GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

cute_boboi
post May 24 2009, 12:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(bdjim @ May 23 2009, 04:20 PM)
Will appreciate if you can provide more specific instructions other than stating the obvious, that is searching google. Do remember, all of us have to start somewhere before we are capable enough to to handle on our own. Thanks.
I don't know the current MSM procedure. Previous need to submit 2x POI to get the unlock code, etc. Problem is, they give an old map for you. Obviously when I check new POI, it is not there. After submit, the admin says already exists doh.gif *duh* How do I know it already exists in MSM new map, when they only allow you to use the older free map ? rclxub.gif Anyway, that is my last year 2008 experience.

Now I use MFM-Lite (not MFM) on my N82. Faster map scroll and response from navigation. Goto MFM, goto forum -> download -> Search for MFM-Lite and download from there.

Extract the gmapsupp.img from zip, copy and paste into your memory card E:\Garmin\

It is that simple to update to latest MFM or MFM-Lite map. Thanks antyong if you read this.

BTW, I'm not related/promo MSM/MFM. Just my personal opinion only. I'm still new to GPS & Mapping also.
cute_boboi
post May 26 2009, 07:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ May 26 2009, 06:41 PM)
hmm heard from the news that gps will obsolete in a few years time due to low maintenance of the the satelites.

is it true? hmm.gif
Each GPS satellite will have limited supply of fuel for its jet to align itself from time to time. Also wear and tear. US are sending up GPS satellite from time to time to replace or have more satellite at certain area for better accuracy and faster response by GPS devices to pick up more signals.

GPS is mainly used by US for its military. It will not be obsolete unless US comes up with something new. It will be there for a long long time. And US will bear the cost of sending it up, as part of it are funded by the Dept. of Defense. We will still get it for free.

During Cold War, Russians develop their own "satellite navigation" system, called GLONASS. Google/Wiki to read further.

Western Europe also beh tahan. Kiasu and wants its own system. Hence EU comes up with Galileo

I would say GLONASS will not be popular, but Galileo will be something to play with in coming years to compete/complement GPS.

Satellite navigation is useful for many things such as road construction, toll fare collection, carbon emission tax based on distance/area travelled, etc. which are mainly implemented in EU.
cute_boboi
post May 29 2009, 10:44 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I only notice the "MFM-Redlight Cameras (GMXT).gpi"

Still not yet test on other roads that I used frequently on the Speed Traps.
cute_boboi
post May 29 2009, 09:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(li-ion65 @ May 29 2009, 07:13 PM)
hye...
anyone know wut is da major differ btw vers 5.05 & 5.04??
ed install 5.05 into my n82,but seems like nothing different lolx...
doh.gif Read page 42 in this thread. Someone already posted the 5.00.50 change log compared to 5.00.40.
cute_boboi
post Jun 4 2009, 02:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I got no problem with my N82 in MY and SG. But in SG, I disable the A-GPS, hence slower to lock the required satellites.

cute_boboi
post Jun 4 2009, 04:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I guess should be using either MSM or MFM, which is normally MY+SG
cute_boboi
post Jun 5 2009, 06:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Depending on which map you use. For MFM, you can get it here -> Free Malaysia Garmin Custom POI: MFM-CPOI v2.00 (21 May 09)
cute_boboi
post Jun 8 2009, 04:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tisumuka @ Jun 8 2009, 04:26 PM)
hi there..can i use garmin mole xt symbian s60 3rd edition with my nokia 5800 xpress music?
Yes, please goto 5800XM thread, Post #14 (Chapter 12)
cute_boboi
post Jun 9 2009, 06:04 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zonan4 @ Jun 9 2009, 05:33 PM)
im using garmin mobile xt latest..... and i wanna change the arrow iccon to a custom iccon i already downloaded but i dunno where to put it... anybody that can help me?
Put in \Garmin\Vehicle folder. Create Vehicle folder if it does not exists.

In GMXT -> Settings -> Map -> Vehicle

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2009, 10:09 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Your N85 A-GPS is enabled.

Menu -> Tools -> Connectivity -> GPS data ->Option -> Positioning Settings -> Disable/Uncheck Assisted GPS

Depending on which map you use. If using MFM, refer a few posts above in this thread to download the CPOI v2.00. It contains warning speed traps, etc.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jun 14 2009, 10:11 PM
cute_boboi
post Jun 21 2009, 07:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

For phones without GPS built-in, you can pair up with external GPS device through Bluetooth.
cute_boboi
post Jul 2 2009, 11:27 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

No. Which mobile device are you using ?
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(shoutian88 @ Jul 8 2009, 02:06 AM)
Sry to ask. For a-gps, the charges will be charge only when we locating our location?? Or will keep on charging also when navigating??
A-GPS charge one time when Nokia Maps / GMXT / etc. is launched. However, if you close the application and open again, A-GPS will try again and charge one more time.

