post Sep 20 2008, 09:01 PM

295 posts

Yeyyyyy! Happy new thread for everyone rclxm9.gif
elwwmatrix
post Sep 24 2008, 01:45 PM

295 posts

blink.gif I read that sony recalls back millions of its SONY VAIO TZ series because of the faulty Battery. it seems quite common for SOny to do this, make me think twice before getting a SOny product.

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Sep 24 2008, 01:46 PM
elwwmatrix
post Sep 30 2008, 12:47 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Sep 29 2008, 07:48 PM)
I online chat with Dell technician, it say dell did not provided upgrade GPU after sales..
So means cannot at dell service center..
Outside shop can or not???
Btw, did 1520 with my T5550 CPU support DDR2-800, 400Mhz??
U using T5550? Nice, A merom processor.same as me. I think there are some guides on upgrading GPU somewhere in the net. But do it after warranty over la. smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2008, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(gliew_87 @ Sep 30 2008, 12:40 PM)
do 8600gt support devil may cry 4? juz wanna know. how the graphic? ok?
Yes. 8600M GT do support DMC 4 . I have played it, over and over again. The graphics are outstanding, i did post the images in V1 Thread. This is one game that are rich on 3D animations. I can get more than 40fps most of time during Battle scene. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Sep 30 2008, 12:52 PM
elwwmatrix
post Oct 3 2008, 04:37 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Sep 28 2008, 04:19 PM)
the fan is most probably working if u can feel hot air coming out of the vent. the problem is that the heatsink and fan have been clogged with dust, causing very high temperatures at little load. happened to me once.
Did u post on how to clean the fan and the heatsink in thread V1? I think mine also clogged with dust. even the cooler pad also very dusty. blush.gif
elwwmatrix
post Oct 4 2008, 02:27 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Oct 4 2008, 12:35 PM)
Hey,

Anyone using a good and reliable notebook cooler for their 1520? I am looking for one and alot don't look or feel they would work well.

I am starting to get really high temps already (>85C)....gotta take it apart and clean my 1520.
Oh my. More than 85C? My maximum is around 70C during startup only. Mostly during idle time is <50C and i use an aluminium cooler pad with 3 small fans.A cheap one i bought for RM20 only. I don't know whether it is doing its job, but i prefer that it can raise the laptop to a position i can type comfortably, so maybe there's sufficient airflow underneath that helps the cooling system. But i did notice the fan(inside 1520) are a bit dusty.

Added on October 4, 2008, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 3 2008, 08:57 PM)
im using t5550 as well. i did not see the justification of upgrade to t7250 for another rm250 plus. however whats the difference between the t5750 and t7250 btw? its both 2.0ghz, but why did they produced both specs anyways
Yep, i have the same thinking when i was making decision whether to upgrade to T7250 . If by today price list, i would definitely choose it, cos its getting cheaper. But so far my T5550 is doing a fine job. No lags so far. rclxm9.gif
But has anyone use or experience the new Centrino 2 processor? how was it compared to ours? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 4 2008, 02:36 PM
elwwmatrix
post Oct 4 2008, 10:02 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(junkfish @ Oct 4 2008, 07:21 PM)
Hi ,

does anyone know how much extra it costs to upgrade to 8600M GT card ? 

And is the 8600M  using DDR2 or DDR3 ?
upgrade? u mean from choosing spec when ordering new laptop or after sales? If after sales i don't think they provide upgrade service.Cos they no longer bundle 8600M GT for Dell Inspiron line. Dell 1520 is using 8600M GT DDR2. Only Dell XPS 1530 and other XPS using DDR3.
What is your current graphics card,Intel X3100 or 8400M GS? Cos if you want to upgrade from Intel X3100 to Nvidia cards, the AC power cable is not suitable.
elwwmatrix
post Oct 5 2008, 12:38 PM

295 posts

That temperature is for CPU or GPU? My CPU temp during normal web browsing, idle is less than 45C. GPU is less than 40C during idle time. during games CPU can reach 65C and GPU is almost 58C.

flex.gif The Nvidia heat issue with 8series, maybe we can keep the temp down so it'll live longer?

