, 07:19 PM
princessworldz
post Dec 8 2009, 09:40 AM

28 posts

thx SCC
so if i was to choose HPW then i dun need to feed slurp..
so jus HPW + fruits n some veges with supplements rite?
how bout pellet? can feed together with HPW?
SugarCoatedCandy
post Dec 8 2009, 10:20 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(princessworldz @ Dec 8 2009, 09:40 AM)
thx SCC
so if i was to choose HPW then i dun need to feed slurp..
so jus HPW + fruits n some veges with supplements rite?
how bout pellet? can feed together with HPW?
Yes princess smile.gif just the HPW and fruits and veges and supplements if needed happy.gif i feed mine with premium glider diet which actually are pellets based. This is good if you are not at home. Like me if i dont bring my suggies to work with me, i will leave the pellets in the cage so if they wake up or anything, they can still snack on something good smile.gif Cuz you know those fruits and veges if you leave for a long time, the fruit flies will start to come.. and its not fun to have them around xD
eric138
post Dec 8 2009, 12:03 PM

227 posts

Now we have another choice for pelleted base glider food in the market~ Bugsy Happy Glider~

It seem like most of the glider loves it~~

However, as a reminder, we encourage people to use pelleted food as extra supplemental food, but not staple diet ya.

This post has been edited by eric138: Dec 8 2009, 12:23 PM
princessworldz
post Dec 8 2009, 04:05 PM

28 posts

okie... i got it know
pellet are used to prevent some mess if we happen to leave the sg at home for them to eat.
so mainly is still HPW
thanks all sifu.. now i understand hehe...
but the joey i'll be getting soon is 2mth OOP (hopefully the seller din lie abt it, cos i definitely wont be able to know if they're underage o not)
so wont be needing so much supplement rite? or this is the time they need more supplement?

i read somewhr or someone told me i forget

1) gliderade - feed daily
2) glider booster - twice a week
3) acacia gum - not sure the dose n how to feed yet
4) glider cal - dun need if feed HPW

so correct if i follow the above for my joeys?

n basic is HPW + vege + fruits n have to be careful on the ratios rite. so i have to start reading wat every fruits n vege contain

eric138
post Dec 8 2009, 04:40 PM

227 posts

1) gliderade - twice a week
2) booster -daily
3) acacia gum - feed occassionaly, u can sprinkle on the fruits, or put on chewing stick
4) glider-cal - if u are feeding hpw, u don need but make sure u feed high calcium fruits/vege.

Basic i will recommend u go for HPW+ Vege+Fruits , and Gliderade twice a week for carbohydrate source.

Supplements is not specially made for underaged glider only... Even a fully weaned glider need supplement as well, to maintain their overall health.
princessworldz
post Dec 8 2009, 11:46 PM

28 posts

thanks eric.
one last quest. i read on some forum they say some vege need to be cooked. i thought we're feeding sg fresh vege n fruits
may i know is there any vege which i need to be careful or cook before feeding them?
eric138
post Dec 9 2009, 12:41 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(princessworldz @ Dec 8 2009, 11:46 PM)
thanks eric.
one last quest. i read on some forum they say some vege need to be cooked. i thought we're feeding sg fresh vege n fruits
may i know is there any vege which i need to be careful or cook before feeding them?
I don really 'cook' the vege.. because after cooked vege actually doesnt contain much nutrition..

For those hardy vege such as sweet potato or carrot..i jus throw into hard boiled water..then take it out after few seconds... biggrin.gif
princessworldz
post Dec 9 2009, 09:41 AM

28 posts

ooo okie.. so jus hard boil some hard vege.. then other will jus be fresh..
kie thanks smile.gif
kelvin_faye
post Apr 2 2010, 10:08 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

So long never post here d. Later people duno got this thread also. wub.gif
fahd_dhaf
post Sep 21 2013, 11:49 AM

Hi I'm a newbie tongue.gif ...I know suggies need a 2Calcium:1Phosphorus ratio diet right? If i feed my suggies HPW instant and papaya/apple/cherry tomato with sprinkle supplement every day ok or not?

0.1737sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:20 AM