Home Theatre Uncompressed PCM? DTS HD? Dolby HD?, Which do you go for?

TSAstroCreep
post Sep 22 2008, 02:14 PM, updated 18y ago

104 posts

Life's getting complicated.....

Before my new Blu-Ray and AV Receiver, life were simpler with my HTIB... always choose DTS.

Now?
Got Uncompressed PCM la, DTS MA la, DTS HD, Dolby HD, PLII Movie, Neo ,THX, etc..etc..

Due to old habit, I still look for DTS where possible, Dolby being the next. But what about this "Uncompressed 5.1 PCM"? Any noticeable performance? Am I missing anything?

What's your preference?
mpyw
post Sep 22 2008, 03:36 PM

3,603 posts

if you have decent speakers and those AVR capable of handling HD audio, the differences are obvious. Even my wife notice the different.
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 22 2008, 03:49 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 22 2008, 03:36 PM)
if you have decent speakers and those AVR capable of handling HD audio, the differences are obvious. Even my wife notice the different.
Thanks mpyw.
For sure I'd go for HD. But the Uncompressed 5.1 PCM - is it better or lesser than the HD?

mpyw
post Sep 22 2008, 03:53 PM

3,603 posts

Uncompress PCM as it's name said - It's uncompress and takes up lots of storage in the disc.

in theory it should be the same as DTS-HDMA and Dolby TrueHD. one is uncompress files, the other 2 are "zip" audio files stored inside the disc to save storage space.
htkaki
post Sep 22 2008, 05:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Lossless audio is the way to go. Be it uncompressed PCM, DTS HD MA or Dolby TrueHD, the sound from either one of these formats is simply fantastic!

pierreye
post Sep 22 2008, 06:49 PM

1,308 posts

Uncompressed PCM = WAVE file.
DTS HD MA or Dolby TrueHD = Flac or Ogg (loseless).

Just a simple comparison. So in actual fact, it should be identical.
myqd
post Sep 22 2008, 07:17 PM

2,247 posts

berani u ask " Uncompressed PCM, DTS MA , DTS HD, Dolby HD, PLII Movie, Neo ,THX, etc..etc.." here,sure lots of sifus will poison u kaw kaw kaw thumbup.gif

fentanyl
post Sep 22 2008, 07:48 PM

478 posts

If u are looking for reference Linear PCM BD, buy Kill Bill Vol I & II. thumbup.gif
yed
post Sep 23 2008, 08:00 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 22 2008, 07:48 PM)
If u are looking for reference Linear PCM BD, buy Kill Bill Vol I & II.  thumbup.gif
the poison is coming biggrin.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 23 2008, 09:20 AM

801 posts

Actually I am confuse too. In fact when I listen to DTS HD on BD & DTS on DVD it sound the same to me! blush.gif BY right should be better!? Something wrong with my BD30 set-up???
Panny BD30 HDMI to Onkyo 875 HDMI in. Onkyo 7.1 set-up ( normal cheapo speaker ) Panny BD30 audio setting all set to bistream, secondary audio set to off.
Thank in advance for all advice! Have a very nice day! smile.gif
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 10:14 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

FYI:

Note: The bitrate indicated are the most commonly found, while they can actually be higher.

Horny, your setting is correct, just make sure you're listening preset for DTS-HD MA as DTS-HD MA, and so on. The Panny BD30 can bitstream high-bitrate audio, so no problem there.
arremie
post Sep 23 2008, 11:00 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

dude...u sure love diagram thumbup.gif
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 11:42 AM

2,247 posts

wow,thanks aiman for the diagram thumbup.gif

Old questionBDs play with PS3,the audio signal oledi decode in PS3 oledi,rite?
arremie
post Sep 23 2008, 11:48 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

That's right. PS3 decode everything and send out PCM signal to AVR.
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 11:50 AM

727 posts

if u select pcm in the BD/DVD setting, then ps3 will go the decoding. id bitstream then yr amp will do the decoding
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 11:52 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 23 2008, 11:48 AM)
That's right. PS3 decode everything and send out PCM signal to AVR.
ok,so when the AVR received PCM signal,it wont show DTS-HD,TrueHD....and what type of "surround" we need to choose for best AQ,say both Yammy and Onky ? sweat.gif
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 11:54 AM

727 posts

it will show multichanal. and those DTS-HD,TrueHD.... 'red box' will not lightup
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 11:55 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 23 2008, 11:50 AM)
if u select pcm in the BD/DVD setting, then ps3 will go the decoding. id bitstream then yr amp will do the decoding
if select bitstream,our AVR will do the decoding and show TRue HD,DTS-HD in ur AVR,sure? hmm.gif

how if we select bitstream but using optical output from PS3 and going to a old amp without HDMI input? drool.gif

arremie
post Sep 23 2008, 11:56 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 23 2008, 11:50 AM)
PS3 don't do bitstream.

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 23 2008, 11:52 AM)
ok,so when the AVR received PCM signal,it wont show DTS-HD,TrueHD....and what type of "surround" we need to choose for best AQ,say both Yammy and Onky ?  sweat.gif
Yep ur amp will only show PCM. Doesn't matter whether u bitstream or send PCM, as long as ur source is good ur output will be good.
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 11:57 AM

727 posts

with bitstream, no HD sound loh
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 12:00 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 23 2008, 11:54 AM)
it will show multichanal. and those DTS-HD,TrueHD.... 'red box' will not lightup
so if show multichannel,it wont be as good as DTS-HD,TrueHD....?

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 23 2008, 11:56 AM)
PS3 don't do bitstream.
Yep ur amp will only show PCM. Doesn't matter whether u bitstream or send PCM, as long as ur source is good ur output will be good.
with Onkyo 875 it show multichannel(same with PCM in Yammy?),so it should be as good as "real" DTS-HD,True HD....?
arremie
post Sep 23 2008, 12:00 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 23 2008, 11:57 AM)
with bitstream, no HD sound loh
PS3 don't do bitstream rolleyes.gif
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 12:22 PM

2,247 posts

got this somewhere,understand more now tongue.gif

Bitstream

Bitstream: A specific way of transmitting information from one place to another. The Bitstream ‘style’ of data transmission sends “compressed” information (data that has been previously ‘packaged’, or squashed down to save space) to an audio receiver. That receiver must then de-compress (or “decode”) the data before it can be ‘read’ and played by the receiver as sound.

