6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

TSchicaman
post Jan 8 2009, 02:51 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(yip_man @ Jan 7 2009, 07:39 PM)
N81 old version (not 8GB version) support Garmin XT???

Geting this phone soon but need to reconfirmed can support Garmin before buying it....

Anyone used/tested before????
Yes support Garmin Mobile XT however you need an external bluetooth GPS receiver for it to navigate. Else you will be seeing and using the map only~
TSchicaman
post Jan 10 2009, 07:08 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(Exa_Bytez @ Jan 10 2009, 01:53 PM)
Dear sifus......
I have some question to ask.....
Can I install Garmin Mobile XT to Nokia 6630??
If it can, do I need Garmin GPS10x to compile with it or can I just use other brand of GPS receiver such as Holux??
Yes you can but it wont work, mengsuan tested with Nokia 6680 (apparently almost same with 6630) and it didnt work.

So it is better for you to get a better phone for better experience~

Garmin Mobile XT (without license) work with GPS10x (garmin brand)

Garmin Mobile XT (with license) work with holux, internal GPS, GPS10x, any brand of bluetooth receiver)
TSchicaman
post Jan 10 2009, 07:55 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(Exa_Bytez @ Jan 10 2009, 07:19 PM)
Mine explain in detail this statement?
Bcoz I successfully install Garmin Mobile XT s60v2 just now......(but need 'Free Mem' software...)
BTW I can only view basemap.....
How to change it to other map??(I already put the Malsingmap inside garmin folder but dunno how to open it)
P/S:Is it IMEI or Unit ID to register it...............???
Due to the memory reason as stated by yourself. The ram in 6630 is limited therefore sometimes while navigating you will get out of memory issue. However it also depends on how many program running in the background.

Just copy the malsing or malfree map into Garmin Folder in root memory card and you should be able to see malaysia detailed map. Navigate to the pointer to Malaysia map and zoom in. Because without GPS receiver u wont be able to go to show your current location. you need to set manually.

TSchicaman
post Jan 13 2009, 10:09 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 11 2009, 11:55 AM)
guys i tried out the Garmin mobile XT on my p1i and loaded the EM malsingfreemaps into the system. However all the roads are in short form. I tried to load the WM map onto my uncles e71 and it all went fine. Is it the map or is there smth i havent configure?
Hmm~ I am using WM map and all the road name is very fine and I love Malfreemap more, the only thing I dont like is there is a little lag in malfree due to the new polygon on the roadmap~

QUOTE(backislan @ Jan 12 2009, 08:25 PM)
can 5800xm use garmin
You can ask those user in 5800xm thread, probably some of them tried it wink.gif

QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Jan 13 2009, 09:14 AM)
hi guys. newbie here. a question. sorry if already been asked before.

in nokia maps or garmin, if i disabled the 3g/gprs connection, can the software still find where am i?
Yes can~

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 9 2009, 07:39 PM)
hello all, i'm newbie in GPS..i would like to ask a few questions regarding to GPS for mobile...
Question :

1. How to get the GPS can direct me to destination with virtual 3D road?
2. Any charges for using real time GPS? i heard my friend said he just need to update map and then its free to use real time GPS.
3. What is the difference between Nokia and SE GPS mobile phone?

Hope all can help me on this.. biggrin.gif
sry cause I missed out your post..

1. First you need to set a destination, then it will calculate route, then it will navigate you to the destination in 3D mode.
2. Using GPS is FOC, however navigating software like Garmin is NOT FREE. You need to pay for the software license (unless u ahem it).
3. Nokia Symbian phone is able to install GPS software like Garmin, Mapking, TomTom into the phone. However SE GPS mobile phone requires 3G/EDGE/GPRS to loads the map if want to use GPS. So in Symbian phone, generally you just install the software and map for once and you are gonna use it for free WHILE SE need to pay for data charges to load the map everytime you use.
TSchicaman
post Jan 13 2009, 05:13 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 13 2009, 10:13 AM)
for no.3, why nokia dont need to pay for data transfer while SE need to pay it?  hmm.gif
Because Nokia (S60 type) phone can install Navigational Software as well as MAPs. While SE cannot utilize those Maps like Malsing and Malfree, therefore they need internet connection to load/stream those MAPs like Google Map~
TSchicaman
post Jan 14 2009, 10:15 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Normal SE phoen that has GPS is kinda useless.

Those SE UIQ might be able to install (not tested by me) and use Bluetooth GPSr.
TSchicaman
post Jan 17 2009, 03:35 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(greghouse @ Jan 16 2009, 11:05 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm planning to get a 6210 navigator.

Question is, can i use Garmin on the phone and in Australia?
Yes and Yes

if you can find the map for australia, why not?
TSchicaman
post Jan 30 2009, 02:28 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 30 2009, 12:40 AM)
Garmin Multiple Maps
GMAPSUPP.IMG + GMAPSUPP.UNL
GMAPSUPP2.IMG + GMAPSUPP2.UNL
means?

TSchicaman
post Jan 30 2009, 03:33 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 30 2009, 02:52 AM)
mean u can use 1 MFM map and 1 MSM (E.Msia) map without combine 2 maps

jus rename the maps name to gmapsupp.img (map1) and gmapsupp2.img (map2)

---
ps: there is a tools to combine multiple maps into 1 big map... (i forget the tool name)
oh means 1 time can only use 1 rite swt~

i tot can use 2 at same time
TSchicaman
post Feb 1 2009, 08:58 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 1 2009, 08:32 PM)
nokia map need to pay for using it?or just have to pay the download fees?
which one is more reliable nokia map or garmin gps?
Nokia Map need to pay for navigation~

Garmin is more reliable ~
TSchicaman
post Feb 3 2009, 07:19 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Feb 3 2009, 11:13 AM)
ok guys, need help. I owned a N78. I've got malsing maps installed in my garmin mobile, now I've recently downloaded an *.img map of another country, I want to installed that *.img file into my garmin but, whenever I copy that file over to the garmin folder in my phone, and turn on the garmin, it will always tell me to have an unlock code for that particular map.

