7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Home Theatre Uncompressed PCM? DTS HD? Dolby HD?, Which do you go for?

dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 03:54 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 03:27 PM)
yeah. i tried my SVS (hugs) with the cheapo wharffys and i just cant get it to balance.. so i give up..

Thank god,

I dont hv golden ears.. I just plug in a Y n output to my svs n another elcheapo canadian made sub(name best left unsaid..kekeke cool2.gif ) n I cant tell if its balanced or not..

To be fair I seldom use both at de same time as my watchin time is usually in de dead of nite n well u all know wat subs do..

Cheers
Dirtrun

callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:04 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 03:54 PM)
Thank god,

I dont hv golden ears.. I just plug in a Y n output to my svs n another elcheapo canadian made sub(name best left unsaid..kekeke cool2.gif ) n I cant tell if its balanced or not..

To be fair I seldom use both at de same time as my watchin time is usually in de dead of nite n well u all know wat subs do..

Cheers
Dirtrun
vibrate? lol
dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 04:16 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 24 2008, 04:04 PM)
vibrate? lol
Yup.. tat too n tat wan no nid 2 subs .. one will do ..

Fortunately I m not so fickle (more like just too plain lazy to go fix de prblm tongue.gif ) n I just ride it out..

callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:20 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hahaha hey if its not broken then why fix it right?? hehehe love that ideology! lol engineer?
htkaki
post Sep 25 2008, 09:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 24 2008, 03:12 PM)
Tricky in tunin to suit ur room but overall itd still be more powderful(louder) than one sub .
But in most instances, one gud sub is better than 2 mediocre one la..

Thou' there is talk tat wif diff subs.. stronger in diff freq .. itd actually make de overall listenin better but there is a lot of trial n error in matchin diff subs..

Yeah... I agree. My current sub share the same freq response with my new sub. However, new sub has a bigger int amp. Will try out to fine tune it.

Shall let you guys know abt the outcome. smile.gif

megatron007
post Sep 25 2008, 09:09 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 23 2008, 05:16 PM)
i think the best telinga in msia goes to mpyw and familly biggrin.gif

warlords still ok
tongue.gif laugh.gif icon_idea.gif RX ...time to see loctor?
mikapoh
post Sep 25 2008, 10:10 AM

1,263 posts

Hey sifus,

If I want to take a first step into BD world, which one should I buy first? BD player, HD support HDMI AVR, 7.1 speakers or HDTV ?? I intend to buy one at a time due to budget constraints. Which one are the recommended to change first ??
My current kits:
1) Panny 42' HD ready plasma
2) Sony HDMI player
3) LG box home theatre
4) KEF coda 9 floorstander for music
5) NAD 521BEE cd player
6) Cyrus III amp for music.

Please guide me in choosing full HD components in which to get first and last to invest. Most probably last to change is my HD ready tv right?
Thanks in advance.

myqd
post Sep 25 2008, 10:57 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 25 2008, 10:10 AM)
Hey sifus,

If I want to take a first step into BD world, which one should I buy first? BD player, HD support HDMI AVR, 7.1 speakers or HDTV ?? I intend to buy one at a time due to budget constraints. Which one are the recommended to change first ??
haha,of course BD player 1st la,otherwise what're u going to do with ur BDs software,even u oledi got prefect AVR/Spks? biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Sep 25 2008, 11:11 AM

727 posts

sure bd player then follow by amp, speaker will b the last
callmevil
post Sep 25 2008, 11:13 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

tv first and bd player first
dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 12:49 PM

3,136 posts

For me ..

It was display (epson tw700 pj) wif oppo 981 n now ps3 then Marantz 7002 - spkrs use old one(Tannoy LCR).. sub SvS PB12+ .. eventually upgr d surrs wif SvS sbs-01 bkshlf X 2prs..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 25 2008, 12:50 PM
mikapoh
post Sep 25 2008, 02:57 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 25 2008, 11:13 AM)
tv first and bd player first
I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it blush.gif
But then if I taking the first step into buying BD player, my HD ready 42' panny plasma can still look much closer to full HD tv if not 100% rite?? What about the audio, can my LG box in one sounds better if connect BD player to it via optical cable. Like u ppl suggest, amp will come in later.
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:07 PM

1,048 posts

mikapoh....dont worry too much abt the TV....especially since you have just bought it. i had the headache before as well......instead of replacing the HD ready TV......i decided i'd spend the money on something else.

actually i'd get the amp and speakers first before the bd player. the bd player will feel a lot cheaper after the receiver and speakers purchase...hehehe

by the way, optical input, you wont be getting the HD audio stuffs.
JiauBoy
post Sep 25 2008, 03:25 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 25 2008, 02:57 PM)
I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it  blush.gif
But then if I taking the first step into buying BD player, my HD ready 42' panny plasma can still look much closer to full HD tv if not 100% rite?? What about the audio, can my LG box in one sounds better if connect BD player to it via optical cable. Like u ppl suggest, amp will come in later.
optical is 5.1. or u change to a hdmi amp for 7.1 setup

Added on September 25, 2008, 3:26 pmbtw looking at the eqp u have...... hard to belive

This post has been edited by JiauBoy: Sep 25 2008, 03:26 PM
TSAstroCreep
post Sep 25 2008, 03:30 PM

104 posts

I cant afford to transform my HD ready tv to full HD since I just bought it  blush.gif
I have HD Ready TV too. PQ with BD source is already much better! blink.gif (.... I wonder how much greater will be with Full HD... drool.gif )
So, if you just bought your HD Ready TV, don't worry, can still enjoy super PQ BD source.

I had Pioneer HTIB which I connect my BD with Optical. I did not hear much differences between DVD or BD source.
But, upgrading HTIB to separate AVR+speakers suddenly the whole watching movie experience becomes WOW!!! shocking.gif rclxm9.gif
callmevil
post Sep 25 2008, 03:34 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

sighh ok common miss conception here thats been going on tooooo long.. fullhd has nothing to do with hd ready.. full hd is strictly talking about resolution where else hd ready is talking about handling/accepting hd signals...

ok for u. 720 / 1080p if ure not too sensitive wont make much diff. and since ur not exposed to 1080s, ur 720 will be heaven edi.. its when uve been expose to 1080 that the 720 becomes bleahhh.. but for ur case.. no prob.

if budget is ur constraint, then just buy a ps3 as ur bdp.. connect to tv hdmi, then connect to ur LG box in one with optical.
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:40 PM

1,048 posts

was just using the terms to differentiate the 2 resolutions..

HDready=720p/1080i
FullHD= 1080p

otherwise how?

1K and 2K?

dirtrun
post Sep 25 2008, 03:46 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

Blame it on de marketeers for all d jargon ..

I guess they tot 720p n 1080p is not glamourous enuff..
rthj
post Sep 25 2008, 03:51 PM

1,048 posts

by the way, why is it 2K, 4K, 8K? why not 'M'? as in Megapixels??
arremie
post Sep 25 2008, 04:58 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ Sep 25 2008, 03:30 PM)
I had Pioneer HTIB which I connect my BD with Optical. I did not hear much differences between DVD or BD source.
But, upgrading HTIB to separate AVR+speakers suddenly the whole watching movie experience becomes WOW!!!  shocking.gif  rclxm9.gif
Not surprising...optical cable can't carry HD signal. Not enough bandwidth. So even using BD you'll get the core sound only which is the same as DVD.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0165sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:08 AM