PCM

PCM: “Pulse Code Modulation”. A specific way of transmitting digital sound information from one place to another. The PCM ‘style’ of data transmission sends the info “uncompressed”. This means that when it is sent from the data source (a Blu-ray disc, CD, etc.) to a piece of audio equipment – it can be instantly ‘read’ and played. Compressed data has been previously ‘packaged’, or squashed down to save space on the disc. Compressed data must be Decompressed (or “decoded”) in order to be ‘read’ – like boxing up your book collection when you move, you must unpack your books before you can read them again. PCM is different. Since the data has not been ‘boxed up’, it does not have to be ‘unboxed’ (or “decoded”) before it is usable
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 12:29 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 23 2008, 12:00 PM)
PS3 don't do bitstream rolleyes.gif
PS3 does bitstream. But all it will only bitstream the standard DTS and Dolby Digital only. So for DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD sources, PS3 will take the core DTS and Dolby Digital packet inside the track instead.

Myqd, set the Onkyo receiver listening preset to multich for minimal processing (this will only do appropriate crossovers/speaker settings). Unless you want to add more processing, you can set THX Cinema, etc to your liking. But I like to listen just as the director intended, multich fo me.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Sep 23 2008, 12:30 PM
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 12:32 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 23 2008, 12:29 PM)
PS3 does bitstream. But all it will only bitstream the standard DTS and Dolby Digital only. So for DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD sources, PS3 will take the core DTS and Dolby Digital packet inside the track instead.

Myqd, set the Onkyo receiver listening preset to multich for minimal processing (this will only do appropriate crossovers/speaker settings). Unless you want to add more processing, you can set THX Cinema, etc to your liking. But I like to listen just as the director intended, multich fo me.
Good,simple and clear thumbup.gif

...another thing,for DTS-HDMA and Dolby True HD sources from BDs,if using optical input to my old Denon 3300,it only show Dolby Digital most of the time,wny not DTS? or it depends on the sources?
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 12:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 23 2008, 12:32 PM)
Good,simple and clear  thumbup.gif

...another thing,for DTS-HDMA and Dolby True HD sources from BDs,if using optical input to my old Denon 3300,it only show Dolby Digital most of the time,wny not DTS? or it depends on the sources?
Optical can't carry high bitrate audio due to its limited badwidth. If you set the PS3 to bitstream via optical, it will only send the core DTS/Dolby Digital (yes, even Dolby TrueHD can't be sent via optical). Same as my explanation above.

If you set the PS3 to send PCM via optical, all high bitrate audio format (DTS-HD MA, Dolby TueHD and uncompressed PCM tracks) will be downgraded to 2 channels only.

HDMI is the only way for lossless audio tracks (high bitrate). Unless you use a standalone player with internal decoding plus multi-channel analogue outs (like Panasonic DMP-BD50 or Sony BDP-S550).

Added on September 23, 2008, 12:48 pm
QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 23 2008, 12:32 PM)
Good,simple and clear  thumbup.gif

I misunderstood your question there. Dolby Digital most of the times? Even when the audio track chosen is DTS-HD MA?

This post has been edited by aiman04: Sep 23 2008, 12:48 PM
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 01:06 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 09:20 AM)
Actually I am confuse too. In fact when I listen to DTS HD on BD & DTS on DVD it sound the same to me!  blush.gif  BY right should be better!? Something wrong with my BD30 set-up???
Panny BD30 HDMI to Onkyo 875 HDMI in. Onkyo 7.1 set-up ( normal cheapo speaker  ) Panny BD30 audio setting all set to bistream, secondary audio set to off.
Thank in advance for all advice! Have a very nice day! smile.gif
Haha bro..

I m in de same boat too.. if there is a diff.. then our tin ears prbbly cant tell de diff..

I d say tat sum ttls are better mixed then others even thou of superior formats.. So far I hv one ttl in 7.1 pcm - Forbidden Kingdom n except for de final few moments of de movie.. i really coudlnt tell if it was 7.1 or 5.1..

Just my 2 cts
Dirtrun
arremie
post Sep 23 2008, 01:10 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

PS3 don't do bitstream...HD audio tongue.gif
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 23 2008, 01:11 PM

104 posts

Still pening... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Between BD30 and SR875, who'd do better job on decoding? My guess is SR875, but again.... rclxub.gif

Will need to try all the mentioned settings above.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 23 2008, 01:17 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 23 2008, 01:06 PM)
Haha bro..

I m in de same boat too.. if there is a diff.. then our tin ears prbbly cant tell de diff..

I d say tat sum ttls are better mixed then others even thou of superior formats.. So far I hv one ttl in 7.1 pcm - Forbidden Kingdom n except for de final few moments of de movie.. i really coudlnt tell if it was 7.1 or 5.1..

Just my 2 cts
Dirtrun
I suppose my ear is still not yet HD!!! blush.gif But I do notice on my 875 display it show all the spk like L,R,CENTRE,SURL,SURR & LFE ( SUB WOOFER ) but the SBL & SBR not light up which seem to meant the source is a 5.1 even when I am watching BD. I thought all BD is in 7.1??? Anyone got AV showing all the 7.1 when watching bd?

BTW tq for all the expert answer! biggrin.gif Have a very nice day!
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 01:29 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 01:17 PM)
I suppose my ear is still not yet HD!!! blush.gif  But I do notice on my 875 display it show all the spk like L,R,CENTRE,SURL,SURR & LFE ( SUB WOOFER ) but the SBL & SBR not light up which seem to meant the source is a 5.1 even when I am watching BD. I thought all BD is in 7.1??? Anyone got AV showing all the 7.1 when watching bd?

BTW tq for all the expert answer! biggrin.gif  Have a very nice day!
Yup,

Lites should all cum on when its 7.1 odo.. Erm for marantz they hv only lites for a single surr back but its still 7 channel disc odo.. for 5.1 only 5.1 lites cum on la

No not all bds are 7.1 .. go to hidef digest n look for de rvws.. they hv de best rvws on most released movies..

I only hv one 7.1 at de moment - Forbidden Kingdom..
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 01:39 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 23 2008, 01:06 PM)
Haha bro..

Just my 2 cts
Dirtrun
Sound mixing/editing is one thing. If you're watching the same movie, nothing's different in that term. So if the movie got all different tracks, then it will sound different for each tracks.

The most noticeable difference for lossless audio is detail. By the word "LOSSLESS" alone you can esily understand this. Everything is copied directly from the studio master. As I explaiend to my friend before, let's say there's a scene that shows one piece of glass bouncing 10 times on the floor. With lossless audio track (DTS-HD MA, Dolby TrueHD, PCM), you'll hear each of the 10 "ting" sound exactly as recorded. But when the studio master is compressed for non-lossless audio track (Dolby Digital, DTS, etc), you may NOT hear the 7th, 8th, 9th or 10th "ting" sound even if you crank it to full volume (are you nuts? tongue.gif ).

