Home Theatre Uncompressed PCM? DTS HD? Dolby HD?, Which do you go for?

dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 01:06 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 09:20 AM)
Actually I am confuse too. In fact when I listen to DTS HD on BD & DTS on DVD it sound the same to me!  blush.gif  BY right should be better!? Something wrong with my BD30 set-up???
Panny BD30 HDMI to Onkyo 875 HDMI in. Onkyo 7.1 set-up ( normal cheapo speaker  ) Panny BD30 audio setting all set to bistream, secondary audio set to off.
Thank in advance for all advice! Have a very nice day! smile.gif
Haha bro..

I m in de same boat too.. if there is a diff.. then our tin ears prbbly cant tell de diff..

I d say tat sum ttls are better mixed then others even thou of superior formats.. So far I hv one ttl in 7.1 pcm - Forbidden Kingdom n except for de final few moments of de movie.. i really coudlnt tell if it was 7.1 or 5.1..

Just my 2 cts
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 01:29 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 23 2008, 01:17 PM)
I suppose my ear is still not yet HD!!! blush.gif  But I do notice on my 875 display it show all the spk like L,R,CENTRE,SURL,SURR & LFE ( SUB WOOFER ) but the SBL & SBR not light up which seem to meant the source is a 5.1 even when I am watching BD. I thought all BD is in 7.1??? Anyone got AV showing all the 7.1 when watching bd?

BTW tq for all the expert answer! biggrin.gif  Have a very nice day!
Yup,

Lites should all cum on when its 7.1 odo.. Erm for marantz they hv only lites for a single surr back but its still 7 channel disc odo.. for 5.1 only 5.1 lites cum on la

No not all bds are 7.1 .. go to hidef digest n look for de rvws.. they hv de best rvws on most released movies..

I only hv one 7.1 at de moment - Forbidden Kingdom..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 02:28 PM

3,136 posts

All tis jargon is just tat.. real life joes wont be able to tell if its 7.1, 6.1 or 5.1 in a blind test.. cum to tink of it , I dont tink I ll be able to either..
Blind.. mind you - not wif de lites of de avr tellin you ..

I m on hidef is most .. foremost for de Pics.. odo is just icin to de cake..

dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 02:36 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 02:33 PM)
dirtrun, marantz 7002 doesnt have the TrueHD/DTS-MA light to tell you if these audio track is on or not.
ps3 dont do bitstream la so it does de processin n my 7002 just hv spkr lites on.. but its pcm odo la.. for forbidden kingdom all 6 spkr lites cum on d 7002 n its 7.1 odo on de ps3 display..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2008, 05:03 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:03 PM)
So that real life Joe will never get himself into home theater hobby in the first place don't you think? Why bother to spend thousands of ringgit on speakers, subwoofers, and receivers if you can't even tell what you're hearing?

Tell you what, even my wife can tell the difference, the only reason I'm allowed to continue on this expensive hobby. tongue.gif

And I totally disagree, audio is NOT just icing on the cake. Audio represents 50% of movie watching experience. I'm sure you wouldn't want to watch Live Free or Die Hard using your TV's puny stereo speakers. laugh.gif

As far as home audio goes, it's already the best we can get in terms of details, because it's already lossless, meaning bit-by-bit identical to the studio masters. The only way to improve now is the studio remix it to 11 channels, or make separate tracks for music, dialogue, explosions, and background to make it as pure as possible and let the future receivers to mix it onboard (crazy idea tongue.gif ).

For picture, the film masters are scanned and transferred to digital at 4k (2160p) resolution, that is double the resolution of blu-ray (1080p), and your TV! It then downscaled to 1080p before transferring to blu-ray. For digitally shot movies (i.e. Crank), 1080p is the highest they can go, because they are shot natively at that resolution.

So, I'm not worried about blu-ray, a 400GB blu-ray has already been developed. I'm much more worried about our display (TV, projectors, etc), which the highest resolution can be found now is only 1080p.

