Pwnagetool/Quickpwn & "yellowsn0w" 3G Unlock, »2G/3G Fw 2.2.1 Unlocking&Jailbreaking«

Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 04:03 AM

303 posts

hehe... I can get the frustration. Don't worry... so many people are working on the Caller ID fix issue that there's bound to be a solution before the week is up. I spent a few hours trying to edit the plist myself but couldn't figure out the solution. Apple went and changed the format somehow. I would have gone and edited all my numbers to have the prefix as already discussed here on the forums but I'd rather wait for the plist fix.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 04:21 AM

303 posts

Well, you have to understand their point of view as well. It's going to be really annoying for them if you keep harping on the issue when a fix hasn't been found yet. I personally would like to do something but my limited knowledge in editing the code doesn't get me far. Let the people who can do it, do it in peace yea bro? Just be patient and wait.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 05:03 AM

303 posts

Ah I apologise for my wrong choice of wording but I got that impression when you mentioned a half hour debate session. I do agree with you that we can't sit on our asses waiting for it to drop in our laps. I do acknowledge that we have to ask before we can receive which is why I also contacted the developers of CallerFix ID yesterday regarding our country's number formats in order to help speed up the process for us.

By the way, I am going to upload a plist editor for windows here for anyone who'd like to give it a go. Very small file.

You can download the file here. (file is zipped .rar)

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 05:09 AM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 05:45 AM

303 posts

Yeap...those are the two devilish files I spent hours on. I dread to lay my eyes on those codes again... the horror..
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 07:32 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(deakinuni @ Nov 26 2008, 07:14 AM)
alll the sifu out there! i was about to JB my iphone using the instrution from iclarified but i saw;

"important***: Do not attempt these instructions for the 2.2 iPhone Firmware unless you don't care about a software unlock in the future. Using QuickPwn with the 2.2 iPhone Firmware could reduce your chances of being able to unlock the iPhone 3G."

i don really understand this! wat's the sofeware unlock?

i'm currently using singapore unlock iphone 3g!
thx
Software unlock refers to a full unlock. A Singtel iPhone is an example of a fully unlocked iPhone. Therefore if you're positive that you have bought a Singtel unit, you may safely JB using the instructions from iClarified.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 07:33 AM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 04:26 PM

303 posts

@Fighteden

That's probably a wiser thing to do smile.gif I had to go through nearly 3 days of troubleshooting and more than 10 times restoring before getting my phone back to where it was before the fw update. Mine is probably an isolated case though. I'm still not sure hah...
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 04:53 PM

303 posts

It seems Apple went and changed not only the caller id code format but a number of other internal files. I manually backed up my contacts (AddressBook.sqlitedb) and now I can't add new numbers. It's just not saving any new info as if it can't write data to the AddressBook.sqlitedb file. Same thing happened with sms on one of my restore processes as well because I also manually backed up/restored that.

A bit frustrating...
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 05:12 PM

303 posts

Oh yea frozzbyte...shite... thanks for that. It didn't cross my mind at all. I'll go set it now. Cheers.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 05:18 PM

303 posts

Ah actually come to think of it frozzbyte, all my standard apps crashing was probably due to the user permissions! Argh... this could have saved me at least 2 days of headache. sad.gif

I knew I left something out from the first time I jb... the BossPref user permission auto fix hehe... totally absent from all my thoughts. doh.gif

High fives frozzbyte. I would give you a kiss but I don't lean 'that' way. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 05:21 PM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 06:11 PM

303 posts

I have no idea bro. I opted to fix it through SBSettings auto User Permission Fix though instead of manually doing it. I don't want to risk missing any step again hehe... working fine now. I'm going to try SwirlyMMS now and see if it still crashes my contacts+sms apps. If not, then it was the user permission causing my problems all along. Will report back in a bit.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 06:28 PM

303 posts

Ok great no more problemo. It was the user permissions all along. SwirlyMMS works fine. I don't know if it's just me but it seems to slow the system down a bit... contacts and sms for example don't seem to load as snappily. I'm not sure but it feels that way.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 07:40 PM

303 posts

Maybe ...maybe...
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 10:47 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ramarao @ Nov 26 2008, 10:00 PM)
it works for me followed the link below.
haven't install any other application yet

http://www.spaziocellulare.com/ispazio/en/...re-21/#comments
I assume if you got it to work that you have the original 2.1 AppSupport file? Do share so we can give it a try.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 10:55 PM

303 posts

Anyone can get me the 2.1 files and I'll give it a go. I'm looking for a copy now.

Added on November 26, 2008, 10:56 pmWait cs cheat! ur still on 2.1 right???!!

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 26 2008, 10:56 PM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 26 2008, 11:48 PM

303 posts

2.0? So where'd get the 2.1 files? huh.gif
Maverick Wil
post Nov 27 2008, 12:25 PM

303 posts

I'm choosing to update my Default.phoneformat file instead of adding the prefixes. Reconfirming that it works. Kudos to Frank8 from hackint0sh for the fix.

---

Once again to those who need a CallerID Fix for FW2.2 (Malaysia Only). This is for the absolute clueless:-

1. You need to jailbreak your phone first. After that you need to set up SSH. Instructions for jailbreak and SSH are available on the first page of the "iPhone for Dummies" sticky under item #2 and #14 respectively.

2. After you've got that set up, download the "Default.phoneformat" file from one of the following links:

Download Link - 1 (provided by Frank8, Hackint0sh)
Download Link - 2 (provided by icebrew)
Download Link - 3

3. Now all you have to do is place the downloaded file "Default.phoneformat" into your iPhone directory under " /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/ " via SSH. Backup the original "Default.phoneformat" file in that directory first if you want to but it is not necessary.

4. Disconnect SSH and reboot your phone. Done.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 27 2008, 12:31 PM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 27 2008, 12:29 PM

303 posts

@cscheat...eh I thought you did already? Hehe... just detailing it so that it is easier to point people to a set of instructions. I made it as simple as I could. Dummy proof you know. Cuts down on the repetitive questions.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 27 2008, 04:45 PM

303 posts

@vivaldi & goldieboy

No overheating issue except it gets a bit hot sometimes when syncing/restoring. What problems do you have accessing apps? Give a bit more details.

Without more information than you're giving, I assume the problem with Cydia is because of a bad connection or because repo servers are busy. Keep trying or try at a different time.

This post has been edited by Maverick Wil: Nov 27 2008, 04:47 PM
Maverick Wil
post Nov 27 2008, 04:53 PM

303 posts

Yup, that would be a connection problem. If you're sure your connection is ok, then it's usually the repo servers being jammed up.
Maverick Wil
post Nov 27 2008, 05:18 PM

303 posts

@vivaldi...what firmware are you using? 2G or 3G? And what do you use to access internet (wifi/3g/edge) when this occurs?

@frequency, you can refer to the tutorials on page 1

0.0207sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:20 PM