That's the difference between lossless and non-lossless. So how about the difference between the lossless audio formats itself?

Each audio laboratory have their own standards for sound imaging, positioning, direction, ambience, etc. These are what make the formats different. They will apply their standards to the studio master while retaining the bit by bit details, meaning it will still be lossless. From my own experience, Dolby is usually be a little softer in their presentation, you may need to increase the volume a little bit (though the Dolby TrueHD on some new titles liek Cloverfiled are really poweful). DTS is more like "in-your-face", it's very hard hitting that some people will say more "ooomph". PCM? They are taken directly from the studio mix, so what's you're listening is exactly as the sound mixer/editors/engineers have done in the studio.

That said, in the end, I don't mind the audio formats anymore. All I care now is that they have lossless tracks on it.

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 23 2008, 01:10 PM)
PS3 don't do bitstream...HD audio tongue.gif
OK, OK.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 23 2008, 01:11 PM)
Still pening...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Between BD30 and SR875, who'd do better job on decoding? My guess is SR875, but again....  rclxub.gif

Will need to try all the mentioned settings above.
In theory, using the receiver to decode should be slightly better. Having the player to decode internally and send as PCM will have something called jitter effects. Google for it and you'll have even worse pening lalat! laugh.gif

I suppose my ear is still not yet HD!!! blush.gif  But I do notice on my 875 display it show all the spk like L,R,CENTRE,SURL,SURR & LFE ( SUB WOOFER ) but the SBL & SBR not light up which seem to meant the source is a 5.1 even when I am watching BD. I thought all BD is in 7.1??? Anyone got AV showing all the 7.1 when watching bd?

Most of the New Line titles includes a 7.1 track, and most of recent release from Lionsgate also provides 7.1 tracks. Some HK titles like Dragon Tiger Gate also DTS-HD MA 7.1. Paramount's Top Gun was supplied with DTS-HD MA 6.1 and the newly annoucned Hellboy II from Universal will also hae DTS-HD MA 7.1.

myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 01:44 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 23 2008, 12:41 PM)

I misunderstood your question there. Dolby Digital most of the times? Even when the audio track chosen is DTS-HD MA?
ya,most of the time only DD,when connect with optical out from PS3,but not sure the sources is DTS-HDMA wub.gif So if the track with DTS-HDMA,it will show DTS even with optical input,right?

i found even both DTS and DTS-HDMA,/True-HD at 5.1,the surround effect on later and the seperation is much more better,especially my sub will definately feel more POWER now thumbup.gif

before that i also tot all BDs come with 7.1 but actually not,only few BDs come with 7.1 sad.gif
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 23 2008, 01:50 PM

104 posts

Bro Aiman, Thank you!!
notworthy.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 02:03 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 23 2008, 06:29 AM)

what you're saying above is.....in order to get Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA from PS3, the audio has to be set on PCM on PS3 setting, even if the AVR has the decoding capability, right?

dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 02:28 PM

3,136 posts

All tis jargon is just tat.. real life joes wont be able to tell if its 7.1, 6.1 or 5.1 in a blind test.. cum to tink of it , I dont tink I ll be able to either..
Blind.. mind you - not wif de lites of de avr tellin you ..

I m on hidef is most .. foremost for de Pics.. odo is just icin to de cake..

rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 02:33 PM

1,048 posts

dirtrun, marantz 7002 doesnt have the TrueHD/DTS-MA light to tell you if any of these audio track is on or not.

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 23 2008, 02:42 PM
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 02:36 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 02:33 PM)
dirtrun, marantz 7002 doesnt have the TrueHD/DTS-MA light to tell you if these audio track is on or not.
ps3 dont do bitstream la so it does de processin n my 7002 just hv spkr lites on.. but its pcm odo la.. for forbidden kingdom all 6 spkr lites cum on d 7002 n its 7.1 odo on de ps3 display..
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 02:39 PM

1,048 posts

let's see what i am missing (if there's any) later this evening...i think i've set my ps3 to bitstream.

i have The Assembly with DTS-MA on it. even with the standard DTS, its already ground-shaking.
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 03:17 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 23 2008, 02:36 PM)
ps3 dont do bitstream la so it does de processin n my 7002 just hv spkr lites on.. but its pcm odo la.. for forbidden kingdom all 6 spkr lites cum on d 7002 n its 7.1 odo on de ps3 display..
same gose to mine
rx330
post Sep 23 2008, 03:50 PM

11,811 posts

rthj, u shud watch the assembly with dts hd ma, dem shiok thumbup.gif
set it to pcm
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 04:02 PM

1,048 posts

hopefully getting my red cliff by next week also.......hehehe....anyone tried that yet?
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 23 2008, 02:28 PM)
All tis jargon is just tat.. real life joes wont be able to tell if its 7.1, 6.1 or 5.1 in a blind test.. cum to tink of it , I dont tink I ll be able to either..
Blind.. mind you - not wif de lites of de avr tellin you ..

I m on hidef is most .. foremost for de Pics.. odo is just icin to de cake..
So that real life Joe will never get himself into home theater hobby in the first place don't you think? Why bother to spend thousands of ringgit on speakers, subwoofers, and receivers if you can't even tell what you're hearing?

Tell you what, even my wife can tell the difference, the only reason I'm allowed to continue on this expensive hobby. tongue.gif

And I totally disagree, audio is NOT just icing on the cake. Audio represents 50% of movie watching experience. I'm sure you wouldn't want to watch Live Free or Die Hard using your TV's puny stereo speakers. laugh.gif

As far as home audio goes, it's already the best we can get in terms of details, because it's already lossless, meaning bit-by-bit identical to the studio masters. The only way to improve now is the studio remix it to 11 channels, or make separate tracks for music, dialogue, explosions, and background to make it as pure as possible and let the future receivers to mix it onboard (crazy idea tongue.gif ).

For picture, the film masters are scanned and transferred to digital at 4k (2160p) resolution, that is double the resolution of blu-ray (1080p), and your TV! It then downscaled to 1080p before transferring to blu-ray. For digitally shot movies (i.e. Crank), 1080p is the highest they can go, because they are shot natively at that resolution.

So, I'm not worried about blu-ray, a 400GB blu-ray has already been developed. I'm much more worried about our display (TV, projectors, etc), which the highest resolution can be found now is only 1080p.