So, guys, how do I get the unlock code for it? or rather how to I actually load it into the garmin properly? cuz, it might be that I've loaded the file incorrectly?

anyone can help?
Well that img map is not free, you need to pay to use that map, however malsing and malfree map is free of charge.

I dont think u will need that *.img file for other country, just delete it.

QUOTE(yhuii @ Feb 3 2009, 04:59 PM)
does anyone knows N93i got navigator ?how to use it?thanks.
If not mistaken it has Nokia Maps, but u can install Garmin if you want, just buy external GPS receiver like Holux and u are ready to go.

QUOTE(yeeloon85 @ Feb 3 2009, 05:40 PM)
Hi ~ tht mean i paid RM 175 for bought Garmin license?for any Nokia Symbian phone like nokia 5800?  Then can use it to navigate? izzit for whole life ?
Thx
for 5800xm, if not mistaken Garmin has not released any version for this particular phone yet because the screensize is relatively big, well u can use s60v3 because 5800xm has backward compatibility. Just that the screen is smaller and at the mean time wait for Garmin to release a new version which support 5800xm completely (5800xm user please correct me if i am wrong).

Please read the first page, I already explain the whole thing, GPS is free for life. Just that the Navigational software is not free. Eg Mapking, Garmin, Nokia Map need to be bought in order to use it to navigate from a place to another. Garmin is more popular due to the constantly updated Malsing and Malfree map.
TSchicaman
post Feb 3 2009, 10:44 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Feb 3 2009, 09:47 PM)
external receiver everywhere also sell . digital mall got at least 4 stalls selling. even main entrance got shop selling.
as for installation, when u purchase the unit, they'll install it for u and u can request em to teach u in case u flash your phone's firmware again.
garage sales section i think got ppl selling.
@chica - i think jojo is asking about gmapsupp.unl

@yeeloon85 - RM 175 is from digital mall price. original comes with 1 pack of microsd 1gb with garmin software. u buy original sure la come with license. if buy from garmin website i think is USD 199.
                    i cant say if u can use to navigate whole life, but i can assure u, it'll be very very long time. the rest u refer to chicaman's post. its as what he sez.
lol u giving out the answer already whistling.gif

depends on how smart they are tongue.gif
TSchicaman
post Feb 17 2009, 12:52 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(nandayryu @ Feb 16 2009, 12:40 PM)
i have my Nokia E71,Touch Pro ,and iphone 3G 8gig ,but so far i just succeed trying my GPS on iphone,the rest,i dont even know how to use them at all,Nokia seems to speculate softwares,intended to enhance it,but infact they're troubling their users.Htc touch pro still can be learnt,but it takes time,as am not travelling too much,so i dont think of exploring the GPS applictions in my pro,but E71 ,the most common phone with me of all time,this phone is very complicated,kinda break my head to find a way out,till now i have no way to use them tho.what a useless Mapking,they charged me.but no Maps out.
Well I can say 1 thing is GPS in Iphone is totally useless because it requires 3G connection which is not practical for us unless they've subscribe unlimited data package.

Nokia phone can be said to be having the best software choice for GPS just like WinMo because users are allowed to install the software preference of their own and using custom map like Malsing and Malfree totally give the best out of GPS in Malaysia.

TSchicaman
post Feb 22 2009, 08:09 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Well the fact is MFM is better than MSM. So what are you waiting for? Download MFM now and ditch MSM!
TSchicaman
post Mar 2 2009, 07:44 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(apetah90 @ Mar 2 2009, 05:25 PM)
WUT DIFFER BTW MFM N MSM?
QUOTE(AhNong @ Mar 2 2009, 07:16 PM)
NAME DIFFER
WRONG!

Read first page. Stimix has already explained~
TSchicaman
post Mar 12 2009, 08:21 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(syumul @ Mar 12 2009, 06:00 PM)
xde sape nak tulung ke ne?ala...
Please read the first page. Its already written in the first page on turning off A-GPS doh.gif

That is why people dont read properly/carefully before they ask a question.
TSchicaman
post Mar 12 2009, 10:28 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

He might not be using nokia. But refer to your manual if using other model or brand
TSchicaman
post Mar 20 2009, 09:05 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

well even if i give u my SW.UNL file its not going to work.

Example, I got this Garmin with SW.UNL in this 2GB memory card. So I transfer the SW.UNL along with my Garmin software to another memory card where I am going to use it with the SAME phone and it wont work. If you plug 2GB memory card to another phone then the Garmin will work like original although different phone.

SW.UNL is locked to MEMORY CARD but not PHONE
TSchicaman
post Mar 20 2009, 11:21 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 20 2009, 09:19 PM)
Wrong also  tongue.gif  E.g. I got this SW.UNL in my 2GB memory card. Then I upgrade to 8GB, and do a copy all (including system and hidden) using my PC. I plug the 8GB into the same N82 and it works.  smile.gif
i tested it myself and it is not working on my side when i copy to my 8GB card~

TSchicaman
post Oct 26 2009, 10:18 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

if only both combine then it will be perfect aint it?

i stick with malfree anyway

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0443sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:18 PM