PS: Dirtrun, you watch your movies blindfolded? laugh.gif

One more thing, you receiver won't lights up DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD when your PS3 already decodes it. The receiver already receives it as PCM, there's no way it could tell the format. So yes, you don't need a receiver with DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD onboard decoding, the PS3 already done it for you. All you need is HDMI input with mulit-channel PCM capability.
Wow,

Ur wife got great ears.. My wife still dont know how to on my gear.. kekeke cool2.gif

Sorry .. tats all ur opinion.. n I humbly beg to differ.. blink.gif I really cant tell de huge diff tat u find in de new formats.. really blink.gif

Havin de moola does not make a person an instant expert, dont u think??

Watch movies blindfolded - eh perli ka.. I alrdy said for odo tests.. must test it by 'blind' tests not wif affirmative psychological add ons - read xtra info to back up ur senses.. anyway I m only statin wat most ppl will feel on dis lossless odo format - not tat I agree .. but tats still a fact..
Oso on odo being 50% of movies.. well I hv a lot of old movies in Sd which is mono n I thoroughly enjoy watchin them eg Gods must be crazy .. awfully funny but only 1.0..

Just my humble opinion..
Dirtrun

dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 09:05 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Sep 23 2008, 07:56 PM)
DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 24-bit/48kHz
Be Kind Rewind
Dark City: Director's Cut
Dark City: Theatrical
Doctor Strange
The Eye
The Golden Compass
Hairspray (2007)
The Orphanage
Pan's Labyrinth
Rambo
(UK) Run Fatboy Run
Rush Hour 3
Saw IV: Unrated Director's Cut
Semi-Pro: Unrated
Shoot 'Em Up

LPCM 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
3:10 to Yuma (2007)
Crank
The Descent: Original Unrated Cut
Dirty Dancing
(HK) Flash Point
(J) Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence
(HK) Protégé
Ultimate Avengers
Ultimate Avengers II
Van Wilder: Unrated
War (2007)

DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 16-bit/48kHz
The Bank Job (2008)
(HK) Dragon Tiger Gate (secondary track is Dolby TrueHD 7.1 16-bit, so can compare)
(HK) Invisible Target (1080p24)
Oldboy

Shinobi: Heart Under Blade Dolby TrueHD 6.1

House of 1000 Corpses DTS-HD High Resolution Audio 7.1 2814Kbps
Eh bro,

Forbidden Kingdom not in ur list??

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 24 2008, 09:06 AM
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 03:12 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 24 2008, 12:13 PM)
i assuming 2 subs is much tricky then bi-amp using 2 diff type of amp (AVR & pure audio power amp),unless same brand of sub. shocking.gif
Tricky in tunin to suit ur room but overall itd still be more powderful(louder) than one sub .
But in most instances, one gud sub is better than 2 mediocre one la..

Thou' there is talk tat wif diff subs.. stronger in diff freq .. itd actually make de overall listenin better but there is a lot of trial n error in matchin diff subs..
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 03:54 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 03:27 PM)
yeah. i tried my SVS (hugs) with the cheapo wharffys and i just cant get it to balance.. so i give up..

Thank god,

I dont hv golden ears.. I just plug in a Y n output to my svs n another elcheapo canadian made sub(name best left unsaid..kekeke cool2.gif ) n I cant tell if its balanced or not..

To be fair I seldom use both at de same time as my watchin time is usually in de dead of nite n well u all know wat subs do..

Cheers
Dirtrun

dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 04:16 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 04:04 PM)
vibrate? lol
Yup.. tat too n tat wan no nid 2 subs .. one will do ..

Fortunately I m not so fickle (more like just too plain lazy to go fix de prblm tongue.gif ) n I just ride it out..

dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 12:49 PM

3,136 posts

For me ..

It was display (epson tw700 pj) wif oppo 981 n now ps3 then Marantz 7002 - spkrs use old one(Tannoy LCR).. sub SvS PB12+ .. eventually upgr d surrs wif SvS sbs-01 bkshlf X 2prs..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 25 2008, 12:50 PM
dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 03:46 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

Blame it on de marketeers for all d jargon ..

I guess they tot 720p n 1080p is not glamourous enuff..

0.0197sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:36 PM