PS: Dirtrun, you watch your movies blindfolded? laugh.gif

One more thing, you receiver won't lights up DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD when your PS3 already decodes it. The receiver already receives it as PCM, there's no way it could tell the format. So yes, you don't need a receiver with DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD onboard decoding, the PS3 already done it for you. All you need is HDMI input with mulit-channel PCM capability.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Sep 23 2008, 04:26 PM
rx330
post Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM

11,811 posts

no money buy redcliff sad.gif
i heard the audio dem powderful, can try all 3 types
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 04:13 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM)
no money buy redcliff  sad.gif
wtf is this redcliff u all talk about? can link plz???

now pewpew time... i disagree greatly with u dirtrun.. i can honestly tell the difference between 7.1 and 5.1. in fact any Man / woman can.. as long as u have the 7 channels.. as for highdef for pics.. well.. that was my initial goal.. all for the pics.. but now with my speakers / woofer and some room treatment.. its more 60/40 with 60 being for sound.. speakers satisfy 2 of my senses, while tv only deals with 1.. and i can easily adapt to wat i see on screen as the 'detail' can easily be exhaustive.. unlike sound..

now back to real life joe.. if u mean average joe.. then the only reason why they couldnt tell the diff between 7.1 and 5.1 is simply because the average joe does not have a 7.1 / 5.1 setup.. as the average joe just stick to the 2.0 speakers from the tv.. now this said.. its not that the average joe couldnt tell the diff so much more so than it is impossible for the average joe to do so as they dont have access to it..

k back to topic.. for me it goes dts hd > pcm > ddthd
megatron007
post Sep 23 2008, 04:14 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM)
no money buy redcliff  sad.gif
yes... PQ also sedap sad.gif

btw... no one mention kill billie PCM ?? tongue.gif

it rockssxss
rx330
post Sep 23 2008, 04:27 PM

11,811 posts

callmevil, happy shopping
http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-39tn-7...-j-70-2zlr.html
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 04:32 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

wahh thx rx! finally.. ok hmm quite pedas eh the price.. haha ill wait for it to reach amazon b4 buying it.. heheh
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 04:41 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 04:02 PM)
hopefully getting my red cliff by next week also.......hehehe....anyone tried that yet?
gush..im still undecide wanna buy or not
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 04:41 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM)
Why bother to spend thousands of ringgit on speakers, subwoofers, and receivers if you can't even tell what you're hearing?

One more thing, you receiver won't lights up DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD when your PS3 already decodes it. The receiver already receives it as PCM, there's no way it could tell the format. So yes, you don't need a receiver with DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD onboard decoding, the PS3 already done it for you. All you need is HDMI input with mulit-channel PCM capability.
In theory,if audio signal is decode in AVR should be better then in PS3,rite? Anyone here with PS3 and a decent BD payer can hear the diff,with/without AVR decoding....i hope not much diff cos no more $$$ to buy myself a BD player,B'day oledi lalu tongue.gif

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 23 2008, 04:13 PM)

i can honestly tell the difference between 7.1 and 5.1. in fact any Man / woman can.. as long as u have the 7 channels..
those who cant hear the different is good thing actually becos u oledi save urself a AVR with all those loseless audio tongue.gif thumbup.gif

callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 04:45 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 23 2008, 04:41 PM)
In theory,if audio signal is decode in AVR should be better then in PS3,rite? Anyone here with PS3 and a decent BD payer can hear the diff,with/without AVR decoding....i hope not much diff cos no more $$$ to buy myself a BD player,B'day oledi lalu  tongue.gif
those who cant hear the different is good thing actually becos u oledi save urself a AVR with all those loseless audio tongue.gif  thumbup.gif
1. got mixed theories on this myqd from pros on this myqd.. some say theres no audible difference btwn ps3 pcm to avr vs bitstream to avr..
2. how can u not hear the difference.. ur sitting there with 7 channels around u.. when the movie is 5 channels u will of curz hear sound coming from where.. then when 7.1 comes up, automatically the sound become more and the sound from behind oso can hear..
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 05:02 PM

1,048 posts

actually i put my money into the sound system first....way first before i bought my 1st lcd tv......

11 years ago...started watching movies with DTS tracks on 14" and 20" CRT...muahahahaha.

but now...i still dont have 7.1 speaker setup. too lazy to add the last 2 channels. plus the wiring....a bit of pain in the butt.

how about warlords? anyone tried that? any good?

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 23 2008, 05:11 PM
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 05:03 PM

3,136 posts

So that real life Joe will never get himself into home theater hobby in the first place don't you think? Why bother to spend thousands of ringgit on speakers, subwoofers, and receivers if you can't even tell what you're hearing?

Tell you what, even my wife can tell the difference, the only reason I'm allowed to continue on this expensive hobby. tongue.gif

And I totally disagree, audio is NOT just icing on the cake. Audio represents 50% of movie watching experience. I'm sure you wouldn't want to watch Live Free or Die Hard using your TV's puny stereo speakers. laugh.gif

As far as home audio goes, it's already the best we can get in terms of details, because it's already lossless, meaning bit-by-bit identical to the studio masters. The only way to improve now is the studio remix it to 11 channels, or make separate tracks for music, dialogue, explosions, and background to make it as pure as possible and let the future receivers to mix it onboard (crazy idea tongue.gif ).

For picture, the film masters are scanned and transferred to digital at 4k (2160p) resolution, that is double the resolution of blu-ray (1080p), and your TV! It then downscaled to 1080p before transferring to blu-ray. For digitally shot movies (i.e. Crank), 1080p is the highest they can go, because they are shot natively at that resolution.

So, I'm not worried about blu-ray, a 400GB blu-ray has already been developed. I'm much more worried about our display (TV, projectors, etc), which the highest resolution can be found now is only 1080p.

PS: Dirtrun, you watch your movies blindfolded? laugh.gif

Wow,

Ur wife got great ears.. My wife still dont know how to on my gear.. kekeke cool2.gif

Sorry .. tats all ur opinion.. n I humbly beg to differ.. blink.gif I really cant tell de huge diff tat u find in de new formats.. really blink.gif

Havin de moola does not make a person an instant expert, dont u think??

Watch movies blindfolded - eh perli ka.. I alrdy said for odo tests.. must test it by 'blind' tests not wif affirmative psychological add ons - read xtra info to back up ur senses.. anyway I m only statin wat most ppl will feel on dis lossless odo format - not tat I agree .. but tats still a fact..
Oso on odo being 50% of movies.. well I hv a lot of old movies in Sd which is mono n I thoroughly enjoy watchin them eg Gods must be crazy .. awfully funny but only 1.0..

