Studying in the UK V2

corad
post Nov 27 2008, 11:43 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

anybody know how to get a phone contract easily ?

my credit check keeps failing cry.gif

I called up equifax and they said that i've be on the electoral roll ... explained i'm an International Student, so they said I would have to pay 10pounds to buy my own credit report for them to amend mad.gif doh.gif
corad
post Nov 28 2008, 12:34 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 27 2008, 09:02 PM)
buy the report and they can amend it? strange, but i thought credit improves only when you trade and pay properly.

like said, try going into different shops and start negotiating.

and everytime you/someone do a credit check on you, your credit score will drop. so spare some time before doing a check.
he will never get it online unless he could make to the conversation with the staff, but hardly, as they wil offer another deal but credit check will still failed.
I never took out any loans here, and I only have 1 credit card which i use for emergencies. Equifax said that the only red flag on my report was not being on the electoral roll which is bloodly absurd vmad.gif and they wanted me to buy the report 1st before amending it for me, quoting "company policies" doh.gif

the 3 staff just said "sorry" when the credit check failed. same with o2 even though i've been with them for more than 2 years on pay as you go. The orange guy was way more helpful tho, he brought a 45pound contract down to 30pounds for me, and offered to keep this deal for me till saturday.

I don't want to persuade my friends to lend me their debit cards to do the credit check... but i do need a phone since mine died sad.gif any good sites to buy non-contract phones ?
corad
post Nov 28 2008, 07:20 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 28 2008, 06:26 AM)
corad, don't being silly, pay 10quids for your credit report.. i was told by lloyds get the privacy guards (pay £1 for the 1st month) to check on my credit report coz my credit is very low(don't know what happen since i didn't get any loan or wat).. i don't even bother to do that.. but will check on it in future..

well, you can go to the website like youngkies recommend www.e2save.com and call up their customer service to get a contract phone. they will very happy to get ur debit card details, address and offer a good deal to you. this is want i did for my 1st contract phone. then i upgraded my contract after 12months.
I'm with HSBC . I'll still have to get my credit report sorted out either way. (unless i use a friends debit card... but i don't want to hutang budi anyone)

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 28 2008, 06:31 AM)
due to lack of credit history background, esp if you are new in uk.

it builds up when you are using the bank facilities and credit and paying back at the right time.

things like rebounce cheque, fail to pay direct debit, insufficient fund, etc etc affect the credit history.
I've been in the UK for 3 years. Equifax gives me a credit score of 960+ out of a possible 980. it's only the stupid electoral roll thing which stops me from getting a contract. It seems easier to get a premier credit card here than a cheapo phone contract vmad.gif I still can't see the point of paying 10 pounds to correct their mistake. Explained to their agent over skype, but still no dice.

EDIT : back to the question, so are there any places offering phone contracts with minimal credit checks ? want to squeeze the most out of my pounds ... but if thats not possible, guess i'll no choice but to give my money to these scammers.

This post has been edited by corad: Nov 28 2008, 07:25 AM
corad
post Nov 28 2008, 11:18 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 28 2008, 07:32 AM)
erm, i don't know HSBC can't use for getting a contract phone.. oh, there's one way to make your credit good is put ur vote when ur area is doing election.
probably you can consider Privacy Guard to check on ur credit, you can subscribe for the 1st month and cost u 1quid.. then u cancel it when u receive ur credit report... i suppose it's cheaper compare with ur equifax...
me ? vote ?

sweat.gif

I'm a Malaysian too wei ... laugh.gif

The cash part isn't the only thing bothering me, i'll still have to submit personal documents to them like passport n bank statements for them to "verify" my identity. so nobody knows of any places which gives phone contracts without too many questions?

maybe i'll just buy a phone off ebay sad.gif
corad
post Nov 29 2008, 10:42 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 28 2008, 10:11 PM)
yes Msia student and resident (as long as you pay the council tax) from commonwealth country is eligible to vote.
wow, din't know that. so how do i sign up ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 29 2008, 07:15 AM)
My friend advise otherwise.

TT can cost from RM20 to RM50 per transfer. Take a couple of days.

Getting a bank draft cost RM5. Send by Registered post take 1 week (no need to send by expensive courier that only shorten it by 2 or so days). Another 1 or 2 days to clear.

If you have HSBC Premier account, you may be able to do it for free and immediate without any delays.
I've a HSBC Premier acc , but it takes 3 days for the fund to clear. I can see the amount in my account , but I wont be able to withdraw it.