I'm not sure whether it will charge if you lost your signal temporary (e.g. tunnel)

QUOTE(rhombus @ Jul 8 2009, 08:37 AM)
AFAIK its FOC....I've tried taking out my SIM frm my phone and the GPS still works...
With A-GPS enabled and you take out sim card, it will still work. The locking will use default Integrated-GPS only (may take longer to lock) as it is unable to send request for A-GPS.
cute_boboi
post Jul 13 2009, 02:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

For more readings on A-GPS and Network-Based, read here
cute_boboi
post Jul 15 2009, 12:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 15 2009, 09:16 AM)
As ur explain all this...i can understand it clearly and merely already done what have u told...my signal is red only after disable a-gps/bluetooth and put a tick on integrated gps n network based..dunno why this happen..is nokia 6210 got a bad gps receiver ?  cry.gif ..after 1minute..the signal still red...or should i say..after 5 minutes oso nothing happen to da signal...lol..did i miss something ??
Did you try it outside in open field/area without trees, shelter or tall buildings near by ? i.e. facing clear sky ?

I hope you are not doing it inside building/home.
cute_boboi
post Jul 17 2009, 02:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jul 17 2009, 02:32 PM)
hmm .. i tried install in n82 ... everything was ok but cant find for signal .. tried when i was taking a bus, still 1 red bar .. weird ...
and at the remote GPS page .. it write Assisted GPS enabled ... =.= ..
i am sooo rclxub.gif
doh.gif Please get out of the bus. Goto an open area/field with no trees or tall buildings blocking. Preferably a clear blue sky. Try again.
cute_boboi
post Jul 20 2009, 05:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Something to share smile.gif No need pai-seh sweat.gif

Mad over maps laugh.gif

Sos Tomato: TheStar M'sia rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 29 2009, 05:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(dong89 @ Jul 29 2009, 12:02 AM)
I using e66 here mobile XT Malfreemaps v1.44
Some place can calculate but alot of place unable to calculate rout to destination
Try update to latest MFM-Lite v1.67 or standard MFM v1.68

When you say unable to calculate route, is it stuck in the screen "Waiting GPS lock/signal" ? Can you check if the satellite signal bars are green in colour (not red) ?

QUOTE(SkyGig @ Jul 29 2009, 02:56 PM)
I'm running Garmin Mobile XT 5.00.50 s60.9 on my Nokia E71. I have tested  using AGPS to run this application and it is fast. Later I found out in the forum that there will be a charge for using AGPS service.Fine, that's not the point.

Then i tested again, this time i take out my SIM card (to make sure there is no network connection using AGPS service). To my surprise the AGPS setting still works on my E71 with Garmin installed.

All this while i thought, if you depend on AGPS, you will need an internet or GPRS service to send data to the server and back.In other words there will be a charge to this service.What i need to find out is  :-

1)How do i know when there is connection to the network provider when using AGPS to guide me?
2)Why, even tough i have taken out my SIM card (no dependency on the network provider service) it still works with AGPS turned on?I thought that you need network coverage to use AGPS?

Someone please enlighten me on this subject. hmm.gif Thanks for listening... rclxub.gif
A-GPS is one time only, every time you start the application. Once application is started, it is not used anymore, until you close/exit GMXT and launch it again.

Without the sim card, GMXT will still try to send out A-GPS request. However, there will be no incoming A-GPS message. Hence, GMXT will still try to lock the satellites with the integrated GPS.

If there is sim card, when GMXT is launched, it send out request. Telco reply with estimated location, e.g. [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longtitude-E101°42'45"]. GMXT will try to use it and triangulate with existing satellites lock, e.g. even 1-2 satellites while waiting for 3rd. Which shows you the location & map faster.

cute_boboi
post Jul 30 2009, 10:47 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(dong89 @ Jul 30 2009, 06:57 AM)
When u choose the place u wanted to go it will show Awaiting a better GPS --> Calculate Route --> Unable to calculate the route to destination
And i dun know where to download latest map oh... Satellite show green not red
"Awaiting a better GPS" means not yet get proper/enough satellites. Sometimes have to close GMXT and open again. If A-GPS enabled, means charge again. If A-GPS disabled, may take 2-10 minutes. Normally after 2-3 minutes, I'll close GMXT and open again.

For faster map in Nokia h/p, I personally suggest MFM-Lite
cute_boboi
post Aug 10 2009, 11:50 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mghong @ Aug 9 2009, 01:27 AM)
hi

i'm using n86 stk gps s/w...i alway loss my  signal at NKVe any idea ??? especially even when i walk in KL..most of the time i cant get signal...

My wife ask me to use garwin on my n86..i wonder will it help ?
Once locked, driving in NKVE should not have any loss signal. Except tunnels.

But in KL, what do you mean walk ? If walk on five-foot-pathways (under cover) or petaling street (got that big ugly canopy) or under tree/bus stop/inside buildings, most likely will lose signal.

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 9 2009, 12:02 PM)
nah, garmin is just a navigational software. what u need is a better firmware from nokia. n86 known to have piles of bugs.
+ its also hungry ghost month.
No la, today baru 六月廿日 sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0243sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:16 PM