Just my humble opinion..
Dirtrun

mpyw
post Sep 23 2008, 05:09 PM

3,603 posts

wife will know the different one...now my wife doesn't want to watch Astro using the Tv's speakers liao....she said sound funny and unnatural.....and for DVD, ori copy still ok, but she prefer blu lar.....tongue.gif

we must poison the other half also, so that our hobby can go on....tongue.gif
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 05:15 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 23 2008, 05:09 PM)
wife will know the different one...now my wife doesn't want to watch Astro using the Tv's speakers liao....she said sound funny and unnatural.....and for DVD, ori copy still ok, but she prefer blu lar.....tongue.gif

we must poison the other half also, so that our hobby can go on....tongue.gif
thats a dangerous preposition mpyw... dont u think? at least 1 go nuts on hd, the other can keep the one in control.. but if both go nuts.. u might find each other spending more on hd than on other things and even worse in knee deep of debt... haha
rx330
post Sep 23 2008, 05:16 PM

11,811 posts

i think the best telinga in msia goes to mpyw and familly biggrin.gif

warlords still ok
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 05:23 PM

1,048 posts

ever wonder why men are so particular about the details in the audio track? but when the gf/wife/mom/etc talks to him, the fella would go....'huh? what did you say just now?"

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 23 2008, 05:24 PM
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 05:25 PM

727 posts

selective listener
fentanyl
post Sep 23 2008, 05:29 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 05:23 PM)
ever wonder why men are so particular about the details in the audio track? but when the gf/wife/mom/etc talks to him, the fella would go....'huh? what did you say just now?"
Coz our wive talks in mono sountrack, masuk telinga kanan keluar telinga kiri but BD has at least 5.1. laugh.gif
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 05:32 PM

727 posts

hmmmm y first time with gf mono also bcome multichanal
fentanyl
post Sep 23 2008, 05:32 PM

478 posts

One more thing, you receiver won't lights up DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD when your PS3 already decodes it. The receiver already receives it as PCM, there's no way it could tell the format. So yes, you don't need a receiver with DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD onboard decoding, the PS3 already done it for you.
If u have PS3 remote control for Blu-ray u can press DISPLAY button to check the soundtrack info. It will display DTS-HDMA or Dolby TrueHD if PS3 decodes internally.

This post has been edited by fentanyl: Sep 23 2008, 05:37 PM
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 05:34 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 05:23 PM)
cuz not the wife pay ma.. the husband pay sure make sure all just as written on the box.. if not waste money nia~~
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 05:35 PM

727 posts

the gamepad also will do. btw if your output as bitstream. it will only show normal track even u selete hd
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 05:41 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 23 2008, 05:35 PM)
the gamepad also will do. btw if your output as bitstream. it will only show normal track even u selete hd
cuz ps3 can currently only bitstream lossy.. and 2chan pcm i thinkkk

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 23 2008, 05:41 PM
JiauBoy
post Sep 23 2008, 05:50 PM

727 posts

yaloh, hopes its not hw limitation sad.gif
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 05:55 PM

1,048 posts

ok ok....now i am officially poisoned.....now have to survey the walls and see if i can install the last 2 channels of surround speakers.....goddammit.....why did i come to this forum...hehehe
fentanyl
post Sep 23 2008, 06:02 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 05:55 PM)
ok ok....now i am officially poisoned.....now have to survey the walls and see if i can install the last 2 channels of surround speakers.....goddammit.....why did i come to this forum...hehehe
Have u visited The BD thread? brows.gif

rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 06:04 PM

1,048 posts

what abt the BD thread?
fentanyl
post Sep 23 2008, 06:15 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 06:04 PM)
what abt the BD thread?
Just check it out. Link given above.

rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 06:18 PM

1,048 posts

too many pages to read. plus i dont think i can bulk order with you guys. i am no where in the same location as you guys.
Intrigue
post Sep 23 2008, 06:19 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

i checked all the HD thread... and fark... i'm dead!
rx330
post Sep 23 2008, 06:20 PM

11,811 posts

rthj elite punya, no need bulk biggrin.gif
rthj
post Sep 23 2008, 06:23 PM

1,048 posts

woi! rx330....

wouldnt mind tagging along in the bulk orders........but like i said...location is a bit out of the way.

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 23 2008, 06:26 PM
myqd
post Sep 23 2008, 06:44 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 23 2008, 04:45 PM)
1. got mixed theories on this myqd from pros on this myqd.. some say theres no audible difference btwn ps3 pcm to avr vs bitstream to avr..
2. how can u not hear the difference.. ur sitting there with 7 channels around u.. when the movie is 5 channels u will of curz hear sound coming from where.. then when 7.1 comes up, automatically the sound become more and the sound from behind oso can hear..
*2),of cos 7.1 channel and 5.1 got different la,which eye u see i said no diff,hehehe tongue.gif What i said is " is there any diff between PCM ps3 to AVR and bitstream to AVR(that u oledi answer in *1) thumbup.gif

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 23 2008, 05:32 PM)
If u have PS3 remote control for Blu-ray u can press DISPLAY button to check the soundtrack info. It will display DTS-HDMA or Dolby TrueHD if PS3 decodes internally.
another option is press "triangle" button in joystick during playback,choose the last button 2nd row on the right(if not mistaken,then u can see the signal displayed)

This post has been edited by myqd: Sep 23 2008, 06:45 PM
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 23 2008, 06:45 PM

801 posts

Wah lauehhhhh!!! Even this topic get poisonous! ohmy.gif So which BD got 7.1 sound? I need to test it out. blink.gif
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 06:57 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Sep 23 2008, 06:19 PM)
i checked all the HD thread... and fark... i'm dead!
Hahaha on behalf of everyone here, i would like to say, sorry about ur wallet icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 06:45 PM)
Wah lauehhhhh!!! Even this topic get poisonous!  ohmy.gif  So which BD got 7.1 sound? I need to test it out. blink.gif
err liongate is awesome enough to provide almost all of their titles in 7.1 AND SHINY SILVER wrapper ~~ oooo my preciouss~~
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 07:34 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Haha.. I hope everybody's clear now about all these audio codecs. thumbup.gif

So let the poisoning begins!!! rclxm9.gif laugh.gif
fentanyl
post Sep 23 2008, 07:56 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 06:45 PM)
Wah lauehhhhh!!! Even this topic get poisonous!  ohmy.gif  So which BD got 7.1 sound? I need to test it out. blink.gif
DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 24-bit/48kHz
Be Kind Rewind
Dark City: Director's Cut
Dark City: Theatrical
Doctor Strange
The Eye
The Golden Compass
Hairspray (2007)
The Orphanage
Pan's Labyrinth
Rambo
(UK) Run Fatboy Run
Rush Hour 3
Saw IV: Unrated Director's Cut
Semi-Pro: Unrated
Shoot 'Em Up

LPCM 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
3:10 to Yuma (2007)
Crank
The Descent: Original Unrated Cut
Dirty Dancing
(HK) Flash Point
(J) Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence
(HK) Protégé
Ultimate Avengers
Ultimate Avengers II
Van Wilder: Unrated
War (2007)

DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
The Bank Job (2008)
(HK) Dragon Tiger Gate (secondary track is Dolby TrueHD 7.1 16-bit, so can compare)
(HK) Invisible Target (1080p24)
Oldboy

Shinobi: Heart Under Blade Dolby TrueHD 6.1

House of 1000 Corpses DTS-HD High Resolution Audio 7.1 2814Kbps

callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 08:05 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 23 2008, 07:56 PM)
Be Kind Rewind
Doctor Strange
The Eye
The Golden Compass
Hairspray (2007)
The Orphanage
Pan's Labyrinth
Rambo
(UK) Run Fatboy Run
Rush Hour 3
Shoot 'Em Up

LPCM 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
Crank
Dirty Dancing
(HK) Flash Point
(HK) Protégé
Ultimate Avengers
Ultimate Avengers II
War (2007)

The Bank Job (2008)
(HK) Dragon Tiger Gate (secondary track is Dolby TrueHD 7.1 16-bit, so can compare)
Oldboy

ur list missing a few titles like crank, harold and kumar 1/2.. and a bunch others..
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 23 2008, 08:10 PM

801 posts

Be Kind Rewind
Doctor Strange
The Eye
The Golden Compass
Hairspray (2007)
The Orphanage
Pan's Labyrinth
Rambo
(UK) Run Fatboy Run
Rush Hour 3
Shoot 'Em Up

LPCM 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
Crank
Dirty Dancing
(HK) Flash Point
(HK) Protégé
Ultimate Avengers
Ultimate Avengers II
War (2007)

The Bank Job (2008)
Oldboy

Wow! No wander none of my bd in the list! Tq very much fo the infor. hmm.gif I wander Transformer got 7.1 or not? My BD haven't arrive yet.
aiman04
post Sep 23 2008, 08:15 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 23 2008, 05:32 PM)
Eh, I meant for the receiver la, not our eyes laugh.gif

There's no way the receiver will know the format.
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 23 2008, 09:09 PM

104 posts

... adoi... now I'm seriously thinking of the additional two speakers...
.. or get floorstanders for the front and shift the bookshelf to rear.... drool.gif

... next year maybe...
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 10:38 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 23 2008, 09:09 PM)
... adoi... now I'm seriously thinking of the additional two speakers...
.. or get floorstanders for the front and shift the bookshelf to rear.... drool.gif

... next year maybe...
.. or get floorstanders for the front and shift the bookshelf to rear.... YES !
rthj
post Sep 24 2008, 12:14 AM

1,048 posts

just set the ps3 to lpcm and sampled clips from 'the assembly'....noticed some details missing from the core dts when i had it on bitstream. then again...probably from my noob ears and even more amateurish 5.1 speakers setup.....found spot for the last 2 channels! now just need to find the pair of speakers to use....and the dreaded wiring.
callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 05:12 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 24 2008, 12:14 AM)
just set the ps3 to lpcm and sampled clips from 'the assembly'....noticed some details missing from the core dts when i had it on bitstream. then again...probably from my noob ears and even more amateurish 5.1 speakers setup.....found spot for the last 2 channels! now just need to find the pair of speakers to use....and the dreaded wiring.
lpcm via hdmi, and dts via bitstream and u heard something missing? hmm maybe its noise.. haha
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 09:05 AM

3,136 posts

Be Kind Rewind
Doctor Strange
The Eye
The Golden Compass
Hairspray (2007)
The Orphanage
Pan's Labyrinth
Rambo
(UK) Run Fatboy Run
Rush Hour 3
Shoot 'Em Up

LPCM 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
Crank
Dirty Dancing
(HK) Flash Point
(HK) Protégé
Ultimate Avengers
Ultimate Avengers II
War (2007)

The Bank Job (2008)
Oldboy

Eh bro,

Forbidden Kingdom not in ur list??

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 24 2008, 09:06 AM
fentanyl
post Sep 24 2008, 09:35 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 09:05 AM)
Eh bro,

Forbidden Kingdom not in ur list??

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Dirtrun
I forgot about it bro. I know u have it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fentanyl: Sep 24 2008, 09:38 AM
mikapoh
post Sep 24 2008, 09:38 AM

1,263 posts

Hey guys,

What is DTS HD of 7.1 speakers set-up ?? Do I need 2 pairs of surround speakers ? What are the effects ?

Also, do I need a HD support AVR to enjoy this 7.1 effect ?

Please advise, thanks.

fentanyl
post Sep 24 2008, 09:40 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 24 2008, 09:38 AM)
Hey guys,

What is DTS HD of 7.1 speakers set-up ?? Do I need 2 pairs of surround speakers ? What are the effects ?

Please advise, thanks.

aiman04
post Sep 24 2008, 10:05 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 24 2008, 09:38 AM)
Hey guys,

Please advise, thanks.
For PS3, any HDMI receiver that can accept multichannel PCM is sufficient. But better be prepared with the ones that can decode HD audio onboard, who knows you could be buying a standalone BD player that can bitstream HD audio later on (like the Panny BD30).
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 11:24 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am on 7.1 setup now. Later, may be 7.2 whistling.gif

Temporary using B&W standmount for rear surr. Right now, still waiting for my sub

On another note, how many of you guys got problem with your speakers while playing these lossless codecs?

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 24 2008, 11:25 AM
myqd
post Sep 24 2008, 11:35 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 24 2008, 11:24 AM)
I am on 7.1 setup now. Later, may be 7.2  whistling.gif

Temporary using B&W standmount for rear surr. Right now, still waiting for my sub

On another note, how many of you guys got problem with your speakers while playing these lossless codecs?
So u're using 2 subs soon huh? wow,elite memang elite thumbup.gif

speaker problem? U mean got "pecah" sound,rite? My Whaffy Diamond center spk suara pecah few times when i watched Tsai Chin in concert the other day.... wub.gif

ronnt88
post Sep 24 2008, 11:37 AM

2,353 posts

do u need the 2 subs to be identical?
how do u go to 2 channel for LFE? Can my 875 do it?

htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 11:56 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Easy, buy a splitter and plug it into the sub out. Not necessary but a bit tricky to fine tune it
callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 11:59 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

hmm nvr had problems playing lossless audio.. accept for Harold and Kumar 2.. the dsthdma 7.1 clips alot in that bd..

i was on 7.2 (dual pc10 sub) then now change to 7.1.

Added on September 24, 2008, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 24 2008, 11:56 AM)
Easy, buy a splitter and plug it into the sub out. Not necessary but a bit tricky to fine tune it
or get the yammy avr that is built for it.. hehehe /hugs 663

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 24 2008, 12:00 PM
myqd
post Sep 24 2008, 12:13 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 24 2008, 11:56 AM)
i assuming 2 subs is much tricky then bi-amp using 2 diff type of amp (AVR & pure audio power amp),unless same brand of sub. shocking.gif

edvpc
post Sep 24 2008, 02:55 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

PCM FTW... tongue.gif
later will get THX-HD MA i think... laugh.gif
mikapoh
post Sep 24 2008, 03:10 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 24 2008, 09:40 AM)
Thanks a thousand times for the picture which describe everything.

Few questions arise:

1) That 7.1 set up seems applicable for a spacious room. What about if you have normal size terrace house living room where your seating position is next to the rear wall ?? For 5.1 set up the 2 rear speakers are facing other, then where to out additional 2 rears for 7.1 set up?

2) Why 4 rear speakers and not front 4 and 2 rears instead ??

Please help to posion me into BD world one day !!!
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 03:12 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 24 2008, 12:13 PM)
i assuming 2 subs is much tricky then bi-amp using 2 diff type of amp (AVR & pure audio power amp),unless same brand of sub. shocking.gif
Tricky in tunin to suit ur room but overall itd still be more powderful(louder) than one sub .
But in most instances, one gud sub is better than 2 mediocre one la..

Thou' there is talk tat wif diff subs.. stronger in diff freq .. itd actually make de overall listenin better but there is a lot of trial n error in matchin diff subs..
callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 03:27 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 03:12 PM)
Tricky in tunin to suit ur room but overall itd still be more powderful(louder) than one sub .

Thou' there is talk tat wif diff subs.. stronger in diff freq .. itd actually make de overall listenin better but there is a lot of trial n error in matchin diff subs..
yeah. i tried my SVS (hugs) with the cheapo wharffys and i just cant get it to balance.. so i give up..
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 03:54 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 03:27 PM)
yeah. i tried my SVS (hugs) with the cheapo wharffys and i just cant get it to balance.. so i give up..

Thank god,

I dont hv golden ears.. I just plug in a Y n output to my svs n another elcheapo canadian made sub(name best left unsaid..kekeke cool2.gif ) n I cant tell if its balanced or not..

To be fair I seldom use both at de same time as my watchin time is usually in de dead of nite n well u all know wat subs do..

Cheers
Dirtrun

callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:04 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 03:54 PM)
Thank god,

I dont hv golden ears.. I just plug in a Y n output to my svs n another elcheapo canadian made sub(name best left unsaid..kekeke cool2.gif ) n I cant tell if its balanced or not..

To be fair I seldom use both at de same time as my watchin time is usually in de dead of nite n well u all know wat subs do..

Cheers
Dirtrun
vibrate? lol
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 04:16 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 04:04 PM)
vibrate? lol
Yup.. tat too n tat wan no nid 2 subs .. one will do ..

Fortunately I m not so fickle (more like just too plain lazy to go fix de prblm tongue.gif ) n I just ride it out..

callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:20 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hahaha hey if its not broken then why fix it right?? hehehe love that ideology! lol engineer?
htkaki
post Sep 25 2008, 09:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 03:12 PM)

Yeah... I agree. My current sub share the same freq response with my new sub. However, new sub has a bigger int amp. Will try out to fine tune it.

Shall let you guys know abt the outcome. smile.gif

megatron007
post Sep 25 2008, 09:09 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 23 2008, 05:16 PM)
i think the best telinga in msia goes to mpyw and familly biggrin.gif

warlords still ok
tongue.gif laugh.gif icon_idea.gif RX ...time to see loctor?
mikapoh
post Sep 25 2008, 10:10 AM

1,263 posts

Hey sifus,

If I want to take a first step into BD world, which one should I buy first? BD player, HD support HDMI AVR, 7.1 speakers or HDTV ?? I intend to buy one at a time due to budget constraints. Which one are the recommended to change first ??
My current kits:
1) Panny 42' HD ready plasma
2) Sony HDMI player
3) LG box home theatre
4) KEF coda 9 floorstander for music
5) NAD 521BEE cd player
6) Cyrus III amp for music.

Please guide me in choosing full HD components in which to get first and last to invest. Most probably last to change is my HD ready tv right?
Thanks in advance.

myqd
post Sep 25 2008, 10:57 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 25 2008, 10:10 AM)
Hey sifus,

If I want to take a first step into BD world, which one should I buy first? BD player, HD support HDMI AVR, 7.1 speakers or HDTV ?? I intend to buy one at a time due to budget constraints. Which one are the recommended to change first ??
haha,of course BD player 1st la,otherwise what're u going to do with ur BDs software,even u oledi got prefect AVR/Spks? biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Sep 25 2008, 11:11 AM

727 posts

sure bd player then follow by amp, speaker will b the last
callmevil
post Sep 25 2008, 11:13 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

tv first and bd player first
dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 12:49 PM

3,136 posts

For me ..

It was display (epson tw700 pj) wif oppo 981 n now ps3 then Marantz 7002 - spkrs use old one(Tannoy LCR).. sub SvS PB12+ .. eventually upgr d surrs wif SvS sbs-01 bkshlf X 2prs..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 25 2008, 12:50 PM
mikapoh
post Sep 25 2008, 02:57 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 25 2008, 11:13 AM)
tv first and bd player first
I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it blush.gif
But then if I taking the first step into buying BD player, my HD ready 42' panny plasma can still look much closer to full HD tv if not 100% rite?? What about the audio, can my LG box in one sounds better if connect BD player to it via optical cable. Like u ppl suggest, amp will come in later.
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:07 PM

1,048 posts

mikapoh....dont worry too much abt the TV....especially since you have just bought it. i had the headache before as well......instead of replacing the HD ready TV......i decided i'd spend the money on something else.

actually i'd get the amp and speakers first before the bd player. the bd player will feel a lot cheaper after the receiver and speakers purchase...hehehe

by the way, optical input, you wont be getting the HD audio stuffs.
JiauBoy
post Sep 25 2008, 03:25 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 25 2008, 02:57 PM)
I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it  blush.gif
But then if I taking the first step into buying BD player, my HD ready 42' panny plasma can still look much closer to full HD tv if not 100% rite?? What about the audio, can my LG box in one sounds better if connect BD player to it via optical cable. Like u ppl suggest, amp will come in later.
optical is 5.1. or u change to a hdmi amp for 7.1 setup

Added on September 25, 2008, 3:26 pmbtw looking at the eqp u have...... hard to belive

This post has been edited by JiauBoy: Sep 25 2008, 03:26 PM
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 25 2008, 03:30 PM

104 posts

I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it  blush.gif
I have HD Ready TV too. PQ with BD source is already much better! blink.gif (.... I wonder how much greater will be with Full HD... drool.gif )
So, if you just bought your HD Ready TV, don't worry, can still enjoy super PQ BD source.