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 5 2008, 12:39 PM
elwwmatrix
post Oct 6 2008, 11:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 5 2008, 03:52 PM)
haha be like alexnvidia, remove the laptop and then apply arctic cooling thermal grease
Where to obtain that arctic cooling thermal grease? Any manual instructions on how to do it? brows.gif
elwwmatrix
post Oct 6 2008, 07:31 PM

295 posts

Nice... I think i'm going to open up this lappy to clean the dust inside and to apply the thermal paste later when the warranty is over. drool.gif
elwwmatrix
post Oct 7 2008, 09:17 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(junkfish @ Oct 5 2008, 11:54 PM)
sorry if was not clear, I meant when ordering new laptop can we upgrade the default graphic card from 8400M  to 8600M ?  There used to be an option in the customization section but it's not there anymore.  Just wondering if its still possible to get the 8600M still for 1520 series.

You can try to call them,and ask for it,but i doubt it'll materialised. Maybe u wanna opt for 1720 instead,it still got 8600M GT.
hmm.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 9:21 pmWat antivirus antispyware you guys using other than the bundled McAfee Security? cool2.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 7 2008, 09:21 PM
elwwmatrix
post Oct 26 2008, 12:52 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gliew_87 @ Oct 25 2008, 01:21 AM)
if i am not mistaken u can. juz insert ur ultimate disc to ur drive when u logging to to windows. let it autorun and do install windows ultimate. this i think will upgrade to ultimate. anyway really 80 episods? faint. now only got 5 . 75 to go. walao insane

Added on October 25, 2008, 1:29 ami am googling about the upgrade issue. seems many ppl failed to upgrade. look like my method cant work. sorry.

Added on October 25, 2008, 1:30 amif not fresh instaling, i think u will get alot of driver compatible prob and some error happened

Added on October 25, 2008, 1:41 amthere is ways to get feature on ultimate to be done to home premium. but with some software. like dreamscene, shadow copy and so on...

part 1
http://blogs.howtogeek.com/mysticgeek/2008...1-disk-imaging/

part 2
http://blogs.howtogeek.com/mysticgeek/2008...t-2-dreamscene/

part 3
http://blogs.howtogeek.com/mysticgeek/2008...-3-shadow-copy/
THANKS GLIEW_87. Finally i'm able to run Dreamscene on my Home Premium. NICE.... thumbup.gif

Added on October 27, 2008, 12:11 pmany manual or instructions on how to apply new thermal paste? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 27 2008, 12:11 PM
elwwmatrix
post Nov 4 2008, 10:36 PM

295 posts

Oh no. I think my power adaptor is acting up.I plug in as usual to charge,no power lights appeared.after some bending and twisting the cable,the light came up. adaptor not under warranty right?
elwwmatrix
post Nov 5 2008, 09:28 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 4 2008, 11:13 PM)
i think it is also under warranty
why dont make a call to dell and c wat they say
I've made a call to DELL. The tech support is quite helpful. And they offered me 1 to 1 exchange. I called them up at 2pm. at 4pm i got a call from the Logistic dept saying they're sending over a new Power adaptor,ETA on the following day before 5pm. Now thats what i called a very fast after sales service. notworthy.gif

I've looked up some other forums, this is a common problem for the Adaptor to become faulty.Even though only months of usage,and with GOOD CARE.
Symptoms are: GREEN LIGHT GONE OFF at the brick, It doesn't charge, Sound of crackling and bleeping. shocking.gif

take very2 good care of your power adaptor icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Nov 5 2008, 09:30 PM
elwwmatrix
post Nov 6 2008, 04:41 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gliew_87 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:46 PM)
so they straight sent to u and doesnt tk away the previous adaptor? if so i wan call and backup one LOL
Its a 1 to 1 Parts exchange. nod.gif So i have to give back the malfunctioned adaptor. I got it just now,2 boxes arrived.One containing the Power Cord,and the other one containing the Adaptor.The box was already self addressed back to DELL ASIA,and prepaid. So, i took out the new adaptor from the box, and replaced it with the faulty one. Gave it to the delivery person. If you don't return the faulty one within 10 days,DELL will issue invoice of that particular item. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 6, 2008, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 5 2008, 09:49 PM)
how to take good care?we need it to run our laptops..except some ppl who like to throw the power adapter laugh.gif
True.how to take care of it,i've been so cermat with this adaptor, yet still rosak. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Nov 6 2008, 04:44 PM
elwwmatrix
post Nov 8 2008, 07:28 PM