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Nov 29 2008, 08:35 AM)
How are you guys getting speeds above 11,500 KB/s (100Mbit ethernet controller) @ youngkies/corad

Are you guys using a gigabit ethernet port? My Dell notebook only has a 10/100 Mbit controller.

I love downloading via Usenet @ 11MB/s, that's as much as UCL's network lets me go to. Either that or my ethernet port could be limiting my speeds. smile.gif
yeap, gigabyte LAN for me. Cambridge's Raven blocks loads of ports tho, so i SSL to a friend who's in another uni whistling.gif . Need rapidshare laugh.gif I believe london uni's run share a common gateway to JANET hence the slower speeds ? more congested with so many large collages over there. just my speculation ..
corad
post Feb 5 2009, 11:36 PM

2,403 posts

snooooowww rclxms.gif
corad
post Aug 22 2009, 02:20 PM

2,403 posts

which ISP's do you guys use ?

any packages to recommend ? I wouldn't mind a "bundle" (TV, phone rental etc) either...

been searching around , but those in the best list i've never heard about before tongue.gif http://www.ispreview.co.uk/review/top10.php
corad
post Aug 22 2009, 07:10 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Aug 22 2009, 05:41 PM)

Added on August 22, 2009, 5:44 pm
if you want to download unlimited then you can consider virgin.. but if you taking virgin, you need to prepare the suck customer service. but overall, the speed is not too bad. but if you taking the TV bundle, you need to make sure you have pay the TV license (if your landlord has one, then just go for it)..
wow , was considering ICUK before that. but Virgin's bundle seems tempting. any comment about their speed ? does it drop below 2mb ? smile.gif

EDIT : now i'm wondering , is BT the only provider that is allowed to give us phone lines ? If I wanted broadband but have yet to sign up for a phone line, will the company I choose for broadband install the phone line as well? Moving into a new build ..

This post has been edited by corad: Aug 22 2009, 09:27 PM
corad
post Aug 25 2009, 12:46 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Aug 25 2009, 12:35 PM)
Do we need to use power converter there? are the cables there everything same wif msia?
yeap its the same. anything that works here will work there.

wondering if anyone here has comments about mobile internet ? any cheap options ? need something to stay connected for 1-2 weeks while my land line is being installed.

corad
post Aug 26 2009, 09:09 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Aug 25 2009, 02:36 PM)
t-mobile. dongle = 30 pound, including 10 pound credit. 2 pound per day, 7 pounds perweek or 20 pounds per month for pay as you go rate. 3gb per month usage policy, but wont overcharge you when you go over. just walk in any t-mobile shop and ask, also go to pcworld/currys for comparison of all available options in a place.
many thanks !

t-mobile's website confused me with their 2pound/day and with no option to select 15pounds for the whole month. tongue.gif

shall go with them then.
corad
post Aug 28 2009, 10:32 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(blackxwhite @ Aug 28 2009, 01:27 PM)
thats around it if ure cooking for yourself and not for your housemates and all...and covering most of your meals

If your cooking for a lot of people it usually cheaper per head IMHO (been cooking for housemates countless times)...but thats just dinner

people on budget usually dont really eat heavy stuff except for dinner anyway...and ive been surviving on like 80 GBP per month (snacks, home cooked food, iceland biggrin.gif)...but thats not including kebabs for midnight snacks and all..and im in cardiff btw...some stuff are a bit cheaper compared to london
alot of things are actually cheaper in London. especially international food (chinese, japanese,malaysian etc). easily find GDP 5 chinese buffets in London, but anywhere else in the UK, it'll be twice that price.

QUOTE(babyhoney @ Aug 28 2009, 05:02 PM)
means lets say in manchester, excluding a self catered accomodation, means have to cook for myself
how much is the estimation per mth for the living cost?
if you're cooking for yourself, prices will be the same regardless of where you are. (unless you don't have access to the larger supermarket chains). not being picky, I'd say GDP80 is enough. can even buy a few tubs of haagen daaz with that tongue.gif

of course, when you're in the UK try to eat the local stuff here. much cheaper.
corad
post Sep 4 2009, 05:20 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Arturia @ Aug 28 2009, 10:45 PM)
corad!!! biggrin.gif left for UK already? could you guess who I am? (or did I assume the wrong person?)

well that's true with GPB80 you could last. But with only GBP20 you'll be eating mostly...vegetables and just meat (you won't go munching around) I munch quite a bit during times where I'm hungry so my expenses goes up a bit. I usually spend about GBP30/week but I believe GBP150-GBP160 a month is fair to set aside for food/drinks. Its for those days you're lazy to cook too XDD

the only local food the UK have is fish and chips =.=
haha, yesh sir !

back in the UK, enjoying what's left of summer tongue.gif sorry could't meet up with u more back in m'sia man ... tell you when i go down to london brows.gif

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 3 2009, 01:05 PM)
hmm....i already read about the entry requirement for the pharmacy course at the university of sunderland. however, i still don't quite understand what is it writing about. i'm doing a level now and going to sit for As level this year end and A2 next year may/june. So, can anyone tell me what is the entry requirement for the pharmacy course at the U of sunderland if i based on the A level Cambridge results.

"Our typical offer will be 300 points from a minimum of 3 A levels/AVCEs or equivalent (e.g. 1 x AVCE double award) which must include Chemistry plus two other related subjects.

We also require at least three passes at GCSE grade C or above which must include Mathematics and English Language."

So what does it mean by 300 points? And what is the grade we should get in A level in order to enter the pharmacy course. AAB or ABB or BBB or BBC??? i read some other U entry requirement is AAB or ABB. But for U of sunderland, it din't stated. So can anyone pls tell me? Thanks. Also what is the marks i need for my IELTS to enter the pharmacy course at U of sunderland. Thanks.
The link to the entry requirement :
http://www.sunderland.ac.uk/faculties/apsc...rmacy#entryreqs
300points should mean ~BBC if things havent changed from my time (A= 120 points). The point system also allows you to add different qualifications in ie, ABRSM Grade 6 gives you extra 60points etc etc

personally though, if you're already taking A levels ... might as well choose a university that dosen't offer a foundation course.

corad
post Sep 4 2009, 11:37 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 4 2009, 10:52 AM)
so that's mean if that person get BBC for a level, that person will still have the entry requirement for the pharmacy course at the U of sunderland and will be able to apply for the pharmacy course at University of Sunderland?? hmmm, ABRSM Grade 6??u mean the piano exam Grade 6??...how about Grade 4?? cuz i stopped after getting the cert for ABRSM Grade 4....then the marks required for IELTS is it 6.5??? then what is the closing date for applying the pharmacy course at U of sunderland since the website didn't state the date?? hmmm...what u mean by choosing a U that doesn't offer a foundation course??? like IMU or U of nottingham?? but as i know, the cheapest fee for studying pharmacy oversea is at U of sunderland right?? and the certificates given by U of sunderland is certified by both UK and Malaysia ( or other country ) Government right?? and if we study at U of sunderland, we are studying MPharm and not BPharm right??

Added on September 4, 2009, 10:56 amalso what's the difference of studying at a university that offer a foundation course and dosen't offer a foundation course. Thanks.
check out the UCAS website, it has everything you need to know smile.gif

you'll find none of the higher ranks UK uni's offer foundation courses. No offense, but if you're already paying international student fees, might as well go to a place that higher in the reputation table. (since you're still applying I assume you have that choice blush.gif )

QUOTE(Arturia @ Sep 4 2009, 09:35 PM)
Lol. No worries man. Just keep me posted or inform that girl who's was the same college as you and tell her to inform me. biggrin.gif so how hot is it? back pretty early anyway. when are you starting?
haha, alot of girls are there la tongue.gif not too hot now ... 15-20c , my term starts 2nd week of Oct so i got about a month left to bum around

QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 4 2009, 09:50 PM)
Aside from medical report and chest xray, what else do I need to pass UK immigration ?
your passport preferably smile.gif

when I 1st entered they wanted to see my letter of offer as well , so best to have that in your hand carry.
corad
post Sep 6 2009, 12:26 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Sep 5 2009, 10:36 PM)
and 1 more important thing, do not bring/wear any counterfeit / fake items into UK..
BBC NEWS |  UK | Tourists warned over fake goods
they're not that strict ! not at heathrow anyway.

don't worry about ur dvd,mp3 .iso etc. How would they be able to tell if it's real or fake ? You could have bought an ori but made a copy / or the seller told you it was a original tongue.gif the benefit of doubt is on your side.

besides, they're already short staffed sniffing out drugs & smuggled items.

a tip though, pack your stuff in a proper luggage and not just boxes. From my observation, they only stop people bringing in boxes (even if you have a 1st class sticker) Also, luggage checks are random and done after you collected your check in baggage.

corad
post Sep 7 2009, 01:28 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 6 2009, 11:38 PM)
it is cheaper to buy it over the net in advance? cause you will need the payment card if you have chosen to collect the ticket from train station.

if not, just buy on the spot.
buying on the spot can be a real killer.

eg: London -> Bristol if bought 2 weeks in advances is ~20pounds return. On the spot for same day travel is 90 sweat.gif

i just use nationalrail.com .

remember to get a young person's rail card when you can !
corad
post Sep 12 2009, 06:28 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Arturia @ Sep 11 2009, 05:06 PM)
Since its not related to my post above so I separate it.

Anyway i have something to ask about the broadband in UK. Since I'm gonna live out for my 2nd year what ISP should I apply for. Virgin seems fast with their fibre optic broadband but there's a DL cap limit which I don't like (will be sharing with 4 people so 5-10GB is gone pretty easily).

Then you have BE which is cheap i heard. And fast. How reliable is it?

Will appreciate if someone could list out the ISP packages and its DL/transfer limits. And do recommend a good one.

Finally how to apply? Lets say no telephone line, so I have to apply for phone line first from BT first is it? Then apply for ISP? Or will the ISP do all?
bro,

I use ICUK.

small company but that makes them flexible. And also no long term contracts so won't be wasting money during the summer,cheapest line rental with them too. Opted for the 8Mbps, 100Gb per month package. (they have a 16Mb unlimited pack too,but 12 month contract) Trying for this month 1st, if unhappy will most likely switch to Sky Unlimited. Debating whether to get Sky HD tongue.gif

corad
post Sep 12 2009, 08:16 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Sep 12 2009, 06:46 AM)
bro, how safe is downloading in UK?u know what i meant..huhu
so far nobody has been arrested for downloading yet. it's the uploaders who get into trouble.

if you have to dl, i would suggest using http like rapidshare instead of torrents.

QUOTE(kazesensei @ Sep 12 2009, 08:09 AM)
Are we categories as International Student if we study in UK?

Cause from some info i found, they say that i u have relevant family member that is a resident of EU, than you will only need to pay for UK fee, not international fee.

http://www.ukcisa.org.uk/student/fees_stud...me_home_student
unless your parents are EU/UK citizens, you'll be paying international fees.

if compared with Aust & the US, it really isn't that much more expensive.

edit: spelling & grammar. pls excuse a few pints on a fri night tongue.gif

This post has been edited by corad: Sep 12 2009, 08:18 AM
corad
post Sep 12 2009, 08:57 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Sep 12 2009, 08:19 AM)
just an piece of advice to all UK-bound tudents, do get yourself either an Credit-Card or an Debit-Card since it'll come handy a lot during your time there....HSBC & NatWest have some very good student packages...
sound advise. also if there's anybody going for A levels in the UK, good idea to get a student card done in Malaysia as well.

as for banks, I would always suggest HSBC because they have branches almost everywhere. Especially helpful for transferring funds from Msia to the UK.

QUOTE(kazesensei @ Sep 12 2009, 08:30 AM)
It is not expensive if comparing with US but the amount is still over RM 50,000. Are there any way to loosen the burden on money?

And is it better to study in UK than in Japan or UTM?
I guess scholarships are there to help, just be prepared to work for them smile.gif

another way is to work part time while studying,which is highly discouraged if done excessively. You miss out on the student experience.

as for where to study ... it depends what course you are aiming to do. but remember uni is only a stepping stone for your future. I won't quote motivational words here, but examples would be ex-MAS MD Idris Jala, he's from USM & Warwick Uni, while his personal assistant is from the Uni of Oxford.

another would be the MD of YTL Group, graduated from Kingston Uni, London. tonnes of oxbridge grads applying to work under him
corad
post Sep 12 2009, 06:24 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(kazesensei @ Sep 12 2009, 11:32 AM)
So does this means that no matter where i study, Local or overseas, the most important is the experience right?
yes, it does not matter where you graduated from. but most important is still knowledge. experience is helpful, but if you only know how to do things in a set mould then you still won't go far.

QUOTE(xjuen @ Sep 12 2009, 02:57 PM)
Thanks for all the replies regarding my question on passport photos. smile.gif

Anyone here using Natwest? I'm intending to open an account there as it is near to where I'll be staying.
Is it any good?

Thanks once again.
I would suggest HSBC or Lyolds since they have higher interest rates. HSBC has this high deposit bond account @ 5.4% (so if you have 3k in there, you get 10pounds a month). Lyolds has this 5.8% thing till 2012.
corad
post Sep 15 2009, 08:55 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 15 2009, 12:39 AM)
yea camera, phone charger... thermos for you to store milo =D... Im bringing milo 3 in 1 too ... i dont think you can get milo in uk lol
sainsbury sells milo now. saw them in small tins the other day biggrin.gif

about the interest rates , just realized HSBC's high deposit bond account is quite useless now doh.gif sorry guys, old info ... i last used that in 07

0.0272sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:42 AM