I had Pioneer HTIB which I connect my BD with Optical. I did not hear much differences between DVD or BD source.
But, upgrading HTIB to separate AVR+speakers suddenly the whole watching movie experience becomes WOW!!! shocking.gif rclxm9.gif
callmevil
post Sep 25 2008, 03:34 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

sighh ok common miss conception here thats been going on tooooo long.. fullhd has nothing to do with hd ready.. full hd is strictly talking about resolution where else hd ready is talking about handling/accepting hd signals...

ok for u. 720 / 1080p if ure not too sensitive wont make much diff. and since ur not exposed to 1080s, ur 720 will be heaven edi.. its when uve been expose to 1080 that the 720 becomes bleahhh.. but for ur case.. no prob.

if budget is ur constraint, then just buy a ps3 as ur bdp.. connect to tv hdmi, then connect to ur LG box in one with optical.
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:40 PM

1,048 posts

was just using the terms to differentiate the 2 resolutions..

HDready=720p/1080i
FullHD= 1080p

otherwise how?

1K and 2K?

dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 03:46 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

Blame it on de marketeers for all d jargon ..

I guess they tot 720p n 1080p is not glamourous enuff..
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:51 PM

1,048 posts

by the way, why is it 2K, 4K, 8K? why not 'M'? as in Megapixels??
arremie
post Sep 25 2008, 04:58 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 25 2008, 03:30 PM)
I had Pioneer HTIB which I connect my BD with Optical. I did not hear much differences between DVD or BD source.
But, upgrading HTIB to separate AVR+speakers suddenly the whole watching movie experience becomes WOW!!!  shocking.gif  rclxm9.gif
Not surprising...optical cable can't carry HD signal. Not enough bandwidth. So even using BD you'll get the core sound only which is the same as DVD.
callmevil
post Sep 25 2008, 06:35 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

i am still baffled over this.. i know optical cable = fibre optics.. and i know fibre optics = easily do 400mbps.. and then i know those HD sound dont even go 10mbps.. so... whats the problem here? engineers stand up please?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 25 2008, 07:40 PM
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 07:31 PM

1,048 posts

so that the HDMI people can charge for licensing?

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 25 2008, 07:53 PM
arremie
post Sep 25 2008, 11:07 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

aiman....take out your charts for these dudes... laugh.gif
Blackhart
post Sep 25 2008, 11:27 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

In theory PCM, DTS HD and Dolby TrueHD deliver the same thing; whatever the studio master is supposed to sound like with no loss in detail.They are all perfect copies of the studio master.

You can close the thread now that the answer is found.It has long become yet another chat thread for Blu-ray fans.
mikapoh
post Sep 25 2008, 11:49 PM

1,263 posts

Therefore, for my case, getting a BD player 1st will not make much WOW factor as PQ can be improved by a slight margin in my HD ready plasma tv since I am not completely exposed to 1080 yet. And the audio part will still remain the same as before using optical rite?

Now getting a HD support receiver then follow by the BD player seems the most ideal planning cause I will enjoy the WOW effect in the sound system then. DO I really need a 7.1 set up in normal living room for a HD sound? My seat is just next to the rear wall.

Any other recommendation p/s, thanx
Blackhart
post Sep 26 2008, 12:13 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 25 2008, 11:49 PM)
Therefore, for my case, getting a BD player 1st will not make much WOW factor as PQ can be improved by a slight margin in my HD ready plasma tv since I am not completely exposed to 1080 yet. And the audio part will still remain the same as before using optical rite?

Now getting a HD support receiver then follow by the BD player seems the most ideal planning cause I will enjoy the WOW effect in the sound system then. DO I really need a 7.1 set up in normal living room for a HD sound? My seat is just next to the rear wall.

Any other recommendation p/s, thanx
The jump from 720p HD Ready to 1080p Full HD is not as great as from 480 SD to 720p HD, unless you watch them through a very big screen.Yes if you use optical connection you can only get legacy Dolby Digital and DTS codecs, and stereo instead of multichannel for PCM.

7.1 would be nice for specially mastered 7.1 tracks but not a must, standard 5.1 is normally sufficient for enjoying surround sound experience.You can buy the two additional speakers later for full experience but I wouldn't make it a top priority.

Since you already have a plasma HDTV the next thing you should get is a BD player.It would be quite pointless to get have a HDTV and HD receiver but no HD source to feed it.Get a HD receiver after the BD player since normally it is normally easier to distinguish picture quality than audio quality.Make sure you have decent speakers and speaker cables to appreciate the higher resolution lossless audio.
mikapoh
post Sep 26 2008, 12:22 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 26 2008, 12:13 AM)
The jump from 720p HD Ready to 1080p Full HD is not as great as from 480 SD to 720p HD, unless you watch them through a very big screen.Yes if you use optical connection you can only get legacy Dolby Digital and DTS codecs, and stereo instead of multichannel for PCM.

7.1 would be nice for specially mastered 7.1 tracks but not a must, standard 5.1 is normally sufficient for enjoying surround sound experience.You can buy the two additional speakers later for full experience but I wouldn't make it a top priority.

Since you already have a plasma HDTV the next thing you should get is a BD player.It would be quite pointless to get have a HDTV and HD receiver but no HD source to feed it.Get a HD receiver after the BD player since normally it is normally easier to distinguish picture quality than audio quality.Make sure you have decent speakers and speaker cables to appreciate the higher resolution lossless audio.
Respectfully explained and clearing my dilemma in choosing my next path to full HD world.

Anyone with better recommendation?

I guess I can have peaceful mind on my HD tv. Now will be feasibility study stage on where to start the next HD stage. Thanks bro, salute notworthy.gif
rthj
post Sep 26 2008, 12:44 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 25 2008, 06:13 PM)
The jump from 720p HD Ready to 1080p Full HD is not as great as from 480 SD to 720p HD, unless you watch them through a very big screen.
yep...couldnt agree more
aiman04
post Sep 26 2008, 07:54 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 25 2008, 11:27 PM)
In theory PCM, DTS HD and Dolby TrueHD deliver the same thing; whatever the studio master is supposed to sound like with no loss in detail.They are all perfect copies of the studio master.

You can close the thread now that the answer is found.It has long become yet another chat thread for Blu-ray fans.
Agreed. This thread is already done and answered on page 2! laugh.gif

0.0447sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:04 PM