295 posts

Got 2 temperature sensor. 1 for CPU and 1 for GPU. Which one i should be MORE concern of?
elwwmatrix
post Nov 13 2008, 08:56 PM

295 posts

What is the latest NVidia Driver now. Any links and perhaps modded INF as well?
elwwmatrix
post Nov 15 2008, 01:55 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Nov 14 2008, 09:12 PM)
Hey guys, now my 1520 power adaptor have strange problem!!  mad.gif

When I switch the power on, there is no green light on the power adaptor, no power to ON the laptop also. The adaptor itself produce "TEET-TEET" sound itself when I switch the power on. Now I cant open my laptop de, is it the power adaptor broken?

Is that covered in my 3 YEAR CC warranty also? Too bad now is friday night, have to wait till monday for the customer support...... cry.gif
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 14 2008, 09:21 PM)
too bad
i think is covered since got 1 forumer also change the adapter without any charges

you don't have battery to on the laptop?
Me! Me! Me! Its Me! Hahahaha. Yes, i think ours are of the same batch. 1 thing i LEARNED now, never ever coiled the the cord around the BRICK. It seems that over some time, the internal wiring became loose. Cos , when i wiggle the cord,sometime it does charge. tongue.gif

I called them during the working hours. The tech support is very2 helpful, they'll ask you to do some simple test such as pluggin in the adaptor and tell them whats happening. They promised i will get the replacement adaptor in 2 days, becos i'm in Miri sarawak. It is a 1 to 1 Exhange Parts. Meaning you have to return the faulty adaptor right after receiving the new one. rclxms.gif

After calling the tech support, about 2 hours later, i got a call from DELL LOGISTIC , for an appointment for the exchange part.They say they'll be able to send it to me the NEXT WORKING DAY before 5pm! I waited on the following day,during lunch hour the Logistic people came and exchange the adaptor. Now that's what i called superfast!. I got a replacement within 24 hours of reporting. I don't think that other brands could offer the same. Most will have to send to factory and waited for weeks perhaps Months rclxm9.gif

The adaptor came in 2 boxes containing 1 power cord, and 1 brick adaptor with the cord. You take out the new one , check the condition, and put in the faulty one respectively for each box. RESEALED it and give it to the DELL LOGISTIC people. Tell them to wait. Because they need the box and the faulty adaptor to be send back to DELL. If you failed to do this in 10 days, DELL will issue invoice to you, as if u're buying a spare. whistling.gif

DELL great service. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Nov 16 2008, 01:56 AM
elwwmatrix
post Nov 15 2008, 11:52 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Nov 15 2008, 09:01 AM)
OOO, of all the components which I think could go wrong, never thought that power adaptor will be the earlier to broke 1!  doh.gif  doh.gif

Thanks for your reply and explaining the situation.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  But for my case, I've never coil the cord around the brick since my power switch is quite far away from my lappie. So I also dun know how can this happen. One thing to note is that I seldom use up my lappie 24 hours a day.

Seems like your're first time to experience their technical support  tongue.gif , it's quite a satisfying experience cuz I've been "experiencing" it for 4 times till now -- all are serious hardware problem..... cry.gif

No prob. biggrin.gif However i've read in other forums, there are quite a lot of complaints about the adaptor. Some of them have even replace it 4 times a year!. Now that is serious. I'm using the lappie almost 24 hours a day now,only 1 year limited waranty. What worries me now is our Nvidia GPU. shocking.gif
elwwmatrix
post Nov 15 2008, 02:56 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gliew_87 @ Nov 15 2008, 02:44 PM)
i plan to extend 2 more year since my 1 year warranty alsmot finish. but need 768 why so expensvie?
768 ka? Aiyo. If i knew the Nvidia GPU is in trouble, i would have opt for longer warranty during purchase. But DELL price for spare parts are damn expensive. cry.gif

Looking at DELL extend warranty program. RM768 for 2 years limited warranty program. I still got 5 months warranty left. If i choose to purchase the 2 years warranty,does it run from today or extends from the last day of my limited warranty. Anyone got experience with this?

This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Nov 15 2008, 03:07 PM
elwwmatrix
post Nov 16 2008, 10:17 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 16 2008, 02:58 AM)
mayb u can wait for pc fair deal?
When is the next PC FAIR? I might be upgrading too. brows.gif

0.0230sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled